Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jobs you think are the most opposite to how they are portrayed on tv

• 01-04-2021 6:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭

Forensic scientist in the the likes of CSI:miama and bones

I'd say it nothing like it portrayed, in fact I'd say it is the complete opposite. A miserable tedious job with no high tech computer graphics and little to no sexual tension between colleagues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭D3V!L

On the flip side, The IT Crowd is exactly like working in IT support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭badabing106

Court lawyer

Portrayed on tv as courageous and justice seeking people, defenders of the defenseless and acting on principles , even if all the odds are stacked against the defendant and they don't have the money to pay them

Complete opposite in reality I'd say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭badabing106

International Spy

Nothing like James bond

Not a cool job. A life threatening job that would be highly boring and stressful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,526 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Any of those American shows cops/firemen/hospital on Netflix are complete deflections from reality.

All the minority groups are well represented, but I’ve not seen many show with a significant number of the cast obese with a plethora of health issues waiting for retirement, or just in their roles to make a living.

All vocation type bolix where they really love their job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Forensic scientist in the the likes of CSI:miama and bones

I'd say it nothing like it portrayed, in fact I'd say it is the complete opposite. A miserable tedious job with no high tech computer graphics and little to no sexual tension between colleagues

I bet they don't even 'ENHANCE' that much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭BettyS

A prostitute.

Not at all like Pretty Woman. No knight in shining armour to whisk the innocent but troubled girl away to an exotic life.

Soul-destroying and extremely dangerous. With drugs in the mix as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,991 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

International Spy
    Nothing like James bond
    Not a cool job. A life threatening job that would be highly boring and stressful

So more Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy?

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

The job of an online moderator is all coke & hookers as the rumours detail.

In fact our yearly increase is kicking in today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Intelligence officers.

Probably very little in the way of boning Russian honeytrap sexpots, and are more likely to be found in a damp room in an embassy filing reports on surplus tractor production, rehashing newspaper clippings about political developments, and internal staff reshuffling in the Peruvian interior ministry.

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    The job of an online moderator is all coke & hookers as the rumours detail.

In fact our yearly increase is kicking in today.

Is it true ye pay different PRSI rates to normal folk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭BettyS

Are there any jobs that are much more exciting than they are portrayed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

Milkman.

There's no bomb on the float that will go off if you go under 4 miles per hour and certainly no bored housewives waiting for you to deliver your creamy goodness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

Gynecologist.

*Mod Snip - no needs for the graphic description*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,814 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Do they still have seamstresses working in a knickers factory on Corrie that amazingly isn't affected by the fast fashion industry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Is it true ye pay different PRSI rates to normal folk?

We do everything on the high level.

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    We do everything on the high level.

At least ye all got the vaccine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Idealistic Plastic Fantstic TV fakes :
    Sports Coaches
    ‘Inspiring’ mind liberating Teachers
    Police
    Judges
    Brothel keepers

The only alike realities I can see are
    -Clerks (shop clerks)
    -Chinese Take Aways
    -Toilet Cleaners
    -Brookers (Stockbrokers)
    -Bookies
    -F1 drivers & support teams
    - overused Sherpa climbers/tourist babysitters
    -bored bitchy receptionists

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭shtpEdthePlum

Any of those American shows cops/firemen/hospital on Netflix are complete deflections from reality.

All the minority groups are well represented, but I’ve not seen many show with a significant number of the cast obese with a plethora of health issues waiting for retirement, or just in their roles to make a living.

All vocation type bolix where they really love their job
    The two obese guys in Brooklyn 99...

And the lads throwing themselves down the stairs in The Wire!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,664 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

BettyS wrote: »
    Are there any jobs that are much more exciting than they are portrayed?

I doubt it, they must all get very samey after a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

In the vein of IT, most of the hacking hacking that's portrayed is laughable at best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,388 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Vets, highly qualified, expensive cleaners , over 90% of their time must be cleaning, cleaning animals, wounds, their surgeries, tools, themselves etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,435 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

D3V!L wrote:
    On the flip side, The IT Crowd is exactly like working in IT support.

How close does it really get to the breaking of the internet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    How close does it really get to the breaking of the internet?

Ever google google?

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,435 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Ever google google?

Fcuk that, I'm not going there, I'm not gonna break the fcuking thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Gynecologist.

and isn't it odd/weird that it's nearly all men????

i mean i have never heard of a woman urologist, correct me if i'm wrong

fryup wrote: »
    and isn't it odd/weird that it's nearly all men????

i mean i have never heard of a woman urologist, correct me if i'm wrong

Urology is a different speciality to gynaecology. Gynaecology is tied to obstetrics.

yes and you'd think midwives (the vast majority women) would be involved, but seemingly not??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 jpharvey

Gynecologist.

FFS :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Do they still have seamstresses working in a knickers factory on Corrie that amazingly isn't affected by the fast fashion industry?
    'working' is a bit of an overstatement. They spend all day nattering and drinking tea, taking the afternoon off to deal with some drama or other and drinking in the pub during their lunchbreak :rolleyes:
    Mike Baldwin would have relocated his factory to SE Asia decades ago.

Gardeners and pool-boys on TV seem to be constantly getting pounced on by attractive and over-sexed housewives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

A prostitute.

Except for the ones that decide they are quite happy doing the job and dont have drug habits to feed..........

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,667 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Cheffing.

"Well it's always been my dream to pack in my hedge fund manager drone job and work the line in a restaurant where I can express myself on the plate and bring joy to people at the table."

Reality-"Shut up posh boy and chop them there carrots!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Swaine

Soccer referees.

1 man trying to control 22 men full of energy and speed in games worth millions of euro. It's easy for us at home to criticise after seeing 5 replays and close ups but the poor referee has to make decision based on something he seen once for half a second. VAR has helped but not perfect.

They're paid very poorly too considering what they are subjected to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭blue note

Journalists. On TV they're crusaders, investigating and exposing injustices while having loads of hot steamy sex.

I dated one for years and none of that is true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Court lawyer

Portrayed on tv as courageous and justice seeking people, defenders of the defenseless and acting on principles , even if all the odds are stacked against the defendant and they don't have the money to pay them

Complete opposite in reality I'd say

Well said.
    It's all about the money. Doesn't matter if who you are representing is as guilty as sin. I'd say you have to be rather morally ambiguous to do the job.

I worked with a young lad a couple of years ago who was studying to become a solicitor and to be fair to him he was open about it - who can come up with the best argument and who can articulate it the best wins was his words. All bo**ocks like. What's right or wrong doesn't exist. You could be representing a sweet little ol' lady or a utter scumbag. Paycheck is a paycheck.

Except for the ones that decide they are quite happy doing the job and dont have drug habits to feed..........

Few and far between.

Priest....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Few and far between.

Its almost like a job being illegal makes it difficult to operate in legitimately..........

blue note wrote: »
    Journalists. On TV they're crusaders, investigating and exposing injustices while having loads of hot steamy sex.

I dated one for years and none of that is true.
    Newspaper owners and editors. On screen they are stressed out chainsmoking workaholics, barking orders and standing up for the little guy. Short tempered but very high morals.

In real life they are usually dodgy scummers like Piers Morgan and Rupert Murdoch who probably spend most of their time on the golf course or the super-yacht.

Its almost like a job being illegal makes it difficult to operate in legitimately..........

O....k?
    I don't understand that :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,433 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

A prostitute.

Not at all like Pretty Woman. No knight in shining armour to whisk the innocent but troubled girl away to an exotic life.

I believe pretty woman was meant to be a lot darker but trial audience clicks and revenue turned it into a fairy tale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Engineering. On discovery channel you see the lead engineer watching his giant oil rig being towed out to sea or whatever. What you don't see are the multitudes of subordinates doing important but really boring, tedious calculations.

Motor Mechanic: the likes of Edd China make it look oh so easy "just one squirt of WD40 and this nut should come loose" but as we (DIY mechanics) out there all know it ain't that handy...you could be spending half a day trying to loosen one nut/bolt/screw:( cursing the whole world in the process

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

fryup wrote: »
    Motor Mechanic: the likes of Edd China make it look oh so easy "just one squirt of WD40 and this nut should come loose" but as we (DIY mechanics) out there all know it ain't that handy...you could be spending half a day trying to loosen one nut/bolt/crew:( cursing the whole world in the process

Yep! Think I've probably seen every episode of Wheeler Dealers over the years and probably only saw Ed resorting to the blowtorch once or twice.

he also made a hames of cutting a plastic windscreen for a beach buggy, he cracked it...Mike wasn't too pleased

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Bikini model -

TV version - frolicking about under a warm sun on a beach/on yacht with other young women. Implicit hot lesbian sex and good pay with cute sponsored sports car for doing little while maintaining a year round tan.

Reality - waiting about for hours in a cool breeze freezing your tits off while a bunch of prima donnas try to set up a shot. No sex, plenty of leering and pretty mediocre pay unless you're one of a handful of name models.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Gardeners and pool-boys on TV seem to be constantly getting pounced on by attractive and over-sexed housewives.

I can confirm this is not true :(

^^^^^^^^^^

you must be going to the wrong house's?? nudge nudge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Masala

There's a job on I think on CSI Miami or something whereby there ia a team of 4-5 investigators who solve crimes every week. Having access to a private jet at drop of a hat is okay by me but one of the team is a girl with glasses who sits at a computer and gets a call from the team weekly with :

"... can you access any empty buildings in the are capable of holding a Tank..." etc and she taps on the keyboard and all sorts of shapes jump around the screen and lo and behold - she gets the exact building that is empty.

OR.....".... any Green Corvettes registered in the last week in the Orlando area..'

What kind of a job has that amount of up-to-date database...

AAAGGGGHHHH ... it really grates my gears!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,814 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Priest....

Solving murder mysteries.
    Carrying out exorcisms.