Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do people on here call the guards AGS?

• 10-03-2021 10:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

I've never sat down in a pub beside a fella and heard him say

"AGS are pulling people up the road there, better walk home after this"

"Had a run-in with AGS there there a while back, was in the Joy for a spell after"

Yet on here it's AGS this, AGS that, AGS the next thing

Why? Is it purely a Boardsian thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,467 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

"Had a run-in with AGS there there a while back, was in the Joy for a spell after"

Acronyms are easy to type

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭1874

Because it is easier to type/write than say

and it is easier to say Gardai, the Gards than AGS which you will end up repeating and explaining,

so overall, to be understood and for efficiency reasons,

it makes it easier to hero worship them.....and frees up time to scream abuse at anyone who doesnt

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I've never heard anyone say lol either

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,014 ✭✭✭Allinall

What's a pub?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

GLaDOS wrote: »
    I've never heard anyone say lol either

I say it the odd time if I find something funny but not enough to make me laugh

Allinall wrote: »
    What's a pub?

Its this place where people used to congregate long ago to drink this peculiar black liquid with a load of white foam on top

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

I say it the odd time if I find something funny but not enough to make me laugh

Its this place where people used to congregate long ago to drink this peculiar black liquid with a load of white foam on top

People used do it after something called a funeral. Or as someone said " Covid has taken the fun out of funeral"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Have you ever typed "An Garda Siochana and not thought AGS would do

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

uch wrote: »
    Have you ever typed "An Garda Siochana and not thought AGS would do

By the time you’ve figured out the fadas you’d have typed the other!

People don't know how to do the fada in Gardaí.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

I just type "Stasi" for short, these days.

I don't think I'm being excessive here, the Gardai are 100% worse than ze Stasi.

1874 wrote: »
    Because it is easier to type/write than say

and it is easier to say Gardai, the Gards than AGS which you will end up repeating and explaining,

so overall, to be understood and for efficiency reasons,

You could even say guards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

KungPao wrote: »

I don't think I'm being excessive here, the Gardai are 100% worse than ze Stasi.

They really aren’t.

You have direct personal knowledge of them do you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

You have direct personal knowledge of them do you?
    Tongue in cheek.

As if the Gardai had the capability and endeavour for espionage and general covert craftiness.

Too busy sleeping in their cars down back lanes and eating free Supermacs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

COPS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭The DayDream

Hunh! Bad Boys!

Whatcha gon whatcha gonna do ohoo oo
    When An Gardia Shontong come for you

Aggghhhhh they won't catch me agghhhg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

If we just called them 'the police' instead of using the Irish term we wouldn't have any of this nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

AllForIt wrote: »
    If we just called them 'the police' instead of using the Irish term we wouldn't have any of this nonsense.
    That's a no!

The reason they were called AGS in the first place is to avoid confusion around security at any future reunion tour by Sting and the lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

But they aren't the "police" they are the Gardaí.

Tongue in cheek.

As if the Gardai had the capability and endeavour for espionage and general covert craftiness.

Indeed.

Amazing how they managed to contain one of the largest terrorist groups in the 80s with a small unarmed police force and still maintain lower than average crime levels within the eu.

But sure you know best with your vast knowledge of the stasi systems

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

As long as no one ever writes 'the' AGS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

I really don’t want to have to wait for Sting to finish his 9 hour tantric sex session just to get my passport form signed. Nor do I want him signing it in the middle of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Obligatory ngardee post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭1874

I belive some people call them 5 oh

5-0 (as in 5-oh, not 5- zero/naught), shudders

G-men could be re used (Gardai-men) might have to make that G-persons

Indeed.

Amazing how they managed to contain one of the largest terrorist groups in the 80s with a small unarmed police force and still maintain lower than average crime levels within the eu.

But sure you know best with your vast knowledge of the stasi systems

It wasnt just the Gardai, the defence forces were big in there too and in reality, they weren't significantly the targets, not that either of those official organisations didnt come into contact with illegal organisations in that way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

That acronym is used internally by the guards themselves. When someone who isn't a guard uses it, it's usually to show that they really know what they're talking about and that they really love the guards.

They're not gonna shag you, mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,467 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

.anon. wrote: »
    When someone who isn't a guard uses it, it's usually to show that they really know what they're talking about and that they really love the guards.

It’s really not, it’s just a quick way of typing something.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

You could even say guards

But they aren't "guards".

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

it makes it easier to hero worship them.....and frees up time to scream abuse at anyone who doesnt

Must be laziness on my part as I use it and I've little time for them in general

The end bit is very fitting to crime call.... Driving a car, some car

Brian? wrote: »
    But they aren't "guards".

Explain please.

Gardai is guards
    Garda is guard

There's absolutely no word 'gard' or 'gards'. They simple don't exist in either Irish or English language.

Blaz would prefer de filth or de pigs.

Not going to happen son.

Explain please.

Gardai is guards
    Garda is guard

There's absolutely no word 'gard' or 'gards'. They simple don't exist in either Irish or English language.

I prefer the Gardai or Garda myself. One time where using Irish works in English. The guards can be confused with security. Don’t see the problem with police.

My only issue with incorporating the word 'police' is that we shouldn't need to.

Plenty of forces the world over use their own terms without apology out the need to explain. Guardia civil / gendarmerie / carabiniere and so on.

If you are traveling to a country, it's on you to know these things and no ****ing idiot in Spain even got off by claiming he didn't know the guy in green pointing a gun at him wasn't a cop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Allinall wrote: »
    What's a pub?

Everyone knows that! "personal underworld bolthole" of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Tongue in cheek.

They got YOU fooled then!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Explain please.

Gardai is guards
    Garda is guard

They’re Gardaí. They certainly aren’t guards.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek