Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Connacht Team Talk Thread VI - Some like it TOH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭SqueakyKneecap

Some of the attacking structure this year would have you believe these lads have never trained together before kick-off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

Their ability to identify and exploit space, and of their forwards to win collisions and offload, is extremely impressive and we're struggling to cope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭Wegians89

Such an obvious move for Frawley, if he fancies himself as a 10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,843 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I don't know how we got away with only being seven points down at halftime.

Still right in it, hopefully we can turn it around in the second half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭testtech05

Lucky to be only 7 behind really which is a bit worrying considering it seemed we had the win behind us.

Looking a bit one dimensional again too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Prendergast having another impressive game. That JJ miss to the corner feels like a big moment. Rather than an attacking lineout in the opposition 22, Connacht struggled to get out of their half after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,032 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Prendergast has been very good at least.

Touch of the headless chickens about Smith I find.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭ElisaAtWar

Wilkins could do us all a favour and put Forde into out half. As for Bundee, well that is Bundee when he plays for Connacht, completely invisible

O'Callaghan giving us a fair slating at half time over individual errors and set piece. Refused to criticise JJ then for kicking it dead in the same breath. I know it happens but it was a huge momentun swing

Prendergast has really stood out. He's getting better and better.

I think Andrew Smith has had a good game too.

Hard for bundee to do much with a shovelled on pass with the defence in his face. They need to try get a bit more deception on the moves I think

I'm sorry what? Bundee has had many great games for Connacht. I expect to see a lot of him in the second half.

Very poor clearance by JJ again granted into the wind after we dropped yet another kick off. We really don't help ourselves with all the mistakes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

Jaysus Aungier absolutely lost there.

We are going to get brutalised. ☹️

Bring Hawkshaw on for JJ for a start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,051 ✭✭✭✭phog

I think what annoyed DOC is Connacht playing like they met up last night for the first time. Their structure seems way off.

Every outhalf I've ever seen has kicked a penalty dead, if that was the only issue for Connacht in the first half it might well be a talking point. Tonight it was one of a ton of errors.

Ah Aungier what sort of a pop pass was that

Unbelievably toothless finishing even by Connacht 2023/24 standards

And a try immediately after. Almost every error has been backed up with another

"This game could get away from them" according to Jackman. We're 19 points down, you spoofer.

Tonight is as ragged as I’ve seen Connacht at home in a long time.

Was just thinking the same we have been god awful. And it isn't gonna get any easier over the next few weeks

Ah Porch why did ya play that should have been our ball 10m out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭Tommybojangles

This has been coming a while. The sharks and bulls performances were awful and we threw the game against leinster B/C last week and nearly acted like it was a moral victory. Thw decision to give wilkins the job based off very little is going to come back into focus now

With Saracens away and Lyon away to come, the Champions Cup is pretty much a busted flush already. Had to win the two home games to get through really. Would probably be better off resting players for the URC games now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Zeugnis

FFS, I must have been on drugs as regards my comments about Bordeaux.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,106 ✭✭✭StevenToast

The URC is getting its arse handed to them tonight!

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

Hopefully they don't avoid a deserved slating by the rugby media. They seem to always get the usual "just need that bit more luck but are doing very well with the resources" shite after a gutless showing like tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭Redo91

I actually feel privileged to be here for that performance from JJ. Looks like a fan out there. Gives us all hope. 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,583 ✭✭✭sioda

Hard watch tonight but there is unreal quality in that Bordeaux back line.

Prendergast has been excellent TBF.

Any reason why no yellow was given for the penalty try?