Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Was Rachel punished for being smart by the government?

• 23-04-2021 8:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭Jeremy Sproket

Rachel and Peter both graduated from college at the same time and began working in very similar fields. 

Rachel was very diligent with her money, maxed out her pension contributions and saved a huge amount of money every month. By the time she reached her late 50's she was ready to take early retirement as she has a huge nest egg and a nice pension fund. She wanted to enjoy her money later in life and work hard now.

Peter was the opposite, he pissed away every penny and his money passed through his hands like water through a colander. He never bothered contributing to a pension either and lived payslip to payslip despite earning the same money as Rachel.

Rachel and Peter are both now in their late 50's. Coincidentally, they both have a similar unfortunate accident around the same time which requires significant medical care, limb prosthesis and adaptations to their homes.

Due to the "means testing" nature of our HSE, Rachel will be means tested and have to fork over a huge lump from her money. Peter doesn't, because he has nothing. 

The summary of the situation is:
    Peter and Rachel both earned similar money. Rachel never enjoyed her money. Peter did. Rachel has to pay a fortune of her money. Peter doesn't have to pay a peanut.

Health insurance only goes so far and won't pay for things like prostheses and home adaptations.

How is that system fair? Do we have universal health or not here? 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

How smart is Rachel really if she didn't have insurance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭Jeremy Sproket

Yurt! wrote: »

Health insurance doesn't pay for home adaptations or things like limb prosthesis.

Besides, my point still stands where one pays and the other doesn't. Despite them both having made similar contributions to the tax pool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭some random drunk

I can't believe you've left Declan out of all this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,010 ✭✭✭Allinall

Why should Rachel not pay for something that she can afford, and will benefit her to a great extent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Hoboo

Health insurance doesn't pay for home adaptations.

Besides, my point still stands where one pays and the other doesn't. Despite them both having made similar contributions to the tax pool.

They couldn't possibly have contributed similar amounts to the tax pool, whatever his name is was spending all his money on goods and services while herself was spending nothing.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,664 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

That won't cover adaptations to her home though. She'd still have more money than Peter however, plus an ongoing income from her pension. Peter is now fully reliant on disability allowance.

Allinall wrote: »
    Why should Rachel not pay for something that she can afford, and will benefit her to a great extent?

Can you not read?

She already contributed the same taxes.

How is it fair that Peter who pissed all his money away gets a free ride when Rachel doesn't.

Our health system and state aids are either universal or they aren't.

Can you not read?

How is it fair that Peter who pissed all his money away gets a free ride when Rachel doesn't.

I dont think anyone losing a limb could be classified as getting a free ride?

Ah Jeremy, wait until you hear about the Fair Deal scheme.

The amount of people thanking Yurts post obviously didn't read or comprehend the OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭EddieN75

That's like nursing homes.
    If you own your own house it's used as collateral and basically sold off to fund your care. Ie fair deal scheme.

If you haven't a cent you get looked after in a nursing home anyway. They take your pension.

Also contributory and non contributory pensions almost the same figure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Hoboo

Can you not read?

How did she contribute the same taxes if she was saving her money and he was spending his?

Please tell me!!

A free ride compared to Rachel who's in the exact same predicament.

Hoboo wrote: »
    How did she contribute the same taxes if she was saving her money and he was spending his?

Please tell me!!

The income taxes would be similar (not accounting for the tax break for pension contributions).

She will have a private pension income and pay tax on that and probably have her state disability pension slashed too because of it. Whereas Peter takes the piss with free everything.

A free ride compared to Rachel who's in the exact same predicament.

On what planet is losing a limb regarded as a free ride??

Has rachel tried an onlyfans account,a very niche segment there could attract a premium?

On what planet is losing a limb regarded as a free ride??

Has rachel tried an onlyfans account,a very niche segment there could attract a premium?

Read the OP. Rachel is in the same predicament.

Next time I see someone with a prosthetic limb on the street I'm going to accost them about their financials, bloody layabout. MY TAXES paid for that bionic leg you know!

The internet is magical, someone concocting a fictional character with an imagined series of lifestyle choices - Peter the Peg Leg - and getting mad enough to start a thread about him

*shakes fist* Damn you to hell Peter!

Read the OP. Rachel is in the same predicament.

She isn't, she has savings and an income from her pension. Peter has nothing except his prosthetic limb.

Next time I see someone with a prosthetic limb on the street I'm going to accost them about their financials, bloody layabout. MY TAXES paid for that bionic leg you know!

The internet is magical, someone concocting a fictional character with an imagined series of lifestyle choices - Peter the Peg Leg - and getting mad enough to start a thread about him

*shakes fist* Damn you to hell Peter!

i mean such a scenario could in theory happen....but tbh i cant myself ever getting outraged that someone got a free prosthetic limb tbh

Seems a good arguement for universal healthcare for all tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭enricoh

Use salt and pepper like yer man on the telly!

It's because the state can't afford to pay for everyone's health care. So they only pay for those who can't afford it. If they can't afford to pay for everyone would you prefer if no one got it?

i mean such a scenario could in theory happen....but tbh i cant myself ever getting outraged that someone got a free prosthetic limb tbh

Seems a good arguement for universal healthcare for all tbh

Free prosthetics? Sounds like a recipe for communist tyranny to me. The road to hell is paved with good intentions.

I'll tell you what's wrong with society today: Peg Leg Peter and his feckless enablers.

We should all forcibly remove any prosthetic limbs we see until the wearer proves they have sufficiently contributed to the cost.

Free legs for all, it's a disgrace!

*sarcasm, in case anyone takes it seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Tpcl20

Rachel has learned too late in life that it's for living. The government didn't punish her, she was a dry shyte to begin with and she'll go out even drier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,443 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

She isn't, she has savings and an income from her pension. Peter has nothing except his prosthetic limb.

Username checks out :D

@OP I don’t understand the question either to be honest and I have read the opening post. What property does Peter own if he pissed all his earnings away?

I’d rather be in Rachel’s position where she isn’t dependent upon State aid and waiting lists for everything under the misguided notion of Universal anything.

Username checks out :D

Well feck ya, I didn't think! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,990 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

It's because the state can't afford to pay for everyone's health care. So they only pay for those who can't afford it. If they can't afford to pay for everyone would you prefer if no one got it?

The state would have more scope to fund essential services for everyone if it didn't provide everything to the "can't pay won't pay won't work" cohort... in many cases providing better if not equal standard of living to those who don't contribute anyting versus those putting their shoulders to the wheel and getting up early in the morning. So more and more people look at the poverty traps the government have created and ask themselves, why bother? So the state has to spend more money taking care of people who should be taking care of themselves. And gets less revenue.

The other is the appalling lack of bang for buck they get from the billions put into health care relative to other countries.
    Other countries are paying for universal health care from the same amount of funding, considering age profile of the country.

Having said all that, when you are born you don't know if you will be a Rachel or a Peter. Behind a veil of ignorance you probably would opt for equal outcomes for both. In that sense it is fair. But it is unfair because tolerating the free riders puts a heavier burden on the rest, so behind a veil of ignorance you would also opt for a system which encourages and rewards effort and contribution to society.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,010 ✭✭✭Allinall

Can you not read?

I can read.

Maybe try answering the question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Was Peter the bloke in the red jumper ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

The amount of people thanking Yurts post obviously didn't read or comprehend the OP.

Are you pretending you didn't edit the OP after Yurt's comment now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,990 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Allinall wrote: »
    I can read.

Maybe try answering the question.

She has already contributed and paid in taxes to fund services and supports that should be there for her when she needs them.
    She is being asked to pay twice - for her own care and those who made no provision for themselves.

We should either be in this together or left to take care of ourselves.
    Asking the responsible to take care of the irresponsible creates a moral hazard which just incentivises more irresponsibility and free riders.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Was Peter the bloke in the red jumper ?

Yes, he bought a job lot of them from a bloke in Power City. That’s for another thread though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Nice to see such light-hearted threads in AH.

So, the moral of the story - squander all your money, lose a limb, get a free prosthetic and you've won at life.

I'd rather have all my limbs tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Why did she cut her own leg off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I'm eating my breakfast Kate, I mean Rachel.

Why did she cut her own leg off?

Because she could afford a new one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭EddieN75

So, the moral of the story - squander all your money, lose a limb, get a free prosthetic and you've won at life.

I'd rather have all my limbs tbh.

You can keep your limbs. The analogy is correct. Can be applied to state pension, housing, healthcare, late in life care etc

Rachel's mistake was not using her wealth to find a good accountant who could hide it out of revenue's eye line like most well off people do

Wait til you hear about contributory vs non contributory pensions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭The Mighty Quinn

I'm trying to strike a balance between your characters in my life.

Frame it as you have and Rachel looks like she's onto a loser and Peter a winner.... But in reality if you've been financially prudent and shrewd all your life then you'll most likely be better off in retirement then those who've made no effort to.

While I agree that the gap between contributory state pension and non contributory is too narrow, no point crying about that in your late 60s...

Pay into a private pension. You'll not be worse off no matter what. Don't believe anybody telling you their uncle lost his pension completely, or the government stole his pension last recession. Many in this situation were calling a second house they'd bought their pension etc etc.

EddieN75 wrote: »
    You can keep your limbs. The analogy is correct. Can be applied to state pension, housing, healthcare, late in life care etc

Rachel's mistake was not using her wealth to find a good accountant who could hide it out of revenue's eye line like most well off people do

You're talking about the super rich there. Rachel and Peter are middle income earners, one saved and contributed to a pension, one spent everything, both now have a prosthetic limb.

But Rachel still has some savings and a pension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

So lets assume that both were in identical positions as regards wages and housing and general necessary outgoings.

Rachel saved €200,000. Well done Rachel.
    Peter spent that €200,000 over the years. He bought cars, paid tax on them, liked nice clothes, paid tax on them, liked a few pints at the weekend, paid extortionate tax on them, smoked 20 a day, paid extortionate tax on them.

Peter has paid an absolute minimum of €50,000 more taxes than Rachel, substantially more if he spent a fair whack of his €200k on drink and smokes.

Those extra taxes are now all going towards his 'free' prosthetic.
    Rachel should have lived a bit more..

I'm trying to strike a balance between your characters in my life.

Frame it as you have and Rachel looks like she's onto a loser and Peter a winner.... But in reality if you've been financially prudent and shrewd all your life then you'll most likely be better off in retirement then those who've made no effort to.

While I agree that the gap between contributory state pension and non contributory is too narrow, no point crying about that in your late 60s...

Pay into a private pension. You'll not be worse off no matter what. Don't believe anybody telling you their uncle lost his pension completely, or the government stole his pension last recession. Many in this situation were calling a second house they'd bought their pension etc etc.

The waterford glass factory workers lost their pensions,some paid into for over 40 years

Only for they such a big group (and wealthy) could pool resources,they'd have got nothing otherwise.......what hope deos anyone on their own have to fight for it in court on own back??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Stihl waters

Peter was some crack in fairness, way better than that penny pinching bitch Rachel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭killbillvol2

So lets assume that both were in identical positions as regards wages and housing and general necessary outgoings.

Peter spent that €200,000 over the years. He bought cars, paid tax on them, liked nice clothes, paid tax on them, liked a few pints at the weekend, paid extortionate tax on them, smoked 20 a day, paid extortionate tax on them.

Peter has paid an absolute minimum of €50,000 more taxes than Rachel, substantially more if he spent a fair whack of his €200k on drink and smokes.

Don't forget that Rachel also got tax relief on her pension contributions while Peter paid tax on all his income. Rachel is clearly the leech here. Where's this modified house of hers? I'm getting my pitchfork.

She could use her money to live the high life in a cheaper country though.

Don't forget that Rachel also got tax relief on her pension contributions while Peter paid tax on all his income. Rachel is clearly the leech here. Where's this modified house of hers? I'm getting my pitchfork.

Off with her leg!

The waterford glass factory workers lost their pensions,some paid into for over 40 years

Only for they such a big group (and wealthy) could pool resources,they'd have got nothing otherwise.......what hope deos anyone on their own have to fight for it in court on own back??

Don't forget the poor sods that had their pension money pocketed by a now sitting TD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Zaney

Plus Peter kept a few people in employment and off the social through his spending. Go Peter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭TheW1zard

They both on paper have had a privileged life