Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Five members of one family done for fraud over staged accident

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 49 Deseras

Cars now have black boxes that tell everything.speed.braking.gps.swerving.its all recorded to cars computer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Ah man if you are going to lodge a dodgy insurance claim having a name like Chancer Bernard is an eyebrow raiser for an insurance assessor.
    The younger female looks like an extra from a Tango advert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭Smee_Again

dontmindme wrote: »
    As usual, women getting the preferential treatment.

No mention of previous convictions but I’m guessing that was more an issue than their sex.

I could be wrong though, and this could be the first time these folks were convicted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,634 ✭✭✭celt262

Lovely people.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,630 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

It's rather telling that I had an idea of the ... culture of this family from the thread title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

It's rather telling that I had an idea of the ... culture of this family from the thread title.

I didnt even need to read past the title to already guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭HBC08

Only link I could find was:

https://www.thesun.ie/news/6696279/family-fraud-staged-accident-jailed-compo-scam/

The three men involved get custodial sentences, while the two women involved get suspended sentences.

As usual, women getting the preferential treatment.

We usually see cases like thus end up in payouts,I'd be happy enough with the above outcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

6a00d83452534069e2022ad392fc48200c-800wi

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Excellent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Renault 5

And after hearing evidence about the “massive waste of resources” of the emergency services over the episode, Judge Cormac Quinn yesterday sent Bernard, Michael and John to jail for a year each — with the trio sentenced to two and a half years with 18 months suspended.

Mother and daughter Anne Cawley and Anne Bourke were also sentenced to two and a half years but their sentences were fully suspended for three years.

Gender discrimination?

Males get locked up.Females get suspended for the same fraud?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,043 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

At least they are wearing masks

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

And the best thing is we will continue to fund their lifestyle until they shuffle off for the last time in their horse drawn carriage.

The ethnic minority is the gift that keeps on giving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭arctictree

Renault 5 wrote: »
    And after hearing evidence about the “massive waste of resources” of the emergency services over the episode, Judge Cormac Quinn yesterday sent Bernard, Michael and John to jail for a year each — with the trio sentenced to two and a half years with 18 months suspended.

Mother and daughter Anne Cawley and Anne Bourke were also sentenced to two and a half years but their sentences were fully suspended for three years.

Gender discrimination?

So if this is a case of gender discrimination, how exactly do you go about rectifying it. Is there a legal avenue to report a judge to the guards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Meeoow

arctictree wrote: »
    So if this is a case of gender discrimination, how exactly do you go about rectifying it. Is there a legal avenue to report a judge to the guards?

Sure everyone says that jail in this country is a holiday camp, so really, the women are being discriminated against.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭dontmindme

Curious lack of the usual female equality warrior posters on this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

The person who actually "crashed" the car got a lesser sentence than the passengers.

Surely she has even more culpability then the passengers and should therefore receive a bigger punishment?

Let me guess.......who's going to mind the 10 childers sur?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭Piollaire

Gender discrimination?

Elder female didn't make a claim. Don't know why the younger one got off - she may be pregnant looking at photo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,751 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

“The five relatives, all members of the Travelling community and originally from Kilkenny”

Ireland has been free for over a hundred years and we are relying on the Sun, a British tabloid for accurate news.

The above statement would never appear in other papers

Fair play to Axa, and it’s a shame a photo of these dangerous criminals’ chancer lawyer is not shown

<mod snip - broad generalizations deleted>

Meeoow wrote: »
    Sure everyone says that jail in this country is a holiday camp, so really, the women are being discriminated against.

Ahem,

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.breakingnews.ie/amp/ireland/irish-prison-service-spent-close-to-e100000-on-sky-and-netflix-for-inmates-1090583.html

Not exactly a stone quarry

Also, there is no female prison, there is the Dóchas “Hope” Centre

This doesn't look pre-planned - I suspect the passengers thought it was a good opportunity to take advantage of a minor accident by the driver.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,630 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Piollaire wrote: »
    This doesn't look pre-planned - I suspect the passengers thought it was a good opportunity to take advantage of a minor accident by the driver.

The article states the damage wasn't caused by the accident, but done deliberately, so it was clearly planned including the faked unconsciousness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

Curious lack of the usual female equality warrior posters on this thread

I don't think women should get lesser sentences for the same crime. Woman are just as capable of malice and deceit as men, and if caught should be punished accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,587 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Suppose insurance fraud for cash is better than out robbing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭newmember2

“The five relatives, all members of the Travelling community and originally from Kilkenny”

Ireland has been free for over a hundred years and we are relying on the Sun, a British tabloid for accurate news.

The above statement would never appear in other papers

Fair play to Axa, and it’s a shame a photo of these dangerous criminals’ chancer lawyer is not shown

Remember, travellers often deliberately crash into other law abiding people and often get away with massive payouts

These stories are the tip the iceberg

It was reported in the Irish media also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,587 ✭✭✭JJayoo

OscarMIlde wrote: »
    I don't think women should get lesser sentences for the same crime. Woman are just as capable of malice and deceit as men, and if caught should be punished accordingly.

Well prob a pile off kids to look after

newmember? wrote: »
    It was reported in the Irish media also.

Did they mention they were travellers though Newmember?

I find they deliberately suppress that unless there is an agenda

The article states the damage wasn't caused by the accident, but done deliberately, so it was clearly planned including the faked unconsciousness.

The five of them squashed in a Golf in a haze of vape smoke (judging by the photos) and the driver is distracted and goes off the road. One of the passengers (I'm guessing 'Chancer') decides it's a good opportunity and they go picking up rocks.

https://www.courts.ie/content/kilkenny-court-office

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,871 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Gender discrimination?

I'd think its probably more due to previous convictions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,330 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

The sentencing is likely due to previous convictions tbh, brilliant result though. We need to see more convictions for things like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Is this really a shock?

This is quite common as is crash for cash where 2 cars are involved but only you and one end up meeting....

Car 1 brakes on an empty road, 2nd car must brake due to car 1 and then bang you are involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,707 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Not sure whether they still do or not but some years back in a well known insurance company if any claim came through featuring 'certain' surnames they would immediately go to an internal fraud team to investigate, sort of like the Pontins list a few weeks back.

Not sure whether they still do or not but some years back in a well known insurance company if a claim came through from 'certain' surnames they would immediately go to an internal fraud team to investigate, sort of like the Pontins list a few weeks back.

Wouldn't be too difficult to tell when number of previous claims were taken.

1 year at €90k each...,. Who's the sucker now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭arctictree

How do this lot even get car insurance in the first place?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭angel eyes 2012

JJayoo wrote: »
    Suppose insurance fraud for cash is better than out robbing.

This was robbing and deceit, and in some ways it is worse that your average joe soap shoplifter. The article refers to at least 32 emergency personnel involved at the scene. How many times have victims of crime called their local police station about an incident only to be told there is nobody available to attend the scene.

What about all of the delays in A&E; nearly everyday
    potential PI claimants attend A&E after a minor crash and waste the time of the hospital staff. What about the multiple medical reports on claimants that have to be completed by Orthopaedic Surgeons that cost the earth and you and I as policy holders have to pay for. What about all of the tax payer resources and costs used by the Courts that would be better utilised for reducing delays in Family and Criminal proceedings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Irishphotodesk

If I'm correct, the maximum the 5 could claim in civil court would have been €75k each, so if they had been successful in their actions it could have been €375k payout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭angel eyes 2012

If I'm correct, the maximum the 5 could claim in civil court would have been €75k each, so if they had been successful in their actions it could have been €375k payout.

The maximum is 60k in the Circuit Court.

60k for defamation, 75k for injuries or possibly the other way around.

Edit... It is the other way around, so total outlay could have been €300k and not €375k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,211 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Remember, travellers often deliberately crash into other law abiding people and often get away with massive payouts

These stories are the tip the iceberg

I was in a car before with somebody and they made a mistake. They were at fault.
    They bumped into a travelling lady who had her kids unrestrained in the car.
    Her husband was a few cars back with his pick up to the car which was wrecked. In total it cost a few hundred to repair.
    We rang the insurance company and one of the first questions the fella asked was ''Were these people travellers?''
    Turns out she was in loads of minor tips with people.
    Her kids were also with drawn and she had to rushed to A&E in the middle of the night but they had no record of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,707 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Surely those in the legal and medical fields who took the initial compensation claim to court should be joining them in jail?

The medical field are generally producing a report based on what they are told or what they deduce by examination, similar to the people in the legal field, they only take on a case based on the information given to them by a client.

I will never understand why IBEC and the SMEs won’t cop on and blacklist lawyers who try to destroy their businesses and livelihoods and those of their workers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭newmember2

Did they mention they were travellers though Newmember?

I find they deliberately suppress that unless there is an agenda

It was not mentioned they were travellers in any Irish media I read as it's possibly irrelevant.

newmember? wrote: »
    It was not mentioned they were travellers in any Irish media I read.

True

They never do

How do this lot even get car insurance in the first place?!

Can't discriminate

Either way it actually would have been cheaper the prosecution, time and all legal fees times a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,007 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I hope they all have to pay costs too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

Only the passengers could claim.

Thats why the driver suddenly had no problems when she got to hospital. Didn't want them to examine her and discover she was telling porkies about her sudden chest pains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭dontmindme

Only the passengers could claim.

Thats why the driver suddenly had no problems when she got to hospital. Didn't want them to examine her and discover she was telling porkies about her sudden chest pains.

Driver is entitled to claim also.