Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do people have to record and share everything?

• 09-02-2021 11:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,719 ✭✭✭pgj2015

I saw that video of the couple who rescued the dog(on the journal.ie I think) on the mountain somewhere in Ireland. someone else was talking about it, I said where did you see it? on RTE news. :(

I and loads of people I know have done similar over the years with cats and dogs etc, never did I think oh wait I must record this and then upload it to tiktok or instagram, etc and put some soppy music with it, then just watch the likes shoot up.

Its like the time some Irish guy brought his taxi driver in Dubai into a theme park, nice thing to do you might say, no, he had to take pictures and then plaster them all over facebook looking for likes and praise.

Has no one ever heard of doing something and just keeping it to yourself?

It really makes me cringe to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

But if I didn't post a picture of the event, did it even really happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭greensausage

Its harder for someone to get attention if they don't stick it up on social media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

No point in having a Halo if you cant show it off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,719 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Its harder for someone to get attention if they don't stick it up on social media.

lol its ridiculous when you think about it, bringing a dog down off a mountain, RTE news worthy. its the same as famous people who bang on about giving their money to charity, genuine people just give it and don't need to tell everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

The Irish Independent would be screwed for content if people stopped recording and publicising every slightly out of the ordinary event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,837 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Were they 5kms from their home?....they were breaking restrictions....

Sure it doesnt matter..they saved a dog...

Must remember to rob a few pets when organising the next rave out the country

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

It's a good new story. Good on em for recording it.

You cringe away OP

pgj2015 wrote: »
    lol its ridiculous when you think about it, bringing a dog down off a mountain, RTE news worthy. its the same as famous people who bang on about giving their money to charity, genuine people just give it and don't need to tell everyone.

This comment requires more violins for emotional impact. I watched that rescue video yesterday, as impressive as the act was the aural backdrop destroyed it. I don't like my feelings being guided by a sombre chorus. Consider those ads about blind children in Africa that are screened for peak viewership at 6pm, the sad music is designed to tease coin from your pocket. I have misgivings about such manipulation, that'll be another thousand years in purgatory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

I agree with you op. I couldn't give a toss about other people's approval.
    Most of my friends are like that aswel now that I think of it.
    I read an article once about the different psychologies of Facebook users.
    In the article it said some people who constantly needed approval on social media usually had some form of psychological disorder or something missing from there lives.

if I was part of that couple and the other one said I will record you as you walk down the mountain and then we can upload it to tiktok, I would probably say "look this isn't going to work out" lol

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Samsonsmasher

I saw that video of the couple who rescued the dog(on the journal.ie I think) on the mountain somewhere in Ireland. someone else was talking about it, I said where did you see it? on RTE news. :(

I and loads of people I know have done similar over the years with cats and dogs etc, never did I think oh wait I must record this and then upload it to tiktok or instagram, etc and put some soppy music with it, then just watch the likes shoot up.

Its like the time some Irish guy brought his taxi driver in Dubai into a theme park, nice thing to do you might say, no, he had to take pictures and then plaster them all over facebook looking for likes and praise.

Everyone is now a broadcaster a publisher a journalist a political figure an author etc. It's the democratization brought about by social media.
    A guy with just his laptop in his kitchen can amd does have more followers likes and people watching and reading his content than mainstream news media and Hollywood stars who are now reduced to making youtube videos because of covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

It's a feel good story. I know it made me smile. They also walked for 5hours carrying the dog so not exactly strolling down with him.

Pair of them are Doctors also.

Boards has gone worse than twitter for miserable gits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

I get it but why not? It's a powerful easy accessible tool that we have. Also, when they recorded the video they didn't know the owner would be found. The girl was obviously recording her boyfriend for her own amusement, maybe to share with friends and family. TBF, finding a random dog in the snow covered Dublin mountains and carrying it down is fairly noteworthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

What difference does it make to you?
    It's social media, you don't have to consume it.
    Get off Twitter, FB etc and you'll rarely see it.

Some people do genuinely nice stuff and want to share it with the world. It's not all attention seeking. By your logic, sharing anything good is attention seeking.

Just be happy in yourself and don't worry what other people are doing

I get it but why not? It's a powerful easy accessible tool that we have. Also, when they recorded the video they didn't know the owner would be found. The girl was obviously recording her boyfriend for her own amusement, maybe to share with friends and family. TBF, finding a random dog in the snow covered Dublin mountains and carrying it down is fairly noteworthy.

its really not. that is ok to record for her own use (I wouldn't bother but it takes all sorts) but why upload it with soppy music? its because they saw similar videos on youtube and tried to copy them, they are probably wondering how to get 20 million views like the similar videos on youtube.

I saw a video lately by someone I know and thought nothing of it really, then I wondered about a bit in it that referenced depression/suicide, looking back I think they actually made up a story that had depression/suicide in it because that is what is popular to talk about these days.

why does everyone with no talent want to be a youtube star? too lazy to do real work I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Mimon

When I was growing up show offs were not tolerated. If you did something good you were modest about it and not a big deal as 90% of people would be doing good regularly. People who were close to the person knew they were virtuous

Now we have this virtue signaling social media race. Sad really that some people have to do this to give their fragile ego a boost.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

its really not. that is ok to record for her own use (I wouldn't bother but it takes all sorts) but why upload it with soppy music? its because they saw similar videos on youtube and tried to copy them, they are probably wondering how to get 20 million views like the similar videos on youtube.

I saw a video lately by someone I know and thought nothing of it really, then I wondered about a bit in it that referenced depression/suicide, looking back I think they actually made up a story that had depression/suicide in it because that is what is popular to talk about these days.

why does everyone with no talent want to be a youtube star? too lazy to do real work I think.

They are doctors you moron. Hardly want to be youtube stars

This comment requires more violins for emotional impact. I watched that rescue video yesterday, as impressive as the act was the aural backdrop destroyed it. I don't like my feelings being guided by a sombre chorus. Consider those ads about blind children in Africa that are screened for peak viewership at 6pm, the sad music is designed to tease coin from your pocket. I have misgivings about such manipulation, that'll be another thousand years in purgatory.

giphy.gif?w=1220&ssl=1

One of life's great vexes.

Padre_Pio wrote: »
    What difference does it make to you?
    It's social media, you don't have to consume it.
    Get off Twitter, FB etc and you'll rarely see it.

Some people do genuinely nice stuff and want to share it with the world. It's not all attention seeking. By your logic, sharing anything good is attention seeking.

Just be happy in yourself and don't worry what other people are doing

im actually not even on twitter or facebook and yet I still see it, sure it was on RTE news, and some of the papers, hard to get away from it.

it is attention seeking, anyone can see that.

im very happy, just discussing this constant need for attention and likes today.

They are doctors you moron. Hardly want to be youtube stars

why not? making videos like that is easier that looking after sick or dying people. might even be more money in it for them if they choose better music next time, that music wasn't soppy enough.;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭Niallof9

It's a feel good story. I know it made me smile. They also walked for 5hours carrying the dog so not exactly strolling down with him.

I think some people have an issue with the 5km thing. If as reported they made it near the summit, they clearly broke restrictions. Cause they're doctors and dog savers that means its ok? i amn't a curtain twitcher but why is it its ok for some and not others? The op has a point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,225 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

In the day and age of social media being so accessible as in three or four touches of a screen in your pocket, you can broadcast whatever you are doing or say whatever is on your mind to the universe... that’s good and not so good...

The self back patting boils my piss... “ my husband found a wallet on the ground on the way back from mass with 300 euros, had a bus pass for a poor elderly lady, a neighbor, Monica Mahon, through FB my lovely superhero hubby found Monica and reunited her with her money and wallet, complete with bus pass, photos of grandkids, prescription, miraculous medal, spare battery for her hearing aid, her heart tablets ( she had more at home, unfortunately ) and a scratch card ( only two stars, awhhh ).... “ fine, great.... why the fûck the rest of the universe needs to know this ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

im actually not even on twitter or facebook and yet I still see it, sure it was on RTE news, and some of the papers, hard to get away from it.

it is attention seeking, anyone can see that.

im very happy, just discussing this constant need for attention and likes today.

Why don't you write to RTE and say you only want bad news in future?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭MIRMIR82

If my partner carried a poor dog down a snowy mountain for 10km, i'd be recording it too. I'd be very proud of him! I know he shared it himself, but i guess he was proud of himself! :p

Niallof9 wrote: »
    I think some people have an issue with the 5km thing. If as reported they made it near the summit, they clearly broke restrictions. Cause they're doctors and dog savers that means its ok? i amn't a curtain twitcher but why is it its ok for some and not others? The op has a point.

I don't care about the 5km thing to be honest, just the cry for attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,014 ✭✭✭Allinall

Niallof9 wrote: »

The 5k limit is for horizontal travel. Not vertical.

So I think they were ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

That was worth recording as an event and act of do-goodery. Everyone loves a lost pet rescued story. Except the OP apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,438 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

*mod snip*

This is a “feel good” story about a dog that was missing, found and then, luckily, rescued by two members of the medical profession. To have people who seem to think that there is some conspiracy of misery between RTÉ and “de gubbermint” complaining about this heartwarming story is simply absurd.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 165 ✭✭Deemed as Normal

Yeah I remember once I was in a bar and started to noodle around on some broken piano that was there. Just a few random notes. I wasn't expecting it, but after around 10 seconds there were three people behind me with their phones out. Of course it put a lot of pressure on me. What I was trying to do was to relax into the instrument, but then had to play something. I think that was my first moment realising this need people have to record stuff.

who is angry? some of us are just puzzled by the attention seekers and having a laugh at them.

if I rescued that dog and RTE happened to be there and told me they recoded it and could they put it on RTE News, I would refuse or at the very least I would get them to blur my face out and not use my name.

I don't care about the 5km thing to be honest, just the cry for attention.

What cry for attention?

Two doctors rescued a dog and made a video of it.
    RTE etc saw fit to show it.

What's the problem? Haven't people made and shared videos since camcorders?
    What's the difference here?
    who is angry? some of us are just puzzled by the attention seekers and having a laugh at them.

if I rescued that dog and RTE happened to be there and told me they recoded it and could they put it on RTE News, I would refuse or at the very least I would get them to blur my face out and not use my name.

That's you. Why should everyone else do the same? Why are you having a laugh at people for doing a good deed.
    Just seems miserable.

if I rescued that dog and RTE happened to be there and told me they recorded it and could they put it on RTE News, I would refuse or at the very least I would get them to blur my face out and not use my name.
    Reminds me of that film Richard Jewell.

Worst that could happen to you if you didn't ask for your name not to be mentioned, would be that someone accuses you of staging the incident to frame yourself as the hero saving the dog!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

I'm just glad the dog was saved TBH.

Can just about forgive them for breaking the 5km rule.

Padre_Pio wrote: »
    That's you. Why should everyone else do the same? Why are you having a laugh at people for doing a good deed.
    Just seems miserable.
    I don't mind people sharing the footage. What annoys me is the fact people are already thinking ahead while the actual incident is occurring. Know what I mean? People don't care to just embrace the moment... they have to think ahead while it's occurring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

That was worth recording as an event and act of do-goodery. Everyone loves a lost pet rescued story. Except the OP apparently.

Not everyone, and far from it. Loads of us couldn’t give a a toss. We have lives.

As already pointed out, a virtue signalling attention seeking race to the bottom.

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Not everyone, and far from it. Loads of us couldn’t give a a toss. We have lives.

As already pointed out, a virtue signalling attention seeking race to the bottom.

LOL, "Loads of us couldn’t give a toss. We have lives." he says while posting about it online.

I think it's safe to assume the opposite there Zebra :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Reminds me of that film Richard Jewell.

Worst that could happen to you if you didn't ask for your name to be mentioned, would be that someone accuses you of staging the incident to frame yourself as the hero saving the dog!

some of the videos are probably staged, or if not they soon will be.

I heard Ellen Degenerate invited him on her show to talk about it, but he declined.

Did she get crystal swing instead?

he was probably shamed out of going by his friends who knew what he was up to.

I seem to remember he was very derogatory about the taxi driver, they way he talked about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,908 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

My mate calls them "like monsters".

I joined Instagram a few years ago and I like it for the content I'm interested in. A guy from school (30 years ago) added me as a friend. Great I thought, always good to hear from old school pals and to see they're alive and well. He's alive.....and judging by the 4 or 5 posts he puts up everyday it's clear to see he has a Porsche and a hot tub out the back of his house, because we get at least 1 photograph of each of them every single day.

I seem to remember he was very derogatory about the taxi driver, they way he talked about him.
    I remember that. Said something like "the fecker had a mad laugh". I know the same fella. Can be a good laugh, but can be nasty enough at times.

mfceiling wrote: »

I joined Instagram a few years ago and I like it for the content I'm interested in. A guy from school (30 years ago) added me as a friend. Great I thought, always good to hear from old school pals and to see they're alive and well. He's alive.....and judging by the 4 or 5 posts he puts up everyday it's clear to see he has a Porsche and a hot tub out the back of his house, because we get at least 1 photograph of each of them every single day.

*unfollow*

The Irish Independent would be screwed for content if people stopped recording and publicising every slightly out of the ordinary event.

And, if only they used landscape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,062 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Only on boards could there be such a collective of whingers and energy zappers trying to turn the dog rescue story, something positive into something negative. It made the RTE News for a reason.

The video has been viewed probably close to 1million times around the world now. It has certainly touched a lot of people.

It made my day, as I had been following the search for Neesha for the past two weeks.

In these dark days, a little positivity and hope is to be welcomed and its no wonder (the majority of) people are seeing it that way.

A day where there is a small win, is a good day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭Niallof9

Allinall wrote: »
    The 5k limit is for horizontal travel. Not vertical.

So I think they were ok.

There is nowhere where it saids this. There have been advisories stating that people should not visit the Dublin mountains.

Yeh Instagram is fine. It’s the least toxic of all the social media sites. I don’t post much myself mind you, the odd photo from a hike excepted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Skipduke

a lot of people use Instagram as an alternative to tinder, so i think the story posting may be to draw attention to their DM's lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

Plan
    Drink ten points of Guinness
    A load I got curry
    Call over to his house and do.a big scuttery one in his not fun
    Take a photo
    Post it somehow annomoniously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I saw the video this morning on Twitter. If this is the type of thing that annoys people then they must be in a permanent state of low-level irritability at best, and a fully-blown crank at worst.

It was a good news story in a time where good news is very welcome. I said it on the thread last week about the Garda video, but this site is fast becoming the premier online hangout of a sort of extremely contrary and frustrated man in his 30's/40's. It's always so bleak, pessimistic, and mean-spirited. Bizarre.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Completely agree. It made me smile. We need more of that.