Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on [email protected] for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact [email protected]

Recordable Freesat Box

  • 28-01-2021 8:16pm
    #1
    Registered Users Posts: 5,391 ✭✭✭


    Hi guys, I'm looking for a recordable freesat box (recording onto the box, not outside it)


    €250 would be my limit, 320g would be more than ample for me, but if it comes with 1tb or more, so be it.


    I had a humax 1100 but it gave up the ghost way to quick.




    So where to get a good reliable recordable freesat box? and is Humax still the king these days.


«1

Comments

  • Registered Users Posts: 13,977 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951




  • Registered Users Posts: 518 ✭✭✭tv3tg4


    Are therecRecordable saorview Boxes?


  • Registered Users Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭ei9go


    tv3tg4 wrote: »
    Are therecRecordable saorview Boxes?

    Most Freeview hd boxes will record Saorview.
    Channels will be numbered from 800 so you will have to edit them.
    They won't work with series link because RTE changed something in the data to stop them recording.
    They did originally work.


  • Registered Users Posts: 5,391 ✭✭✭danjo-xx






    Yeah like that freesat box but is there any cheaper alternatives to be had these days.


  • Registered Users Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭greasepalm


    Linux boxes can be used for that and cheaper,eg Zgemma h7

    2 models to choose from depending on what you want and 3 tuners.
    H7s = 2 x sat tuners + 1 saorview tuner and can take internal/external hdd
    H7c = 2 saorview tuners + 1 sat tuner.

    More to record with sat

    https://www.world-of-satellite.co.uk/air-digital-zgemma/zgemma-h7s

    https://www.world-of-satellite.co.uk/satellite-and-terrestrial/digital-receivers/4k-uhd-digital-receivers/zgemma-h7c


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 13,977 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951


    danjo-xx wrote: »
    Yeah like that freesat box but is there any cheaper alternatives to be had these days.

    It depends on whether you want Freesat capability or not.
    Do you definitely want Freesat or would Free to Air satellite suit?

    If FTA then there are other options such as suggested above.


  • Registered Users Posts: 5,391 ✭✭✭danjo-xx


    It depends on whether you want Freesat capability or not.
    Do you definitely want Freesat or would Free to Air satellite suit?

    If FTA then there are other options such as suggested above.




    Only Freesat will do I'm afraid so am I left with old humax boxes, like the HDR1100s that might be around, even this is £176,


    A Branded Freesat box from Freesat,


    Would that be it until the new Arris boxes are launched?


  • Registered Users Posts: 5,329 ✭✭✭swoofer


    do you mean these or is there another updated on on the way?

    https://www.freesat.co.uk/get-freesat/set-top-boxes/recordable-4k-tv-box


  • Registered Users Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭greasepalm


    Why so fixed on an expensive box with 1 year warranty for freesat am i missing something?


  • Registered Users Posts: 13,977 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951


    greasepalm wrote: »
    Why so fixed on an expensive box with 1 year warranty for freesat am i missing something?

    Is there a cheaper Freesat box?


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 5,391 ✭✭✭danjo-xx


    greasepalm wrote: »
    Why so fixed on an expensive box with 1 year warranty for freesat am i missing something?




    I'm in my 70's and the days of combi boxes for me are well gone:)


  • Registered Users Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭greasepalm


    h7s is a triple tuner so a step up from a combo.Cheers.


  • Registered Users Posts: 5,329 ✭✭✭swoofer


    Out of interest what happened to your humax 1100?


  • Registered Users Posts: 5,391 ✭✭✭danjo-xx


    swoofer wrote: »
    Out of interest what happened to your humax 1100?




    I can't remember exactly but it just gave up the ghost.




    Are there no freesat boxes, like manhattan etc that are capable of recording to usb, I suppose the drive would not be powerful enough, answered my own question I think:D


  • Registered Users Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭greasepalm


    Have i missed what freesat does over an enigma2 receiver and can have internal/externally powered hdd or usb?

    https://www.which.co.uk/reviews/tv-providers-and-services/article/free-tv/what-is-freesat-asnpn9U2NsSA


  • Registered Users Posts: 5,329 ✭✭✭swoofer


    ease of setup its plug and play. No need for flashing, usb sticks, autobouquets, epg, images, skins, reboots, adding hdd, downloading plugins, adding picons, etc etc. in fact ts plain boring but dead easy to use so no fun, all that is left is watch tv.

    this is one of the first boxes and good value.

    https://www.ebay.ie/itm/HUMAX-FOXSAT-HDR-Freesat-HD-Twin-Tuner-Recorder-320GB-HDD-PVR-HDMI/193862683578?hash=item2d231dcbba:g:PysAAOSwi-pgDYc9


  • Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭brandonviewer


    swoofer wrote: »
    ease of setup its plug and play. No need for flashing, usb sticks, autobouquets, epg, images, skins, reboots, adding hdd, downloading plugins, adding picons, etc etc. in fact ts plain boring but dead easy to use so no fun, all that is left is watch tv.

    this is one of the first boxes and good value.

    https://www.ebay.ie/itm/HUMAX-FOXSAT-HDR-Freesat-HD-Twin-Tuner-Recorder-320GB-HDD-PVR-HDMI/193862683578?hash=item2d231dcbba:g:PysAAOSwi-pgDYc9
    Swoofer, can I ask you one quick question on this before i plunge in to bid on it?
    Can I just plug in the satellite cable that's currently going into the back of my non sub sky box and record away? Also can I plug in an aerial cable and record saorview the same way. The photos don't really show this. I have an amiko for recording but it's not "wife friendly" with recording on to an external hdd.
    Thanks in advance


  • Registered Users Posts: 32,558 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN


    Swoofer, can I ask you one quick question on this before i plunge in to bid on it?
    Can I just plug in the satellite cable that's currently going into the back of my non sub sky box and record away? Also can I plug in an aerial cable and record saorview the same way. The photos don't really show this. I have an amiko for recording but it's not "wife friendly" with recording on to an external hdd.
    Thanks in advance

    I have that Humax box for about 11 years now and still going strong despite a new style Humax giving up the ghost on me.

    This box will just accept cables that are currently going into your sky box, but it's a satellite receiver only and will not accept the aerial lead to give you saorview channels unfortunately.


  • Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭brandonviewer


    NIMAN wrote: »
    I have that Humax box for about 11 years now and still going strong despite a new style Humax giving up the ghost on me.

    This box will just accept cables that are currently going into your sky box, but it's a satellite receiver only and will not accept the aerial lead to give you saorview channels unfortunately.

    Thanks niman,I might run with that.the reason I would be happy to have the ability to record from satellite. The only saorview channel that we really watch is rte1 and I can sometimes pick up stuff that I've missed depending on whether the rte player is working or not. It's really hit or miss. Great for watching the ads and then unable to access the program!!!


  • Registered Users Posts: 5,329 ✭✭✭swoofer


    If you have an amiko then you should be able to handle a combo box. The best one one here is the Zgemma H7S it comes with 2 tuners for sat and a tuner for saorview. It takes an internal HDD. It will come with an image flashed and I always say go for openvix as its the easiest.

    The best place to buy used to be world of sat but with brexit I dont know what the new price will be. We are waiting on a few replies.

    I did a buy option just now and its £139.74 INC HDD with delivery but ex uk vat. And I think irish vat plus customs may be added.

    Has your tv got Saorview?

    As for RTE player....


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭brandonviewer


    NIMAN wrote: »
    I have that Humax box for about 11 years now and still going strong despite a new style Humax giving up the ghost on me.

    This box will just accept cables that are currently going into your sky box, but it's a satellite receiver only and will not accept the aerial lead to give you saorview channels unfortunately.

    Thanks niman,I might run with that.the reason I would be happy to have the ability to record from satellite. The only saorview channel that we really watch is rte1 and I can sometimes pick up stuff that I've missed depending on whether the rte player is working or not. It's really hit or miss. Great for watching the ads and then unable to access the program!!!


  • Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭brandonviewer


    swoofer wrote: »
    If you have an amiko then you should be able to handle a combo box. The best one one here is the Zgemma H7S it comes with 2 tuners for sat and a tuner for saorview. It takes an internal HDD. It will come with an image flashed and I always say go for openvix as its the easiest.

    The best place to buy used to be world of sat but with brexit I dont know what the new price will be. We are waiting on a few replies.

    I did a buy option just now and its £139.74 INC HDD with delivery but ex uk vat. And I think irish vat plus customs may be added.

    Has your tv got Saorview?

    As for RTE player....
    Thanks swoofer,
    The problem with my amiko is that I need to record onto an external hdd and I find it hit or miss. I'm using a 16gig so maybe it's a bit small.
    When you mention openvix, I'm lost immediately.
    I suppose what I really want is a sky type box which is very user friendly with an internal hdd. The zgemma hd7 looks like the real deal but brexit might scupper that. I've read on another thread about a new box expected to be launched shortly which looks like a good option.
    I have two fairy new Samsung smart TVs but neither have the ability to record as far as I can see. Both TVs are fed by an aerial and free to air sky boxes with English cards. Both saorview. I use all4 for catch up as well.
    Thanks again


  • Registered Users Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭greasepalm


    Bugger brexit using a H7S here and can use internal/externally powered hdd.

    Wos has a lot of clients in Ireland and can post over here.

    If you have extra feeds in room your Saorview could record on box and view tv

    Sat tuner on tv 28.2 view on that and record on box on 28.2,if you had another feed handy 28.2 on box it gives you record and view options.

    If you had a motorised or diseqc setup could use that for more viewing.

    Amiko does hdd need setting up correctly on box before using?


  • Registered Users Posts: 5,329 ✭✭✭swoofer


    What is that other box?

    What has happened over the last few years is that Enigma2 boxes have got a lot of followers and with a bit of reading are easy to use. It takes a little while to get the language but openvix is the name of the software you would load on the box. There are quite a few version and they are called images. Like openatv, Openix, Pure2, Openpli and so on

    With a bit of patience and know how you can actually set up an enigma2 box to work just like sky but with the added benefit of having saorview as well. So say you get the zgemma h7s and put open vix on it then you add sky skin and it will look like the following. It appears daunting but beliee me with a bit of patience its not that difficult.

    When link opens scroll up.

    https://www.linuxsat-support.com/thread/133484-updated-slyk-1080-r19-install-faqs/?postID=598826#post598826

    you may have to join

    Say the model of those TV's and we can check to see if they can record to usb.


  • Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭brandonviewer


    Thanks swoofer,
    Had a look at that link but I might as well have been looking into a bush. All Greek to me. I'm hoping to buy a box, attach a satellite lead, and possibly one from the aerial and start watching and recording. Hoping wos would preload the appropriate software.
    I think that the box I saw mentioned was a new model from arris but can't be certain as it was a few months ago. People were saying that it was on the way but were holding off to see if any teething problems.
    My newest tv is model UE43ru7 100kxxu and the older one is UE40h 6500st.
    No record button on either remote


  • Registered Users Posts: 726 ✭✭✭athlone573


    If you still have that Humax 1100s, try putting in a new hard drive! It's incredibly easy to do, very little disassembly required, and the hard drive is a known point of failure on those boxes.
    I used a 1.5tb drive from a defunct sky box but I think any 3.5inch drive will work.

    If not, I would consider buying a new one!

    I like the ease of use of the Freesat although the zgemma H7s seems like the current choice if you're willing to get hands on with configuring channel lists and suchlike.


  • Registered Users Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭greasepalm


    I have a Sony 55" 4K and has 2 sat tuners with the ability of recording if needed.


  • Registered Users Posts: 5,329 ✭✭✭swoofer


    Yes its an Arris 4K at £199 for 500gb drive, humax have stopped making them.


  • Registered Users Posts: 726 ✭✭✭athlone573


    I see that - the new Freesat branded recorder isn't supposed to be as good as the Humax?

    Has anyone bought a Zgemma box from England recently, any holdups with Brexit?

    It would be nice to be able to get Channel 4HD (now that it's gone from Freesat) and a few other HD channels on the same list, if its not too complicated.


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭greasepalm


    Do you not just add the new channels in as it still works in the clear.

    https://en.kingofsat.net/find.php?question=channel+4+hd

    When was the last time box got a scan?


Advertisement