Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Daniel Kinahan BBC Panorama 01/02/2021 9pm

• 01-02-2021 1:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Renault 5

The BBC said their programme “investigates the murky world behind the glamour of the big fights and the suspected gangster who has been welcomed to boxing’s top table”.

It added: “How did he become involved in setting up Britain’s biggest ever bout – the fight between Tyson Fury and Anthony Joshua to become the undisputed heavyweight champion of the world?” Kinahan is based in Dubai in the United Arab Emirates, where he has built his profile as a boxing promoter in the past 15 years.

This will be interesting this evening .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,721 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Will watch it but dont expect to find out anything that isnt known already. Kinahan himself wont be too happy about it being screened thats for sure. International drug traffickers are supposed to stay under the radar yet his ego keeps bringing more and more heat on himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,189 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Fascinating viewing. Many many questions.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭rapul

Just cuaght it now, anyone know will bbc repeat over weekend or anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭unplayable

very good but mcguigan may regret this later on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭selassie

unplayable wrote: »

He is definitely going to find it a lot harder to get his fighters on big shows now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Im melting away

Why would he regret it?Carl was spured by Daniel/the company to take the case against him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ASOT

Barry's just upset over Frampton, he's not angel himself.

• Everything Frampton has been saying in the media is clear as daylight now.

What little cretin he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Pudsey64

rapul wrote: »
    Just cuaght it now, anyone know will bbc repeat over weekend or anything?
    Early Saturday morning.BBC2 02:40am

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Malcomex

Everything Frampton has been saying in the media is clear as daylight now.

What little cretin he is.

Who

• Malcomex wrote: »
    Who

Frampton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

ASOT wrote: »
    Barry's just upset over Frampton, he's not angel himself.

The McGuigans and their wives and extended family certainly enjoyed themselves booking all their expenses on Framptons money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭kravmaga

Just watched the BBC panorama documentary, very informative, well done.

Barry Mc Guigan was brave to come forward and give his opinions.

No expense spared in the making of this documentary , Ireland, Spain, Dubai, USA.

What's interesting is the Kinahan Cartell are under investigation for money laundering in the U.S.

The Americans will leave no stone un-turned and the Irish authorities putting pressure on the U.A.E./Dubai authorities to revoke D. Kinahans visa.

If he is kicked out of Dubai where does he go then?

A good summary of the situation but no new information really. Interesting though that the Gardai said they are actively trying to get Dubai to kick him out. Was disappointing though that the journalist McIntyre didnt go to Dubai to doorstep Daniel and at least attempt to ask him some questions, these type of docs usually end with an attempt to question the subject even if they dont want it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,065 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Watched it and whilst not a bit surprising, pretty shocking stuff. Paul "Thugs" Williams will not be pleased at not being featured (that was a blessing)

The Frampton angle was curious as too was the sudden settlement of his case against Barry, more questions than answers really. Not a good look for professional boxing but then again did it ever have a good look, Don King comes to mind

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭Happy4all

kravmaga wrote: »

No expense spared in the making of this documentary , Ireland, Spain, Dubai, USA.

What's interesting is the Kinahan Cartell are under investigation for money laundering in the U.S.

The Americans will leave no stone un-turned and the Irish authorities putting pressure on the U.A.E./Dubai authorities to revoke D. Kinahans visa.

Jail, hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,085 ✭✭✭Vic_08

Boxing is full of criminals.

In other breaking news, apparently sewers are full of sh!t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,695 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

Thailand with visa runs every so often to some neighboring country like lots of other Irish people who are wanted here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭PEACEBROTHER

How come none of the reporters go to where he is In Duabi and at least photograph him , they use the same pics of him for last few years

Is it illegal for reporters to approach people in dubai ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,578 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

Frank Warren has been around that game a long time. Remember he got plugged himself.

Boxing was huge and could command a semi respectable image 30 or 40 years ago, it's all been very low rent for decades now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Irishphotodesk

How come none of the reporters go to where he is In Duabi and at least photograph him , they use the same pics of him for last few years

Is it illegal for reporters to approach people in dubai ?

Privacy laws usually and then there is the whole finding him issue.

Also, fresh pics are not easy to get and if it’s a staffer that got the image, they don’t have to pay for repeat usage.
    Fresh usage = fresh payout to photographer.

Frank Warren has been around that game a long time. Remember he got plugged himself.

Boxing was huge and could command a semi respectable image 30 or 40 years ago, it's all been very low rent for decades now.

Everyone knows that it was a former world champion boxer that tried to shoot him including Frank,but Frank would not tell,stuck by the gangster code.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,370 ✭✭✭✭elperello

I don't think it would be wise for a journalist to travel to Dubai to confront DK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Mr.burgess

Brazil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭unplayable

Muahahaha wrote: »
    A good summary of the situation but no new information really. Interesting though that the Gardai said they are actively trying to get Dubai to kick him out. Was disappointing though that the journalist McIntyre didnt go to Dubai to doorstep Daniel and at least attempt to ask him some questions, these type of docs usually end with an attempt to question the subject even if they dont want it.

nicola tallant said a few months ago on the last stand that kinahen is holed up in dubai in a compound with ex special services guys protecting him. the monk would kill him if anyone knew where he was and you want a journalist to fly to one of the most corrupt countries and try and find him and knock on the compound door is it. i dont think so. they did as good as a job as they could imo.

tipptom wrote: »
    Everyone knows that it was a former world champion boxer that tried to shoot him including Frank,but Frank would not tell,stuck by the gangster code.

Very colorful life the guy that allegedly shot him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭mick987

Malcomex wrote: »
    Very colorful life the guy that allegedly shot him

Terry Marsh. There was a tape of his police interview online and it was brilliant, he spent the whole time screaming stop hitting me officer, crying for his mum and accusing the copper of touching him up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

^^^^^^^^^^^

link?

fryup wrote: »
    ^^^^^^^^^^^

link?

Sorry must be at least 15 years ago when I heard it, haven't got a clue where you can hear it know.

mick987 wrote: »
    Terry Marsh. There was a tape of his police interview online and it was brilliant, he spent the whole time screaming stop hitting me officer, crying for his mum and accusing the copper of touching him up.

Yeah,he certainly has had that
    Always has a court case going with authoritys

Was banned from Warren boxing events and got into one dressed as a bumblebee or something and got a bad beating when it was discovered it was him

Also tried a run at politics

Warrens lawyer was with him when he was shot but couldnt id him either lolz

Most promoters were involved in gangsterism to some extent and ripping of their fighters was their main racket

i wonder does his father Christy approve of all this boxing shenanigans ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

Boxing was the downfall in the end . It really looks like the final chapter is coming soon

nicola tallant said a few months ago on the last stand that kinahen is holed up in dubai in a compound with ex special services guys protecting him. the monk would kill him if anyone knew where he was and you want a journalist to fly to one of the most corrupt countries and try and find him and knock on the compound door is it. i dont think so. they did as good as a job as they could imo.

Im sure he comes out of his home at some stage and the Monk is hardly any threat to him in Dubai. The journalist McIntyre in the documentary went to Dublin, Spain and New York to film it, the one place he didnt go was Dubai to film the very subject of the documentary. Not sure why that was but you would have at least expected him to try. Instead he went and doorstepped the CEO of MTK in some rural town in the US but he wasnt allowed to film it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

mick987 wrote: »
    Terry Marsh. .

I remember a joke going on around that time.

What Boxer famously said " If I had a couple more rounds, I would have killed that fooker"

Answer........Terry Marsh :P

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

Im sure he comes out of his home at some stage and the Monk is hardly any threat to him in Dubai. The journalist McIntyre in the documentary went to Dublin, Spain and New York to film it, the one place he didnt go was Dubai to film the very subject of the documentary. Not sure why that was but you would have at least expected him to try. Instead he went and doorstepped the CEO of MTK in some rural town in the US but he wasnt allowed to film it.
    Dubai is not going to allowed such filming of a drug dealer take place the reporters would be locked up

i wonder does his father Christy approve of all this boxing shenanigans ?

by this stage it looks like he doesnt listen to his father he should never handed him the reigns

Mr.burgess wrote: »
    Dubai is not going to allowed such filming of a drug dealer take place the reporters would be locked up

Theyre not stupid enough to lock up a BBC journalist and spark a diplomatic incident with the UK. They might tell them to not film but imprisoning a BBC journalist just wouldnt happen. Sheikh Maktoum has been friends with the Queen for over 20 years. They trade horses and he sponsors one of her races at Royal Ascot every year, shes been photographed with him in the Royal Box. Hes not going to jeopardise that relationship with the UK by locking up a British journalist.

Are the UK government and the Royals all that close with the BBC

I'm thinking they're not

Out of interest, does anyone know if Daniel Kinihane has ever been convicted of a crime in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

" the monk would kill him "

The monk is a shop lifter compared to DK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭refusetolose

Out of interest, does anyone know if Daniel Kinihane has ever been convicted of a crime in Ireland?

he has no convictions anywhere i believe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Figel Narage

He has not. He was arrested in Spain but not convicted of anything. I recommend people head over to the Gangland thread for more inside information. Granted they don't always talk about Daniel Kinahan and it can be a bit hit and miss at times but I've discovered a lot of interesting insights into the whole Cartel operators.

Malcomex wrote: »
    Are the UK government and the Royals all that close with the BBC

I'm thinking they're not

Its not about how close they are with the BBC, the UK and the UAE are military and political allies and allies dont lock up journalists from a friendly nation because it would spark a diplomatic incident. The same BBC Panorama team had a journalist tracking MBS in Saudi for over two years to make a documentary on the killing of Jamal Khalashoggi. He filmed in Saudi but never got locked up because even MBS knows doing so would go down like a lead balloon with his allies. He can do what he likes to his own citizens but imprisoning a journalist from a friendly nation would be crossing a line.

It is illegal to film anyone without their permission in Dubai, I am sure it is a rule the Kinshans are thankful for
    https://lovin.co/dubai/en/news/recording-a-video-of-someone-without-their-consent-can-land-serious-charges

he has no convictions anywhere i believe

If it’s true then It’s interesting that the mainstream media here still refer to him in the terms that they do considering he has no convictions, there could be the makings of a liable case there somewhere.

Does it say as much about the ability of the Gardai that he has no convictions as anything else.

If it’s true then It’s interesting that the mainstream media here still refer to him in the terms that they do considering he has no convictions, there could be the makings of a liable case there somewhere.

Does it say as much about the ability of the Gardai that he has no convictions as anything else.

https://mobile.twitter.com/OldGanglandEire/status/1290389036763426816

He has insulated himself from prosecution, threw money,fear and his father.

so who was the guy in drag photographed running from the regency that day?

They say it was this guy

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/patrick-hutch-shot-leg-top-14039265.amp

He trial collapsed, because of emails discovery from the prosecution and the lead detective killing himself in ballymun Garda station.

Out of hundreds of guards only 2 could positively identify lady in drag as the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Frank/Kelly Maloney.

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Frank/Kelly Maloney.

Like it