Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you pay off a family members drug debt?

• 16-03-2021 12:06pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 55 ✭✭nicholasIII

I was listening to an old episode on the radio of Niall Boylan. A woman's 16yr old son ran up a debt 'on tic' from borrowing cannabis for free in a whole month. It then came to €2000.

The teen didn't have any money to pay so he tried ignoring them but the dealer came to his ma's house and threw a brick while leaving a note at the door. He threatened to break more windows so she just forked out the money from a loan shark.

Would you do this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭apache

I find it hard to believe he smoked €2000 worth in a month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I would sanction the killing of said family member.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭antix80

I'd pay it to protect my property.

The teen would be under house arrest.. Lock on door and bars on his window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

Pay once and scumbags then have a mug to come after every time said family member does something stupid.

Probably easy to say when your windows arent being smashed though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

I was listening to an old episode on the radio of Niall Boylan. A woman's 16yr old son ran up a debt 'on tic' from borrowing cannabis for free in a whole month. It then came to €2000.

The teen didn't have any money to pay so he tried ignoring them but the dealer came to his ma's house and threw a brick while leaving a note at the door. He threatened to break more windows so she just forked out the money from a loan shark.

Would you do this?

Did the guards value it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Housefree

Honestly unless you are going to go all Keyser Söze you really have no choice. They will smash your windows, burn your car, burn your house down then turn on your relatives. Grandparents/parents/sisters/brothers could all go through the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭Feisar

Housefree wrote: »
    Honestly unless you are going to go all Keyser Söze you really have no choice. They will smash your windows, burn your car, burn your house down then turn on your relatives. Grandparents/parents/sisters/brothers could all go through the same.

Yea unless one has the will and means to hit the mattresses ya sort of have to pay up.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Quantum Baloney

My kids have been doing drugs for years and never racked up a debt. It's all in the parenting. Teach them the value of money. Spend half, Spend half save half I always told them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

My sisters son racked up a dept to a loan shark.
    They came to her looking for the money.
    Knocked on the door, then barged in, smashed up some furniture and the tv and said they would be back on Saturday to collect.
    She borrowed the money off me. When I found out why i said i would phone the police. She said no, that next time they would break the young lads legs.
    I would be ok with that because the little sh!t hasnt even made an effort to pay the money back.
    But me being all brave and everything, when they arent at my door is one thing. I certainly would be scared if it was me they were coming to.
    Police really need to get a handle on this stuff. Because i know full well if you report it nothing will be done and you will suffer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

apache wrote: »

I'd imagine they were giving him 3 - 3.5gram €50 bags and he was powering through one or two a day. Would be easily done, especially if smoking with his mates.

He's either selling it or it was coke

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 55 ✭✭nicholasIII

griffdaddy wrote: »
    I'd imagine they were giving him 3 - 3.5gram €50 bags and he was powering through one or two a day. Would be easily done, especially if smoking with his mates.

Yeah, an 1/8 ounce (3.5 grams) is about €50. Coke is more likely though seeing as it's €90 per gram.

• Yes I'd pay but the kid would be in serious bother. He can work off the debt for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Mad Benny

I would insist on a receipt before making payment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

A parents worst nightmare

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭AdrianBalboa

My children aren't in the right "demographic" to get addicted to drugs seeing as most drug addicts come from broken, traumatised upbringings (through no fault of their own, I hasten to add!).

However if they did get into some trouble with unsavory characters, somehow, then I would just write the dealer a check and examine myself as to where I went wrong. I wouldn't do the same for any of my other relatives, such as my husband, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Would you do this?

It never happened. Guys that deal hash to consumers are small time. They'd never let a guy get that much dept.

Unless the ****ebag was dealing. In which case, his dealer was a supplier and they might give him that much on tic if it was his regular order. Which means he took it, sold it at a profit and squandered the money. The little ****ebag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

My children aren't in the right "demographic" to get addicted to drugs seeing as most drug addicts come from broken, traumatised upbringings (through no fault of their own, I hasten to add!).

A school teacher friend used to often say that little johnnies mammies were always shocked when they found out the trouble they got into at school.
    They were always an angel at home, which of course was a respectable environment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

I'd be very annoyed that he didn't realise that somebody was eventually going to have to pay for it. Cannabis doesn't grow on trees, you know.

I wouldn't pay off any debt for him. I'd encourage him and the dealer to come to some kind of arrangement whereby he works the debt off for a set period of time, couriering drugs around on his bicycle. Who knows, he might enjoy it and it could become a very lucrative career.

Grayson wrote: »
    It never happened. Guys that deal hash to consumers are small time. They'd never let a guy get that much dept.

Unless the ****ebag was dealing. In which case, his dealer was a supplier and they might give him that much on tic if it was his regular order. Which means he took it, sold it at a profit and squandered the money. The little ****ebag.
    Please calm down.

A school teacher friend used to often say that little johnnies mammies were always shocked when they found out the trouble they got into at school.
    They were always an angel at home, which of course was a respectable environment.
    I suppose this "school teacher friend" was the one calling his students snide nicknames like "little Johnny?"

I suppose it's the parents fault as well he was jealous those children were being given the benefit of the doubt by guardians in a loving home? :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 55 ✭✭nicholasIII

However if they did get into some trouble with unsavory characters, somehow, then I would just write the dealer a check and examine myself as to where I went wrong. I wouldn't do the same for any of my other relatives, such as my husband, though.

I call bull**** on that.

The reality is that people of all socioeconomic statuses get addicted to drugs, the only reason why most homeless drug addicts are from working class backgrounds is that they don't have wealthy family members to bail them out when they lose their job or take them to expensive rehab.

A teenager whose parents live in Howth is unlikely to need to steal to purchase €90 of coke every weekend compared to a teen who lives in Coolock.

I call bull**** on that.

The reality is that people of all socioeconomic statuses get addicted to drugs, the only reason why most homeless drug addicts are from working class backgrounds is that they don't have wealthy family members to bail them out when they lose their job or take them to expensive rehab.

A teenager whose parents live in Howth is unlikely to need to steal to purchase €90 of coke every weekend compared to a teen who lives in Coolock.
    Socioeconomic statii has nothing to do with it. Yes I am from an upper middle class background but what I was referring to were people from traumatised backgrounds without familial affection or respect. That can, of course, happen to anyone regardless of whether you grew up in Sandycove or Lucan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭fatbhoy

Good one :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭antix80

Grayson wrote: »
    Which means he took it, sold it at a profit and squandered the money. The little ****ebag.

I think there's a scam where have-a-go dealers get their stash or cash robbed, or a miscommunication occurs, that leaves them with a drug debt they need to pay immediately. Like imagine giving a little idiot a fairly large amount of drugs, leaving them a few weeks, then demanding a payment of more than they expected when they least expect it after they've tipped away at it and don't have any cash. And they're middle class living in a nice house with their parents. Collatoral, 500k (the house). Trumped up debt, 2k for prob 200 of low grade drugs.

Not sure how common that is but i could imagine young fools getting caught out.

It didn't come to 2 grand, the dealer saw a chance to get 2 grand. Believe it or not not all dealers who are willing to sell to kids are morally upstanding and honest.

Logically there's no point in paying the debt, the scum will keep coming back for more. Either kill the dealer or send the family member off somewhere are the only 2 good options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

He was supposed to sell it :D. Lazy stoners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭JPup

Socioeconomic statii has nothing to do with it. Yes I am from an upper middle class background but what I was referring to were people from traumatised backgrounds without familial affection or respect. That can, of course, happen to anyone regardless of whether you grew up in Sandycove or Lucan.

Honestly if you are serious then you are extremely naïve. Teenagers from all backgrounds can get caught up with drugs for a variety of reasons. Normal rebellion, peer pressure etc. Some people are more prone to addiction and get sucked in. It's not nearly as simple as what you are suggesting.

JPup wrote: »
    Honestly if you are serious then you are extremely naïve. Teenagers from all backgrounds can get caught up with drugs for a variety of reasons. Normal rebellion, peer pressure etc. Some people are more prone to addiction and get sucked in. It's not nearly as simple as what you are suggesting.
    I am suggesting that it happens to people from all backgrounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

Ye id try and pay off it , if wasn't to big, especially if you're dealing with real scumbags . Cocaine can get you in a lot of debt fairly quick . I know a few people that had to get relations to pay off debts. One bloke I know got kidnapped , they took pics of him tied up and called to his parents house to show them . His father went to the bank and paid off his debt . The fella that done it got shot dead a few years ago . I don't live in a rough area either but there's scumbags in every town and usually they're selling for lads from Dublin , who'll come out and threaten or smash up people's cars or houses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭OhHiMark

JimmyVik wrote: »
    Police really need to get a handle on this stuff. Because i know full well if you report it nothing will be done and you will suffer.

There's nothing they can do. The only way to stop this happening is to legalise it.

Good one :D Oh wait, you're serious.........It sounds like you're the one on drugs in here. Here's a couple of truth bombs for you:

1. Cannabis isn't addictive or habit forming. There is no such thing as a "cannabis addict"
    2. Actual drug addicts can come from everywhere. I know a neighbour who got a €1,000,000 golden handshake on retirement, yet their son is a smackhead.
    3. Dealers don't take checks. The correct spelling of the word is cheque, but they don't take them either
    4. Your implications that it is the parents' fault in everything that happens when someone gets addicted to something is disgusting
    5. Kids from wealthier neighbourhoods generally have more disposable cash than those from poorer ones. Raising the cash for drink, drugs, cigarettes or whatever is 90% of the battle. I moved from the inner city to a wealthy enough suburb when I was around 18 and the number of casual drug users in my circle of friends increased 20-fold.

Drug use is not the preserve of the poor, by any stretch of the imagination, but prosecution for falling foul of drug laws usually is. Gardaí and lawyers are notorious for smoking and snorting anything they can get their hands on. They'll then turn up on Monday and start putting people behind bars for what they were doing on Saturday.

At one stage in the early 2000s I read an article that Howth had the highest concentration of heroin addicts in the country.
    I am suggesting that it happens to people from all backgrounds.

Except for your kids who aren't in that demographic, yeah?

Some more truth bombs:

1. The plural of status is statuses. There is no such word as statii. Also, using the plural here is incorrect, and you should have said "Socio-economic status has nothing to do....".......an upper middle class person would know this.
    2. There is no such thing as classes in Ireland. You are not "upper middle class", no matter what you might want to say to fool yourself. A real upper middle class person would know the plural for status.
    3. It is unclear from your last sentence which of those two areas you consider to contain the drug-addled wretches of the proletariat. Looking down on Lucan as some dystopian version of the Bronx that you'd want to avoid leads me to the conclusion that you, madam, are on the fecking wind-up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,815 ✭✭✭golfball37

Did you really say cannabis isn’t addictive or habit forming?

golfball37 wrote: »
    Did you really say cannabis isn’t addictive or habit forming?

Not in the way other drugs are, no. Certainly not to the level of calling people "drug addicts". Anything that can cause a change in your brain chemistry can, of course, potentially cause mental dependency. But that includes everything, including having a cup of tea with your breakfast. You wouldn't call your parents a Tea addict because they have to have a cup of tea in the morning, would you?

But physically and physiologically it is not an addictive substance. Perhaps habit-forming was the wrong choice of words, I meant in terms of forming a drug habit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Normal One

I'd shoot Mr Drug Dealer in the face. Give the kid a good hiding. Problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭fatbhoy

Not in the way other drugs are, no. Certainly not to the level of calling people "drug addicts". Anything that can cause a change in your brain chemistry can, of course, potentially cause mental dependency. But that includes everything, including having a cup of tea with your breakfast. You wouldn't call your parents a Tea addict because they have to have a cup of tea in the morning, would you?

But physically and physiologically it is not an addictive substance. Perhaps habit-forming was the wrong choice of words, I meant in terms of forming a drug habit.

You haven't a clue, God love you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,826 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

There is no debate that marijuana is both physiologically and psychologically addictive,” says Aaron Weiner, a psychologist and the director of addiction services at Linden Oaks Behavioral Health, a clinic in Illinois.

https://www.theguardian.com/society/2019/apr/28/marijuana-addictive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭air assault

Feisar wrote: »
    Yea unless one has the will and means to hit the mattresses ya sort of have to pay up.

Love it :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Socioeconomic statii has nothing to do with it. Yes I am from an upper middle class background but what I was referring to were people from traumatised backgrounds without familial affection or respect. That can, of course, happen to anyone regardless of whether you grew up in Sandycove or Lucan.

Between "my children would never" and pitting Lucan at direct odds against Sandycove there is an almighty waft of Karen off your post.

It happens and it could happen your children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭triona1

Happened with my son he owed about 1500€ and they added on 500 for outstanding tic,They knocked on my door demanding it from me and asking where he was so I said ive no idea but do me a favour you find him and take him home to me and I'll give you the 2k and I'll murder him myself never heard a thing again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,815 ✭✭✭golfball37

God bless you is all I’ll say. I’d love to be that sheltered

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I would pay it.

What's the alternative?

Horrible situation that I hope I'm never put in.

Normal One wrote: »
    I'd shoot Mr Drug Dealer in the face. Give the kid a good hiding. Problem solved.

Unless Mr. Drug Dealer sent one of his lackeys up to collect the debt. Now you are at war with a load of coked out mad things, with serious €€€ to spare (for hits on you) you still have your normal life affairs to take care of, making you an easy target

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭kravmaga

Would you do this?

Mother paid of her sons drug debt of €7,000 with limited savings, he then kills her. Very sad ending here for the family.

Gets life imprisonment.

Dont do drugs , its going to end bad.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/criminal-court/man-35-who-murdered-mother-in-co-louth-jailed-for-life-1.4507727

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

Since I don’t like my family: no, I wouldn’t pay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭OMM 0000

Would you do this?

2k?

Of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

If its 2k a month that young lads dealing

Good one :D Oh wait, you're serious.........It sounds like you're the one on drugs in here. Here's a couple of truth bombs for you:

1. Cannabis isn't addictive or habit forming. There is no such thing as a "cannabis addict"
    2. Actual drug addicts can come from everywhere. I know a neighbour who got a €1,000,000 golden handshake on retirement, yet their son is a smackhead.
    3. Dealers don't take checks. The correct spelling of the word is cheque, but they don't take them either
    4. Your implications that it is the parents' fault in everything that happens when someone gets addicted to something is disgusting
    5. Kids from wealthier neighbourhoods generally have more disposable cash than those from poorer ones. Raising the cash for drink, drugs, cigarettes or whatever is 90% of the battle. I moved from the inner city to a wealthy enough suburb when I was around 18 and the number of casual drug users in my circle of friends increased 20-fold.

Drug use is not the preserve of the poor, by any stretch of the imagination, but prosecution for falling foul of drug laws usually is. Gardaí and lawyers are notorious for smoking and snorting anything they can get their hands on. They'll then turn up on Monday and start putting people behind bars for what they were doing on Saturday.

At one stage in the early 2000s I read an article that Howth had the highest concentration of heroin addicts in the country.

Except for your kids who aren't in that demographic, yeah?

Some more truth bombs:

1. The plural of status is statuses. There is no such word as statii. Also, using the plural here is incorrect, and you should have said "Socio-economic status has nothing to do....".......an upper middle class person would know this.
    2. There is no such thing as classes in Ireland. You are not "upper middle class", no matter what you might want to say to fool yourself. A real upper middle class person would know the plural for status.
    3. It is unclear from your last sentence which of those two areas you consider to contain the drug-addled wretches of the proletariat. Looking down on Lucan as some dystopian version of the Bronx that you'd want to avoid leads me to the conclusion that you, madam, are on the fecking wind-up.

I’m gobsmacked at how much you embarrassed yourself with that tirade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭Vestiapx

My wife gave a good few grand as a loan to a friend whose son owed bad people money after being busted by the law and so not having the drugs to sell to cover the debt.

She did it then she told me I was pissed off but what can you say. The mother gave us back like €100 three times before she told us that we had loads of money and she had nothing so that's that really.

If the bad people were standing over the woman's son with hammers threatening to break his knees I suppose I'd have given them the money rather than let them do it so I suppose I agree with my Wife's actions but I earn less than 50 grand a year before tax so while I'm not on the breadline I hardly have thousands to be giving away.

If you do hand over the cash you won't get it back so give it as a gift not a loan is the only advice I have really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭Vestiapx

kravmaga wrote: »
    Mother paid of her sons drug debt of €7,000 with limited savings, he then kills her. Very sad ending here for the family.

Gets life imprisonment.

Dont do drugs , its going to end bad.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/criminal-court/man-35-who-murdered-mother-in-co-louth-jailed-for-life-1.4507727

The media is skewed and only reports the bad drug stories. Wouldn't you like to see a positive drug story on the news? To base your decision on information rather than scare tactics and superstition? Perhaps? Wouldn't that be interesting? Just for once?

"Today, a young man on acid realized that all matter is merely energy condensed to a slow vibration – that we are all one consciousness experiencing itself subjectively. There's no such thing as death, life is only a dream, and we're the imagination of ourselves. Here's Tom with the weather.