Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE were going to pay Sean O'Rourke 200k for 40 hours work per year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

Doesn't excuse the overpay, but there's way more work for each hour of broadcast than one hour. SOR is also as good as it gets at RTE. Still crazy money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,896 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Don Duck wrote: »
    How can anyone in their right mind believe that RTE are in financial difficulty ? If it wasn't for golfgate they were going to be paying Sean o Rourke 200k for hosting 40 episodes of Saturdayview a year, on top of his RTE pension. https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/golfgate-dinner-cost-sean-orourke-200-000-rte-contract-688twzjj6

Do you honestly thinks he would rock up without doing abs preparation for the show? Id say that 40 hours is slot more.
    Regardless , does the pay reflect what he can bring in via advertising as opppose to what a minimum wage worker could ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

You can only imagine how many wasters are in that organisation picking up over €80k a year for doing jack s##t all day long, their only talent being related to someone just as talentless as themselves!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭JDxtra

How can someone retire from an organization (with pension), and then go back to work for that same organization? Nevermind the fact that it's a cushy little number and a huge salary. Either you're retired or you're not.

So glad it didn't work out, let him try get that over at Newstalk.

Something is very wrong over at RTE though to even initially allow this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Another positive from Covid so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭JDxtra

You can only imagine how many wasters are in that organisation picking up over €80k a year for doing jack s##t all day long, their only talent being related to someone just as talentless as themselves!!!

True.

I also remember Lottie Ryan doing what sounded like radio work experience that a student would do in transition year - except she was a real presenter on a real show on prime time morning radio. :rolleyes:

Do they even advertise these jobs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 Don Duck

ted1 wrote: »
    Do you honestly thinks he would rock up without doing abs preparation for the show? Id say that 40 hours is slot more.
    Regardless , does the pay reflect what he can bring in via advertising as opppose to what a minimum wage worker could ?
    Have you ever heard the Saturday 1-2pm show? It's just a load of politicians and journalists talking over each other. No effect at all needed to host that show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Another positive from Covid so.

There is a conspiracy theory that the Chinese developed the virus as a way of removing the "chaff" from society.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

JDxtra wrote: »
    True, I remember Lottie Ryan doing what sounded like radio work experience that a student would do in transition year - except she was a real presenter on a real show on prime time morning radio. :rolleyes:

I remember one friday night flicking through the channels...stopped at the Late Late Show...this band were on, they were god awful, the kind of band a publican wouldn't subject his customers to...at the end, Tubridy thanked them and in particular the lead singer, Gerry Ryans daughter.

I sometimes think we should outsource our TV output to a proper nation, one that isn't riddled in insular mindsets and nepotism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,826 ✭✭✭StevenToast

As if you needed another reason not to pay the licence fee....

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

I remember one friday night flicking through the channels...stopped at the Late Late Show...this band were on, they were god awful, the kind of band a publican wouldn't subject his customers to...at the end, Tubridy thanked them and in particular the lead singer, Gerry Ryans daughter.

I sometimes think we should outsource our TV output to a proper nation, one that isn't riddled in insular mindsets and nepotism.

It's called the BBC.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Will be interesting when they release the current top 10 salaries early in 2021.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

Guards be putting people to prison for not paying their tv license as it’s all needed to give Sean o rourke he’s 200,000 plus his pension .
    The man is probably grossing 300k a year which is more than what Joe Biden the president of USA earns . It’s mad stuff really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

There's no justification in it in that he would not get anywhere near that salary anywhere else. Not even half of that salary.

We need to let RTE fail to restructure the whole operation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭Smee_Again

Does he actually get an RTE pension? I thought they were all contractors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,896 ✭✭✭✭ted1

How can someone retire from an organization (with pension), and then go back to work for that same organization? Nevermind the fact that it's a cushy little number and a huge salary. Either you're retired or you're not.

Happens a lot of places. People retire and then come back as specialist consultants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,142 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Smee_Again wrote: »
    Does he actually get an RTE pension? I thought they were all contractors.

He was staff. Contractors are not booted at 65.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭KaneToad

He wouldn't be going back as an employee. He'd be a freelancer.

That aside his punishment is very harsh. He didn't do anything illegal. RTE trying to make an example of him but weren't as fussed about Miriam et Al when they had their Covid boo boo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭Darc19

LuasSimon wrote: »
    Guards be putting people to prison for not paying their tv license as it’s all needed to give Sean o rourke he’s 200,000 plus his pension .
    The man is probably grossing 300k a year which is more than what Joe Biden the president of USA earns . It’s mad stuff really

No one goes to prison for not paying a TV license.

If he got the Saturday figures of Marian finucane, then the advertising revenue would have ensured it was a very profitable deal for rte.

Fools that whine about rte need to understand that advertising that is attracted to the top broadcasters means that their programmes are very profitable and not one cent of your precious license fee is spent.

The biggest cost / drain on rte is GAA coverage. Frankly it should be shoved to Sky and get people to pay for it properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭Smee_Again

L1011 wrote: »
    He was staff. Contractors are not booted at 65.

Thanks, I always wondered about that.

Don Duck wrote: »
    Have you ever heard the Saturday 1-2pm show? It's just a load of politicians and journalists talking over each other. No effect at all needed to host that show

I disagree. I think it's a skilled role. However I don't think those skills can't be got for less than 200k p.a.

Darc19 wrote: »
    No one goes to prison for not paying a TV license.

If he got the Saturday figures of Marian finucane, then the advertising revenue would have ensured it was a very profitable deal for rte.

Fools that whine about rte need to understand that advertising that is attracted to the top broadcasters means that their programmes are very profitable and not one cent of your precious license fee is spent.

The biggest cost / drain on rte is GAA coverage. Frankly it should be shoved to Sky and get people to pay for it properly.

The GAA coverage gets the viewers.The few orchestras, 2fm and a few other cost cutting measures should be implemented and let them cut their cloth to their means.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

It's unconscionable in my view that the State broadcaster was prepared to bring back a retiree on serious money rather than investing in new talent. I like Sean O'Rourke. He has had his time though, lets move on. There are more than enough capable people out there ready to be given a chance.

It's no surprise that RTÉ has such a stale image with this sort of carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Every wasted euro is a theft from the taxpayer.

The GAA coverage gets the viewers.The few orchestras, 2fm and a few other cost cutting measures should be implemented and let them cut their cloth to their means.

The orchestras are good value for money. They aren't really replicated elsewhere. 2fm...not as much.

Also RTE have a public service remit to provide services for everyone. It's not a popularity contest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

I won't knock his ability to present. He's ok I guess but when you retire you should retire.
    Fatboy did the retire bit and then moved to lyric and inflicted his music choice and ramblings on listeners on a Sunday afternoon:)

It is funny how the public didn't rest til SoR and others resigned/retired/? After holfhate but didn't have the guts to call out the rte crowd after the retirement party fiasco.
    Yet Sky insisted kay burley take 6 months off after her slip up.
    Rte doesn't have the ba#ls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Humilde

As long as RTE continue to serve their political masters through the government propaganda and fake news, they wont be going anywhere anytime soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭Darc19

The only gaa that turns a "profit" is the all Ireland finals.

All other games are very costly on the licence payer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

KaneToad wrote: »
    I disagree. I think it's a skilled role. However I don't think those skills can't be got for less than 200k p.a.
    Boards is becoming a haven for this stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Where would you find a nation like that though?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,710 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

I won't knock his ability to present. He's ok I guess but when you retire you should retire.
    Fatboy did the retire bit and then moved to lyric and inflicted his music choice and ramblings on listeners on a Sunday afternoon:)

It is funny how the public didn't rest til SoR and others resigned/retired/? After holfhate but didn't have the guts to call out the rte crowd after the retirement party fiasco.
    Yet Sky insisted kay burley take 6 months off after her slip up.
    Rte doesn't have the ba#ls.

Who is that?
    I seldom listen to Lyric.

I give up...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I'd like to see some slashing and burning happening in RTE and for them to go on strike and for no one to give two f*cks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,051 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

This pandemic led me to watch and listen to RTE, probably for the first time. Generally coverage has been good but I don't get the extraordinary salaries being paid out for Mediocre presentation skills. If anyone wants to see how wrong things are at RTE, playback the last Claire Byrne show last Thursday, it was astonishingly bad stuff, check out the mock up of a dummy getting the vaccine also, a few weeks back.

Also telling is the exodus of main. Presenters since last Monday, anyone would think there's no news. Don't get me wrong, everyone entitled to a holiday but you'd think a national broadcaster paying obscene salaries who expect its, main presenters to be present with major news to be shared, it's shocking.

On the bright side, it is worth commending relief presenters and reporters who've filled in and if anything is obvious, it's the fact we don't actually needed these high profile, highly paid and currently highly invisible presenters.

Meanwhile, Joe Duffy being a plank on his traditionally bland Christmas eve show, Yawn!

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭Viscount Aggro

The 2 orchestras are not value for money. I have seen them live a couple of times. Its elitist crap, average age of audience c. 65 years.

The issue of presenters retiring at 65, then returning as consultants. This has got to stop. We are not fools. I recognise there are talented presenters, but how about giving jobs and opportunities to younger people?

John Blowman is another example - still on the payroll in his seventies.

I read somewhere that rte programme schedule is aimed at the 13% of people who never change the channel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,515 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

In 2009 Marian Finucane was earning 500k for 4 hours work per week, this went down to a paltry 300k for the same hours in 2016...... RTE is built on self delusion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Skyfloater

" Its elitist crap, average age of audience c. 65 years."
    So, let's see if I got this right, all classical music is rubbish and older people don't matter.
    Ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭purifol0

RTE was run into to the ground so hard they had to sell lands and axe children's programming and OMG Lyric FM too before Leo had the tax payer bail them out to the tune of 50M! This was unopposed by FF.

Few weeks later we got an election debate between FG and FF with no one else allowed to partake. SF and others called RTE out on this bull**** - RTEs excuse was that these were the biggest parties and the others were all too small (they never even mentioned all the free money they just got - definitely had nothing to do with it).

Few weeks after that SF got more 1st place votes than ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭RayCon

The other night I was flicking through the channels ... RTE 1's evening schedule was:

7pm - Rory O'Connell (I think that's his name) - Christmas Cooking type thing
    7.30pm - Catherine Flavio - - Christmas Cooking type thing
    8pm - can't remember what was listed
    8.30pm - Nevine Maguire - - Christmas Cooking type thing

FFS :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,681 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

RayCon wrote: »
    The other night I was flicking through the channels ... RTE 1's evening schedule was:

Cheap to make and, believe it or not, popular with viewers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭ethical

Please realise that there are some "untouchables" in Irish Society,its OK 'picking on' SOR but if you look at other such institutions you will soon see that many people "retire" on top of the range pensions and the return to work at the same institutuion and CONTINUE to receive their pension!!.This is rife in ETBs (some of whom are being investigated presently,and about time too!) I know a person,in their 80s,yes eighties who is on a gold plated pension and is back "on the books" again!!!....and yet the same institution cannot pay a sub teacher for 10 weeks!!!! Scandalalous....but no one sees anything wrong with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

The 2 orchestras are not value for money. I have seen them live a couple of times. Its elitist crap, average age of audience c. 65 years.

AFAIR the two orchestras cost 12 million a year to run which is an astonishing sum, in comparison less than 2 million is given to Irish made drama by RTE.. Im not sure where that 12m goes as their performances seem to be largely in the National Concert Hall. I know salaries for musicans are in the 40-60k range but even if you had 100 of them across 2 orchestras on an average of 50k that would only account for 5 million of it.

Regards Sean o'Rourke its pretty amazing that RTE were willing to pay him 200k for a very part time job of an hours broadcasting a week. This is pie in the sky stuff, what other media organisation in the country would have been willing to pay him that? None is the answer so why are RTE throwing money around like theres no tomorrow.

Apart from that O'Rourke must be mighty pissed off he missed out on that 200k per year over the Golfgate incident. It was to be the easiest money of his career and he blew it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I'd like to see some slashing and burning happening in RTE and for them to go on strike and for no one to give two f*cks.

They appear to have increased numbers since Covid broke out or at least have moved about 10 people in to presenting roles.

No where to go due to Covid, but yeah we have repeats of killinascully and Mrs Brown to keep us entertained.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭Mysterypunter

It's unconscionable in my view that the State broadcaster was prepared to bring back a retiree on serious money rather than investing in new talent. I like Sean O'Rourke. He has had his time though, lets move on. There are more than enough capable people out there ready to be given a chance.

It's no surprise that RThas such a stale image with this sort of carry on.

65 is young, Jimmy Magee was about 300 years old and forgetting things, he was good in his day, Jimmy but an ironic ending for a man who was known as the memory man. Ireland had Mary Harney, a minister for health who was obese, a minister for finance Bertie Ahern who had no bank account, so it's not just rte, but it's a ridiculous station, how many times is Daniel o Donnell on the late late show? Nothing new or progressive about that place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

purifol0 wrote: »
    RTE was run into to the ground so hard they had to sell lands and axe children's programming and OMG Lyric FM too before Leo had the tax payer bail them out to the tune of 50M! This was unopposed by FF.

Few weeks later we got an election debate between FG and FF with no one else allowed to partake. SF and others called RTE out on this bull**** - RTEs excuse was that these were the biggest parties and the others were all too small (they never even mentioned all the free money they just got - definitely had nothing to do with it).

Few weeks after that SF got more 1st place votes than ever!

Not an SF fan myself - but point accepted here 100%. It's sick and we pay for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,003 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

To be fair at least those lads have a discernible talent, making them almost unique on the rte schedule. But the point you're making is well taken all the same. How many turkey recipes do we need?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,810 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Do the Allens get the morning cooking shift? :D

How many f ing Xmas recipes do people need, assuming most people eat the Trad Xmas dinner anyhow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Do the Allens get the morning cooking shift? :D

How many f ing Xmas recipes do people need, assuming most people eat the Trad Xmas dinner anyhow?

Rory O Connell is Darina Allen's brother.