Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guards on trains

• 11-01-2021 7:46pm
    Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭

Hi everyone, in the next few days I will be making an essential journey to comfort my boyfriend who has lost a loved one as part as a support bubble. I will have to make a long journey (4 hours on the train) I was just wondering are the guards going onto the trains to ask people the reason for their journey?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭pgj2015

They are usually undercover on trains these days. you might think that is just a harmless priest sitting there but it mightn't be.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭2012paddy2012

Hi everyone, in the next few days I will be making an essential journey to comfort my boyfriend who has lost a loved one as part as a support bubble. I will have to make a long journey (4 hours on the train) I was just wondering are the guards going onto the trains to ask people the reason for their journey?

It doesn’t matter whether there is or not.
    You are legally allowed to have one bubble.
    If your not doing anything illegal no need to have any concerns .

• Registered Users Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

pgj2015 wrote: »
    They are usually undercover on trains these days. you might think that is just a harmless priest sitting there but it mightn't be.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,761 ✭✭✭Effects

So at checkpoints they don't even bother getting out of their cars, but they are going under cover on the trains? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

You'll get the bang of KFC and doughnuts off them.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Be careful for the wallet inspector, lot of fake ones going around....

You'll get the bang of KFC and doughnuts off them.

Thought it was supermacs which is pure dung

• Registered Users Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Just get another boyfriend, they're ten a penny theses days.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users Posts: 13,927 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Wait so you can have a bubble now? I thought they did away with that.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Guards on trains.

Not to be confused with a train Guard :cool:

Same spelling, different meaning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

The answer is you shouldn't travel. But you know that

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

ShyMets wrote: »
    The answer is you shouldn't travel.

isn't public transport exempt ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

fryup wrote: »
    isn't public transport exempt ?

For essential travel only.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

It's really tough, but essential travel only means essential travel only!

Many people not able to travel to funerals, weddings, to visit sick people, to comfort people etc, it's really unfair but that's what we're all dealing with at present, and we're all in the same boat.

Sorry.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

She said the man in the gabardine suit was a spy
    I said "Be careful, his bowtie is really a camera"

• Registered Users Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Just keep an eye out for someone in a Superdry jacket with 40 zips.

Thats the undercover Garda.

ShyMets wrote: »
    The answer is you shouldn't travel. But you know that

Yes you can travel. From 1st January , on level 5 , a support bubble , continues to be allowed. No issues. Enjoy your trip

Wait so you can have a bubble now? I thought they did away with that.

No. One bubble is fine in level 5.
    Check gov.ie , if you wish

• Registered Users Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭SteM

Yes you can travel. From 1st January , on level 5 , a support bubble , continues to be allowed. No issues. Enjoy your trip

She should enjoy the trip of comforting her boyfriend on his bereavement?

SteM wrote: »
    She should enjoy the trip of comforting her boyfriend on his bereavement?

Think the query was answered.

If you get a bus you won't be questioned at all....

Bus w####rs

• Registered Users Posts: 1,773 ✭✭✭Rezident

No I go up and down from Dublin to Limerick every couple of weeks and have never seen any Guards on any of the trains. I have only been stopped by Guards on the roads.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,765 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Yes she can travel. But not on public transport. It is only available for essential journeys.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Just hide in the toilet when the Guards come.

You aren't allowed travel on any public transport OP or any private transport or walk.
    Your trip has to be ESSENTIAL. The Gardai are not needed to police this as there are plenty of civilians who have found their true calling.

Get a big box and post yourself to the destination

• Registered Users Posts: 8,314 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Snakes on Planes
    Guards on Trains
    Pigs in Space
    No where safe

• Registered Users Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Get a big box and post yourself to the destination
    An post is a bit slow these days.:P

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭barbiegirl123

I am just afraid that the guards wont understand why I need to travel on the train.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,384 ✭✭✭1874

I am just afraid that the guards wont understand why I need to travel on the train.

irrational fear of buses