Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the oldest in service piece of machinery on your farm?

• 12-02-2021 4:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭

Curious as to what is the oldest in use machine on your farm. More interested in machines you may uses day to day or seasonally rather than just rotting in a hedge.

We use still a 135 from the 1960 on the odd occasion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Powerharrow that's 2009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,202 ✭✭✭amacca

135 as well:D

+ There's a three prong fork here that looks like it was used in anger in cromwells time....
    Tines worn down to half their original length and the number of handles its had is probably in treble digits ...

Great for forking in the odd stray bit of silage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

Curious as to what is the oldest in use machine on your farm. More interested in machines you may uses day to day or seasonally rather than just rotting in a hedge.

Ah, we only have a hobby farm, but...

Up til lately, 135 was the only tractor... ;)

Vicon fertilser spreader and stihl chainsaw from mid 70s still in use. Mid 70s seems to have been a sweet spot for us :)

The finger bar mower from the 50s? 60s? was 'retired' a few years ago now, but not as long as you'd think either ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

86 Jcb 412, 21k hours on it. The auto scrapers are in as long as I can remember as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭dzer2

47 3 cylinder nuffield and pierce No. 3 mowing bar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

We did have a TVO tractor up to a couple of years ago bit to be fair it wasn't used in anger for 30 years

That was from the 1940s or early 50s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

I have a generator powered by a 6 cylinder 354 Perkins engine that's heading for 50 yrs. Had to get parts for the alternator a while back and I was told the originals were made late 60s early 70s.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,358 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

79' Leyland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

1962 MF 35. Used everyday around the yard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Kverneland stone fork that the father bough for the front of a 65 digger, some time in the early 70's.
    Theres a Howard rotavator that could be early 1960's, it gets about an hours run a year, putting in a garden.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭NcdJd

Drill plough and Howard rotovator from my father's time. Also a old harrow in along ditch but I think best left there. Still use the drill plough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,218 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Quicke 2000 trip loader here from the 60's at a guess. Started life on a Nuffield 3/42, then spent 20 years on a Ford 5000 and now on a 7600. Bucket not much bigger than a wheelbarrow but it saves the back anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭Avns1s

MF 35 from 1961/62 still in daily use. Does all the spraying, fertiliser spreading, and haybob work. Fully restored about 10 years ago. Still in great nick so it'll be making a contribution for a while yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭White Clover

Quicke 2000 trip loader here from the 60's at a guess. Started life on a Nuffield 3/42, then spent 20 years on a Ford 5000 and now on a 7600. Bucket not much bigger than a wheelbarrow but it saves the back anyway

76's are scarce now. I have a soft spot for them. Always thought they were 10 times better than a 66.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,329 ✭✭✭emaherx

Oldest working tractor is a 1979 MF 135.
    Oldest tractor is a 1965 MF 205, was working till I decided to do it up. Need to sort that.

The 135 these days is almost permeantly bolted to an eighth foot finish mower. With occasional haybob duty.

2 haybobs here might be older than the 135 but I'm not sure of their age.

We have a 87 massy 50 e loader.its a super yoke but not pretty to look at but the yard is her kingdom .i think thats the oldest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Me too! :D

As for machines - a fairly old Pierce"s of Wexford Beet Cutter which was converted from handcrank to drive belt some time in the 50's I think

And a 155 in fairly good nick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,458 ✭✭✭✭Base price

A 1970 IH 454 in every day use. It's the yard scraping tractor and it got a new water pump today. The oldest piece of machinery is probably a vicon acrobat that is used every year to clear the trash off the WBC and heavy topping in the LIPP. I don't know what age our one is but they began manufacturing in 1949.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,329 ✭✭✭emaherx

K.G. wrote: »
    We have a 87 massy 50 e loader.its a super yoke but not pretty to look at but the yard is her kingdom .i think thats the oldest

That's nearly as new as my good tractors. :D

We did have a TVO tractor up to a couple of years ago bit to be fair it wasn't used in anger for 30 years

That was from the 1940s or early 50s
    My brother has a tvo Ford Nan, I think it's 1953. It was running up to about 12 years ago but hasn't been started since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭JoeCasey

35 with the double wheel. Only thing that can travel.

76's are scarce now. I have a soft spot for them. Always thought they were 10 times better than a 66.

this one is rarer still, an early one with the safety cab, pre q cab

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Can't see anything new today working in in 40 years time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭E mac

1988 Cat 910. Oldest but prob most important machine in the yard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

Have a welger ap 61 square baler here my father bought new in 74 still baking perfect as he minds it well once a month or so he makes her make a bale by tripping the knitters to keep her going last year I had a good bit of hay down he just backed in took her out baled a thousand bales and no missing good going I thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭minerleague

MF 35x 1963 ( cement mixer, transport box for fencing etc, pumping tyres so regular enough )
    After that haybob late 70s, new holland square baler 1980

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭NcdJd

Can't see anything new today working in in 40 years time

Software will no longer be supported :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭White Clover

lab man wrote: »
    Have a welger ap 61 square baler here my father bought new in 74 still baking perfect as he minds it well once a month or so he makes her make a bale by tripping the knitters to keep her going last year I had a good bit of hay down he just backed in took her out baled a thousand bales and no missing good going I thought

They are a savage baler in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭ADKELMAC

MF 35 4 cylinder, 1959 model .
    Still a frontline machine.
    Pin hole in a water jacket. Father put in a self tapping screw and ptfe tape. Painted over it. Still grand 25 years later.

Rooter or Guntering?

ADKELMAC wrote: »
    MF 35 4 cylinder, 1959 model .
    Still a frontline machine.
    Pin hole in a water jacket. Father put in a self tapping screw and ptfe tape. Painted over it. Still grand 25 years later.

Rooter or Guntering?

Guntering when he was successful. a Rooter would have to redo it every few days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

There is a spade here that we use that was bought by my grandfathers father.

In all the time it has been here it has only had 12 new handles and 6 new heads.

Still going strong

There is a spade here that we use that was bought by my grandfathers father.

In all the time it has been here it has only had 12 new handles and 6 new heads.

Still going strong
    After reading your post we have Grandads loy and Pierce spade that he used to dig lazy beds when my Parents moved to NCD.

I also have a Pierce hedge knife that Grandad used to use for laying hedges.

Changed one of the tractors lately,went from 01 to a 00,herself cant get her head around the idea.thats the newest tractor in the yard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Me.

And your reward is to be made a Mod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,526 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

It’s one of my future projects to buy and use one of those AP Welgers.

Nostalgia is a weird disease, hated the fcuking things years ago when they were the only option

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

1976 Jones Mark 12 square baler. baled over 1000 bales last may with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

It’s one of my future projects to buy and use one of those AP Welgers.

Nostalgia is a weird disease, hated the fcuking things years ago when they were the only option

The sound the square baler used to make when in use brings back very fond childhood memories of summers in the 1980s

Not in service anymore,but i vaguely barely recall an old neighbour (shes long dead since),using a horse-drawn fingerbar mower in a small field near my parents house

It went for scrap to local GAA club a few years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Not in service anymore,but i vaguely barely recall an old neighbour (shes long dead since),using a horse-drawn fingerbar mower in a small field near my parents house

Disgrace

The sound the square baler used to make when in use brings back very fond childhood memories of summers in the 1980s

was watching videos on youtube of vintage silage outfits and there is a particular creak and rattle to the timber trailers that took me back

I remember when I was 5 or 6 sitting astride and holding onto the hames as Grandad mowed the meadow with a finger bar. Not issues about health and safety in those days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

135, Ford 3600 and an international 344 loader with Bristol compressor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

1990 3cx that still does all the feeding.
    1988 1394 David Brown still in everyday use.
    1977 Teagle trailer that still earns its keep.

Not sure what age but the Vicon Lely is out once a year at straw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭dzer2

davidk1394 wrote: »
    1990 3cx that still does all the feeding.
    1988 1394 David Brown still in everyday use.
    1977 Teagle trailer that still earns its keep.

Not sure what age but the Vicon Lely is out once a year at straw.

On the Vicon Lely the older ones only had one offset position the newer ones have 2. If yours has 2 it is early seventies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭20silkcut

Zetor crystal 8111 1992 still the main tractor in frontline use every day. Was mowing silage last year and a lad pulled up filming me. It was then the thought struck me that maybe this is becoming a rare sight nowadays.
    In my head 1992 is only a few years ago but sure it’s nearly 30 years ago now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

I'm not sure of the age of our Fergie20 but the Copperbelly is 1956 & used for light work each summer, turf, moving creep feeder, tedding etc.

Haybob was bought in the late 70s actually, that's probably the next oldest.
    Though if gates count as something 'in service' there's a couple of forged ones here over the 100yrs mark.

A TX 64 Holland combine 1996 i bought it in 2004 off a brother of mine when i purchased my own place , still going strong handy to get smaller fields done some times use it for opening fields for a class 6900 . The paint work is getting poor on it hope to get it rectified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,202 ✭✭✭amacca

We used to have a new Holland 376 square baler...i hated the ****ing thing myself...always seemed to be spitting out stubby or excess8vely long bales until it got into a rhythm....looking back dad had welded the needles srveral.times/adjusted the knotters etc always seemed to be cursing in or around ir:D

Sold it for way more than he bought it years and years after it had bales it's last bale to someone I can only assume was an enthusiast

Seeing lots of mentions of 135......must be up there as one of the greatest pieces of agricultural machinery ever ..... of course I am biased.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

amacca wrote: »
    We used to have a new Holland 376 square baler...i hated the ****ing thing myself...always seemed to be spitting out stubby or excess8vely long bales until it got into a rhythm....looking back dad had welded the needles srveral.times/adjusted the knotters etc always seemed to be cursing in or around ir:D

Sold it for way more than he bought it years and years after it had bales it's last bale to someone I can only assume was an enthusiast

Seeing lots of mentions of 135......must be up there as one of the greatest pieces of agricultural machinery ever ..... of course I am biased.

Learnt to drive in one so i have a soft spot for them, i used to have to stand on the clutch with both feet as i was so light lol. Hope to have mine on the road this month and then get rid of the ford 3600 we have for a few years.