Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nuclear power in Ireland

• 14-03-2021 12:48am
    Registered Users Posts: 6,194 ✭✭✭

Over the coming years the Greens intend to draft in a load of foreign BigBoys and investor corps to lash up a load of wind turbines in the sea and a few solar farms while of course holding on to the trusty reliable gas powerplants that have been built in recent years

Whether this will do the trick remains to be seen.

Eventually the trusty gas powerplants will need to be got rid of as they still emit copious amounts of evil co2. So what to replace it with? Nucular seems the obvious answer to me

They could plonk a few compact reactors out on the Blaskets or Inishark and run a cable out to them. There's new fancy reactors that pose far less danger than the RMBK type the Rooskies were fond of and the Fukushima one. There are other sparsely populated places that would suit if the uninhabited islands prove too awkward.

Should we lash up a few nuclear power stations in Ireland? 147 votes

Ah shur be grand!
    80% 118 votes
    No, I'm quaking in my boots
    19% 29 votes

• Registered Users Posts: 23,293 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Over the coming years the Greens intend to draft in a load of foreign BigBoys and investor corps to lash up a load of wind turbines in the sea and a few solar farms while of course holding on to the trusty reliable gas powerplants that have been built in recent years

Eventually the trusty gas powerplants will need to be got rid of as they still emit copious amounts of evil co2. So what to replace it with? Nucular seems the obvious answer to me

They could plonk a few compact reactors out on the Blaskets or Inishark and run a cable out to them. There's new fancy reactors that pose far less danger than the RMBK type the Rooskies were fond of and the Fukushima one. There are other sparsely populated places that would suit if the uninhabited islands prove too awkward.

I guess you dont live in any of the suggested places but i suppose at the same time you would have no issue living right beside a nuclear plant?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

There's a place in Mayo that would be ideal for it......Rossport

• Registered Users Posts: 16,490 ✭✭✭✭nullzero

You're suggesting that a nuclear power plant be built within the jurisdiction of the Healy Rae's?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 452 ✭✭Sharpyshoot

nullzero wrote: »
    You're suggesting that a nuclear power plant be built within the jurisdiction of the Healy Rae's?

They sell copious amounts of Guinness in their pub that they don’t want anyone to know they own.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Never happen... May well tap into the UK though... Possible through the north

• Registered Users Posts: 6,194 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

mickdw wrote: »
    I guess you dont live in any of the suggested places but i suppose at the same time you would have no issue living right beside a nuclear plant?

No I don't live on an uninhabited island. If I did the island would be inhabited wouldn't it?

Generally nobody lives right beside a nuclear plant. There's an exclusion zone with just grass and barbed wire and a little access road with a hut containing a guard who is bored out of his skull. Around that there is a bigger area kept clear but not as heavily patrolled. Some few people will have to up sticks to make room for the exclusion zone if an inhabited area is used

• Registered Users Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Nucular, it's pronounced nucular...

• Registered Users Posts: 12,965 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Since the prevailing winds are from the West, any nuclear power plan would likely be on the East coast and provide power to Dublin. The Brits would be thrilled to bits about that.

From out there on the moon, international politics look so petty. You want to grab a politician by the scruff of the neck and drag him a quarter of a million miles out and say, ‘Look at that, you son of a bitch’.

— Edgar Mitchell, Apollo 14 Astronaut

The OP’s understanding of nuclear power plant operations seems to be informed by watching bits of pieces of the Chernobyl TV dramatisation, along with some pure fiction when it comes to suitable locations.

Bearing that in mind I think It best to let the Greens get on with their wind powered generation agenda. As a shower of lunatics they at least know what’s involved in turning bluster into energy.

OP, stock up on tinfoil for your hats, iodine tablets for your thyroid and top up your supply of AA batteries or get a wind up torch while you’re at it.

bnt wrote: »
    Since the prevailing winds are from the West, any nuclear power plan would likely be on the East coast and provide power to Dublin. The Brits would be thrilled to bits about that.

We could embrace irony and call it ‘Windscale 2 - Have no fear’.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Look at the bs involved in building the children's hospital....now imagine them trying to build a nuclear power plant.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,293 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

No I don't live on an uninhabited island. If I did the island would be inhabited wouldn't it?

Generally nobody lives right beside a nuclear plant. There's an exclusion zone with just grass and barbed wire and a little access road with a hut containing a guard who is bored out of his skull. Around that there is a bigger area kept clear but not as heavily patrolled. Some few people will have to up sticks to make room for the exclusion zone if an inhabited area is used

You did refer to other sparsely populated areas.
    You could have been resident in such an area but somehow i get the feeling that you think sticking a plant out west somewhere will be grand as long as its as far as possible from you.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,645 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

What I don't like is our nuclear free policy yet we are happy to import nuclear power from UK and France.

Could you imagine Ireland throwing up a Nuclear Power Plant.

The cost would make the new children's hospital look like a bag of jellies.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭micosoft

All these smaller Nuclear reactors are completely unproven and I'm unconvinced that a country with no history or expertise in building nuclear should be the one to trial it let alone the difficulty of where we store spent fuel and waste on a small Island.

In any case - Nuclear reactors are the wrong solution for backing up wind.

Open cycle gas plants that are cheap enough to build that they they can operate for the 10% of the time the wind does not blow and peaking capacity. Thats what we are building.

If we want to use Nuclear it's very simple. We buy it in from France.

Indeed. And nobody with sense would throw up one nuclear reactor. You need to build a fleet to make it economical like France. Also it's not like you bring the lads from Poolbeg over either - you'll need to setup a nuclear institute in one of the Universities and all the other stuff. We could build 50 childrens hospital with the cost of introducing domestic Nuclear. If the ESB were ever to own a Nuclear plant it would be based in Wales.

What I don't like is our nuclear free policy yet we are happy to import nuclear power from UK and France.

Actually leaving aside a lot of the nonsense from the usual brigade the policy makes absolute sense purely from an economic point of view. Irelands generation capacity should focus on wind like Norway on hydro and France on Nuclear. Each focused on the best and most economical way of generating electricity.

Reading bill gates How to avoid a climate disaster.

He thinks we can get to zero emissions by 2050 but it has to have nuclear. He’s investing in it himself.

micosoft wrote: »
    Indeed. And nobody with sense would throw up one nuclear reactor. You need to build a fleet to make it economical like France. Also it's not like you bring the lads from Poolbeg over either - you'll need to setup a nuclear institute in one of the Universities and all the other stuff. We could build 50 childrens hospital with the cost of introducing domestic Nuclear. If the ESB were ever to own a Nuclear plant it would be based in Wales.

Thats exporting the supposed danger. We are relying on the French to be sane about nuclear power while we can use that as base energy. And is the French supply on its own good enough for a Europe with the intermittent nature of carbon free electricity?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭NeuralNetwork

There’s absolutely no political or public support for a project like that and as a technology, a lot of European countries that have fleets of nuclear plants are moving away from it.

The lifetime costs of the technology have also tended to be far, far higher than anticipated due to decommissioning costs that were very rarely factored in and recent projects have been extremely over budget. look at the EPR projects.

Flamenville in France : estimate €3.3 bn currently €12.4 billion and could reach over €19 bn!!

We’re interconnected to the U.K. and we will be adding a connection to France in a few years.

Could I suggest Carnsore Point for such a power station?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,466 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Reading bill gates How to avoid a climate disaster.

He thinks we can get to zero emissions by 2050 but it has to have nuclear. He’s investing in himself.

I'm not surprised. The Generation IV reactors which are at an advanced design stage are far more economical than current reactors, far safer and have far less spent fuel to process. We will be hearing a lot about sodium-cooled fast reactors in the coming decades. TerraPower, which is owned and managed by Bill Gates, is spearheading the development of such reactors.

They will be a game changer in terms of helping to achieve the level of carbon reduction needed to turn the tide on climate change. However we won't see them rolled out until 2030 onwards.

Naturally Ireland won't be anywhere close to having the foresight to get on board with this, we'll still be burning fossil fuels until it's no longer economically viable to do so and then we will be paying an absolute fortune in importing nuclear power. Renewable energy in terms of wind and solar will get us so far, but nuclear will be required to provide the bulk of electricity requirements as fossil fuels become unavailable for production in the decades ahead.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 452 ✭✭Sharpyshoot

JJayoo wrote: »
    Look at the bs involved in building the children's hospital....now imagine them trying to build a nuclear power plant.

Simon dodged a bullet there.

The electricity generation market is deregulated. It would be built by the ESB, or by another player in the market.

Thats exporting the supposed danger. We are relying on the French to be sane about nuclear power while we can use that as base energy. And is the French supply on its own good enough for a Europe with the intermittent nature of carbon free electricity?

It's about having a portfolio of energy sources, maximising efficiency by specialising. The French have developed serious expertise over decades and built a fleet of 56 plants. They even have a TGV train setup to respond to a Nuclear incident. EDF is one of the most renowned energy companies in the world - not sure where the "reliability" concern arises here? ESB and EDF have partnered for decades. French will rely on Irish exports of Wind. You may not have noticed but Europe is a large continent. Wind will be blowing somewhere - hence need for supergrid.

http://smartgriddashboard.eirgrid.com/#all/interconnection

The French have proven to be an exceptionally safe operator of Nuclear energy. So exporting the risk to the safest operator out there rather than creating new risk by building unproven technologies in a country which has no expertise, infrastructure or history with Nuclear energy would seem sensible to me.

As I pointed out - Gas fired plants are best for when you want intermittent backup power - peaking and unusually low wind output (usually overstated). Gas is not the worst carbon source. Nuclear is a baseload source - it would replace Moneypoint which is our baseload plant (coal).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 49 Deseras

The nuclear disaster at Fukushima sent an unprecedented amount of radiation into the Pacific. But, before then, atomic bomb tests and radioactive waste were contaminating the sea — the effects are still being felt today.
    Almost 1.2 million liters (320,000 gallons) of radioactive water from the Fukushima nuclear power plant is to be released into the ocean. That's on the recommendation of the government's advisory panel some nine years after the nuclear disaster on Japan's east coast. The contaminated water has since been used to cool the destroyed reactor blocks to prevent further nuclear meltdowns. It is currently being stored in large tanks, but those are expected to be full by 2022.Radiation levels in the sea off Fukushima were millions of times higher than the government's limit of 100 becquerels. And still today, radioactive substances can be detected off the coast of Japan and in other parts of the Pacific. They've even been measured off the US west coast A single becquerel that gets into our body is enough to damage a cell that will eventually become a cancer cell,LIVE TV
    TOP STORIES
    ENVIRONMENT
    Fukushima: How the ocean became a dumping ground for radioactive waste

The nuclear disaster at Fukushima sent an unprecedented amount of radiation into the Pacific. But, before then, atomic bomb tests and radioactive waste were contaminating the sea — the effects are still being felt today.
    Almost 1.2 million liters (320,000 gallons) of radioactive water from the Fukushima nuclear power plant is to be released into the ocean. That's on the recommendation of the government's advisory panel some nine years after the nuclear disaster on Japan's east coast. The contaminated water has since been used to cool the destroyed reactor blocks to prevent further nuclear meltdowns. It is currently being stored in large tanks, but those are expected to be full by 2022.

Exactly how the water should be dealt with has become highly controversial in Japan, not least because the nuclear disaster caused extreme contamination off the coast of Fukushima. At the time, radioactive water flowed "directly into the sea, in quantities we have never seen before in the marine world," Sabine Charmasson from the French Institute for Radiological Protection and Nuclear Safety (IRSN) tells DW.

Radiation levels in the sea off Fukushima were millions of times higher than the government's limit of 100 becquerels. And still today, radioactive substances can be detected off the coast of Japan and in other parts of the Pacific. They've even been measured in very small quantities off the US west coast in concentrations "well below the harmful levels set by the World Health Organization," according to Vincent Rossi, an oceanographer at France's Mediterranean Institute of Oceanography (MIO).

Read more - What happens to nuclear waste from power plants?

The contaminated water in these storage tanks at Fukushima could be released into the sea as of 2022

People observing a minute of silence for the victims of the 2011 earthquake and tsunami
    But that doesn't mean there's no risk, says Horst Hamm of the Nuclear Free Future Foundation. "A single becquerel that gets into our body is enough to damage a cell that will eventually become a cancer cell," he says.

A study from the European Parliament reached a similar conclusion. The research found that "even the smallest possible dose, a photon passing through a cell nucleus, carries a cancer risk. Although this risk is extremely small, it is still a risk."

And that risk is growing. Radioactive pollution in the ocean has been increasing globally — and not just since the disaster at Fukushima.

Atomic bomb tests

In 1946, the US became the first country to test an atomic bomb in a marine area, in the Pacific Bikini Atoll. Over the next few decades, more than 250 further nuclear weapons tests were carried out on the high seas. Most of them (193) were conducted by France in French Polynesia, and by the US (42), primarily in the Marshall Islands and the Central Pacific.

But the ocean wasn't just being used as a training ground for nuclear war. Until the early 1990s, it was also a gigantic dump for radioactive waste from nuclear power plants.

From 1946 to 1993, more than 200,000 tons of waste, some of it highly radioactive, was dumped in the world's oceans, mainly in metal drums, according to the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA). Several nuclear submarines, including nuclear ammunition, were also sunk during this time.

Is the ocean a perfect storage site?

The lion's share of dumped nuclear waste came from Britain and the Soviet Union, figures from the IAEA show. By 1991, the US had dropped more than 90,000 barrels and at least 190,000 cubic meters of radioactive waste in the North Atlantic and Pacific. Other countries including Belgium, France, Switzerland and the Netherlands also disposed of tons of radioactive waste in the North Atlantic in the 1960s, 70s and 80s.

"Under the motto, 'out of sight, out of mind,' the dumping of nuclear waste was the easiest way to get rid of it," says Horst Hamm.

To this day, around 90% of the radiation from discarded barrels comes from those in the North Atlantic, most of which lie north of Russia or off the coast of Western Europe.

"The barrels are everywhere," says ecologist Yannick Rousselet of Greenpeace France. He was present in 2000 when the environmental organization used submarines to dive for dumped drums a few hundred meters off the coast of northern France, at a depth of 60 meters (196 feet).

"We were surprised how close they were to the coast," Rousselet says. "They are rusty and leaking, with the radiation clearly elevated."Germany also implicated

In 1967, Germany also dumped 480 barrels off the coast of Portugal, according to the IAEA. Responding to a 2012 request for information from the Greens about the condition of those barrels, the German government wrote: "The barrels were not designed to ensure the permanent containment of radionuclides on the sea floor. Therefore, it must be assumed that they are at least partially no longer intact."

Germany and France don't want to salvage the barrels. And even Greenpeace activist Yannick Rousselet says he sees "no safe way to lift the rusted barrels" to the surface. That means nuclear waste will likely continue to contaminate the ocean floor for decades to come.

For Horst Hamm, the long-term consequences are clear. The radiation will be "absorbed by the marine animals surrounding it. They will eventually end up caught in fishing nets, and come back to our plates," he says.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,866 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Won't happen here. As market, it doesn't warrant it.

Denmark is at 80% renewable generation, supplemented by some coal, gas and oil. Thats what we need to head towards, a high level of renewables, backed up with gas and heavy fuel oil stations for another few decades.

In the meantime, individual homes and businesses will improve their own reduction in consumption and local level self sufficiency. All those big data centres will need to design in their own generation capacity, they cannot be a high priority off the national grid.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

Need to put a reactor in the midlands. There's nothing else of value there and they need the jobs.

Larbre34 wrote: »

Denmark is at 80% renewable generation, supplemented by some coal, gas and oil. Thats what we need to head towards, a high level of renewables, backed up with gas and heavy fuel oil stations for another few decades.

In the meantime, individual homes and businesses will improve their own reduction in consumption and local level self sufficiency. All those big data centres will need to design in their own generation capacity, they cannot be a high priority off the national grid.

One understated issue is balanced energy demand. The shift to electric cars that mostly charge at night is very helpful in balancing load but the potential for car batteries to "lend" power to the grid during peak hours could be interesting.

Larbre34 wrote: »

Distributed generation as well. Lot of nimbys about to come out of the woodwork.