Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The perfect fantasy Garda car

• 09-04-2021 8:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I do this with my 8 year old son. Of course, he's all for Lambo's, Range Rovers, Subaru Imprezza's (actually a good choice) and the odd American muscle thrown in.

What in your opinion would be a good cop car? It has to take passengers & bold people, have a decent boot, go faster than the average car, not cost over 70k. spares and replacement parts need to be cheap enough (no lambos so)

I'm going to put forward the Golf R. Fast, reliable, bits can be replaced with regular golf stuff (headlights, panels etc...) if need be. It's 4wd which is surely an advantage, it's quick on motoroways and nimble in urban settings.

Another choice would be the estate Ford Focus ST. Not 4wd, but more room.

They'll be fitted with push bumpers and a professional designer will design and fit the hi vis decals in a way that will enhance & bolster the lines and road stance of the car (not like the present ones)

This is fantasy, so I'm not taking in to account economy. Go mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Hyundai i30N
    Some sort of supercharged Range Rover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

They've already got a Golf R, so that's taken

Personally I'd love, and hate, to see RS model Audis or M5s like other countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

They've already got a Golf R, so that's taken

Personally I'd love, and hate, to see RS model Audis or M5s like other countries.

I didn't know that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

A jeep trackhawk ��*♂️ probably breakdown before they catch anyone but it would be some craic prior to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Dodge charger

Nissan gtr

John_Rambo wrote: »
    I didn't know that!

Kinahans were extremely accomodating

tuned stiffened E300 kombi i.e. what you'll see the Polizei driving any day of the week.
    i40 is very underwhelming in comparison.

Kinahans were extremely accomodating

Ah, right, I understand now. Brilliant usage of CAB seized property. Thanks.

Ok ok.... Real world we could follow the UK....

Skoda vRS, Seat Leon Cupra, Golf r(more then one), S3 hatch's, we have a 2017 saloon one now not sure who was nice to accommodate that one, M1, M5, Audi's, BMW, Mercs etc...... Would be nice to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Sandero stepdaughter with NOS

Whilst not appearing to insult our nations police force, I'm not sure if rear wheel drive cars are a good idea :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Bonzo Delaney

Volvo v90 Cross Country :cool:

Winner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭spring lane jack

One with handlebars on the outside of the doors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Neilw

The Subaru Forester turbo’s they had a few years ago surprised a lot of people.
    Quick enough, long travel suspension, good traction and handling and very understated.

Neilw wrote: »
    Quick enough, long travel suspension, good traction and handling and very understated.

Great cars. I think biko had one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

Neilw wrote: »

I got lit up by one on the M9 at a fairly considerable number above the posted speed. As I sheepishly pulled over he pulled up beside me gave a cheeky grin and buried the boot. It was a wine coloured one based out of Kilcullen or Naas apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Neilw

iwillhtfu wrote: »
    I got lit up by one on the M9 at a fairly considerable number above the posted speed. As I sheepishly pulled over he pulled up beside me gave a cheeky grin and buried the boot. It was a wine coloured one based out of Kilcullen or Naas apparently.

They had a blue one in Dublin too, it had a mesh dog guard in it iirc. Maximum family wagon camouflage :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Abcryan123

I didn't know that!

This one? Pretty sure it was written off within a few weeks of them getting it. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Abcryan123 wrote: »
    This one? Pretty sure it was written off within a few weeks of them getting it. :(

And rebuilt, it's been back on the road ages

My initial point proven about having a supply of cheap parts from the regular model.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

iwillhtfu wrote: »

I got done for speeding by the wine one back in the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Dodge charger

Nissan gtr

Charger ,but could you keep the guards from diffing

Whilst not appearing to insult our nations police force, I'm not sure if rear wheel drive cars are a good idea :)

Sideways Sierras were a sight to behold

Charger ,but could you keep the guards from diffing

Maybe;-)

Ok Yaris it is then....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

They had it Volvo 850 T5R

Equivalent V70 for today would be your man. Less of this crossover or SUV bollix for me.

listermint wrote: »
    They had it Volvo 850 T5R

Equivalent V70 for today would be your man. Less of this crossover or SUV bollix for me.

These fake SUV will not handle speed or cornering very well.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,902 ✭✭✭passatman86

I was leaving town in Dublin one day and coming down Bolton Street was a silver evo 7 with siren and blue lights on.. Couldn't believe what i was seeing and never heard of others mentioning about the garda having one. Was about 10 years ago. An evo 7 would keep up with most cars back then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Carbon Motors E7 purpose built police car.

These fake SUV will not handle speed or cornering very well.....

Estates are not suvs or fake suvs. And you are saying an estate can't corner.

Hilarious....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭.42.

JAGUAR F‑PACE
    JAGUAR XF
    AUDI Q7
    AUDI A7 Sportsback
    AUDI RS4
    BMW M4
    MERCEDES AMG A45

listermint wrote: »
    Estates are not suvs or fake suvs. And you are saying an estate can't corner.

Hilarious....

What are you on about

You said SUV bollix and I was agreeing with you....

What are you on about

You said SUV bollix and I was agreeing with you....

LoL it's early , thought you were saying the 850 was a fake SUV :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Armed response could save a few quid using a Ford explorer instead of an X5

As for cars a bit more difficult I think.

Definitely take hyundai out of it altogether, they just are not a good fit for them at all.

I would probably say

Skoda octavia VRS.

A good all rounder really, I'm finding it difficult to come up with something better trying to keep it realistic.

The Volvo would be a nice fleet but I would imagine cost being a big issue with that, skoda being a lot cheaper. Same for suburau. I like the idea of them but they don't have a big support network in ireland anymore. No point saying audi when skoda is there, same for VW and SEAT.
    BMW, Mercedes would be good but again too expensive even though the 5 Series and E class would be good additions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Bonzo Delaney

Some great suggestions all the garda need now are a few decent pilot's that can handle 200+ bhp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,774 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Ford Sierra

🙈🙉🙊

Ford Sierra

Cozy in sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,657 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I liked the estate Insignias they had- seem to have disappeared off the fleet.
    I despise the Hyundai’s- they really must be getting those outdated rubbish for next to nothing from Hyundai as a promotional exercise. They are the very last range of cars I’d pick. Particularly the completely dated I40 and slow Tucson.

I think the Peugeot 508 in a higher performance model would make a very slick police car without breaking the bank

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

Audi rs6.... not much would pass it, big boot. I'd nearly be happy to be arrested by it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,719 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I wouldn't say 'next to nothing', but you do know how public tender works yeah?

I think the Skoda Octavia and Superb Combi estates would make ideal marked patrol cars and for specialist unmarked work, its hard to look past the T8 Volvos and Audi Quattros, the latter of which they already have some of.

road_high wrote: »
    I liked the estate Insignias they had- seem to have disappeared off the fleet.
    I despise the Hyundai’s- they really must be getting those outdated rubbish for next to nothing from Hyundai as a promotional exercise. They are the very last range of cars I’d pick. Particularly the completely dated I40 and slow Tucson.

I think the Peugeot 508 in a higher performance model would make a very slick police car without breaking the bank

Still have the insignias but less of them it seems, crashes, mileage etc.
    They were about 190hp too.

i40 were last batch, they no longer made.
    1.6 extremely high powered diesel :-)

Tucson not great but I'd guess much easier to get in and out of.

Some great suggestions all the garda need now are a few decent pilot's that can handle 200+ bhp

Like all the trained drivers they currently have?

This might sound daft but a car that you can't pull down the rear seat and simple climb out or and I'm being fancy now, something with electric child locks on the doors and windows.

Let's get the most basic stuff right first please Mr purchasing manager

Armed response could save a few quid using a Ford explorer instead of an X5

As for cars a bit more difficult I think.

Definitely take hyundai out of it altogether, they just are not a good fit for them at all.

I would probably say

Skoda octavia VRS.

A good all rounder really, I'm finding it difficult to come up with something better trying to keep it realistic.

The Volvo would be a nice fleet but I would imagine cost being a big issue with that, skoda being a lot cheaper. Same for suburau. I like the idea of them but they don't have a big support network in ireland anymore. No point saying audi when skoda is there, same for VW and SEAT.
    BMW, Mercedes would be good but again too expensive even though the 5 Series and E class would be good additions

There won't be any Skodas because the PSNI use them,

Isn't there a percentage who aren't allowed to drive with the blue lights on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,703 ✭✭✭✭namenotavailablE

Whatever model is chosen, in a fantasy world it should probably have one of these built in:

Is 200 bhp considered powerful these days? Maybe 10 years years ago, 300+ seems to be the new 200.

Sure they have bikes now with over 200bhp.

Pretty sure all Garda that drive the cars have advanced driving courses done anyway

Is 200 bhp considered powerful these days? Maybe 10 years years ago, 300+ seems to be the new 200.

Sure they have bikes now with over 200bhp.

Pretty sure all Garda that drive the cars have advanced driving courses done anyway

https://www.thejournal.ie/garda-training-4438912-Jan2019/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,238 ✭✭✭Patser

When it's released, I'd wishbone Gardaí got a few Ioniq 5s.

Looks like an old s3, bigger than a Tucson so plenty of space, 0-100 in 5.2 seconds, not cripplingly expensive.

https://www.caranddriver.com/hyundai/ioniq-5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

0.9 litre Renault Captur.

Yeah exactly, so the ones that haven't done the course can't exceed the speed limit or use sirens.