Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good areas in Ireland for an investment property

Options
  • 10-04-2021 7:27am
    Registered Users Posts: 61 ✭✭

Hi all.
    After years of saving hard I will be looking to buy an investment property at around the 150k to 170k mark max early next year as a cash buyer; i dont want any mortgage debt on the property. Ideally a 1 or 2 bed apartment/duplex with minimal maintenance. And happy to consider renting to government on long term rental scheme.

This is my first time doing such a venture and i want to see if anyone has any experience in this and generally what part of the country they would consider a relatively safe bet (in terms of protecting the capital, a decent rental return €1,100 to €1,200 pm and bouyant rental market).

Within my price range I see plenty of properties in the following areas that I would like investment opinion on;

Drogheda

Balbriggan-this one seems v topical?v cheap for a reason?

Ballyfermot-i understand has one the best returns in the country?

Clondalkin

Citywest

Finglas

Tallaght

Limerick

Waterford

Maybe there are other areas I am missing that could be relatively decent value that people have knowledge on?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 28,805 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Waterford should be a good place with major investment currently occuring, it's perfectly setup for rent seeking activities

• Registered Users Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭Darc19

One area I'm looking at is Cahir in Tipperary. (I have one property there and keeping an eye out for another)

Strong employment, properties reasonably priced and good tenants at €900-€1000 per month.