Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The most dangerous thing you've ever done!

• 21-04-2021 5:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭

What's the most dangerous or hazardous thing you've ever done in your lifetime? I don't mean an accidental situation but a potential life or death act you initiated yourself.
    Mine was at the Cliffs of Moher when I was in my early 20s. With a few friends and for a dare, I stupidly eased myself down onto a three foot wide ledge which was about five feet below the main edge of the cliff. Immediately beyond the ledge was a 300 straight drop into the ocean!! I stayed there for a moment, pretending I was hanging on, before scrambling back up. After all these years I still can't believe I did this stupid, dangerous act.
    So what was the most dangerous thing you've ever done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

I want to say it but the charter forbids it.

second word Rhymes with what sheeps say.

I will get banned for this!

Oh also unprotected sex. (will get banned for this too)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,036 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Took me a minute. Obviously not spending enough time in AH.

Ficheall wrote: »
    Took me a minute. Obviously not spending enough time in AH.
    :p

quodec wrote: »
    What's the most dangerous or hazardous thing you've ever done in your lifetime? I don't mean an accidental situation but a potential life or death act you initiated yourself.
    Mine was at the Cliffs of Moher when I was in my early 20s. With a few friends and for a dare, I stupidly eased myself down onto a three foot wide ledge which was about five feet below the main edge of the cliff. Immediately beyond the ledge was a 300 straight drop into the ocean!! I stayed there for a moment, pretending I was hanging on, before scrambling back up. After all these years I still can't believe I did this stupid, dangerous act.

I think I spent a night on that ledge drinking cider and smoking joints back in the day..

Allegedly..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

quodec wrote: »
    Get married :p

Wait until you have kids!:p

Ha ha laughs at you bein married! (not serious mods)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,460 ✭✭✭Kaybaykwah

Yeah. That takes the cake, as they say.

Wait until you have kids!:p

Ha ha laughs at you bein married! (not serious mods)
    I'm not married anymore and no kids. All good though we're still on good terms and she's a great woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,414 ✭✭✭Ninthlife

I answered 'yes' to the Does my arse look big in these? question

I'm not married anymore and no kids. All good though we're still on good terms and she's a great woman.
    A rare sign of maturity that. :)

Ninthlife wrote: »
    I answered 'yes' to the Does my arse look big in these? question
    Did his bum look big?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,996 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Two parachute jumps back in the 80s in Jersey.
    Second one was worse as I knew what to expect.
    Never went back the third time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭Duff

Lost Boys-esque hanging from a train track as the train went over. Idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Nomis21

Back in'86, living in UK, I bought an old T2 VW combi van and with a friend we decided to drive as far as we could in an easterly direction. Crossing Turkey we arrived to the border with Syria after 4 days and to our amazement the immigration let us into Syria on the basis that they wanted better relations with our country.

My mate was driving a few hours later and killed a man standing in the middle of the road in the middle of the night. It was pitch black and the man was drssed head to toe in black. Apparently he was trying to get us to stop so he could rob us. We left him there and escaped to the next country, Jordan, as we didn't fancy seeing the inside of a Syrian jail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Got married

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I jumped into falueja

Was she surprised?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Got married

Aw, cute! Not often you see a couple posting on the same thread!

Nomis21 wrote: »
    Back in'86, living in UK, I bought an old T2 VW combi van and with a friend we decided to drive as far as we could in an easterly direction. Crossing Turkey we arrived to the border with Syria after 4 days and to our amazement the immigration let us into Syria on the basis that they wanted better relations with our country.

My mate was driving a few hours later and killed a man standing in the middle of the road in the middle of the night. It was pitch black and the man was drssed head to toe in black. Apparently he was trying to get us to stop so he could rob us. We left him there and escaped to the next country, Jordan, as we didn't fancy seeing the inside of a Syrian jail.

Close the thread now. Murder takes the cake.

Duff wrote: »
    Close the thread now. Murder takes the cake.

Keep the thread open: It was only manslaughter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭The Mighty Quinn

Back in my much more foolish days I developed a bit of a penchant for ecstasy, it was my mid-20s, and I spent about a year being daft. I bought some pills and had a few weeks worth of a stash for myself and took a notion one evening to take one and put on some music. Unfortunately I was enjoying life so much I took another few and another few until I'd taken over a dozen of them.

Luckily for me it was winter and freezing rain outside and I'd decided in my wisdom to go for a walk as I was feeling a bit warm. When I got back hours later I was still burning up with the heat, my whole body had broken out in a severe heat rash. That walk probably saved my life. If I'd stayed indoors or in bed I'd say I'd have collapsed.

That was the end of that chapter in my life. When I came back to earth the fright I got was awful. Took me a fortnight to feel human again. Silly silly boy.

I regard that as having "gotten away with it", I feel I should have been at least hospitalised and probably worse.

Keep the thread open: It was only manslaughter.

Yep, I'm sure the Syrian justice system would see it that way :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,796 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I once told a woman she was wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,792 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

How has nobody said "Yore Ma" yet? Standards are slipping. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,435 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

BattleCorp wrote: »
    How has nobody said "Yore Ma" yet? Standards are slipping. :mad:

They did. You missed it.
    Subtle it was baa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,622 ✭✭✭secman

Haven't a notion !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,792 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    They did. You missed it.
    Subtle it was baa

Ah lads. I hang my head in shame. :o

I stole my some of my Dad's chips once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

secman wrote: »
    Haven't a notion !

Sheep’s bleat, feet, smelly feet

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,939 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

I stole my some of my Dad's chips once.

Daddy or chips?

A risky choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,997 ✭✭✭Degag

Did he tell you this before or after ye ran him over?

begbysback wrote: »
    Sheep’s bleat, feet, smelly feet
    ba ba black sheep ...Yor ma's smelly feet!

Daddy or chips?

A risky choice.
    Indeed never taken lightly. But you have to know ...Daddy will steal YOUR chips if you don't steal his!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,979 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Took a girl home to the south bronx. Had to stay till late morning next day to make run for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

Only if the guy they flattened was a Shia or part of done other group in favour with the Assad's. If he was a Sunni, they wouldn't have given 2 fúcks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,684 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Putting the laugher back in vehicular manslaughter.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,812 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Probably climbing an extremely dangerous erupting volcano, and being within a k or so of pyroclastic flows, fun times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Possibly the most interesting post I've ever read on this site

Holy sh1t !

How many people have you revealed this to ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭tylercheribini

Being told off by a Boards.ie Mod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Does paragliding count as dangerous?

Perhaps this then:

Skiing downhill on a very steep and narrow path with a steep drop on one side and a steep slope on the other ...so no other way but straight down ...on narrow nordic cross country skis that you can't plough or swing..while somewhat tipsy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,711 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

Put Chinese ditch finders on the car once. About a week later in bad rain came around a corner that I’d driven around every day for 4 years

Back end lost grip, went into a swervy skid and a car coming against me. I remember thinking “oh ****, I’m about to become a statistic” but managed to regain control. Missed the other car by inches.

When I stopped I sat there for about 10 seconds and saw the other car was stopped too. I got out and a woman was bawling crying in the seat. She obviously had had the same thought.

Never again will I skimp on tyres.

Aw, cute! Not often you see a couple posting on the same thread!
    Believe me punisher is not my my ex even though she did punish me sometimes but it was all consensual. :D

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,939 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

I thought this was a film I haven't seen, but from responses it looks real.

Am I missing the joke here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Telling the truth.

You win.:p

Degag wrote: »
    Did he tell you this before or after ye ran him over?

Actually neither, but further down the road we gave a lift to a Syrian airforce Pilot (who was actually hitchhiking) to Damascus. He told us to be careful of men who try to stop foreign cars and trucks and then rob the driver.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,978 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Didn't really realise at the time how dangerous it was, but I got into a car with a (very) drunk driver when I was about 15. I had a part time job at the time, and there was a function related to it in this hotel in the Midlands, and my boss brought me along. There were presentations etc and then dinner at about 5pm. My boss had a few glasses of wine with the dinner, and I did see her with a G&T in her hand afterwards but she seemed fine, and this was back in the day when if you were having a drink with a meal you were "grand" to drive (at least to the best of my knowledge as a 15 year old). Looking back on it now, I doubt it was the one G&T that she was drinking very slowly, I'd say it more likely was multiple G&Ts.

So anyway, it gets to about 9pm and it's time for us to go home. It seemed to be the pretty cliché situation that the booze really hit my boss as soon as we got outside in to the fresh air. I was slightly concerned when she seemed to have trouble getting the car to start and she was muttering away about having to get it to the garage when we got home. She eventually gets going and we head off on to the open road.

Any thoughts I had that she might have been OK to drive disappeared pretty bloody fast once we got on the road proper. She was all over the place. Twice she veered over the wrong side of the road and on the second time the only reason we didn't hit an oncoming car was I reached over and grabbed the wheel. I was afraid she'd be pissed that I'd grabbed the wheel but she didn't even seem to notice I had done anything. We hit the motorway, which is thankfully pretty empty and she alternates between going over the speed limit and dangerously slow. At this stage I'm terrified but weirdly it didn't enter my head that she could crash and kill us both; I was afraid we'd get pulled over and end up getting arrested and I'd have to get my parents to collect me from some random Garda station in the arsehole of nowhere.

As we started getting closer to Dublin, she complains that she's starting to get tired and she needed something to keep her awake. I helpfully offered her one of my cigarettes (she didn't smoke) and she nearly stuck the lit end into her mouth, so I suggested she pull off the motorway so we could have a smoke and a breath of fresh air to wake her up. When it came time to get back in the car, she was still insisting she was tired and then she asked me would I drive the rest of the way. I had learned to drive at thar stage, but obviously never on public roads, not to mention the fact that I hadn't got a license. The situation was that bad that I honestly considered it for minute but eventually she agreed to get back in and drive.

By some miracle we got home and nobody was killed or injured. At the time I was just so relieved we didn't get pulled over, and needless to say, I said nothing to my parents about it, but looking back on it now as an adult with kids it sends shivers down my spine realising just how insanely dangerous the situation was and how lucky we were that she didn't either kill us both or someone else.

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    Possibly the most interesting post I've ever read on this site

Holy sh1t !

How many people have you revealed this to ?

No one from Syria anyway.

I thought this was a film I haven't seen, but from responses it looks real.

Am I missing the joke here?

No joke. It hapenned.

PM me for Book details if you want to read about this and other craziness.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 452 ✭✭Sharpyshoot

Had incorrect coitus at a wedding.