What does the future hold for Donald Trump? - threadbans in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,668 ✭✭✭✭briany

It's been a long time in the making, I think. But it's been staggering to watch the American right wing try to normalise or even champion the insane behaviour of the man.

Trump's closest challenger lol.

I actually thought this was a cute segment about fatherhood and made DeSaster somewhat human but he's f*cking bulling haha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,791 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

I hope that sooner or later, someone from the more internationalist wing of the Republican party will overtake him in the primary. He seems unassailable in his party right now. But I have seen many primaries since the 1990s, and while the expected winner usually does get the nomination in the GOP, Trump himself in 2016 is proof that it sometimes doesn't go that way. Jeb Bush was ahead at one point in the 2015-6 primary.

I have serious concerns that a Trump presidency would signal an end to US support for Ukraine. If the US stops supporting Ukraine, then I think the unity of the EU would be severely tested too.

Its also disturbing how CPAC held a conference in Hungary recently to embrace Orban and what he represents. The message is clear. They want Orbanism in the US and obviously Trump to implement it. But DeSantis isn't all that different from Trump except more fixated with abortion and trans issues.

DeSantis in my opinion waited too long to enter the context. I think Jeb Bush also did this in 2016. He had real momentum at the end of last year when he was level with or even ahead of Trump. The row with Disney in his state may hurt him with the business-wing of the Republican party, which has sometimes clashed with the party on LGBT and diversity issues e.g. the threats to leave Indiana when it was passing an anti-LGBT law when Pence was governor. DeSantis's has recently passed a highly reactionary "Don't say gay" law and has targeted ESG - the practice of fund managers taking into account human rights when making investment decisions. Nationally, some Republicans want to ban it too, but the 60 vote rule in the Senate and Biden's veto are insurmountable obstacles to it right now. But they wouldn't be if the numbers change enough and there was a GOP President.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,331 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Casey tbf seems much more at ease with the retail politics, but a brief career in TV clearly helps. It shouldn't matter all that stuff whatsoever but yeah he's just so socially awkward, Trump is going to tear him apart on stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,820 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

The thundering gobshites he appeals to is the reason he rose beyond mediocrity. Without that cohort of thickos, he'd still just be that rich twat who loves himself. Now he's that rich twat who loves himself with an army of idiots who hang on his every word, no matter what he does, up to and including being found liable for sexual assault in a court.

With the power of stupid behind you, you can go far in America and there's an awful lot of stupid to tap into over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,478 ✭✭✭PropJoe10

His popularity is a very, very sad reflection on American society. For someone as blatantly dumb and arrogant as him to be worshipped like he is by a fair percentage of the US population says a lot about their education system. Over 60 million people voluntarily went into a voting booth and cast their vote for him as their leader in 2020. That's profoundly worrying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,820 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

What's even more worrying is that millions will still go to the polling booth and give him their X for 2024, even after everything we know about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,467 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

A major mistake by Trump attacking Kayleigh that was a step to far for a lot going after her as she was always loyal. She was an excellent press secretary compared to what is in that position today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

You mean to whom? Poor dog whistle attempt. 1/10 do better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,237 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

Haha, a major mistake! As if the MAGA crowd gives two sh1tes about the woman

And I can't wait for you to explain what is so wrong with the current press Secretary.

She was one of the worst spewer of lies that I've ever seen on global television. If that's your idea of a good press secretary, I give up entirely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,696 ✭✭✭✭banie01

I think what he meant was that she had a nicer rack than Spicer 🤷‍♀️😉

Isn't that what a Trump Press Secretary is? A boob, spouting boobs about a boob's "policies"?

Wow look at you with your sexist remark! The mask slips

I'm not wearing a mask? Are you ok? Do you actually mean you were serious when you claimed McEnany was an excellent Press Secretary? I mean you really meant those words?

You have far more to be worried about than someone making a possibly mysoginistic remark in relation to your pussy grabbing hero's former liar in chief 😉

Just to be crystal clear,even allowing for the double entendre...

Screenshot_2023-06-03-13-57-08-268_com.android.chrome-edit.jpg

All perfectly apt descriptions of Trump, Spicer, McEnany and their "work"

Just so you understand what a great Press Secretary is here are some of Kayleigh's dealing with the media.

So back to my original point Trump should not have attacked Kayleigh as she was a loyal member of his team.

Her 2nd clip is her literally defending Trump's framing of Tara Reade as a compelling witness against Biden when she accused him of sexual assault.

The same Tara Reade who earlier this week defected to Russia.

She is a skilled dissembler and does keep a particularly tight rein in her responses. Much like Goebbels and Comical Ali also both skilled Propagandists. Most of her performance in that 6 minutes is whataboutery, deflection and avoiding the question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,781 ✭✭✭Flaneur OBrien

Jesus. You know which side of the aisle you’re on, don’t you? Don’t start feigning care for sexism now.

So sexist comments from.your side of the aisle is ok in your opinion. Glad I got that straight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,781 ✭✭✭Flaneur OBrien

Not at all, but have you ever put down any of the many sexist comments or behaviours originating from Trump and his people? Or is just when you can have a dig on the other side?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,499 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I have seen him featured in retro / recap documentaries and TV shows from the late 80s and 90s and he is like a different man. He comes across as persuasive, intelligent, reasonable... even in audio clips.

I dont know what happened.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,237 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

So Snake,why is Kayleigh better than the current press Secretary?

And why do you think it is a major mistake by Trump to attack her?

My Nana and Gran-aunt were huge Fans of Trump from the early 80s or so. One worked Are Lingus TA flights so all the magazine's, papers and everything else Trump and more specifically Ivana were always hot topics of conversation. So for years I had folk nattering about Don in my orbit. I'm kind of grateful they both died in the early noughties rather than see what their Master of the Universe has devolved to.

In the 70s & 80s in particular, he was a master at placing stories and in forcing what he wanted to be perceived as. He made sure he controlled the framing of his media and even as far as today he still manages an inordinate influence upon a portion of the press IMO.

His rise to the WH and his continued relevance to the GOP and their primary race? Reflects IMO a weird mash-up of Trump being remembered for his media in the 80s/90s rather than his catastrophic failures. That nostalgia gained a huge boost via "The Apprentice" which is odd, as his business was and is basically an overleverged property management & licensing org that availed of strange accounting practice.

The man really is a triumph of style over substance, the lowest common denominator but one that somehow managed to convince a huge number of people that he was the smartest guy in the room. In business and in politics he was surrounded by sycophants and in business at least, he was lucky enough to have Cohn and then Cohen as his fixers. That type of strongarming works for a while in Business,but? In politics it soon becomes a liability and leaves one relying upon Roger Stone.

Yet? The man still commands millions of votes. There's no rational reason I can agree with that people vote for him over any other primary candidates or even Biden in a GE.

The man is a study in failing upwards. I suppose that's at least a type of American Dream 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,021 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

Speaking of the walking emodiment of ebola that is Roger Stone, admitting to manipulating trump for decades

There shouldn't be sexist comments on either side. Having said that, I do not recall a single occasion where a Trump follower in this thread has condemned him for all his sexist and misogynistic comments over the last few years. In fact, you'd get used to seeing his disgusting comments about the likes of E Jean Carroll being celebrated by his followers. Feel free to break with that tradition if you want, but I won't hold my breath.

You're right and my own dash of misogyny in the comment that kicked off Snake's moral panic, was Ill conceived and childish.

I won't make the excuse of it being ok to slag off McEnany because it's not as bad as what the other side has done.

Instead I'll try and remember to be a little less puerile and to play the ball not the lady in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,668 ✭✭✭✭briany

McEnany had attended both Oxford University and Harvard University during her academic career and appeared to have distinguished herself to a very high level during her studies, so her ability as a thinker and to work hard is not in question. It's just that she decided to use her powers for evil rather than good. Seduced by money and influence, I would say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,645 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Despite what I think of him (and he does get a few brownie points for refusing to mess with the election) I looked at him on that video and decided that I like the look, the biker gear suits him. I am really wondering why the complete surrender to wearing suits, shirts and ties? None of these garments look well on most men, isn't it time we had a change of style?

Your mask is still on, though, as despite your Pearl clutching and faux liberal virtue signaling you still have utterly failed to humanize the current press secretary. But you want to pretend you’re not being sexist (at a minimum)?

She was an excellent press secretary compared to what is in that position today.

Cant dehumanize her and eat the cake too, Snake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,123 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

There might be another recording besides the one about the Iran invasion plan, this one featuring Evan Corcoran, ex-TFG lawyer who might be singing like a bird to the DOJ:

Original reference: (https://archive.is/KTJ2N)