Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I don't know where we're going, but we know where we are? (Part whatever)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,619 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Fire lit

PXL_20240106_171433201.jpg

And bangers n mash for dinner

Think I'll have a Guinness too. 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,917 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

It's freezing already here , just covered car windscreen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭Poochie05

In for the night, making risotto

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 61,568 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

I'm not liking potential ice, I'm in the middle of a horrible flare up and have no faith in my ability to get up if I fall.. I mean I should eventually but I'd rather not find out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭Poochie05

Are those yak track things still available? They were grips for snow and ice you could slip them on over your shoes… loads bought them after seeing that guy slipping on the ice on the news but never needed them! Likewise I have a snow shovel I bought in Argos for a fiver after the snow in 2010 after spending hours clearing the drive … never used but I’m ready for the next time 😂

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 61,568 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

I have them years, great wee yokes. Hard to put them on currently of course, I'll be grand just stressed out.

IMG_0199.jpeg

slide your plates over lads.

***cascade of sliding plates***

Previous owner varnished it 😖

We are all sitting watching the flames. It's better than tv/nexflix/...

Going to the shop to get some chocolate 'cause it's still Christmas. The quiet, stress free part. ♥️

sorry but this cake is 😭🙏

the icing is edmine icing, I’ve never made it before but it’s flour, sugar & milk cooked into a paste.

Cooled down completely and whisked into beaten butter. It’s exactly like whipped cream in texture. So light and creamy.

I have never heard of that icing, flour bejaysis, I'm interested but scared to make it because I will eat it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭wildwillow

Ermine frosting. Auto correct is a nuisance. Use it occasionally and it’s really nice.

Thank you. 🤣

yeah it’s a hassle to be fair but worth it! I am curious if the paste is freezer friendly or if it’ll go to shite. Any experience there yourself?

Yeah it’s wild!

the recipe I used was here! (Where I get most of my recipes tbh) https://www.kingarthurbaking.com/recipes/ermine-icing-cooked-flour-frosting-recipe

Edit; I used a different method though slightly.

I toasted the flour & sugar and whisked the milk in really slow but continuously. Once it was cooked I cooled it completely and then whisked in via piping bag and with Mrs Clementine Mushy Sun’s help (again quite slowly) into whipped butter.

I think the method King Arthur baking uses is going to produce a better result though. I will use theirs next time but unfortunately at the moment I don’t have a stand mixer so everything is by hand 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Mrs G fancied an old fave of hers this evening. An open chicken and sweet corn sandwich with sweet chili sauce. Dressed it up with a honey and mustard splashed salad.

Gonna fry up some pork chops and have them with some salad myself. Tech issues are resolved for now. Opening a cold bottle of beer.

IMG_20240106_200543.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

At last. On the couch with my feet in the foot spa and Epsom salts. A beer in hand watching the office on gold. Grub later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,444 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Oooohhhh, I'm home!

My two favourite little people are still my favourite little people......but I think we need a little break!

Wow, so impressed with people who have kids, it's so full on!

Mombie, I totally get it 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭wildwillow

I never put that icing it in the freezer so can’t advise. I’d say it could be frozen in its piped state and defrosted slowly. Why not try a swirl and report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,665 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

Oh this is new, unruly passenger onboard so security are coming to take them. And I slept through all the excitement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,719 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I love the smell of turf from a fire . As soon as I smelt it , it instantly relaxed me . Probably because I had caught ,, spread ,turned , clamped and bagged them . The ride home on a silage trailer was one of victory . Well I was only 10 or 11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,052 ✭✭✭gifted

Couch, at last. Had a Christening in Passage west down in Cork this afternoon and then onto a place called The Mabel Lane bar in Carrigaline...long day but had a good time meeting up with the family in Cork .....long drive home to Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,681 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

To thine own self be true

Best guess is that he was on drugs, physically touching the flight attendant, using bad language, bad mouthing the females, generally obnoxious. He had calmed down by the time we landed so was somewhat perplexed to get escorted off the aircraft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,681 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,719 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Watching the news about another 737 max emergency.

This one is bizarre as it doesn’t appear to be a door but rather a fuselage blank for a door. If an airline used the aircraft in a high density configuration then they could change that blank into an emergency exit. So all blame goes to Boeing. They were lucky that it failed at low altitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,052 ✭✭✭gifted

Out in the middle of bloody nowhere...ok, it's Headford but still, miles out.....getting ready to leave the warmth of the car to watch the youngest chick play a soccer match....me nuts are frozen solid, like two chestnuts ...brrrrr🥶🥶🥶🥶

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,134 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Deskside, feeling a bit down here this morning, not looking forward to the week ahead, also was reading the evening echo and more businesses closing down. A restaurant that has been on Patrick's St for 60 years is closing. Was in town before Christmas and the amount of empty shops is unreal, so sad to see, at this rate there won't be any point in going into the city anymore. All my favorite clothes shop and general shops are long gone, use to support them when I could.