Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cruiser bike for beginner

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 12,761 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

FrankC21 wrote: »
    I'm a complete beginner, 32 years old, I am planning on doing the theory test when lockdown is lifted, the whole idea is that I just want to ride the bike on a quiet sunny sunday morning commute to work 3-4 times per month even fewer cause of the weather, I am not going to use it as regular transport, commute is from drogheda to Dublin its about 55km each way. Really just to enjoy and have fun not too keen on going bloody fast like, just 100km/hr, if a cruiser doesn't suit that then what sort of bike I will need, I am open to any suggestion.

There's nothing wrong with a cruiser - for that commute or any other tbh. It's only 55km - 35 miles in old money. Anyone who thinks a mid-size or full size bike can't do that is off their trolley, weather or not.

One thing I would agree with is NOT getting a 125. At your age, you don't need to.

A Dragstar 650 would be ideal imho. Simple, reliable, shaft drive. But there are others out there too. Honda Shadow, Kawasaki VN.

Cruisers are learner and new-rider friendly, and not imposing, and cheap(er) to insure. You can always sell it if you get bored, down the road.

Ode To The Motorist