Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Three.ie is handing over your Covid movements.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Irrespective of the possible good-intention motive, I still think it is a bad move, and probably illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,616 ✭✭✭grogi

Kivaro wrote: »
    Irrespective of the possible good-intention motive, I still think it is a bad move, and probably illegal.

This is completely anonymous data. Nothing illegal about it. Vodafone did the same years ago with TomTom for instance.

There are thousands of users per cell, the mistress we ok stay the secret.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭Jim Root

What’s the problem?

grogi wrote: »
    This is completely anonymous data. Nothing illegal about it. Vodafone did the same years ago with TomTom for instance.

Can we be certain that it is completely anonymous?

Jim Root wrote: »
    What’s the problem?

Paranoia

grogi wrote: »
    Paranoia

Privacy laws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,361 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Good.

I heard they can't track you if you wrap the phone in tin foil.

Privacy laws.

That's ops data, it is not sensitive information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭davetherave

The CSO, in issuing its latest data release, said the data is based on 'anonymised, aggregated, mobile phone activity records.'

"Data from Three Ireland is collated from anonymised data sets at a macro scale, aggregated at Electoral Division and provided to the Department of Health," it said.

It's hardly just "my" Covid Movements now is it? It's the anonymised movements of "Naas Urban" or "Naas Rural" or Maynooth or "Rathmines West D" or Howth.

Ssssh, get out of here with your "facts". OP wants to feel outraged, allow him the pleasure of being misinformed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,134 ✭✭✭bmc58

Not illegal.No names mentioned in any movement of persons.,just general movement of people.So says Jess Kelly of Newstalk "fame".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,528 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

They’re aggregating and anonymising the information, that’s doesn’t actually amount to handing over anyone’s movements if it’s not traceable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭CrazyFather1

Great, catch those who are breaking the rules and fine them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭agoodpunt

just because it done in the name of covid and it is individual sims damn right it illegal have removed sim will use whatapps and voip now

agoodpunt wrote: »
    just because it done in the name of covid and it is individual sims damn right it illegal have removed sim will use whatapps and voip now

What even is grammar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,304 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

In years gone by the "anonymising" process for this kind of thing has been flawed by certain operators

Two lads around the laptop in the DoH;

"Jaysus Matt, would ya ever look at this yoke? He's 12kms from home now and no sign of him stopping. It's the likes of him has us where we are for sure. Dirty fecker."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

What I love about the defenders of this sort of act is that they will steadfastly state (without any reluctance) that "yes, this is true, they can and are tracking you, but they don't have your name or know who you are."

That's just nonsense! Rest assured if needs be they absolutely would be willing to do this.

Don't get confused into thinking that this is somehow a dismissal of this being of value. I personally don't support it, but if you do then that's fair enough. The dismissal of any concerns about privacy laws or people not wanting their every movement to be tracked in some database is ridiculous though, and I'm certainly not going to rely on the word of some techie journo with a moderate profile, nor am I going to go on the word of a large commercial enterprise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,202 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Kivaro wrote:

Nah. It's no different to what the likes of Facebook do each day. Actually Facebook is worse in that it sells the data.

This same data from three, Vodafone etc is used on Google maps and Tom Tom. When you see solid red roads on maps, this data comes from all the phones sitting in rush hour traffic. The amount of phones on a stretch of road and how long it takes to get from one part of the road to another is all collected and shared in real time with map companies.

Perfectly legal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,202 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

That's fairytale nonsense. You need to wear a foil hat to stop them tracking you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,046 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Like something you would see in Russia. They are getting money for it too, it's not a civic duty the company is doing...
    Three Mobile would not be drawn on the value of the contract nor the timeframe it covers, describing that information as “commercially sensitive”. However, it’s understood that the CSO will continue to provide the data each Monday for at least the next number of weeks.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40214021.html

Like something you would see in Russia. They are getting money for it too, it's not a civic duty the company is doing...

It's almost the exact opposite of what you would see in Russia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,691 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    That's fairytale nonsense. You need to wear a foil hat to stop them tracking you

Foil onesie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

the irony of op posting his link wrapped in google tracking stuff....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,888 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I heard it can't be tracked if you leave it at home. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Big Government is Good Government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Just wait until you hear what google can do..

I don't have a three phone. I'm outraged at not being tracked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Daz747

There are many avenues for income for companies such as Three. One thing is for sure, if they are passing on movement data etc... They would be expecting something in return.

I would assume governments would go to the likes of google for that information instead of a unreliable source such as Three

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,734 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I heard it can't be tracked if you leave it at home. ;)

the only way to be really certain is to smash the phone with a hammer. a hammer mind, smashing it with something else doesn't stop it transmitting your information. Don't ask me to explain how that works.

A hammer mind.....points finger like michael caine...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

The internet conspiracy 5g nutjobs will hit the roof :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

From the article https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40214021.html
    Mobile phone carrier Three is providing the aggregated movement data of its 2.4m Irish customers to the Department of Health and the CSO in order to monitor compliance with Covid-19 public health and movement restrictions.

The deal between the Department and Three sees the movement data from all handsets on the carrier’s network anonymised and grouped in order to show what proportion of people have been straying more than 10km from home.

It seems to me 3 are doing all the work and simply handing over anonymous reports of all its customers. Whether that is ok or not is up for debate but its aggregated data.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

Is this GPS data or mast hits? If GPS, you can just turn it off right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭jmcc

In years gone by the "anonymising" process for this kind of thing has been flawed by certain operators
    The AOL search engine dataset is quite legendary for all the wrong reasons.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AOL_search_data_leak

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

the irony of op posting his link wrapped in google tracking stuff....

No issue with it personally, it's aggregated data plus I'm with Gomo!

Btw could you fix the link I was unable to post it properly, thanks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Fann Linn wrote: »
    No issue with it personally, it's aggregated data plus I'm with Gomo!

Btw could you fix the link I was unable to post it properly, thanks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,768 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Sleeper12 wrote: »

e7774efd6151220a4bf524d8bf9dd94c.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,252 ✭✭✭circadian

Can we be certain that it is completely anonymous?

No.

Dangerous saying it has been anonymised instead of stating that the data has undergone an anonymisation process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 913 ✭✭✭nolivesmatter

What's the benefit to government in having this information? It's nearly a year now and based on how things have been handled so far I'd have no confidence in them putting it to any meaningful use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,891 ✭✭✭Pentecost

They won't learn much from my movements at the moment anyway. At home, still at home, had a look outside, back in the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭nullObjects

What's the benefit to government in having this information? It's nearly a year now and based on how things have been handled so far I'd have no confidence in them putting it to any meaningful use.

I think for instance if they tell people to stay within 5km of their homes and they don't see the drop in cases they expect, then it would be worth knowing if the numbers didn't drop because 5km isn't enough or the numbers didn't drop because people are ignoring the restriction

I'm ok with them sharing my data in this case anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,065 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

I'm guessing data won't be much use given 3"s coverage generally s**** :)

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,065 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Wombatman wrote: »
    Is this GPS data or mast hits? If GPS, you can just turn it off right?

No, I believe its cellular data not GPS

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

I'm ok with them sharing my data in this case anyway

you may be but I'm not.
    I'm not owned by that state to track and trace.

Sure it's for covid - a noble cause but with all things can't see the cso stopping post covid this cos that data is useful.
    3 won't stop cos it's a cash bump for them.

It's a slippery slope and anybody who cant see that isn't the full shilling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,733 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

paw patrol wrote: »
    you may be but I'm not.
    I'm not owned by that state to track and trace.

Sure it's for covid - a noble cause but with all things can't see the cso stopping post covid this cos that data is useful.
    3 won't stop cos it's a cash bump for them.

It's a slippery slope and anybody who cant see that isn't the full shilling.
    Anonymous data?

Are you sure you know what is happening here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

ELM327 wrote: »
    Anonymous data?

how anonymous? they haven't said.

I do a lot of work with data as part of my work in IT - anonymous data can be used to build a picture and suddenly you aren't so anonymous .

anyway we as citizens shouldnt be tracked - the point stands.
    ELM327 wrote: »

and no , I'm not sure.
    But I don't like what i do know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,734 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

paw patrol wrote: »
    how anonymous? they haven't said.

I do a lot of work with data as part of my work in IT - anonymous data can be used to build a picture and suddenly you aren't so anonymous .

anyway we as citizens should be tracked - the point stands.

it is aggregated mast data. the only info that was related to you was the imei number of your phone. that would be removed in the aggregation. if you dont want to be tracked then get rid of your mobile phone.