Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who are the coolest people over 50?

• 03-01-2021 10:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭

Who are they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

Eskimos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 632 ✭✭✭COVID

Eskimos.

They've fifty words for bollocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Clint Eastwood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Abraham Lincoln

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Keanu Reeves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Neames

Morrissey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭jmlad2020

Eamon Ryan.

The Dude

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 590 ✭✭✭Louis Friend

Will Smith, Kylie Minogue, Brad Pitt, George Clooney, Bruce Springsteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Tom Jones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Willie Nelson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Will Smith, Kylie Minogue, Brad Pitt, George Clooney, Bruce Springsteen

Not the richest, the coolest.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Dave Fanning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,643 ✭✭✭worded

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,875 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

Arnie, Sam L. Jackson, Slash, Tina Turner, Sade, George Clinton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Noam chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

WIBBS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,215 ✭✭✭khalessi

Brad Pitt, Sam Elliot, Willie Nelson, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Robert Downey Jnr, Helena Bonham Carter, Winona Ryder, Michelle Yeoh, Emma Thompson, Cate Blanchett, Tilda Swinton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,213 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

The Coen Brothers... Joel and Ethan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭Pcgamer

Stone Cold Steve Austin. Hard to believe hes 56.

• Site Banned Posts: 113 ✭✭Dunfyy

Hitler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭Sup08

Lenny Kravits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

Dolly Parton, Grace Slick, Stevie nicks, Debbie Harry, Bjork, Bernadette Devlin, Joanna Lumley, Helena Bonham Carter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭Philipx

Me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Daniel O'Donnell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭logically

Watched Deep Impact over the Christmas holiday.

The biggest "impact" on me (see what I did there) was realising that I wouldn't have been included in the cave lottery as an over 50. I remember watching that when it came out as a mere 30 something and thinking "yeah, good call not giving a place to over the hill 50 year olds". This time watching I was highly insulted by being considered past it. Those damn Hollywood types.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,718 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Tim Westwood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

You OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭doublejobbing 2

pgj2015 wrote: »
    Tim Westwood.

:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

This has to be one of the funniest interviews done. In 2000. When he was 42.

https://www.theguardian.com/theguardian/2000/nov/01/features11.g22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Define cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Steve Buscemi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

Dylan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,878 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

He really likes using the word....man....so down with da kids

In answer to the OP, anybody from the Madchester/ Britpop scene really.

Shaun Ryder
    Bez
    Ian Brown
    Noel Gallagher
    Liam Gallagher isn't quite 50 yet but it's hard to think of a more stylish geezer.

This lot show it's quite possible to wear football casual style wear (shoes. trackie tops) and 80s/ 90's inspired style in your 50's without looking remotely like you're impersonating a present day teenager.

I watched the Wu Tang documentary there lately. Most n their 50's by now and the younger rappers would look even more embarrassing than they currently do stood next to them.

If you told me when I was 14 that there would be men in their 50's who could still look "with it" I'd have laughed at you. Certainly I would have thought back then that, say, Paul McCartney, had more the vibe of an old man than someone of the age he was then currently has (Ian Brown, the Happy Mondays lads)

People don't age like they used to.

So what if he is white playing music to a mainly black audience, so was Eminem.

if I was 63 and as heavily involved in hip hop, having all the best rappers in hip hop on my radio show etc and looking as young as he does, I would be happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Some Yoke

Pope Francis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭PGE1970

Eanna Ni Lamhna

Marty Morrissey

So what if he is white playing music to a mainly black audience, so was Eminem.

if I was 63 and as heavily involved in hip hop, having all the best rappers in hip hop on my radio show etc and looking as young as he does, I would be happy.

To be fair Eminem didn't heavily accent himself/ pretend he was black. Particularly in his music. He may use more "black" terms, just about, words like dogg and things like that, than someone from a trailer park in Montana, but only really because he grew up in a black area. It isn't as if he is adopting it deliberately.

Westwood is highly entertaining to listen to, and he does seem to be highly respected by the US artists he promoted way back when, but he is a complete toolbox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

if we're talking all time.....

Paul Newman & Steve McQueen

sub zero

To be fair Eminem didn't heavily accent himself/ pretend he was black. Particularly in his music. He may use more "black" terms, just about, words like dogg and things like that, than someone from a trailer park in Montana, but only really because he grew up in a black area. It isn't as if he is adopting it deliberately.

Westwood is highly entertaining to listen to, and he does seem to be highly respected by the US artists he promoted way back when, but he is a complete toolbox.

it wouldnt work if he acted like an everyday 63 year old British white man. he looks about 20 years younger as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

Jeff Goldblum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Tina Turner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

YFlyer wrote: »
    WIBBS.

I don't think he's that old.

First they came for the socialists...

it wouldnt work if he acted like an everyday 63 year old British white man. he looks about 20 years younger as well.

It wouldn't work. And, agreed, I hope I look that young when I'm 62.

But he does still sound like a knob. Of course, the alternative would be to retire, and why would he do that. It keeps the money coming in, and people in the music business don't generally retire (particularly promoters/ DJ's as it isn't as physical as world touring jumping all over stage like Mick Jagger)

I do find it a bit mad that so many of the big dance DJ's, Oakenfold, Cox, Morales, they are all pushing 60 by now.

I think if you told me when I was raving at 17 that eventually a 60 year old man would credibly play gigs to yoked up teenagers in nightclubs I would have laughed at you.

But like I said, ageing isn't at the rate it used to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Judi Dench, Helen Mirren, Charlotte Rampling, Maggie Smith.

It wouldn't work. And, agreed, I hope I look that young when I'm 62.

But he does still sound like a knob. Of course, the alternative would be to retire, and why would he do that. It keeps the money coming in, and people in the music business don't generally retire (particularly promoters/ DJ's as it isn't as physical as world touring jumping all over stage like Mick Jagger)

I do find it a bit mad that so many of the big dance DJ's, Oakenfold, Cox, Morales, they are all pushing 60 by now.

I think if you told me when I was raving at 17 that eventually a 60 year old man would credibly play gigs to yoked up teenagers in nightclubs I would have laughed at you.

But like I said, ageing isn't at the rate it used to be.

I agree in ways like look at Eminem, looks very young for 48. It is likely that staying in the music business is what is keeping westwood young looking. Not everyone looks younger than they are, if Eminem was drinking and taking drugs after every gig id say he would look older than his age, you need to eat right and take care of yourself, a lot of people don't and they look older than they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭OldRio

George Cooney, Pierce Brosnan, Iggy Pop, Tom Waits Daniel Craig and Nick Cave.
    All have 'cool' in abundance and in different ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Sam Hain

fryup wrote: »
    if we're talking all time.....

Paul Newman & Steve McQueen

sub zero

Steve McQueeen died aged 50. Don't think the 6 months being that age he was too happy, but yeah he was probably still cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭GMSA

Bob Geldof, Bono, Glen Hansard