If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Connacht Team Talk Thread VI - Some like it TOH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,896 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

That's a nice Xmas present if he is. Eoghan Cross is a top class referee, much better than Andrew Brace who is having is 100th game in the URC tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,452 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Deleted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,102 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Nobody got over the gain line for Connacht tonight until Jansen came on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,791 ✭✭✭✭flazio

We're having a shocker here lads.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭MayoForSam

Absolute rubbish. Ulster coaching is much better, Connacht are a shambles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,088 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

Is it still the ref fault on this one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭briandebum

I think Wilkins' time must be very close to up. Seem to be going backwards year on year unfortunatey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,821 ✭✭✭testtech05

I think we are seeing tonight why Forde isn't going to be a viable option at 10.

Pathetic display from us really against a time on a 5 game losing streak. Once I heard rte talking us up for a big win before the game I knew we were in trouble.

Fair play to Ulster they defended like men possessed and just wanted it more overall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭padre78

In the words of a famous Mayo man...... Simply. Not. Good. Enough.

Connacht were absolutely pathetic tonight. Against an Ulster side with a lot of young players. They seem badly prepared. Allowed Ulster to set the tempo for the first 25 minutes before they even got somewhat into the game. And then butchered every decent chance they got. Does anyone care? They’ll have a job filling that new stand at this rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭Wegians89

Pure shite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

Outfought by a team laden with academy players. Piss poor from Connacht. Carty is so poor and offers so little. Wilkins should be canned.

Arguably our strongest team against an Ulster side missing a host of starters who have lost 5 games in a row at home in Galway and just never even turned up. Pathetic and has happened a lot down the years almost any time we are favourite for a game. Unacceptable really are we already looking like struggling to make the top 8 again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭CuriousCucumber

Can we get Dan McFarland back to Galway?

Connacht are turning into a shambles from the very top down. I've absolutely no interest in renewing my season ticket next season, for the first time since 2010.

In fact, I doubt I'll bother attending any more matches this season. There is no enjoyment in supporting this team right now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

That must be our URC season done and dusted. Hard to know where we go from here. Hopefully we can give the Challenge Cup a lash, and go again with a new coaching team next season. Can't see much argument for retaining much of the current ticket, but as long as we are shopping in the bargain bin for unproven coaches it's to feel overly optimistic about our future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭CuriousCucumber

**** it, is Kieran Keane available?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭ShineyShiney

Well done Ulster, aggressive from start to finish. Connacht ? I have no idea what to call that other than complete and utter shambles. Wilkins should do the decent thing and go get his coat.

Mack and Shl were good and Jansen and Jennings added a bit of energy. Bundi was excellent when he arrived at halftime pity he wasn't available in the first half he may have made a difference.

On the Ulster side collectively excellent and I was impressed with Doaks kicking game. Good game plan to take a couple of chances and defend like their lives depended on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭jim Dempsey

now people will understand why Niall Murray doesn't get picked. He is too light add in Buckley and that front 5 will be over powered. Cartys style doesn't suit the game plan, you can see why they wanted prendergast. Anytime that Connacht team expect to win they fall apart in some fashion. They ain't good enough not to put in 100%. Darragh Murray showed why he is so important to Connacht and prendergast saved the lineout he kept Connacht in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭AccidentallyOnside

No idea how doak didn't get potm, he was excellent today.

Worth noting that that Ulster pack was 40kg heavier than ours....... our team is simply too small to be competitive. Of that pack today only shl showed up, at some point we might need to re-evaluate Niall Murray; can't remember the last time he played well, but he was far from the worst tonight.

Back play in structured play was awful too, never got to grips with the Ulster defence.

F**k it everything was awful.

I've been backing Wilkins for a couple of seasons now but this looked a game too far, we need to be looking for someone else for next year. Not someone in the Irish system either; give me some grizzled old saffa front row thats career was cut short by an illegal tackle and wants to take his frustration out on every team he manages against. Give me anything at this point because I think I'm done with this team.

Connacht getting absolutely slated all across all their socials tonight. Never seen it so bad.

Wilkins is in trouble now IMO because first of all he threw Hansen under the bus post the Leinster match. He shouldn't have been in the media room

Now he is a week on and another poor result.

His only chance is a long run in the Challange cup but I can't see Connacht winning that when a big French team comes around and thinks they can win it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭Tommybojangles

Not much energy to post anymore, f***

this. Most saw it coming when Wilkins was appointed, shocking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭BrokenMan

Time for Wilkins to sod off. Things have been getting steadily worse under his management. It's hard to believe that the players have any confidence in him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,566 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

All I can say is I'm glad I couldn't go or even watch it by the sounds of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭jim Dempsey

I don't think he is. He will see out the 3 years as Europe doesn't matter so much while you have no stadium. He is a cheap option for the redevelopment and is bringing through a young set of players who will be a good age when his time is up. Darragh Murray, Sam illo, lassi are all 23 and have the size they lack now. The club caption is 23/24 a lot of the squad are so they need time, good manager or not. Tucker the only one in the coaching staff who would be a loss and maybe sexton. Connacht find it hard to keep good coaches. That's why Muldoon was brought back the south African left to coach in d2

Now is the time to develop players, not wait till they are older

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Ben Bailey

Hugely frustrating.

One score from a well placed Carty kick, but every decent chance floundered with lateral passing and clumsy set moves in their red zone.

Big result for Ulster and they deserved it. Feel bad for lads like Hansen, Blade, Jansen & Bundee who worked their arses off for not even an LBP.

I thought SHL kept us in it single handed a few times in the 1st half.

It just seemed to be a game where whenever we looked to be building a bit of pressure for one reason or another we found a way to let it off instantly. Missed touch from Forde, poor lineout execution multiple times a scrum penalty when we had dominated all game.....

Our attack was very disjointed too it's like we didn't prep at all for a rush defense from Ulster even though we had faced one last week with Leinster.

I thought Ulster pushed the boundaries of offside a lot but when it wasn't being pinged we never seemed to adapt until Jansen came on and we went a bit more direct.

It was a well executed plan from Ulster and they deserved the win but we never helped ourselves at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Cherryson

Sexton? Isn't he attack coach? What is he coaching them to do? "Bundee, never mind what you do so well for Ireland, I want you to come on to the ball slowly, arrive flatfooted, and only when you hit the first tackler do I want you to start pumping the legs"

"The rest of ye just crab across the park until you've eaten up all the space on the outside, then pass to Cordero so he can get slammed into touch" Alternatively cut back inside and do the same to Mack"

"Mack, you've got the freedom to do what you want with the shitey behind the gainline slow ball that you get! Knock yourself out!"

"I'm Johnny's brother don't ya know, I'm from Leinster, I previously coached the under 20s".

He can feck off and he can take the rest of the alleged coaches with him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭Strand1970

First time to the sportsground this season and I was really impressed with the development of the new stand but that's about it. There was complete silence for the first 20 minutes of the game, maybe the clan stand produced all the atmosphere in recent seasons and those fans were dispursed around the ground. Couldn't believe how poor connnacht played as a team, my only conclusion is the coaching and management setup is disfunction and need a serious shake up. Line out was really good after the first 3 errors. The only time we got behind ulsters line was with Macks 2 chips and that was off the cuff. Generally it looked like a preseason game and connacht were going through the motions. Next game I will attend will be in castlebar as at a minimum there will be an atmosphere