Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Missing Child Louth - Found 22/4/21

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭dobman88

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

god help the parents

Gardai still making regular appeals on this. Saying they're concerned for her safety and wellbeing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Any known movements after being seen in Belfast? I presume they'd have checked the ferry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,424 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

razorblunt wrote: »
    Any known movements after being seen in Belfast? I presume they'd have checked the ferry.

Last news bulletin I heard said the Gards, and PSNI, believed they were still on the island of Ireland.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Nobody could get a car off the island without being noticed.

But maybe two teenagers could get away without being seen?

The way it is being reported, with police appeals, a lot of publicity, it just feels like a more-urgent-than-usual missing teenager.

Let's hope the girl is safe...her parents must be FRANTIC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

have they eloped? or is this an abduction?

Gardai say if seen "not to approach" which seems concerning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,211 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

They’ve also a very distinctive car which would sit of stand out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,421 ✭✭✭✭josip

fryup wrote: »

Not stated, so any opinion would be speculation.
    The girl would be a minor in pretty much every country, including countries they might have familial ties to, so there wouldn't be a viable elope option.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

A CRI alert is rare. It means that Gardai have every reason to believe there is an immediate threat to her health or well-being.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

Day Lewin wrote: »
    Nobody could get a car off the island without being noticed.

But maybe two teenagers could get away without being seen?

The way it is being reported, with police appeals, a lot of publicity, it just feels like a more-urgent-than-usual missing teenager.

Let's hope the girl is safe...her parents must be FRANTIC.

Getting a car off the island undetected is a lot easier than you think. There was a program on a year or two ago that showed just how easy it was to get into the UK. There were multiple methods on show and they all clearly showed the ease of entry. One Spanish guy sailed with a private yacht owner into Dover. A bunch of other lads came in with a guy in the boot of the car. A couple of black girls entered Ireland and just drove across the border. So don't kid yourself about it being impossible.

She's been missing since Monday. It is now thursday. Her and the guy she's with could have gone from Larne to Stranraer at any time since.

BUT, the Gardai believe that they are still on the island and their intelligence and methods are pretty good. However it's not that difficult to throw up a smokescreen. Charge up the old mobile phone to full capacity then get on a bus in Belfast. Lift up the back seat and cut a hole in the cushion and insert phone. Put seat back down. Get off the bus. The phone is going around in circles. Providing you turn of GPS tracking it will just show the phone as being ON and connecting to various signal towers in Northern Ireland meanwhile you've skipped the country. A new outfit like jeans, jacket and the old covid mask on the ferry won't give CCTV much to go on either.

If her passport is still at her house then she can't get further than the UK unless they have plenty of money and an elaborate network of contacts that can smuggle them into europe in a truck of something. But she's 14 and he's 18 so I doubt they are that well prepared or versed in the finer points of escape and evasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

So, they must have a reason to say do not approach etc .... even though it could be a case of boyfriend and girlfriend doing a runner, he is technically an adult , so they must be treating this as abduction ?

There could be perfectly benign reasons for that. It doesn't mean they are violent or dangerous. It could just mean that the police don't want them spooked or for anyone to cause them to flee even more if they suspect they are being tailed. Which I'm sure they know they are but the police probably just want to play this with tact and subtlety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,421 ✭✭✭✭josip

TomSweeney wrote: »
    So, they must have a reason to say do not approach etc .... even though it could be a case of boyfriend and girlfriend doing a runner, he is technically an adult , so they must be treating this as abduction ?

I suppose they are acting emotionally rather than rationally so best not to take any chances.
    He seems to have done a bit of MMA, not sure if he’s good enough at it for that to be a reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,291 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Getting a car off the island undetected is a lot easier than you think. There was a program on a year or two ago that showed just how easy it was to get into the UK. There were multiple methods on show and they all clearly showed the ease of entry. One Spanish guy sailed with a private yacht owner into Dover. A bunch of other lads came in with a guy in the boot of the car. A couple of black girls entered Ireland and just drove across the border. So don't kid yourself about it being impossible.

Did the car go onto the private yacht?

yer man is also quite lucky to have the use of a Veloster at the age of 18. I wonder how much his inshoorance is

Teenagers are emotional, and impulsive.
    They make wild assumptions. Romeo-and-Juliet scenarios seem perfectly real and possible to that age group.

They need very gentle handling when feelings run high: you have to avoid provoking any dramatic gestures and the Guards are taking this VERY seriously - much more so than usual, it seems to me.

Still crossing fingers that all may turn out well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,945 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Odd case

You’d wonder what the older man motives are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

I looked at the article and says to meself Jaysus; that’s wojus.

Rubbed my eyes.. name is actually Nojus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,396 ✭✭✭raclle

My initial reaction after watching the news report was that they ran off together. I hope this is the case as opposed to an abduction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,211 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

yer man is also quite lucky to have the use of a Veloster at the age of 18. I wonder how much his inshoorance is

I got a quote there providing he has a full license he’d get third part for about 2900 and comprehensive for €3500.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭KaneToad

They make wild assumptions. Romeo-and-Juliet scenarios seem perfectly real and possible to that age group.

They need very gentle handling when feelings run high: you have to avoid provoking any dramatic gestures and the Guards are taking this VERY seriously - much more so than usual, it seems to me.

Of course they are. She's a 14 year old child and he's an 18 year old adult that's not her guardian nor acting in loco parents

Well, Juliet was 14!

And definitely didn't consider herself a "child" -- whatever the legal definition may be nowadays.

They might be called "A child" in law, but at that age they are really not children. Their actions show it.

Note, I know nothing about this missing girl: I'm just speaking generally about teenagers. Treating a 14yr-old as just a child is a sure way to enrage it!

I do hope that she is ok and that it ends well. This is a worst nightmare for any parent.

No, of course not. But the three white lads drove onto a ferry and arrived in Folkestone and the two black girls landed in Rosslare in a car.

Absolutely.

No need to go in all guns blazing.

There are multiple possibilities here.

They could be in love.....believe it or not it happens even with girls as young as her.

She could be having trouble at home and he's helping.

Of course people will default to the usual lowest common denominator, i.e., he's a trafficker and will sell her into sexual slavery. That could be a possibility..who knows? But one should consider all circumstances.

Irish police get slagged off for being a bunch of culchies in hi-viz vests not having a clue like some caricature in a Bugs Bunny cartoon when in reality they are intelligent, methodical and thorough in their work. It may not be glamourous work but they are good at it.

Gardai tweeting this every couple of hours. It seems quite serious compared to the usual messages they send so hopefully she makes contact and theres a good outcome.

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/1385314685231243268?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,394 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Getting a car off the island undetected is a lot easier than you think. There was a program on a year or two ago that showed just how easy it was to get into the UK. There were multiple methods on show and they all clearly showed the ease of entry. One Spanish guy sailed with a private yacht owner into Dover. A bunch of other lads came in with a guy in the boot of the car.

:cool:

You just drive across the border, simples!

Getting over to GB is a different story though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

It's so weird I met my ex when she was 24 and I was 29. When she was 14 I'd have been 19. Just weird thinking about how eventually the age gap becomes permissible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

You’d wonder what the older man motives are

The 18 year old?

They're still searching. It's on the 9pm news now.

Car seen in Belfast yesterday.

The parents must be absolutely sick. I don't think I could cope. The idea of your child being out there after dark, and you don't know what kinda mental state they're in... nah, too much to even contemplate.

I hope this is being broadcast with the same prominence across northern TV and radio. What are they doing for cash? Presumably they won't use a bank machine or debit cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭TP_CM

It's so weird I met my ex when she was 24 and I was 29. When she was 14 I'd have been 19. Just weird thinking about how eventually the age gap becomes permissible.

I remember in school there was a 6th year who started dating a 2nd year. He was 17, going to turn 18 over the summer and she was 14. There was uproar at the time. They're married now with a few kids. I remember at the time it wasn't too weird for us because she always seemed/looked older but looking back now God it's so weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,394 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

I wonder is she being held captive against her will, or is she a willing partner?

Or someone who is being saved from some form of hell/abuse at home.. Impossible to tell, although I'd admit this isn't the likely situation.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Lads Gardai don't issue a CRI just because the child has run away. She was reported missing on Monday and Gardai issued the CRI this morning. They have clearly good reasons to believe that she is not safe.

CRI's are rare. They are issued under strict criteria. It's been years since the last one.

At 14 years of age, you're not emotionally or mentally capable of making important life choices. This kid is probably too young to even sit the Junior Cert. The idea of some mature choice doesn't even arise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Doublebusy

That car they are travelling in was only bought /changed owner 6 weeks ago. Wonder what the circumstances are - was this planned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,958 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

At 14 years of age, you're not emotionally or mentally capable of making important life choices. This kid is probably too young to even sit the Junior Cert. The idea of some mature choice doesn't even arise.

It could be an immature choice.
    Which would different scenario to an abduction in how she perceives the event.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

josip wrote: »
    He seems to have done a bit of MMA, not sure if he’s good enough at it for that to be a reason.

and also 6ft to boot, i can understand why it's best not approach

Both are wrong but there is a big difference between a child who goes willingly and a child who is being held captive. I don't think the poster was saying that by going willingly or as a result of a mature decision it makes everything ok. It was more a question to ponder the level of immediate distress on her part. Or that's how it read to me anyways.

It's fairly easy to find a public video online (I don't think I'm allowed to link it?) seemingly of him kickboxing 2 years ago and he's a bit of an animal in that. Hard to believe he was only 16 in it. I definitely wouldn't be going near him if I saw them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭EddieN75

A young couple running away together. Happening since long before the days of social media or Helen Lovejoy types.

All will be fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,979 ✭✭✭YellowLead

EddieN75 wrote: »
    A young couple running away together. Happening since long before the days of social media or Helen Lovejoy types.

All will be fine

She’s 14. He’s an adult.

TP_CM wrote: »
    Both are wrong but there is a big difference between a child who goes willingly and a child who is being held captive. I don't think the poster was saying that by going willingly or as a result of a mature decision it makes everything ok. It was more a question to ponder the level of immediate distress on her part. Or that's how it read to me anyways.

Oh for sure, I wasn't even intending to criticise that poster, just processing how young she is. Even the 18-year-old is barely an adult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,063 ✭✭✭Chris_5339762

I remember in school there was a 6th year who started dating a 2nd year. He was 17, going to turn 18 over the summer and she was 14. There was uproar at the time. They're married now with a few kids. I remember at the time it wasn't too weird for us because she always seemed/looked older but looking back now God it's so weird.

Half your age and add seven.

Seriously though, spotted the VMS signs on the N40 this morning with a reg number to look out for. They must be very worried and have credible evidence of something likely to happen. Hope this all turns out for the best.

All will be fine

Yes, it's true that it happens, (and always has) : but this one doesn't sound like its going to turn out well.

We can't possibly guess what the reasons are for publicising this whole thing so urgently: but surely it implies that parents or police suspect a level of danger to the girl?

Yes, it's true that it happens, (and always has) : but this one doesn't sound like its going to turn out well.

We can't possibly guess what the reasons are for publicising this whole thing so urgently: but surely it implies that parents or police suspect a level of danger to the girl?

They have left the state. Possibly to England or eastern Europe via Belfast. Gardai are now powerless. Out of their jurisdiction. They didn't stop them. The urgency was likely to try and stop them from getting out of the state

Hopefully there is nothing more sinister to it

All will be fine

Using the alt account for this comment. Brave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭celt262

They have left the state. Possibly to England or eastern Europe via Belfast. Gardai are now powerless. Out of their jurisdiction. They didn't stop them. The urgency was likely to try and stop them from getting out of the state

Hopefully there is nothing more sinister to it

Source?

celt262 wrote: »
    Source?

Vehicle possibly spotted in Belfast as reported by the news this evening

"Gardaí are satisfied the car was in the greater Belfast area at 5.35pm yesterday evening (Wednesday) but the whereabouts of the pair is not known at this time"

No longer in Garda jurisdiction. Psni will take over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

Really? It was quite the norm when I was a teenager to have boyfriends a few years older. The boys our own age seemed very unattractive in comparison.