Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Favourite Drugs?

• 16-03-2021 12:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Quantum Baloney

I think as you get older, your requirements and tastes change on this topic. I would have enjoyed a fair bit of pot until my mid twenties, but then I got into amphetamines and disassociates SOMEWHAT keenly over the last TEN years. Anything that could help my productivity on a day to day basis was helpful, although you have to be careful it doesn't destroy your sense of humour. I still think under the right circumstances and with the right people ecstasy is the most amazing drug, so that is probably my favourite. Mescaline and LSD and mushrooms all have their place in the world, but as you get older I reckon they become a once every couple of years type of thing. Opiates are a fool's game.

Anyway, after jumping off the deep end for twenty years I'm coming around back to cannabis again, a very nice relaxant and a good way to have a laugh with friends/listen to tunes.

Reminds me of Queen's song GET DOWN MAKE LOVE which I always used to get high to in my teens, smoking massive joints laced with pollen, I had the over-ear headphones clamped down over my skull listening to FREDDY MERCURY sing out GET DOWN MAAAAAKE LOVE!! Still my favourite Mercury/Taylor masterpiece

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

You can't beat a 10 spot of soapbar wrapped in the foil from a pack of Johnny Blue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭Allinall

I don’t require any drugs.

Just saying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Quantum Baloney

Allinall wrote: »
    I don’t require any drugs.

Just saying.

Don't know what you're missing kid

Aspirin.

I’d like to experiment with ecstasy if I could ensure a safe supply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

The problem with drugs is that they're very moreish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,943 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Back in the day nearly 20 years ago you couldn't beat a few "yokes" "bangers" "yips"
    Never into Weed, Acid or Mushrooms and Class A's only came around when I was old enough to understand to keep clear,

Thankfully it was just a stage of what you did in your late teens/early 20s and soon passed but they where some good times with good people, Some went on to be are Guards, Pilots, Aircraft engineers who'd have thought back then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Alcohol of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

My drugs have changed from hash, coke and E to tablets for blood pressure, cholesterol and an underactive thyroid. Oh how the times have changed. :(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,900 ✭✭✭thomas 123

The knock off berrocaboosts from aldi are savage - I sometimes double dose them. Lucky to be still alive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Quantum Baloney

Ain't that the truth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Codeine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,423 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I think as you get older, your requirements and tastes change on this topic. I would have enjoyed a fair bit of pot until my mid twenties, but then I got into amphetamines and disassociates SOMEWHAT keenly over the last TEN years. Anything that could help my productivity on a day to day basis was helpful, although you have to be careful it doesn't destroy your sense of humour. I still think under the right circumstances and with the right people ecstasy is the most amazing drug, so that is probably my favourite. Mescaline and LSD and mushrooms all have their place in the world, but as you get older I reckon they become a once every couple of years type of thing. Opiates are a fool's game.

Anyway, after jumping off the deep end for twenty years I'm coming around back to cannabis again, a very nice relaxant and a good way to have a laugh with friends/listen to tunes.

Reminds me of Queen's song GET DOWN MAKE LOVE which I always used to get high to in my teens, smoking massive joints laced with pollen, I had the over-ear headphones clamped down over my skull listening to FREDDY MERCURY sing out GET DOWN MAAAAAKE LOVE!! Still my favourite Mercury/Taylor masterpiece

I work with homeless addicts, try a bit of "crack" for three or four days ,unfortunately the comedown is ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭JibJabWibWab

I'd be a simple cup of tea type person, but I do also like the smell of cocaine...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭Iguarantee

Caffeine, without any doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭Halenvaneddie

Went to hell and back on cocaine and benzos,today I’m happy to have a few joints now and then, and maybe once a year drop some acid for old times sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭OneLungDavy

Ecstasy is just the most amazing drug. However, I always hated the come-downs.

I've recently started taking mushrooms at the weekend. It's a great way to chill out at home, no real downside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,010 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Lindt

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 55 ✭✭nicholasIII

Well here's a detailed breakdown.

Favorite stimulant/'upper' drugs:

Ephedrine - tried this when in the States. My uncle got it prescribed for narcolepsy. Feel like 5 cups of coffee without any of the jitteriness.

Nicotine - Ironically, I got introduced into this drug from chewing Nicorrette gum that I bought from the pharmacy. Liked the experience.

Favorite depressant/'downer' drugs:

Opiates - first tried codeine when I was 19. Then tried Vicodin (hydrocodone) in the States as well. Extremely euphoric but a horrendous itch after two hours.

Benzos - When I went to L.A. my GP prescribed me x50 tablets of 2mg Valium (diazepam). Really good with alcohol but you tend not to remember the experience cause of anterograde amnesia. Didn't try any benzos until last year when I got Versed (midazolam) during my wisdom tooth extraction.

Z drugs - My psychiatrist prescribed Stilnoct (zolpidem tartate) during the beginning of the pandemic. Very euphoric. Find it only works well on an empty stomach. Alternatively, it comes on faster when snorted.

Alcohol - tried this as a teen. Great but vastly overrated when you try other drugs.

Favorite hallucinogen drugs:

Cannabis - Was convinced to try this on the last day of school. Thought at first it was just relaxing like nicotine but started experiencing 'glitches' and wondering why the hell it was taking so long to walk back to class. Couldn't stop laughing at everything. Ironically it doesn't 'make you happy' but rather intensifies what you feel. Everything funny is funnier, sad is sadder, etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,768 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

thomas 123 wrote: »
    The knock off berrocaboosts from aldi are savage - I sometimes double dose them. Lucky to be still alive.

You must have the same flourescent skin tone as Doanld Trump with that amount of Vitamin C in your system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Love.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,032 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Ecstasy is just the most amazing drug. However, I always hated the come-downs.

I've recently started taking mushrooms at the weekend. It's a great way to chill out at home, no real downside.

Never liked the body effects of MDMA. Gurning, not being able to pee, terrible hangover. Gave me terrible social anxiety too.

Some strains of cannabis I really enjoy. But others make me lethargic and kinda depressed. It would be great to be able to choose the right strain.

Mushrooms are the healer for me. Not always a pleasurable experience, but good for the mind.

Worst nausea I have ever experienced was from HBWR/LSA.

Weirdest experience ever: 2CE.

Love.

Oh, catch that buzz
    Love is the drug I'm thinking of
    Oh, can't you see
    Love is the drug for me

Went to hell and back on cocaine and benzos,today I’m happy to have a few joints now and then, and maybe once a year drop some acid for old times sake

Benzo withdrawal is hell on earth. Actually to be more specific, GABAergic withdrawal (alcohol, benzos, GHB, Z-drugs, barbituates) is hell on earth.

You get insomnia, skin sensitivity, light sensitivity, anxiety, hallucinations, memory loss etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭Halenvaneddie

Benzo withdrawal is hell on earth. Actually to be more specific, GABAergic withdrawal (alcohol, benzos, GHB, Z-drugs, barbituates) is hell on earth.

You get insomnia, skin sensitivity, light sensitivity, anxiety, hallucinations, memory loss etc..

Yeah, it was worse than any comedown I’ve experienced with street drugs,paranoia and anxiety lasted months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭frosty123

Prozac

saved my life

A nice solpadeine washed down with some wine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭ulster

Coffee

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Love an E now and again.

Love a nice smoke now and again although I spent a couple of years being a daily smoker and I'm better for not doing it that often.

Love coke but I like chilling with it in company rather than out in general public.

Heroin is in a class of its own and fair play to those who can keep a happy and functioning life whilst using it regularly but I know I'd just fall down the well destruction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

Love me a bit of Seroquel. (All prescribed and legit!!) Just makes life that bit more tolerable. Also makes me fat, but sure what harm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,543 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

Nicked from Russell Brand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ablelocks

was never interested, hash and cannabis made me dozy in college, never tried anything else.

don't see the appeal, would be very concerned about the ingredients and safety and don't want to support criminal gangs.

maybe cannabis if it was legal and there was a non-drowsy version

I like guinness, red wine and whiskey. And lager sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

Ketamine makes me feel quite good without having the nasty next day effects like a night after MDMA or ecstasy.

I used to smoke alot of weed as a teenager but hate the stuff now, makes me paranoid and anxious and feel sick.

Also lyrica (pregabalin), I kind of got into a little habit taking them while in work when I used to work in a takeaway place as a teen, I’d be working alone and would take a few of them and honestly I can’t describe the euphoric, orgasmic feeling it brought for hours on end..

Haven’t taken them in ages now though as I was depending on them and felt like they made me a better person, which sounds like the start of a drug addiction lol

Haven’t taken anything in like 6 months or so anyway, recreationally every once in a while like that is fine

Love me a bit of Seroquel. (All prescribed and legit!!) Just makes life that bit more tolerable. Also makes me fat, but sure what harm.

I don't know how anyone can enjoy that **** personally. Antipsychotics could be classified as 'anti-drugs' as they're antagonists at the receptors that drugs stimulate.

Things like cocaine, amphetamines, ecstasy are dopamine and serotonin agonists whereas antipsychotics are antagonists at those very same receptors.

Only really good for psychosis but nothing else. Extremely sedating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

I don't know how anyone can enjoy that **** personally. Antipsychotics could be classified as 'anti-drugs' as they're antagonists at the receptors that drugs stimulate.

Things like cocaine, amphetamines, ecstasy are dopamine and serotonin agonists whereas antipsychotics are antagonists at those very same receptors.

Only really good for psychosis but nothing else. Extremely sedating.

I'm prescribed it off-label for anxiety. For me it's kinda like a very light version of a benzo, but non-addictive.

Defo not an upper like cocaine, more of a downer (but not in a bad way, just relaxes you.) Anyone I know who's abused Seroquel are usually users of heroin. Same kinda vibe.

It was extremely sedating the first couple of weeks I started on it, I was in hospital at the time and basically slept for 3 weeks straight, had to be woken up for meds and meals. Was grand though after that... I'm on it nearly four years now. Really stabilised me, my mental health was absolutely chaotic for years before we finally tried it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,905 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Just weed sometimes. My 2 friends and I took some acid I had in my kitchen for the last 4 years a few months ago, that was pretty intense, first time doing it in over 20 years I think. After a few hours I looked like some kind Pokemon in the mirrors with the weird eyes, and I could almost see the blood running through my veins.
    I have been reading about that microdosing thing with psilocybin lately, has anyone ever tried this? Meant to work wonders for a lot of things.
    My friend in Holland has done ayahuasca weekends there twice now, it sounds like quite the experience but I don't think I have the balls to go through with it, sounds totally intense and quite hard work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,905 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Superhans actually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Mr_Muffin

Alcohol.

I never liked weed. I've seen too many friends, and family members become zombified, and any drive they had sucked out of them because all they wanted to do was smoke. I'm sure it's OK if you can moderate like most things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭nice bit of green

Cannabis in the form of shatter/concentrate is fantastic.
    Agree re the cannabis industry falsely pushing a no downsides propaganda. It most definitely does have downsides if abused. But if you can take it or leave it, like most things, it’s a nice treat.

The Punter wrote: »
    The weed industry has very good propaganda about it being a harmless drug.

It's not harmless but compared to alcohol, it's very safe.

Alcohol affects mental and physical health when used excessively. You have a higher risk of developing liver cancer/stomach cancer and killing off brain cells. It can also worsen existing mental health. If you take too much alcohol, your body will literally become physically dependent on the drug and GABAergic withdrawal (alcohol, benzos, GHB) are the only ones that can cause death via delirium tremens.

The worst thing weed can do is worsen your mental health and generally that only applies to people who are predisposed to developing psychosis/schizophrenia.

Mr_Muffin wrote: »
    Alcohol.

I never liked weed. I've seen too many friends, and family members become zombified, and any drive they had sucked out of them because all they wanted to do was smoke. I'm sure it's OK if you can moderate like most things.

The effects also vary quite a lot by strain or by method of delivery.

I find edibles far more energetic than smoking. But maybe some people like that zombifying effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭sheroman01

Ketamine makes me feel quite good without having the nasty next day effects like a night after MDMA or ecstasy.

What's the appeal of Ketamine? Does it not just leave you comatosed to the couch, unable to do anything? Maybe that's why people like it...

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

He nicked it from Super Hans (Peep Show).

Mushrooms, not done them in years but used to have crazy experiences. Everyone needs to do them at least once!

Psilocybin is probably my favourite drug.

Not just for the experience, but the healing, grounding quality it provides. It has to be respected, it's not a party drug.

The religious experience is something quite transformative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

If some amazing chemist could make an E with no comedown they would be onto a winner. Some of the best nights of my life have been on ecstasy but the following days just aren't worth it the older you get.

Weed can be amazing as long as you get the right strain for you which is impossible when it's illegal. If I smoke high THC strains I get awful anxiety and it's a terrible experience. 1/1 CBD THC is a different drug altogether so chilled. That's the problem with weed people try it once and they hate it because it's high THC and causes anxiety. I long for the day it's legalised.

I think everyone should try mushrooms or LSD at least once, amazing.

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    Psilocybin is probably my favourite drug.

Not just for the experience, but the healing, grounding quality it provides. It has to be respected, it's not a party drug.

The religious experience is something quite transformative.

What about ayahuasca? I heard David Icke did them during the early 90s in Peru and that's what led to his 'transformation' from a sports presenter to the lad he is today...lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,191 ✭✭✭trashcan

The drugs don’t work, they just make you worse.....

If some amazing chemist could make an E with no comedown they would be onto a winner. Some of the best nights of my life have been on ecstasy but the following days just aren't worth it the older you get.

Weed can be amazing as long as you get the right strain for you which is impossible when it's illegal. If I smoke high THC strains I get awful anxiety and it's a terrible experience. 1/1 CBD THC is a different drug altogether so chilled. That's the problem with weed people try it once and they hate it because it's high THC and causes anxiety. I long for the day it's legalised.

I think everyone should try mushrooms or LSD at least once, amazing.

I'm always surprised how different many strains of cannabis can be. And routes of delivery, as I mentioned above.

A legal and regulated cannabis market would help prevent a lot of the negative consequences that cannabis can have on some users.

What about ayahuasca? I heard David Icke did them during the early 90s in Peru and that's what led to his 'transformation' from a sports presenter to the lad he is today...lol.

Lol!

I have never tried DMT in any form. I'd be up for it though.

One psychedelic drug that I would be too scared to try is salvia. Looks very disturbing, even dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,202 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Used to E but now it's cholesterol tablets :(