Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garden projects

• 26-02-2021 10:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭

So i thought id start a thread on the various garden projects i have planned

First up is the decking as its rotting.
    My first thought was to replace it with another soft wood deck but i didnt want to be cleaning it and oiling it regularly.
    So then i thought composite which i very nearly ordered but i couldnt live with the plasticness of it.
    So i ordered yellow balau hardwood decking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,901 ✭✭✭✭ted1

I’m contemplating adding a new patio area. About 3m * 7m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Zebrano

50982940638_13b1486933_c.jpgIMG_2193 by stephen harborne, on Flickr

50983729612_fe83157c06_c.jpgGarden by stephen harborne, on Flickr

The plan is to extend it out to the end of the house on theleft in the picture.
    Im also hoping to use hidden fixings so there are no screws or plugs visible.
    Im also going to make my own furniture to match the decking.
    I also have to chop up the old deck to bring to the recycling centre. 😄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Zebrano wrote: »
    Im also going to make my own furniture to match the decking.
    I also have to chop up the old deck for the fire.

I think it's illegal and dangerous to burn treated wood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,888 ✭✭✭✭Calahonda52

poor ventilation will be an issue if built back like the original

“I can’t pay my staff or mortgage with instagram likes”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

What are you planning to build the base from? I had looked at alu before, seems to be more available now

poor ventilation will be an issue if built back like the original

Well i cant raise it any further otherwise the doors wont open. And im not digging the ground up.
    The timbers that were in direct contact with the ground are still solid and its down about 12 years. It was down in that front corner that rotted. Possibly because the gutter was overflowing on to it.

mloc123 wrote: »
    What are you planning to build the base from? I had looked at alu before, seems to be more available now

I got microshades softwood 4x2s. It cost 12 euro a length. The hardwood frame was coming in at over 3times that so i just couldnt do it. As was the composite joists. I might creasode the joists to give further protection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭rje66

These black fixings are for composite deck boards, that have a groove alonge edge.

rje66 wrote: »
    These black fixings are for composite deck boards, that have a groove alonge edge.

Yea im aware. Im going to put a groove in the side of the hardwood with a biscuit jointer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,550 ✭✭✭✭muffler

Just like the old decking you are covering the manhole which isnt a great idea. Or have you factored this in?

muffler wrote: »
    Just like the old decking you are covering the manhole which isnt a great idea. Or have you factored this in?

Yea ive been thinking about what to do with that alright.
    The feeling is to just cover it as it been under there a long time and not caused any problems. Worst case scenario ive to lift a few boards i guess.

muffler wrote: »

Just leave a trap door the width of the joists and 3 -4 deck boards wide. Saves lifting a whole board.

50989457198_27aacbd582_c.jpgUntitled by stephen harborne, on Flickr
    This hole was left when the sunroom was built so i filled it in today so it would be solid to put the deck on

50989456823_61fd0fdfcb_c.jpgUntitled by stephen harborne, on Flickr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Fine Cheers

Mulling over something similar but budget limited. Did you consider keeping sub frame ? What sort of condition was sub frame in ? Only a couple of my boards starting to rot so could replace, down around 15 years. Needs a face-lift so might use Roseal rescue paint. Are you putting a railing on edge ? Good idea for accessing manhole - just set out joists to suit.

DIY KING wrote: »
    Mulling over something similar but budget limited. Did you consider keeping sub frame ? What sort of condition was sub frame in ? Only a couple of my boards starting to rot so could replace, down around 15 years. Needs a face-lift so might use Roseal rescue paint. Are you putting a railing on edge ? Good idea for accessing manhole - just set out joists to suit.

Didnt really think about it i guess.
    Some of it that i could see was quiet rotten so i just ripped it all up.
    I want to have as little cut boards as i can.

So i started to make my garden furniture today

51008670261_5313d6f1b6_c.jpgUntitled by stephen harborne, on Flickr

51008670336_5770fa86b3_c.jpgUntitled by stephen harborne, on Flickr

51007961543_016596ec6c_c.jpgUntitled by stephen harborne, on Flickr

51009103558_b146d9f4fd_c.jpgUntitled by stephen harborne, on Flickr

The plan is to paint it this colour with a top made of decking boards

50998003196_61ddcf50da_c.jpgUntitled by stephen harborne, on Flickr

So i started to make my garden furniture today

51008670261_5313d6f1b6_c.jpgUntitled by stephen harborne, on Flickr

51008670336_5770fa86b3_c.jpgUntitled by stephen harborne, on Flickr

51007961543_016596ec6c_c.jpgUntitled by stephen harborne, on Flickr

51009103558_b146d9f4fd_c.jpgUntitled by stephen harborne, on Flickr

The plan is to paint it this colour with a top made of decking boards

50998003196_61ddcf50da_c.jpgUntitled by stephen harborne, on Flickr

I'd love to be able to weld

Ah here, surely DIY projects don't include doing your own welding.....;)
    Fair play that looks a great job. Keep us posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Ah here, surely DIY projects don't include doing your own welding.....;).

Too right. Metal components must be joined with Tec 7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Heavy duty frame, that certainly won't be blowing over in the wind.
    Are you thinking of getting it hot dipped galvanised. Any holes planned in the cross section to let water drain.
    Proabably won't see too much water with it covered in decking boards so a good paint job should be as good.

Heavy duty frame, that certainly won't be blowing over in the wind.
    Are you thinking of getting it hot dipped galvanised. Any holes planned in the cross section to let water drain.
    Proabably won't see too much water with it covered in decking boards so a good paint job should be as good.

Im going to be drilling a hole for a parasol in the middle so i think that will do.
    https://biccs.nl/en/ this is the paint im using. its a 2k paint thats direct to metal so ill see how that goes

Mig welding isnt that difficult really. Its easy enough to pick up i think most peoples problems are because the get an inferior welder that isnt up to the job.
    https://www.proweld.ie/product/swp-mig-210-turbo/?ppc_keyword=&gclid=Cj0KCQiAs5eCBhCBARIsAEhk4r4euuwznXSlbdoSdzcFrvit4h8TvQd-2HqBtQ8AKlMKeM39wYDdGbsaArYbEALw_wcB
    This is what i have and it welds anything from 0.5mm up

I've that welder too.
    I think i got it for around 600 with gas & wire etc

I've that welder too.
    I think i got it for around 600 with gas & wire etc

I got a similar deal about 6 years ago.
    Worth every penny.

Started on the base today until the weather ruined progress

51019668863_f77d7d8cd1_c.jpgUntitled by stephen harborne, on Flickr

51019668603_493df0b387_c.jpgUntitled by stephen harborne, on Flickr

Great stuff, love the progress photos. Feckin rain is a disaster.
    Looks good, treating cut ends and all !!
    Looks like your are nailing joists to each other ?
    Nice cut on the joist at the plinth to facilitate existing ramp.
    What way are you going to secure the block supports ?
    Are you going to put a rail around it ?
    We have one currently on ours and herself is thinking about (me) taking it out to allow flow into garden.

Great stuff, love the progress photos. Feckin rain is a disaster.
    Looks good, treating cut ends and all !!
    Looks like your are nailing joists to each other ?
    Nice cut on the joist at the plinth to facilitate existing ramp.
    What way are you going to secure the block supports ?
    Are you going to put a rail around it ?
    We have one currently on ours and herself is thinking about (me) taking it out to allow flow into garden.

I started cutting the long cuts with a jigsaw but it was taking too long so i dragged out the bandsaw.
    I was just going to sit it on top of the blocks
    Im not putting a rail up the old one had a rail and i took it down a few years ago and it completely transformed it for the better there will be a step around it

Any more photos ?
    Are you planning to oil the balau decking ?

51029401303_415358f22a_c.jpgUntitled by stephen harborne, on Flickr

51056886042_553a2f5230_c.jpgUntitled by stephen harborne, on Flickr

Finished up the frame eventually which was a complete nightmare but got there in the end

51056078483_9a2376680e_c.jpgUntitled by stephen harborne, on Flickr

i put these clips on the bottom of the board and slotted them into a slot on the frame

51056886062_07a1df67d6_c.jpgUntitled by stephen harborne, on Flickr

51059114902_5f761b0345_c.jpgUntitled by stephen harborne, on Flickr

51058311878_91bd453def_c.jpgUntitled by stephen harborne, on Flickr

51058306398_8f5ec3414e_c.jpgUntitled by stephen harborne, on Flickr

Ive 11 boards across now. Its taking about half an hour per board to chop and slot and lay.
    Hopefully im finished by the summer

What's the plan for area in front of door?, I would have it framed out before first deck board went on. But maybe you have other plan. Also what's plan to hide the bricks supporting frame?. Id be putting on timbers to fix onto now before deck boards close in the area, making it a bit easier.
    Just my thoughts, but looks good so far.

Great photos. Decking boards look brilliant. Seems alot of work with the clips but well worth it I think to conceal the fixings.

rje66 wrote: »
    What's the plan for area in front of door?, I would have it framed out before first deck board went on. But maybe you have other plan. Also what's plan to hide the bricks supporting frame?. Id be putting on timbers to fix onto now before deck boards close in the area, making it a bit easier.
    Just my thoughts, but looks good so far.

For the area at the door in just gonna make up a frame with a board on top and drop it in.
    There will be a step around the whole thing so this will cover the bricks.

Great photos. Decking boards look brilliant. Seems alot of work with the clips but well worth it I think to conceal the fixings.

If im honest its a ridiculous amount of work but deffo worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Ive 11 boards across now. Its taking about half an hour per board to chop and slot and lay.
    Hopefully im finished by the summer

Looks brilliant, great job so far.

My only complaint is having to wait until the summer to see the finished product. Much like a season on Netflix I want it all now so... get chopping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

looks great - an absolutely massive improvement on the previous one! well done ( now get on with it )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Remove the end board again. Slot the boards and just lay them then chop them all together in one go. Reinstall end board.

It saves faffing around measuring lengths and time. Speeds things up.

listermint wrote: »
    Remove the end board again. Slot the boards and just lay them then chop them all together in one go. Reinstall end board.

It saves faffing around measuring lengths and time. Speeds things up.

The end board needs to be on before the others because the way i fixed it.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I notice you're building it on top of blocks on tarmac.

Do you think this would work on top of blocks on soil? I have a small area I'm considering decking, it's currently lawn. My shed is propped on blocks on the same soil, wondering if this would also work for decking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

awec wrote: »

Do you think this would work on top of blocks on soil? I have a small area I'm considering decking, it's currently lawn. My shed is propped on blocks on the same soil, wondering if this would also work for decking.

I would suggest you dig some holes and fill them with hardcore or similar to create some form of footing. Then put your blocks on top of that. Block on soil will eventually sag I think and leave your deck uneven and a bit crappy looking.

Hijacking this for my own project today, dunno if you can call it DIY or just an IKEA hack...

Making a BBQ area to hold a kamado grill and portable gas grill... started with two IKEA bror trolleys https://www.ikea.com/ie/en/p/bror-trolley-black-pine-plywood-60333850/

Made up some adjustable feet with M8 bolts and rubber caps, cut the top for the Kamado to slot in and stained the wood. It needs a few coats of yacht varnish tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,827 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Hijacking this for my own project today, dunno if you can call it DIY or just an IKEA hack...

Making a BBQ area to hold a kamado grill and portable gas grill... started with two IKEA bror trolleys https://www.ikea.com/ie/en/p/bror-trolley-black-pine-plywood-60333850/

Made up some adjustable feet with M8 bolts and rubber caps, cut the top for the Kamado to slot in and stained the wood. It needs a few coats of yacht varnish tomorrow.

Well done! I do envy people who can do it themselves. I have the ideas, it’s the execution that’s the problem. :(

Make sure you have a look on here for any tips and tricks.

Enjoy! :)

https://touch.boards.ie/thread/2058086372/14/#post116758644

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭holygoaliefc

Can I ask about the wall behind your bbq-which is fabulous btw, seriously well done! Have you stained the wood and if so with what?

No, not stained. That is just standard 2x1 treated construction timber. It is up over a year now, so has weathered a little but the colour is pretty close to when it was new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

awec wrote: »

As RobAMerc says, you are better off putting something underneath your blocks that won't sink over time. Laid directly on grass/soil, bigger blocks are better than smaller; they spread the load.

There are other options though;

- Pave the area with 600mm paving slabs before putting the deck on top. You still want your slabs to be very level though, so there's a bit of work in this.

- If the deck would need to be raised anyway to meet the house, consider hanging the joists off wooden posts. Done properly (fabric & stones underneath), this looks really slick and professional, IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

seamus wrote: »
    As RobAMerc says, you are better off putting something underneath your blocks that won't sink over time. Laid directly on grass/soil, bigger blocks are better than smaller; they spread the load.

- Pave the area with 600mm paving slabs before putting the deck on top. You still want your slabs to be very level though, so there's a bit of work in this.

- If the deck would need to be raised anyway to meet the house, consider hanging the joists off wooden posts. Done properly (fabric & stones underneath), this looks really slick and professional, IMO.

Pave an area to then cover it up ? What a waste of time....and money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Maxface

seamus wrote: »

Also, I wouldn't follow the way the fella in that guide set up a raised deck. Madness :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Maxface

Dig a hole and put in a block, put your post on it. Be grand. If it's for a handrail that's different.