Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ryan Tubridy earns over 100 grand more per year than POTUS

• 10-03-2021 1:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Infernal Racket

With the recent revelations about the HSE bosses pay rose I decided to do a little checking. The US president earns $400,000 dollars per annum. Tubbers earns €495,000. The HSE boss earns €230,000 per year and is an actual public health systems expert. Paul Reid earns over €420,000 and his previous experience is in running Fingal County Council. I mean, what the actual ****?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Infernal Racket

Dee Forbes €338,000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

don't worry rte employees will be getting a pay cut

Micheal Martin €208,000

don't worry rte employees will be getting a pay cut

This is after his pay cut. I wonder what your Mc Dermott was earning?

jesus christ well tell them go and give themselves another cut that one wasn't enough

Hold your breath now. Joe Duffy, almost 400k last year. Go on caller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Biden should look for a pay rise, or get a job in RTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭Halenvaneddie

I’d imagine he groomed a nice penny out of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

In fairness to Ryan, at only 500k per year, that works out at only about 10 euro per misery/covid conversation he has, so quite good value.

And if it wasn't for him telling us to hold firm and acting like the second coming of Christ every Friday evening, I don't think I would have made it through the last year.........

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Biden should look for a pay rise, or get a job in RTE

He wouldn't be able for the pressure of Tubridys job though. Asking all those tough questions of the RTE "celebrities" that are on every week must be very taxing.

• Hold your breath now. Joe Duffy, almost 400k last year. Go on caller

LOL for one hour a day that is crazy money.

I doubt he even needs to spend much time on research. The caller drives the discussion.

he probably earns more in a year than every one of his callers combined

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,815 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Jimmy Kimmel earns $14,600,000 more per annum than Joe Biden.

something something...

LOL for one hour a day that is crazy money.

I doubt he even needs to spend much time on research. The caller drives the discussion.

Sure he has a researcher on the show. Some callers mention the researcher to Joe while talking to him. Really irks him too. He suffers the irksomeness (probably not a real word) because he gets 400 ****IN GRAND PER YEAR. Wash your hands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭1874

€1 does not equal $1
    €495k is equal to $589k
    $400k is equal to €336k

Tubridy earns $189k or €159k more than the POTUS

To put it more in context, Dee Forbes earns more than the POTUS, just to make it sound even worse/better.

JPA wrote: »
    Jimmy Kimmel earns $14,600,000 more per annum than Joe Biden.

something something...

He deosnt get paid off the tv licence....while homemade content here,has to make do,with davy fitz screaming at people jumping over bales of hay,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

With the recent revelations about the HSE bosses pay rose I decided to do a little checking. The US president earns $400,000 dollars per annum. Tubbers earns €495,000. The HSE boss earns €230,000 per year and is an actual public health systems expert. Paul Reid earns over €420,000 and his previous experience is in running Fingal County Council. I mean, what the actual ****?
    US talk show hosts, a much better comparison, earn many multiples of both Tubridy and POTUS.

Archeron wrote: »
    In fairness to Ryan, at only 500k per year, that works out at only about 10 euro per misery/covid conversation he has, so quite good value.

And if it wasn't for him telling us to hold firm and acting like the second coming of Christ every Friday evening, I don't think I would have made it through the last year.........

Slaving eight hours a week, the conscience of a nation. We're most fortunate the BBC didn't poach him for half the salary, thankfully RTÉ aka private contractor aka taxpayer aka pay your TV licence are looking after such a unique talent.

NYPD Police Commissioner $169,000

Garda Commissioner €250,000

Jaysus

Ray D'Arcy took home €495,000 in 2018. Jesus wept

Sharon Ni Bheolain was giving out a couple of years ago because she was earning 60 to 80 grand less than Dobbo. What kind of twine was Dobbo on ffs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭AdrianBalboa

I suppose all of Ryan's detractors would turn down such a huge salary from their employers for "the greater good?"

My arse they would. The blame should be placed on whoever offered him the money, not on Ryan himself.

I suppose all of Ryan's detractors would turn down such a huge salary from their employers for "the greater good?"

My arse they would. The blame should be placed on whoever offered him the money, not on Ryan himself.

Oh I agree 100% with that comment. As is the case with all the overpriced RTE longstayers. Nobody would refuse that kind of money. The value for money aspect is something that has been overlooked for years by RYE execs though because I honestly can't think of a single RTE persona who is worth their salaries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

RTE presenters bring in multiples of their salaries in advertisements. You have to pay for talent.

Ha. Talent me eye

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 193 ✭✭Hellotonever

And remember: PAY YOUR TAXES

I have no problem paying taxes towards something that's managed well and benefits me and everybody else. I have a huge problem paying RTE salaries though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

I've often said it, poor aul Uncle Gaybo must have been disgusted when he read Tubridy's salary in the papers. A man of considerable talent and ability, who could easily have worked in the UK or US but was on a 3 month contract for most of his years at RTE and was afraid to look for a rise.

Then a toothpick with all the charisma and interviewing ability of a ferret with a brain injury strolls in and is commanding half a mil a year. It's just laughable really.

I have no problem paying taxes towards something that's managed well and benefits me and everybody else. I have a huge problem paying RTE salaries though.

Are we talking about the 3 billion euro childrens hospital, half a million RTE salaries, or the systemic intent to inflate house prices because half of TDs are landlords?

Which benefits us all?

Are we talking about the 3 billion euro childrens hospital, half a million RTE salaries, or the systemic intent to inflate house prices because half of TDs are landlords?

Which benefits us all?

None of the above will benefit you chap. You're too busy spending your gazillions while driving around Portugal in your brand new, ahem, Lexus =)

Aye. Was smart enough to see the scam. Remember: PAY YOUR TAXES.

Tubridy needs a big bonus this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

The US president earns 400,000 dollars a year which is the equivalent to 335,000 euro. Our new secretary general of the health board earns with a new pay rise 290,000 grand a year. It's says a lot about leeches we have in power here

This is what all in Montrose strive to achieve, the arrogance and snobbery is unreal...from Gerry Ryans Book..... says it all really. To have the attitude and lifestyle funded by US the public, speaks volumes about how overpaid they all are... his opulence and addiction to same, literally killed him.

My canteen is the restaurant of the Four Seasons Hotel," he writes in a chapter headed Fine Dining. "I have all my meetings in that restaurant. I know Louis Walsh does the same thing."

Shortly after that, he is talking about wine: "I think Irish people still need to wake up to the joys of sommeliers... My favourite sommelier was Pascal in Dromoland."

Or here's Gerry in a chapter called The Front of the Plane: "I go first class with Aer Lingus to JFK.

"There's a big seat, everyone's attentive and nice," he goes on. "I have a few drinks, and when I'm with my family, I see them enjoying the fruits of my labour .... Then we get to New York and there's a limousine waiting to take us to Manhattan.

"We check into Fitzpatrick's and go upstairs to one of the suites, or as we did last year, to the penthouse ... And the path is always greased. Maybe U2 are playing in Giants Stadium, and the backstage passes will be waiting for us in the Rockefeller ....

"I defy anyone to say that's not a good way to travel."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,880 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

He deosnt get paid off the tv licence....while homemade content here,has to make do,with davy fitz screaming at people jumping over bales of hay,

He gets paid by his own company, which is paid by rte to supply Tubbs, who get their money from the licence fee.

rusty cole wrote: »
    This is what all in Montrose strive to achieve, the arrogance and snobbery is unreal...from Gerry Ryans Book..... says it all really. To have the attitude and lifestyle funded by US the public, speaks volumes about how overpaid they all are... his opulence and addiction to same, literally killed him.

My canteen is the restaurant of the Four Seasons Hotel," he writes in a chapter headed Fine Dining. "I have all my meetings in that restaurant. I know Louis Walsh does the same thing."

Shortly after that, he is talking about wine: "I think Irish people still need to wake up to the joys of sommeliers... My favourite sommelier was Pascal in Dromoland."

Or here's Gerry in a chapter called The Front of the Plane: "I go first class with Aer Lingus to JFK.

"There's a big seat, everyone's attentive and nice," he goes on. "I have a few drinks, and when I'm with my family, I see them enjoying the fruits of my labour .... Then we get to New York and there's a limousine waiting to take us to Manhattan.

"We check into Fitzpatrick's and go upstairs to one of the suites, or as we did last year, to the penthouse ... And the path is always greased. Maybe U2 are playing in Giants Stadium, and the backstage passes will be waiting for us in the Rockefeller ....

"I defy anyone to say that's not a good way to travel."

The opulence caught up with him in the end.

I know and good enough for him, the arrogance would make you sick,

full write up here, asshole of the highest order by all accounts.
    Kids names says it all, Lottie and REX!! FFS

https://www.independent.ie/entertainment/books/how-gerry-ryan-turned-into-mr-smug-26485089.html

anyway back to tubbs, #cryin4ryan #rainbowryan:D

You have to admire Gerry's hutzpah in way. He had a 90's Noel Gallagher thing going on, living it large and fúck the begrudgers. I think I give him more leeway than most at RTE because he was a real broadcasting talent and his personality and ability no doubt brought in shedloads in ad revenue, which was a big aspect of his inflated salary.......

It's one thing to be paying a license fee for people of some ability who are on big money, but to be paying it for a shítshow like modern day RTE with it's array of talentless hacks and it's selling off the family silver to keep the lights on and it's empty vessel of a DG always begging for more hand outs from the state...........that I cannot stomach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭AdrianBalboa

I've often said it, poor aul Uncle Gaybo must have been disgusted when he read Tubridy's salary in the papers. A man of considerable talent and ability, who could easily have worked in the UK or US but was on a 3 month contract for most of his years at RTE and was afraid to look for a rise.

Then a toothpick with all the charisma and interviewing ability of a ferret with a brain injury strolls in and is commanding half a mil a year. It's just laughable really.
    Poor auld Uncle Gaybo was stupid enough to be conned out of his fortune twice, all the while enjoying the perks of being the "top man" in RTE. More fool him for not leaving when he should have.

As for the comments about Gerry Ryan by whoever posted them:

Gerry Ryan was a massive money spinner for RTE. He earned every single penny he got, regardless of what you think about his lifestyle.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/rte-radio-star-ryan-really-was-worth-500000-26725875.html

To be fair to Gay Byrne, in the first instance he was swindled out his savings by a man who he believed to be a close family friend. In the second instance he took a punt with Anglo and like many, he paid dearly.

Tv show hosts in the united states make their money independently. Tv hosts in Ireland are all paid by the state. They do not make money organically. An assigned board of cronyists decide each other’s paychecks. At your expense of course.

Remember to pay your TV license tax.

Poor auld Uncle Gaybo was stupid enough to be conned out of his fortune twice, all the while enjoying the perks of being the "top man" in RTE. More fool him for not leaving when he should have.

As for the comments about Gerry Ryan by whoever posted them:

Gerry Ryan was a massive money spinner for RTE. He earned every single penny he got, regardless of what you think about his lifestyle.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/rte-radio-star-ryan-really-was-worth-500000-26725875.html

I don't think RTE have a single money spinner in their ranks. Not even one. And they have no interest in exploring new talent. Let's keep trotting out the same old tired "celebrities" on a Friday night to talk their usual nonsense. I reckon Tommy Tiernan has promise but that's about it.

Tv show hosts in the united states make their money independently. Tv hosts in Ireland are all paid by the state. They do not make money organically. An assigned board of cronyists decide each other’s paychecks. At your expense of course.

Remember to pay your TV license tax.

Do you pay much tax on your gazillions in Portugal?

Nah. NHR scheme. Just google it

I'd rather not thanks. I'm not a fantasist

RTE is an important service, we certainly need a good state broadcaster that can cover news, current affairs, culture, sport etc to a high standard from an Irish perspective. But the answer is not to keep churning out the lowest common denominator crap that fills the schedules nowadays. Endless cookery, fashion, fitness, stuff like that 'fúcking with my family' thing - do we really need this rubbish?

How about concentrate on a BBC/BBC4 style output of high quality programming, scale down the operation and the costs to suit that, instead of spreading yourself thinly over a wide variety of interests and doing most of them poorly. Of course no one at RTE has the cojones to take on that task. Far easier commission dross that will bring in ad money, go further down the ITV route, and beg for higher license fee from every government to paper over your own failings.

I'd rather not thanks. I'm not a fantasist

Say it with me: It is impossible to be a millionaire at 25. It is impossible to make 180k a year passively. It is impossible to move to Portugal and pay minimal taxes. It is impossible to get out of Ireland. I must pay my taxes. Work sets me free. Ryan Tubridy deserves my money.

Incomprehensible as it may be to one that is so demoralized to see a quality of life that does not involve being swindled by the government, it is true: I got out. The rest of you wont.

I don't think RTE have a single money spinner in their ranks. Not even one. And they have no interest in exploring new talent. Let's keep trotting out the same old tired "celebrities" on a Friday night to talk their usual nonsense. I reckon Tommy Tiernan has promise but that's about it.

I think you really need to look, deeeep, the talent pool in RTE is amazing, what about these mavericks?? now if only they could keep hhhmmmmmmmm
    https://www.irishpost.com/news/kieran-creaven-former-rte-sports-producer-flew-uk-sex-child-released-jail-10-months-163318

https://www.joe.ie/news/head-2fm-hints-radio-return-al-porter-rte-615588

https://www.instagram.com/eoghanmcdermott/?hl=en

RTE is an important service, we certainly need a good state broadcaster that can cover news, current affairs, culture, sport etc to a high standard from an Irish perspective. But the answer is not to keep churning out the lowest common denominator crap that fills the schedules nowadays. Endless cookery, fashion, fitness, stuff like that 'fúcking with my family' thing - do we really need this rubbish?

How about concentrate on a BBC/BBC4 style output of high quality programming, scale down the operation and the costs to suit that, instead of spreading yourself thinly over a wide variety of interests and doing most of them poorly. Of course no one at RTE has the cojones to take on that task. Far easier commission dross that will bring in ad money, go further down the ITV route, and beg for higher license fee from every government to paper over your own failings.

They can't even get their player to work properly. It can't be that difficult in this day amd age to get the basics right. Yet they continue to make a bollix of it

Say it with me: It is impossible to be a millionaire at 25. It is impossible to make 180k a year passively. It is impossible to move to Portugal and pay minimal taxes. It is impossible to get out of Ireland. I must pay my taxes. Work sets me free. Ryan Tubridy deserves my money.

Incomprehensible as it may be to one that is so demoralized to see a quality of life that does not involve being swindled by the government, it is true: I got out. The rest of you wont.

So you're 25 years old. You make 180k per year. And you're a millionaire? When you're playing make believe you should at least try to make the figures add up son. Its basic make believe 101

They can't even get their player to work properly. It can't be that difficult in this day amd age to get the basics right. Yet they continue to make a bollix of it

Like most things in the public sector, no incentive to get it right. Trundle along, do the minimum, pay rise increments regardless, someone in Leinster House will bail us out if push comes to shove.

They'd get it right if they needed the revenue and had to sort it out.