Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does having three kids mean I need a 7 seater?

• 19-03-2021 9:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭

Well does it ??? Wife wants one but I am on the fence . What ya think ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

You don't 'need' one.
    It is a nice to have with three kids through. More space generally in a seven seater for kids seats, as well as on the boot etc. But plenty people manage without a 7 seater.
    It all depends on the alternative you have instead of the seven seater.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,616 ✭✭✭grogi

You will be very hard press to fit three car seats on a bench of a regular car, which is designed for two people. A lot of MPVs will.have three separate seats in the back, so fitting three child seats will.be easier.

Remember thatsoon You will be ferrying their friends from time to time ...

I don't have three kids, but have seven seater. And it is extremely pleasant to live with.

Do you need 7 seater? No. There are people that raise kids without any car ...

Will it be easier? Definitely.

Does your wife want one? Yes. That should be enough of incentive... Get one that has a bit of a bite and both of ye will be happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭1percent

Seems gone are the days of 5 of us thrown in the back of a Renault 4

1percent wrote: »

Yeah, long gone and probably for good reason in fairness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

Once you get one, you'll wonder how you ever managed without it. Granted we have 4 kids now, so when we move, we're fully loaded, but still, the car is great and makes life easier. Yes, they don't look great, but practicality is more important than posing when you've a lot of kids to move.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 452 ✭✭Sharpyshoot

Cheap seat Alhambra on DoneDeal do the job nicely

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/27229779

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

We moved up to a Ford C-Max before the third came. It flat back seats to take the car seats and was pretty wide. No difficulties with it at all so a 7 seater certainly isn't necessary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 891 ✭✭✭sebdavis

We have four and two 5 seaters.
    Invested in 2 x multimac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

It's part of family planning these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

Depends.

If you want 3 full size car seats in the back, then there are few models that will meet the requirements. Most (if not all) are 7 seaters. We have a Galaxy and a S Max for this reason. We have used the 3rd row of seats in the Galaxy a handful of times and have never used in the S Max.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,334 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

I love my Alhambra, can fit heaps of stuff in it when it's not ferrying the kids around.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Redsoxfan wrote: »
    Depends.

If you want 3 full size car seats in the back, then there are few models that will meet the requirements. Most (if not all) are 7 seaters. We have a Galaxy and a S Max for this reason. We have used the 3rd row of seats in the Galaxy a handful of times and have never used in the S Max.

Good advice imo. There maybe be a handful more but the only 5 seater I can think of off top of my head with 3 in a row isofix is the Citroen c4. But for the extra boot space alone might as well go with one of 7 seat options like Grand picasso, Touran,Smax 5008 etc.

Also OP if looking at certain 7 seat SUVs be careful that plenty only have 2 rear ISOFIX points, Skoda Kodiac for example. (I think almost all the most common MPV options have 3)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭shtpEdthePlum

My word, if you put your kids in a car at least make sure it's from this decade... Have you not seen those safety videos comparing crash tests with cars from pre-2015 and more recently? You want them to stand a chance if someone goes into you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Hasmunch

The only SUV type that have more than 2 rear ISOFIX as far as I can tell are Peugeot 5008 (3 in middle row) and Land Rover Discovery (2 in middle & 2 in back)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭gerfmurphy

Citroen grand picasso have 3 isofix in 2nd row.
    We have a 162 version and it's great.
    Not the prettiest but certainly practical, spacious and economical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭LillySV

Hasmunch wrote: »
    The only SUV type that have more than 2 rear ISOFIX as far as I can tell are Peugeot 5008 (3 in middle row) and Land Rover Discovery (2 in middle & 2 in back)

Q7 also . The 5008 seems to be the mammy choice for this these days ... the new one is nice looking to be fair.... don’t know what they like though

What age are the kids? One or two might be in a booster?

Some people with 3 manage with a Mondeo or Octavia just fine. As as said, the age of kids and type of seat is the deal breaker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭kerryjack

If you are buying one buy a decent one. Some of them are only a 5 seater with a couple of seats in the boot, My advise is buy something like the galaxy loads of room and nice to drive, but remember this when she gets her 7 seater she will be looking for another little one to put in. Don't fall for that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

I always wonder when I see my neighbours basically putting their kids in the booth where they think the impact of most rear ender crashes are concentrated and who will take that force most?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

If you have the money then do it. Something like a Tesla model Y with the seven seat option is very affordable. It will make a huge difference to comfort. If you're only planning the odd trip to the park every now and then you could get away with a 5 seater if money is a thing.

I always wonder when I see my neighbours basically putting their kids in the booth where they think the impact of most rear ender crashes are concentrated and who will take that force most?

Where do you want them to put the kids? on the roof?

kerryjack wrote: »
    If you are buying one buy a decent one. Some of them are only a 5 seater with a couple of seats in the boot, My advise is buy something like the galaxy loads of room and nice to drive, but remember this when she gets her 7 seater she will be looking for another little one to put in. Don't fall for that one.

Had a Galaxy, can't say it was nice to drive. Changed from a SMAX and it was awful compared to it. Really felt like driving a transit.

Incredible space. I have 7 adults in it and no problem. Ended up we sold as my wife was using around Dublin and it was just huge to find parking in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭dbas

I've vw touran for 0,2 and 4 year old.
    It's tight but it works grand.
    Two isofix and middle child seat for the 4 year old uses the seat belt.
    It's big inside but similar to a golf really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭daheff

Your missus is planning #4 I think ... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭FrankC21

Guy at work bought one of these for €40k

https://www.carsireland.ie/2493675

He has 4 or 5 kids(can't remember) his reason for buying it because it fck*ng annoys him when his kids bang the door when closing, that model have an electric sliding door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭ec_pc

The thing with 7 seaters is that you don't realise how practical they are until you actually get one. We had numerous Sportage's over the years and eventually moved up to a Sorento with 3 children, I know it's a move up in terms of class but in terms of practicality there is no comparison. I can't see us going back to a 5 seater any time soon, even though the 18 year old has his own car now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭nsnoefc1878

Oranage2 wrote: »
    If you have the money then do it. Something like a Tesla model Y with the seven seat option is very affordable. It will make a huge difference to comfort. If you're only planning the odd trip to the park every now and then you could get away with a 5 seater if money is a thing.

How much is very affordable?

Due to start at 34k up to 53k last I heard. Didn't realise they were available here yet.

TBH anything over 12 or 15k for a car is too much for me. I'd hate to waste a brand new car with 3 youngish kids. But each to their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

Is there many 6 seater cars out there now? I know the Honda FRV has 3 front seats and 3 back seats.
    There don't look as "van" type as 7 seaters, is there any other models like the Honda?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭pajosjunkbox

Is there many 6 seater cars out there now? I know the Honda FRV has 3 front seats and 3 back seats. There don't look as "van" type as 7 seaters, is there any other models like the Honda?

OP here. I actually have an FRV at the moment which will be demoted to 2nd car in house ,!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭tscul32

We have a Citroen Grand Picasso, our second one. I love it. Have 3 kids so don't strictly "need" it, but as said above, once you have one you love the practicality. It was especially handy when having a friend home from school or bringing cousins with us. Also great for driving holidays, tons if boot space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭bertsmom

Just bear in mind you lose the "we don't have enough room in the car" excuse for the lifts other people will want you to give their little Johnny or Mary to and from school/matches/ days out.

tscul32 wrote:
    We have a Citroen Grand Picasso, our second one. I love it. Have 3 kids so don't strictly "need" it, but as said above, once you have one you love the practicality. It was especially handy when having a friend home from school or bringing cousins with us. Also great for driving holidays, tons if boot space.

bertsmom wrote:
    Just bear in mind you lose the "we don't have enough room in the car" excuse for the lifts other people will want you to give their little Johnny or Mary to and from school/matches/ days out.

That is the argument in our house at the moment. My wife says it's very handy to bring cousins, friends etc.

I feel having three seats in the back gives you a bit of excuse not to ! Also must 2nd hand 7 seaters are diesel. We do around 20 k km a year so could go petrol/hybrid which I would prefer. I'd like to buy the current Toyota Rav 4 hybrid.

That is the argument in our house at the moment. My wife says it's very handy to bring cousins, friends etc.

I feel having three seats in the back gives you a bit of excuse not to ! Also must 2nd hand 7 seaters are diesel. We do around 20 k km a year so could go petrol/hybrid which I would prefer. I'd like to buy the current Toyota Rav 4 hybrid.

That's lousy on your side. If you don't want to be a chauffeur, just don't agree to one. Inventing reasons that hurt you too is beyond ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭nsnoefc1878

kippy wrote: »
    Due to start at 34k up to 53k last I heard. Didn't realise they were available here yet.

TBH anything over 12 or 15k for a car is too much for me. I'd hate to waste a brand new car with 3 youngish kids. But each to their own.

I think anyone suggesting that is very affordable is showing a serious degree of arrogance.
    I kind of agree with you, there really isn't much if any need to spend above 10-15k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭Piollaire

dbas wrote: »
    I've vw touran for 0,2 and 4 year old.
    It's tight but it works grand.
    Two isofix and middle child seat for the 4 year old uses the seat belt.
    It's big inside but similar to a golf really

I'd go for the bigger Sharan.

It's handy for bringing 7 people anywhere - which has its pros and cons.
    The one we have cost about 11K four years ago for a 2012 (A Grand Scenic)
    The renaults have a bad rep, hence the price I'd say but we've used the car for trips to a lot of places - space is never a concern, for people or luggage etc.
    The car is also very adaptable, you can take down the back two seats (a lot of space) you can fold up the middle three seats. There's a massive space in it for moving stuff if required.

The internal of the car is well able to take the sustained abuse that kids will give it and the running costs aren't massive.
    At some point in the next few years we can probably go back to a "regular" 5 seater but the additional space and options given with this type of 7 seater will be hard to give up.

grogi wrote:
    That's lousy on your side. If you don't want to be a chauffeur, just don't agree to one. Inventing reasons that hurt you too is beyond ridiculous.

Are you my wife undercover ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭dbas

Piollaire wrote: »
    I'd go for the bigger Sharan.

Couldn't find a petrol one in our budget at the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

We've had a 7 seater for a long time. Have used the extra seats a lot. Wondering now if I should replace it with another 7 seater or downsize to something more economical. We do a lot of small local journeys. But most MPVs are diesel and the petrols are hard on juice. There the Prius Plus. I'm just don't like the look of then.

Prius Plus is long due to a new model. The current one was released in 2011.

It is a quintessential Toyota: reliable, frugal and completely soulless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,833 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

It's cheap for a reason its very old and not very safe. They were never well designed.
    1percent wrote: »
    Or a Megane. My parents managed grand with 6 of us and never had an SUV or a 7 seater. In fact when the old man bought his first 7 seater most of us had moved out. He just bought it for the height as the Mondeo was to low for him and his back.
    grogi wrote: »
    Prius Plus is long due to a new model. The current one was released in 2011.

It is a quintessential Toyota: reliable, frugal and completely soulless.

Awe now that's harsh. Yes a lot of Toyotas are soulless but the GT86 is a fun car and the new GR-Yaris to is fun and shows what Toyota can do.
    I am sure there is some older ones to that Toyota fans will say actually did have a soul.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,030 ✭✭✭zg3409

A thing I don't think was mentioned was family trips luggage space. 2 adults, 3 kids, you need a lot of room for a weekend away, even more for a 2 week trip to France.

With some cars the rear most 2 seats can be totally removed, allowing lots of space for bikes, mobile cots etc. I know a family with 7 seater scenic, 3 kids and they also had a roofbox for trips away.

It depends in the age of kids, and some rear rows are unsuitable for teenagers, so try out a variety if cars and if you have car seats bring them with you and test fit them. Modern child seats are massive.

AMKC wrote: »
    I now that's harsh. Yes a lot of Toyotas are soulless but the GT86 is a fun car and the new GR-Yaris to is fun and shows what Toyota can do.
    I am sure there is some older ones to that Toyota fans will say actually did have a soul.

Supra, MR2, theres load in their back catalogue.

I couldn't warm to the Prius plus, I like the tech and the brand. I just don't like the look, the exterior I could probably get used to, the interior just seems old. Compared to the new Camry and Corrolla anyway.

I think over the next couple of years we'll start to see more hybrid options for 7 people etc.

Weirdly enough I think the USA is ahead here.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dxg8b1Yz_g0&ab_channel=MotorWeek

zg3409 wrote: »
    A thing I don't think was mentioned was family trips luggage space. 2 adults, 3 kids, you need a lot of room for a weekend away, even more for a 2 week trip to France.

With some cars the rear most 2 seats can be totally removed, allowing lots of space for bikes, mobile cots etc. I know a family with 7 seater scenic, 3 kids and they also had a roofbox for trips away.

It depends in the age of kids, and some rear rows are unsuitable for teenagers, so try out a variety if cars and if you have car seats bring them with you and test fit them. Modern child seats are massive.

This the reason I don't want to downsize. Long trips and when I use for other things. I'd be lost without the extra space. Even though we would all fit in a much smaller car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,665 ✭✭✭Treppen

I find it's not so much about the kids but about the extra storage when the 2 seats are flat (although space if you have kid seats is important ).

I Wouldn't bother with a 2020,2021 unless I was loaded.

You'll easily get something between 12k-15k then drive it into the ground for 15 years till they can take the shame no more :pac:

Treppen wrote: »
    I find it's not so much about the kids but about the extra storage when the 2 seats are flat (although space if you have kid seats is important ).

I Wouldn't bother with a 2020,2021 unless I was loaded.

You'll easily get something between 12k-15k then drive it into the ground for 15 years till they can take the shame no more :pac:

That was exactly my mindset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭kerryjack

zg3409 wrote: »

We just bring 2 cars if we are away for weekend, obviously we wouldn't bring 2 cars to france. Herself gets car sick if she is not driving and I get car sickness with her driving shes a lunatic on the road. So 2 cars and 2 kids each although we have a 7 seater it's small. great comfort in 2 cars

kerryjack wrote: »
    We just bring 2 cars if we are away for weekend, obviously we wouldn't bring 2 cars to france. Herself gets car sick if she is not driving and I get car sickness with her driving shes a lunatic on the road. So 2 cars and 2 kids each although we have a 7 seater it's small. great comfort in 2 cars

I know a few who do that. We considered that, and ruled it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,833 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

beauf wrote: »
    Supra, MR2, theres load in their back catalogue.

I couldn't warm to the Prius plus, I like the tech and the brand. I just don't like the look, the exterior I could probably get used to, the interior just seems old. Compared to the new Camry and Corrolla anyway.

I think over the next couple of years we'll start to see more hybrid options for 7 people etc.

Weirdly enough I think the USA is ahead here.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dxg8b1Yz_g0&ab_channel=MotorWeek

Seen a 94 Supra the other day on the back of a trailer attached to a tractor on it's way somewhere. Wheather he had just bought it or was going to sell it I do not know.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.