Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I badly need a haircut.

• 02-04-2021 8:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,221 ✭✭✭

I haven't had a haircut since a few days before Christmas. Usually get a 2 into a 3 back and sides, but at this rate I'll be needing a strimmer.

How long's it been for you?

need-a-haircut--261973.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,282 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

3 hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭Vowel Movement

Actully got it cut today. It was mid December when it was last done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

About a month ago.

Bought a clippers, watched a few you-tube videos on how to use one.

Got the Missus to work on it. She never cut anyone's hair before.

She didn't do a bad job in fairness.

I'll get her to cut it again soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,411 ✭✭✭✭woodchuck

It was August for me. I'm a woman with long hair, so can get away with it to a certain extent. The split ends are starting to get on my nerves though!

I was planning to get my hair cut just after Christmas, to avoid the pre-Christmas rush. Needless to say, that never happened!

The OH was September. His hair was actually driving me mad, so I finally took the scissors to him a couple of weeks ago. Not a bad job if I do say so myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,732 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Did 2 myself since Christmas, rough and ready, does the job. Wearing the face mask in public allows me to hide making a balls of it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 452 ✭✭Sharpyshoot

Did 2 myself since Christmas, rough and ready, does the job. Wearing the face mask in public allows me to hide making a balls of it.

A face mask on your head is spreading the virus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭gipi

woodchuck wrote: »

I was planning to get my hair cut just after Christmas, to avoid the pre-Christmas rush. Needless to say, that never happened!

I was the same - got in just before the October lockdown, so intended going back after Christmas....so it's been almost 6 months (apart from a small bit of DIY).

Bought a clippers for the other half back in April, he needs to be neat for work. I've been doing his hair ever since, he reckons he might never go back to a barber!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,295 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Too long ago for me. I'm not doing the army recruit look again :(

Similar, two-tiered shear system with the clippers. Every 4-6 weeks, hold up the mirror to tidy the back. Little more than ten minutes out of the day. A little uneven first time, beanie in January the perfect disguise. Shaving the beard nearly tougher now, whenever I'm arsed which is seldom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭UrbanSprawl

Also not prepared to sink to the DIY level just yet I can go for another two months with shaggy hair ..after that yea I will take the bastard axe to it

M

Similar, two-tiered shear system with the clippers. Every 4-6 weeks, hold up the mirror to tidy the back. Little more than ten minutes out of the day. A little uneven first time, beanie in January the perfect disguise. Shaving the beard nearly tougher now, whenever I'm arsed which is seldom.

Worst parts to get right are the fringe, back which merges with neck and the crown thinning part at the top back of your head. It would be easier doing a full shave off rather than a 2-4 blade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭VanHalen

Have been thinking about this lately - can’t make up my mind which I’m looking forward the most to being able to do - go for a pint or get a haircut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭Hamachi

VanHalen wrote: »
    Have been thinking about this lately - can’t make up my mind which I’m looking forward the most to being able to do - go for a pint or get a haircut.

I’m doing both on the same day. As soon as the barbers open, I’m going in for a chop and then a few takeaway pints afterwards. Can’t wait!

What I can’t understand is all the teenagers around here look great with fresh fades. Where they hell are they getting it done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭LimeFruitGum

I think it has been 9 months since my last cut. I think I will tie my up in a ponytail and cut an inch off, the excitement awaits me tomorrow ��

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭pgj2015

gipi wrote: »
    I was the same - got in just before the October lockdown, so intended going back after Christmas....so it's been almost 6 months (apart from a small bit of DIY).

Bought a clippers for the other half back in April, he needs to be neat for work. I've been doing his hair ever since, he reckons he might never go back to a barber!

Tell him to go back to the barbers, he will be helping the economy. A professional haircut compared to a DIY job is like choosing a bag of chips over a michelin star restaurant meal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 KP81

I got a black market haircut for me and the kids. Seems loads at it. €20 a head. Felt like a king afterwards. Highly recommended. Safer than a trip to Tesco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭thenightman

Was same as you up until last weekend, no haircut since Christmas and was fed up with the mop growing into me ears and generally looking like I'd failed an audition for the Dubliners. 25 quid clippers collected from Power City and a tense 2 hours later I had a grand 3 all over, though herself had to tidy up the nape of the neck bit with the zero blade. Everyone in work is in the same boat and I've seen some horrific attempts at fades etc by the younger lads, so happy enough with my boring self shorn 3!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭Hamachi

KP81 wrote: »
    I got a black market haircut for me and the kids. Seems loads at it. €20 a head. Felt like a king afterwards. Highly recommended. Safer than a trip to Tesco.

I don’t suppose you know where you could find one in your local area? I’m getting desperate at this stage :)

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,529 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Ive cut it myself 4 times now. Will probably never darken the door of a barbers again tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,740 ✭✭✭✭M.T. Cranium

Just a friendly reminder not to use images of myself for any unauthorized purpose.

Was same as you up until last weekend, no haircut since Christmas and was fed up with the mop growing into me ears and generally looking like I'd failed an audition for the Dubliners. 25 quid clippers collected from Power City and a tense 2 hours later I had a grand 3 all over, though herself had to tidy up the nape of the neck bit with the zero blade. Everyone in work is in the same boat and I've seen some horrific attempts at fades etc by the younger lads, so happy enough with my boring self shorn 3!

I love rock music but growing long hair was to much hassle to ever realise ..we are turning into a nation of cavemen and women

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭dockysher

Buy a shaver and shave it to 6+ or whatever you like. No one cares, just do it

Just a friendly reminder not to use images of myself for any unauthorized purpose.

Enjoy ur forecasts MT when interesting weather happens I check ur thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Bigmac1euro

I’m in ****ing bits lads. Just in general like. I look awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Enjoy ur forecasts MT when interesting weather happens I check ur thread

How is it that women will feel then need to take on their husbands haircutting but men don’t even think of having a go at their wives hair?

I got an appointment & got it cut ‘professionally’ at the last weive of the restrictions - unfortunately I got a bad haircut. ffs. Its growing out nicely now - lockdown desperation or not, I definately won’t be going back there again that’s for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Zaney

I haven’t had my hair cut since November 2019. Nearly at the point I’ll let my 10 year old daughter have a go. Would probably be better than the current mop.

M

I’m in ****ing bits lads. Just in general like. I look awful.
    It's amazing how great you feel coming out of the barbers all done up, I miss it so much, all the fear of messing it up is in their hands :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

VanHalen wrote: »

You could have an idea there for a new business, a place where you could get your haircut and have a pint while waiting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

You could have an idea there for a new business, a place where you could get your haircut and have a pint while waiting.

The fancier barbers offer bottles of beer.

My hair is nearly hitting the toilet when I go now. I bought a professional scissors but it's in layers so not sure how to tackle it. I put a colour on though and it's a bit better but definitely need a good cut. I don't know how men manage if they have hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,714 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

How is it that women will feel then need to take on their husbands haircutting but men don’t even think of having a go at their wives hair?

I've just trimmed my wife's hair after doing it in May of the first lockdown.

Its naturally long with a kink in it, so she directed operations with a hand mirror and a dressing mirror and I wetted sections of it and trimmed maybe a cm off at a time until she was happy enough. We didn't get too ambitious, but its even and bouncier on top with the weight gone out of it.

All men should have a go if its just a matter of trimming, just use a decent haircutting scissors and comb and take it in small trims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

Another one who hasn't it cut since December.

Not long now. Think here in the North there's a review on 15th, so hopefully before the end of the month. I heard it will be May in the South. I suppose I can wait a little longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Talking about haircuts Enda Kenny was on the late late show last night and was like a man that was living in the wild since the last lockdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,282 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

KP81 wrote: »

Any barbers that are still working away are 100% right to do so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,860 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

I've been doing my own and that's why I've been wearing a hat every time I leave the house.

About 9 months ago I'd say. I'm a woman with longish hair usually but I feel like I'm turning one of those old dolls whose long swishy hair makes them look 25 from behind until they turn around and they have the face of your great granny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Speedsie
    ¡arriba, arriba! ¡andale, andale!

Zaney wrote: »
    I haven’t had my hair cut since November 2019. Nearly at the point I’ll let my 10 year old daughter have a go. Would probably be better than the current mop.

Ditto, 15 months without a haircut now, normally get it cut twice a year. Didn't bother me that much last year, but really starting to irritate me now. Well below bra strap line now. Fortunately little to no split ends though.

No 10 year old in the house, but I moved back to look after my octogenarian mother last March, she has a short bob, and I've cut it four times for her.
    I'll need to apologise profusely to her hairdresser when they reopen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

I got a Phillips clippers and my OH does the back and sides for me with the with the zero blade every 2 weeks, leaving the top alone. I've gone full mid-life crisis and decided to bleach it. It's looks great when freshly brushed and styled but after a few hours, especially if I go out into the wind I start to resemble Boris Johnson :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭Ninthlife

Bought a clippers during the 1st lockdown. Haircuts have been getting better, 5 on top, 2 back snd sides and blend it in with a 4.

One thing though...i had herself do it. I asked to take my locks up a bit, she duly did. Then forgot to put the #2 clipper back on and subsequently took a lump outta the side of my head lol.

Had to use a 1 and try disguise it but that was in Oct so the dark evenings hid me....thankfully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,786 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

Had my hair cut and coloured in August when hairdressers opened up. I didn't have the money to go in the run up to Xmas and then lockdown.

My fringe used to bother me but it's long enough now to pull it all back so I don't look like cousin it from the Adams Family any more. The colour growing out of my hair looks the worst but toying with going grey now anyway.

Whatever I decide about the fringe or the colour I'll still be first in line for hairdressers when they open as it's the one treat i love. When i come out of there I feel great.

PsychoPete wrote: »
    Any barbers that are still working away are 100% right to do so

No they are not. especially if they are still taking the covid payment. I hope they all get caught.

December 4th and I’m about to go spare. I look like a reject from the Hair Bear Bunch! I’m praying hard the barbers in the North open soon for it’s the first place I am going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

i dont think I will need to go to a barber again as long as junior is living at home, i give him the money I'd pay otherwise, win win

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Max Keller

I've been doing my own since the start of this pandemic although its a simple 1 1/2 all over. Won't be setting foot in a barber shop again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭PMBC

Student son cut mine at Christmas; hes the 5th generation to cut hair in this family. Promises to do it again today although theres not much to cut!

pgj2015 wrote: »
    No they are not. especially if they are still taking the covid payment. I hope they all get caught.
    What if we start with the assumption that most people are smart enough to take precautions, and don't set out to do harm? A 25yo hairdresser or barber cutting the hair of a 40yo at home is not the most upright behaviour, but I wouldn't like to see tax/welfare authorities pounce on them.

This time last year, most of us would have condemned this behaviour, like you still do. But one year on, we've endured the strictest, longest lockdown in europe, and have fared only about average. Other countries, like France, still allow hairdressers to open in accordance with their public health advice — this, during their strictest lockdown.

Personally I think hairdressers should remain shut, but am not for criminal sanctions when someone takes a calculated risk with their own health. Knowingly taking that risk into an elderly person's home is another matter.

What if we start with the assumption that most people are smart enough to take precautions, and don't set out to do harm? A 25yo hairdresser or barber cutting the hair of a 40yo at home is not the most upright behaviour, but I wouldn't like to see tax/welfare authorities pounce on them.

This time last year, most of us would have condemned this behaviour, like you still do. But one year on, we've endured the strictest, longest lockdown in europe, and have fared only about average. Other countries, like France, still allow hairdressers to open in accordance with their public health advice — this, during their strictest lockdown.

Personally I think hairdressers should remain shut, but am not for criminal sanctions when someone takes a calculated risk with their own health. Knowingly taking that risk into an elderly person's home is another matter.

There are barbers getting the pup and doing up to 10 haircuts a day, getting help with their rent as well. They are raking it in and screwing the taxi payer because they aren't paying any tax on their earnings. They aren't doing you a favor. some people are just greedy c**ts.
    I prefer a proper barber haircut but I am just cutting my own until they open, Id rather a bad haircut than let it get too long, who cares if I fcuk it up, its not like anyone will see it in the pub or nightclub.

They are closed for a reason, and we are doing a lot better than a lot of countries in Europe so maybe we are the ones who are right for once.

pgj2015 wrote: »

They are closed for a reason, and we are doing a lot better than a lot of countries in Europe so maybe we are the ones who are right for once.
    We are also doing a lot worse than some. We are approximately on a par with Austria in terms of deaths, where they also have a lockdown (or, what they call a lockdown), but shops are open and so are hairdressers.

Again, I support hairdressers being closed. But they aren't as big a deal as some would suggest. We seem to lock down very hard, and very long, for no great benefit compared to our neighbours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

Nobody mentioned that the lock down stone would be made mostly of hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,221 ✭✭✭Gaoth Laidir

Well, going to bite the bullet after the Chelsea match and get the daughter to give it a 4 all over. Can't look any worse that it does now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

We seem to lock down very hard, and very long, for no great benefit compared to our neighbours.

But we also have relatively low compliance to many aspects of the lockdown, which in practical terms means that we're not as "locked down" as the official rules suggest, which potentially decreases the effectivness of the lockdown. Hairdressers/barbers are case in point - if they're supposed to be closed, but with many still operating, then you can't really include them being closed as part of the restrictions in any practical sense.