Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What whisk(e)y are we drinking? (Part 2)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,866 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

There's mega money behind Hinch though which I'm not sure is the same with the others. Even at a loss it could survive if they want it to.

They've the restaurant and (I think, not too sure) a Weddings business there as well?

Post edited by EagererBeaver on

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 3,454 Mod ✭✭✭✭Black Sheep

Where I keep my whisky, it's pretty cool year-round.

If I'm drinking out, particularly in hot settings abroad, I tend to just opt for a mixed drink, a beer or a chilled red. I learned my lesson, one time, when I ordered a Glenmorangie one night in Seville, and it came not just tepid but outright warm.

I know there are plenty of people who enjoy ice in their whisky, I'm just not one of them, I just find it interferes with the nosing and tasting experience too much for me.

For me, if you're adding ice, might as well go all the way and lean into an Old Fasioned or similar. But each to their own.

The chap behind it definitely has deep pockets, I think he made his money in packaging for multinationals.

You'd assume that gave them a good start in their 'grain to glass' thing they're into, but at the same time, you'd also assume he's not going to let himself lose the shirt off his back just to keep the lights on in the distillery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Lester_Burnham

I visited Hinch quite recently. I'd be surprised if they had financial issues. Firstly the owner actually lives next to the distillery and has very deep pockets. It's on the site where it is because they were refused planning permission in North Antrim. He also owns a vineyard in France. Excellent wine. It was tasted and bought.

When we visited the bar and restaurant was full and that's normal apparently. They also do gin "classes" which bring in revenue. There's quite a bit of disposable income in that part of the country.

They spent about £9 million on Bushmills liquid and are selling it at an unbelievable price IMO. I picked up a bottle of an Oloroso finish of a 2003 Bushmills for £90. Cask strength.

Of their own stuff I left with a Madeira finished peated single malt that was a little over 3 years old. Cask strength at 61.6%. It's a cracking whiskey for about £30.

The distillery tour is pretty good and the product is excellent.

1000038239.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,932 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

One would have thought that there was mega money behind Waterford, too 🤷

Can I just clarify, I have no inkling of financial trouble at Hinch! I was purely joking, on the basis of recent troubles elsewhere…

Looking forward to getting my hands on these bottles now.

NI is really knocking it out of the park when it comes to whiskey these days.

Terry Cross. Sold up about 10 years ago I think. Used to make packaging globally for the likes of McDonald's. He's also pumping major money into other activities so for sure there's no shortage of capital. Have only ever driven past it, not into it. It looks pretty spectacular.

Am going to be home for a week in late August and was thinking of paying a visit and going for a meal. Looking it up and availability is pretty limited, so seems to be doing rightly. One of the chefs has a pretty successful spot in Belfast and has been on the Great British Menu and the like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭flended12

Same! Keep us posted

There's a room in there called the spectrum room with a display of how the colour of the distillate is affected by different casks. It's a beautiful room and I'd say the boardroom table in it cost more than my house. A chandelier made of casks in the shop is another highlight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,064 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Having a dram sample of Kilchoman Sauternes cask single malt whilst watching a travelogue documentary about Islay on TG4. Features a quick visit to the distillery as well as some towns on the island such as Bowmore, Port Charlotte.

https://www.tg4.ie/en/player/categories/childrens-tv-shows/play/?pid=6374738291112&title=Grand%20Tours%20of%20the%20Scottish%20Islands&series=Grand%20Tours%20of%20the%20Scottish%20Islands&pcode=715017&genre=Faisneis&recomm=1

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭Citizen  Six

I've been meaning to get over there for years. Might try and actually go in late August. I've managed to build up a load of lieu days from work.

Dunno if still operating but there used to be a ferry from Rathlin a few times a week

I hope you make it and boards is still around for you to update us!

Tonight I think I will watch the Jura episode with a Jura 10yo. Seems like there's (non whiskey focused) episodes based around Oban, Skye, Orkney and Arran so over next few weeks I will line up appropriate whiskies for those including the Douglas Laing Rock Island 10yo which has malts from Islay, Jura, Arran and Orkney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,939 ✭✭✭adaminho

The tour guide in the Oban distillery when I did was a woman from Ballinasloe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,970 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

I went 8 years ago (I think), was a wonderful trip. I'd highly recommend it. Book an "extra" tour at two or three and just rock up to the shops of the others, you'll get loads of samples if you get chatting

Itching to get back again myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭Citizen  Six

I was planning on getting the boat that goes from Ballycastle. Get the train up north and cycle to the boat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭DeniG2

I've posted this before but given the current topic of discusion seems it might be worth another mention.. for any scotch drinkers, this is well worth a watch

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt6453158/?ref_=ext_shr_lnk

Sampled the Hinch single malts.

Young, short finishes, but both very well executed.

The unpeated Oloroso is pleasant, more on the nose than on the palate. It feels brief. This is not an overly rich whisky, it's fairly plain Jane stuff. Which is no bad thing for an easy sipper. Not dissimilar to various Bushmills single malts Ive had, in overall profile.

The peated reminded me of some Finnish peated single malt I've had... a marshy, wet nose. Not unpleasant- just distinct. I concluded in the end that the age of the whisky was probably a factor in how this all came across. To be clear though, this was a super, super whisky for the money and the stand out of the two. Much more interesting and a bargain at the price. Was trying to guess the phenol levels..

It's been described by them as soft, and not an Ardbeg or Laphroaig. But this is on the upper end of moderately peated. To me a Connemara or Dark Silkie is softly peated, this is a wee bit more.

Got these for around 32 GBP each, super value IMO.

@Black Sheep Have you tried the Shortcross peated? I picked up a miniature in Celtic Whiskey Shop. I preferred that to the Hinch I sampled but was also impressed at what Hinch were delivering at that price point. I'd probably put the 'Irish Whiskey Bonding Company' Chancer at same level as Hinch, the Chancer includes the Shortcross peated single malt in its mix.

I had a bottle of the peated finish in the orange liquer.

They had an older peated offering I never tried but was apparently not as refined.

Love Shortcross. Their Distillers Duo in particular.

Hinch's price point is welcome, but I don't like getting hung up on the price brackets. Of course they matter, but sometimes they also don't tell you as much about a whisky as you think.

I probably would spend more to get a decent Shortcross or Boann if I felt like it, for example, because they're different products than either of these Hinch. Are they "worth" the extra? Hard to say, so individual. For some they might not even be "better" at all.

Yes, the Distillers Duo was very good too. It's on my long list of bottles to buy but need to finish some first :)

Both Hinch and Shortcross are insanely well priced compared to some places with notions south of the border.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭flended12

Purchased (€57 Faro Duty Free) Laphroaig Four Oak, travel retail exclusive, will report back

Also on a whim The Legendary Midnight Silkie Whiskey from the lads in Donegal.

Will report back.

The Legendary Midnight Silkie Whiskey is one of this month's Three Drams so will be able to compare notes.

The other whiskies are the rejigged Busker Single Pot Still Small Batch & Blackwater Oaty McOatface pot still "designed as a protest against the restrictions of Ireland’s official pot still definition."

Goleen Gold 17 yo Irish whiskey from Irish Malts is a really lovely, chewy, long, drop. Unusual for an older whiskey in that it's 80/20 grain, malt. Serious value at €75 on the website. Aimed at drinkers rather than collectors I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭Hodors Appletart

Ah, I got the four oak a while back, it's nice but not mind blowing, and not near as good as the 10. I haven't had any other Laphroaigs to compare, but I was pretty underwhelmed.

Took a punt on this. Apparently from an armagnac producing area.

Low to moderate expectations.

1000025997.jpg

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I got the 21 year old on offer when it came out before and still have a drop left in the bottle. Tempted to try this one as well.

The Lou Gal turned out to be a pretty decent blend, very stripped back and basic. Lots of almonds and brown sugar, really reminded me of Glenmorangie 10 from years ago.

Quite young though, but coming down on the side of being fresh / vibrant rather than new makey.

There was a bewildering array of Japanese blends I never saw before in the supermarket (in France). A brief Google led me to believe none were up to much. Did pass over a Gaolong whisky which sounded fascinating? Chinese... But didn't pull the trigger.