Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever met people from boards?

• 20-03-2021 12:16am

I'm just curious as I've never met anyone from boards in real life but I've seen people mention often enough about meeting people from boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

There used to be boards beers. I haven’t seen them happen in a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Neames

poisonated wrote: »

Called boards shebeen now I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,774 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Neames wrote: »
    Called boards shebeen now I think

¡PM me the location!

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,439 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

I'm just curious as I've never met anyone from boards in real life but I've seen people mention often enough about meeting people from boards.

New user, 38 posts only.. are you trying to lure us to a mass massacre of boards posters, OP?

To thine own self be true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

Met 4 of them

Rode 3 of them sideways (one of which led to a decent relationship and one of which is still my fav one night stand)

Boards.ie After Hours 2005 - 2010: we miss thee

It made Plenty Of Fish look like a nun gathering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

poisonated wrote: »

There used to be beers. I haven't seen them happen in a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Mr Kaibosh has called to the boards beers I'm afraid.

Back many years ago I did go to a few boards beers. Mad as a bag of cats the crowd you'd meet at them. No wonder they spend so much time on here, nobody will put up with em in real life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭touts

We don't exist in real life. We are all just an artificial intelligence algorithm which lies at the heart of a conspiracy of the illuminati lizard people to flood the internet with fake news to drown out the gospel of Ewan and Gemma.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 108 ✭✭Fran has a bone

A lot of people have used boards in Ireland, it's on the go for like 22 years isn't it? And our population isn't that big.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭PoisonIvyBelle

Years ago, quite often at boards beers. But that was a whole different boards.

Oh yea, I met an ex on here too when we were both mad gym heads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,872 ✭✭✭Neowise

Met missus Neowise at a boards beers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,616 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Used to be a weekly 5 a side AstroTurf game among the Donegal Boardsies.

I also had a house survey done by a Boards member.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Never meet your heroes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 moslo

Quite a few. Some people I knew from before signing up to boards and a few afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭-=al=-

Before pandemic, absolutely not. Post pandemic, I’ll take any form of new experience!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    Met 4 of them

Rode 3 of them sideways (one of which led to a decent relationship and one of which is still my fav one night stand)

Was this 'ridin' all done at the same ?

Only people id know offline anyway,who just happen to be members

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

I have met a few in real life. Same as real life, if you can't pick out the crazy one in a group, it's you.

I was on holidays in Tallinn a couple of years ago. Was chatting about it for a while with a boardsie beforehand. He had a few days booked too. We had overlapped & met up for a couple of hours.

I also know the boards handle of a couple of people in real life, they frequent different forum to me generally. I havent outted myself to them that I know of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭85603

Yes, I met GooglePlus, he was standing outside a 'basic arithmetic' class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Yes, many times. Nice people.

Some by accident at parties and realising who someone was, but mostly at arranged Beers events in local forums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭laoisgem

Not that I know of although I wouldn't mind meeting a few :cool:

There's one in particular I think I'd cross the road to avoid if I met them in real life :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭JJayoo

laoisgem wrote: »

There's one in particular I think I'd cross the road to avoid if I met them in real life :p

:( I thought you liked me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭PmMeUrDogs

Lots. Some accidentally, some on purpose, may or may not have rode one or two :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Yes met Wibbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

laoisgem wrote: »

Why Johnny?

Yes loads and loads. All great experiences in different ways. Two of my closest friends are thanks to Boards. There are a handful I'd like to meet. Maybe when this madness is behind us all.

Like others, I have had sex with hundreds of boards members.

Yes loads and loads. All great experiences in different ways

719454373-74499-quagmire-giggity-gif-U1PT.gif

:p

Neowise wrote: »
    Met missus Neowise at a boards beers.

Who was minding the kids for ye that night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Met a good few , plenty of decent people on here .

There is one or two I'd love to meet face to face and tell them the report button won't work now ..........

(To be continued ) bahhaaaahaaahaaaaa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Have met about 10 maybe, sometimes only realised their Boards identity after the fact. On some of the forums they all know who they are anyway, always posting their ridiculous running stats and the like.

There may have been a few rides. There was plenty of filth anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Met 4 of them

So much sh1t stirring in one post. The 4th lad who didn’t get the ride is thinking “f-cks wrong with me?” and the one who had the relationship has now had his bedroom performances criticised, meanwhile the last 2 wonder who the favourite was :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭storker

touts wrote: »
    We don't exist in real life. We are all just an artificial intelligence algorithm which lies at the heart of a conspiracy of the illuminati lizard people to flood the internet with fake news to drown out the gospel of Ewan and Gemma.

I've never known or met anyone who was on Boards, which led me to theory not a million miles away from the above i.e. there are no such thing as "real" other Boardsies, and the whole site is just a cunningly-disguised, large-scale Turing test.

Threads like this are generated once in a while to help maintain the illusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭TK Lemon

Yep.

Nine years later, he’s sitting here still annoying me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,059 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Met quite a few. Vast majority were really decent people. Great craic.

One oddball alright. Meeeeeeeeeee.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

I have never met anyone from boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,872 ✭✭✭Neowise

Who was minding the kids for ye that night?

Their respective mothers, of course.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

I jammed with a few boardsies. Good times. Never went to beers because that’s not my thing. Never got the ride from a boardsie because the wife.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Oink wrote: »
    I jammed with a few boardsies. Good times. Never went to beers because that’s not my thing. Never got the ride from a boardsie because the wife.[/QUOTE

I offered you beer too. And the ride.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

humberklog wrote: »
    Oink wrote: »
    I jammed with a few boardsies. Good times. Never went to beers because that’s not my thing. Never got the ride from a boardsie because the wife.

I offered you beer too. And the ride.

Dinner and a few flowers would have got the moon, Humberklog. THE MOON! You only have your eyes to cry now.

So much sh1t stirring in one post. The 4th lad who didn’t get the ride is thinking “f-cks wrong with me?”

Straight male here. They were all wimmens I met from Boards ;-)

I highly suspect though that I've worked with a few male Boardsies over the years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I met that wan with the wonky eye in Sweetmans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭LimeFruitGum

My brother is/was on Boards in one of the hobby forums. I know his username as he uses the same one all over the 'net, but he wouldn't know my Boards ID.

Yes. Business and hobby related although I've stopped flying drones for quite some time now - 4 years.
    Still Useful. Intend to visit Kings court forest Park after the plague limit is lifted.
    Sound as a pound. If certain boardsies did invite me to come out, well, I'd say no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

No.

If certain boardsies did invite me to come out, well, I'd say no.

Oh well.. I was going to offer to buy the dinner..

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

237 that I know of. Another 43 I'm pretty sure are Boardsies

You're all on my spreadsheet;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

After what happened to me in the seventies, I'd never risk it again....

"if you like Pina Colada........"

:pac::pac::pac:

In answer to the original question, I suspect I have unknowingly. I put up a photo and someone said "that's MY road" . Hastily ran through all my previous posts there and then.

My adult kids know I'm here, and my name.*

edit to add: * my Boards name, before the guffaws start.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Yes indeed, a few members of a little Whats App group a couple of years back and a few other members who I knew in person or from Gaire, prior to joining boards.

All lovely individuals! :):D