Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Racing Festival, Feb 6th-7th

• 31-01-2021 2:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭supremenovice

Some might say the Dublin Racing Festival is a great trials meeting for Cheltenham but its a prestigious meeting in its own right with 8 Grade 1s and some good handicaps as well.
    I'm going to stay clear of Elliotts runners for now as I'm not sure he's over his bad spell yet so I'll stick with A Plus Tard in the Gold Cup and Honeysuckle in the Champion Hurdle for de Bromhead. My aul mate Tiger Tap Tap is listed in the Ladbroke on Saturday. I've strapped myself to a parachute with this felleh so heres hoping he can sneak a place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭famagusta

Kauto wrote:
    Keeps going down the ratings? He has only got his chase mark. English handicapper will lump 7-10 pounds on top of his Irish rating which would get him into a novice handicap in Cheltenham if they are bothered bringing him. Fourth or fifth today wouldnt see him getting dropped.

I thought A plus tard was going straight to chelt, don't be backing him for drf antepost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

famagusta wrote: »
    I thought A plus tard was going straight to chelt, don't be backing him for drf antepost

Correct, HDB just running Minella Indo in the Gold Cup next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭supremenovice

famagusta wrote: »

Fair enough, RP have them at 5/1 on their racecard which prompted me to choose him. Back to the drawing board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭piplip87

Jaysus lads just had a look over on the weather forum. If what's posted there verified for the weekend there will be no racing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭zpehtsfd

piplip87 wrote: »
    Jaysus lads just had a look over on the weather forum. If what's posted there verified for the weekend there will be no racing.

Should be fine, especially given it's Leopardstown.

https://www.yr.no/en/forecast/daily-table/2-2964574/Ireland/Leinster/Dublin%20City/Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭maximo31

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭mike2084

Saw that too - hope they are wrong, really loooking forward to DRF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭RivetingRoger

A look at the Triumph trial would market this weekend make it seem Zanahyir won't be running

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,511 ✭✭✭robbiezero

mike2084 wrote: »
    Saw that too - hope they are wrong, really loooking forward to DRF.

Don't say that on that forum, you will be ran out of it. They love the bad weather over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭Badabing

Hurdle and Bumper track currently heavy, Chase track Soft. Not loads of rain due to fall between now and the weekend, ground will be perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭supremenovice

Willie has French Aseel now too. He has a monster team developing for Cheltenham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

8/11 top trainer at the festival. Thought he'd be 1/2 but i suppose Elliott has a proper team too this year. Between them surely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭Pogue eile

Slattsy wrote: »
    8/11 top trainer at the festival. Thought he'd be 1/2 but i suppose Elliott has a proper team too this year. Between them surely.

Towned/Mullins combo is 11/10 PP which is a great price - too much can happen in the interim but if that price is still there on the Tuesday morning and Townend is there in one piece it could be the bet of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Willie has French Aseel now too. He has a monster team developing for Cheltenham.

Slightly dismayed to hear that news but thats the game i guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Character Building

Byrnesy going for 4 in a row in the Ladbrokes hurdle.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Leopardstown is on a hill and drains really well. The only potential for waterlogging is on the back stretch but the groundsmen are all over this.

It would need to get biblical for it to be called off. I would be more worried about a cold snap and frozen frost. Rare in February and the track is close to the sea also. Those salty breezes get through morning frost like a hot knife through butter.

There is also plenty of wind around which helps to dry the top soil off.

I would expect shight heavy ground on the back stretch and final corner with soft up the straight. Perfect for safe national hunt racing.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

They'll probably be watering the course on Friday knowing Leopardstown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Coneygree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭RivetingRoger

A look at the Triumph trial would market this weekend make it seem Zanahyir won't be running

Thought as much

Injured or just straight there been the plan all along?

No injury reported, Elliot has so many top juveniles he cant run them all, happy to keep him relatively fresh for next years Champion Hurdle ;)

Look for an outsider in the juvenile hurdle, that race has been won by an improver every year since the dawn of time. Only 3 winning favs in 20 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭stretchaq

Interesting to see Front view back over hurdle wonder what the plan is there mark of 138 Martin pipe?

stretchaq wrote: »
    Interesting to see Front view back over hurdle wonder what the plan is there mark of 138 Martin pipe?

I'll be backing it wherever it goes!

Front view is a pig

The Mig wrote: »
    Front view is a pig

Can you ban yourself? Because you should.

Sorry it’s just how I feel about him after last years Martin pipe

The Mig wrote: »
    Sorry it’s just how I feel about him after last years Martin pipe

I think I read somewhere that he lost a shoe. Is there a way to find out, I can't see it anywhere now.

As per the Racing Post race report;

Midfield, hit 2nd, headway when hit 2 out, chased leaders under pressure between last 2, mistake last, no extra run-in (vet said gelding lost its right-fore shoe)

I'd be inclined to give him another chance. That was a proper gamble. I remember flying over to Ladbrokes as they were best priced, right after that Navan race to get on ap. Think it was 20s.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Gaillard du mesnil looks value @ 5/2. 6/4 on the day I’m guessing. Also in the mares flat race watch out for take tea. JP paid big money. 3/1. Won easily last time out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

That 2 mile handicap chase looks like a total clusterphuck.

No idea.

I'm going to take the 9/2 on ramilies today for that bumper. Is Patrick chooses him he'll be no bigger than 2/1

Think he will choose Kilcruit myself but I have been wrong before - as has Patrick - when it comes to ranking Willies Bumper horses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭Plasandrunt

Patrick is on Kilcruit, Barry O Neill on Ramilles

Where did ye see that?

Hunch, confirmed or inside info?

Racecards still have Willie's three down as undecided.

I've backed Kilcruit for Cheltenham. Taken the 10s. If he wins on Saturday he'll half in price. Sir Gerard far too short anyway if you ask me.

I agree. His wins to date have been fair enough but no better than what Ramilies or Kilcruit have produced.

Just on Ramilies and Kilcruit not that it means much but i think RPR has Ramilies rated slightly higher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭akelly02

Where did ye see that?

On the decs link above

akelly02 wrote: »
    On the decs link above

Sound, that wasn't updated when i last looked

Looks like another Willie Mullins benefit weekend. I'm nearly hoping Elliot's horses run just slightly under par and he has them spot on for next month

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Gaillard du mesnil looks value @ 5/2. 6/4 on the day I’m guessing. Also in the mares flat race watch out for take tea. JP paid big money. 3/1. Won easily last time out

5/2 is excellent for Gaillard! One of my bets of the weekend.

On the Kilcruit train too, anyone know why he moved to Willie's from Tony's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Kauto

Sold to current owners.

Back Gaillard for Cheltenham too then if you think it wins. Think ahead son...think ahead. Think value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Master McShee to go straight to the County hurdle? With his 15 stone in hand.

Did I not see him entered somewhere?