Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Connacht Team Talk Thread VI - Some like it TOH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

I agree. His carrying stats are significantly poorer than Heffernan's, and his tackle completion % is the lowest of all of our forwards. I think tackle completion stats need a healthy dose of context when looking at outside backs, but if as a forward you're missing 20% of tackles, you're probably just getting run through a lot.

His strength is at defensive breakdowns (second most turnovers after Paul Boyle) but I don't think that's enough to compensate for his lack of physicality unfortunately. Decent squad player though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭CowboyTed

They have strength and conditioning coaches who can up the KGs properly. Look what the did with the Murray boys…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,024 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

I'd prefer if the home grown players could beat these senior players out on merit rather than be promoted above their station just because they are local products. Ultimately it just weakens the squad even though we all like seeing home grown players break through. In Connacht's case it probably also helps that promoting home grown players is cheaper.

Agreed…

I was hoping that Sean or Cathal could move into Jack at out half… We know Jack loves Connacht and would like to leave them better than got it…

Hugh or Cathal eventually taking from Bundee

Tierney Martin from Hefo.

In fairness we have almost home grown set of backs coming through… Forwards are harder for us to develop schools but a lot of our forwards have been with us from just out of underage and are effectively one club players…

That is very healthy and Eric Elwood should be commended for his role in this…

I believe, Cian Prendergast was shocked the day Eric rang him as he had few min at U20 being blocked out bay Sorka at the time. That was a great decision that continually pays off…Well dome Eric, Tnaks Cian..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭ShineyShiney

Maybe I'm in the minority here but fans are always going to speculate, discuss and guess about players. The only reason this is being discussed is because Mack brought it up in the media. I have seen very little brought up outside official channels that shouldn't be. I follow lots of twitter guys and there isn't any greater insight ahead of time about Connacht than any other province. I think some of these lads need to toughen up a biit.

Post edited by ShineyShiney on

BTW the twitter account we are telling us the Finlay Bealham is going on the Lions tour, Well Done…

Connacht now have more players than the whole of Wales…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭ElisaAtWar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭Zeugnis

CONNACHT RUGBY MATCHDAY SQUAD VS ZEBRE PARMA 
    17:00, Saturday 17th May 2025 @ Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi  

15. Santiago Cordero (21)
    14. Shayne Bolton (25)
    13. David Hawkshaw (43)
    12. Bundee Aki (150)
    11. Finn Treacy (7)
    10. JJ Hanrahan (28)
    9. Ben Murphy (15)
    1. Denis Buckley (264)
    2. Dave Heffernan (218)
    3. Finlay Bealham (218)
    4. Josh Murphy (38)
    5. Joe Joyce (36)
    6. Cian Prendergast (86) Captain
    7. Shamus Hurley-Langton (55)
    8. Paul Boyle (115) 

16. Eoin de Buitléar (13)
    17. Jordan Duggan (61)
    18. Jack Aungier (87)
    19. Darragh Murray (38)
    20. Sean Jansen (25)
    21. Matthew Devine (18)
    22. Cathal Forde (51)
    23. Piers O’Conor (17)

• Subscribers Posts: 43,159 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

why would you start a player at out half whos out the door after the game???

Sixteen minutes of first team rugby for Niall Murray in 2025. They just extended David O'Connor's contract, he's had four appearance since New Year. Is that sustainable for Murray? If i was him I'd be looking to be loaned out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭testtech05

Same goes for a few players there, have they put Jack back in the freezer after SA? I know he was listed as injured last week maybe still the case.

Piers O'Connors statement obviously hasnt bothered anyone too much either when he is included.

Its hard to be optimistic of getting a result but fingers crossed even though in the overall scheme of the season it wont make much of a difference

That's a very strong side for a dead rubber. I suppose no one wants the smell of a loss to Zebre hanging around all summer.

why give a number players sometime… Why play Bundee & JJ? Niall Murray must thinking what he did wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭Ben Bailey

Cian P bumps 3 defenders on his way to the opening score ofvthe game

Very odd decision not to go to the tmo for that Zebre non try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,070 ✭✭✭StevenToast

After such a stink season...Connacht will finish above Ulster!

Shows you how bad they are!

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Stanley 1

Conn win 22-12 and Hanrahan MOTM, imagine that.

• Subscribers Posts: 43,159 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

I certainly can, didn't make my question any less valid.

I'm assuming Cathy was injured, ioane certainly was.

Nice to end with a win, well done. A disappointing season but now time for the lads to enjoy the off season. Thanks for the entertainment all year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 2025Connacht

Nice to get ahead of Ulster but it's not much to be positive about. Thankfully that car crash of a season is over.

Massive off season ahead for Connacht to try and give the squad and supporters some hope of a competent setup for next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭kita99

Connacht need super hard working. Don't spoil all players and enrich their academy (player's number and quality). Please hurry to notice new HC as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,598 ✭✭✭Lost Ormond

What do you mean by dont spoil players? Enrich academy? The academy will have plenty new additions as always with obly 13 currently in set up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭MarinersBlues

GGiven that Ulster beat Connacht twice you really have to wonder how we finished up ahead of them.

That loss at Christmas was the one that really set us up for a shite run in.

Yes, the bell tolled for us at Christmas, we followed that up with a loss to Glasgow B, although in fairness Franco Smith has built a really well drilled outfit. Other narrow losses to Ospreys and Munster. We showed a lot of determination but lack a winning mentality.

Furthermore, whatever about their other failures, this coaching team seem to know nothing about man management. Has this cultural issue been dealt with or are Muldoon and Tucker part of the problem? I have no idea. But I'd expect that at some point the inside story will emerge and it won't be pretty. With the scale of the changes we're going to spend next year rebuilding.

Many negatives all of which have been mentioned along the way. I also think there have been some very good positive contributions that we shouldn't allow be glossed over.

Murphy and Devine have had great breakthrough seasons at 9.

Cathal Forde at 12 has been outstanding all season and even weathered a poor kicking patch with continuing quality at 12.

Josh Murphy has been excellent after his early season red and Darragh Murray is coming along pretty well.

Prendergast has developed into a very good captain and has such a huge work rate.

Bolton has been really good and Shl is a quality player

Finn Tracey has stepped up really well and looks a very good player. Gavin also stepping up, looked a little too soon imo for 13 but has lots of upside.

Plenty to build with for a new Coaching group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭CuriousCucumber

Delighted to see the back of that season. Things can't really get much worse, so hopefully positive times are returning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭kita99

The most problem has been the lack of accuracy in Connacht rugby. It's seen frequently in whole Connacht games this season. New coaches must persue huge improvement of this defects at first. They can use the facility of new HPC now even at night or early morning. When it's realized, Connacht may reach to last 4 at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭lavrenti

Agree with most of that Shiney and you're right to focus on the positives. Would also include Jansen and Boyle as positives for next season with our prop stocks looking adequate although this will surely be Denis Buckley's final season. He has so many miles on the clock. We're very thin at hooker after Heff with neither DTM or de Buitlear being URC standard. Bringing in a goal-kicking 15 could be a masterstroke if Gilbert is any good. We also need to feature David Hawkshaw a bit more in the 23. He very rarely pays badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Gaztric

George McGuigan might be available. IQ. Not sure about how he has played lately , but would surely not cost too much.

I agree that the playing group provides lots of positives. With ten Connacht players involved in the six nations squad at various points this is not just wishful thinking. A lot will ride on Sam Gilbert as we need a kicker on the pitch.

We also need to win more collisions up front, the second row needs to take that on, but I'd hope to be getting more out of players like Illo and perhaps Lasisi if he comes through. Next year will probably be a season too soon for them, but Illo should play more rugby if Bealham ends up with the Lions.

Our back row looks good, although there is no proven depth at 7 so if SHL gets injured we may have a serious problem. Paul Boyle has had a fantastic year, his return should be an example to others. Cian is now our most important player, amen to finally having found a worthy captain.

DTM suffered a lingering injury to the neck last season, IIRC, so he got a pass, but he's struggled to impose himself this year. Maybe it's a size issue, as others have suggested.