Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Parking attendant took a photo of my car with me in it

• 19-12-2020 12:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭

Is a parking attendant in DLR Coco allowed to take a photo of you while you are still in the car. No warning or nothing said, standing right in front of the car at that point he continued to issue the fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Yes, you've no right to privacy in a public place so anyone can take a picture of you at any time when you are in a public place.

What happens after the picture is taken is a different matter but since this is for a valid reason, proving you where parked illegally, they can keep it for as long as necessary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

They’re taking a picture of your lack of parking disc I’d imagine rather than deliberately invading your privacy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Jeditraining1

So what happened in this case was I was moved over on the side of the road to allow other traffic to go by, he then without warning, went to the front of the car and started taking pictures of the car. With me still in it and the car still running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip

So what happened in this case was I was moved over on the side of the road to allow other traffic to go by, he then without warning, went to the front of the car and started taking pictures of the car. With me still in it and the car still running.

Did they put a ticket on your car?

pippip wrote: »
    Did they put a ticket on your car?

No. He told me to expect it in the post.

Thats weird, never heard of a posted parking ticket. Normally they have to put it on the car and photograph it on the car.

Something doesnt sound right with that.

Thats weird, never heard of a posted parking ticket. Normally they have to put it on the car and photograph it on the car.

Something doesnt sound right with that.

What he did was wrong. I was at the side of the road. He came down and put a ticket on the car in front of me (No one in it). Walked past me. Put a ticket on the car behind me. To be clear he said nothing to me. There was a car to my left packing up that's why I was in out if their way.

I moved out but found I was more in the way than anything so I moved back to where I was to let the other car by. Without saying anything he walked up to the front of the car and started taking photos. I asked him to stop as I was still in the car and it was still on. He refused and continued. I asked him for his ID number as I will be making a complaint against him. He continued photographing and making noted.

I rolled back up my window and ignored him still waiting on the other car to move. I rolled back down the window and had a go at him over taking more pictures and asked him for his number again. He gave it to me. Then informed me a fine would be in the post and I again told him I would making a complaint against him. He said no problem and walked off.

Following the argument I was livid and I missed my spot I was waiting for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Whocare

What he did was wrong. I was at the side of the road. He came down and put a ticket on the car in front of me (No one in it). Walked past me. Put a ticket on the car behind me. To be clear he said nothing to me. There was a car to my left packing up that's why I was in out if their way.

I moved out but found I was more in the way than anything so I moved back to where I was to let the other car by. Without saying anything he walked up to the front of the car and started taking photos. I asked him to stop as I was still in the car and it was still on. He refused and continued. I asked him for his ID number as I will be making a complaint against him. He continued photographing and making noted.

I rolled back up my window and ignored him still waiting on the other car to move. I rolled back down the window and had a go at him over taking more pictures and asked him for his number again. He gave it to me. Then informed me a fine would be in the post and I again told him I would making a complaint against him. He said no problem and walked off.

Following the argument I was livid and I missed my spot I was waiting for.
    You was parked without paying that problem plus why would he talk to you he only be opening door to you have argument with him because he doing his job .plus he gave you time to move or pay by ticketing car in front of you and car behind you first .what did you think was going to happen next stripe tease ?

My gut says youll receive nothing. They really need a photo of the ticket on your car to prove you were parked and not just manoeuvring or otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

DLR? They’re a special case. He was probably trying to get his numbers up to win the cnut of the year contest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

I thought a 'Parking Attendant' was a person who assisted people to park.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭un5byh7sqpd2x0

I was thinking this thread would be about lock hards.

parking attendant
    in British English
    (ˈpɑːkɪŋ əˈtɛndənt)
    NOUN
    a person who works for a traffic control agency and who issues tickets for parking violations

https://www.collinsdictionary.com/dictionary/english/parking-attendant

Yep I could have put that better lol... my bad. Just so so pissed off about the whole thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭un5byh7sqpd2x0

parking attendant
    in British English
    (ˈpɑːkɪŋ əˈtɛndənt)
    NOUN
    a person who works for a traffic control agency and who issues tickets for parking violations

https://www.collinsdictionary.com/dictionary/english/parking-attendant

We speak Hiberno English in this country, it’s a bit different. Words are the same, the meaning is often different.

Brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,619 ✭✭✭CoBo55

I'd be lobbing his fcukin fine into the dustbin he can whistle for the money. I'd sooner do a week in mountjoy than pay that power happy cretin.

Peugeot...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭timple23

Should you receive a fine, I would ask them to prove that you parked the vehicle. Definition of parking, involves leaving the vehicle. Which from my reading of this, you did not.

https://www.google.com/search?q=definition+of+parking&oq=definition+of+parking&aqs=chrome..69i57j0l7.4681j1j7&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

timple23 wrote: »
    Should you receive a fine, I would ask them to prove that you parked the vehicle. Definition of parking, involves leaving the vehicle. Which from my reading of this, you did not.

https://www.google.com/search?q=definition+of+parking&oq=definition+of+parking&aqs=chrome..69i57j0l7.4681j1j7&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

Is getting a parking fine actually dependant on you leaving the vehicle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭timple23

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Is getting a parking fine actually dependant on you leaving the vehicle?

They probably would have the loophole closed if they define what they consider parking as. I'm sure someone from a legal background would be more informed. But that is the avenue of appeal I would take if necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,814 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Sounds to me like the OP wasn't going to pay for his parking but saw the lad ticketing cars, thought he'd play it smart by staying in the car and still got caught.

timple23 wrote: »
    They probably would have the loophole closed if they define what they consider parking as. I'm sure someone from a legal background would be more informed. But that is the avenue of appeal I would take if necessary.

Definition of 'park' under the Road Traffic Act, 1961;
    in relation to a vehicle, means keep or leave stationary, and cognate words shall be construed accordingly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭TheW1zard

Witcher wrote: »
    Sounds to me like the OP wasn't going to pay for his parking but saw the lad ticketing cars, thought he'd play it smart by staying in the car and still got caught.

If im sitting in my car in a space whos to say im not going to get out and put money in the machine?

TheW1zard wrote: »
    If im sitting in my car in a space whos to say im not going to get out and put money in the machine?

At the OP's own admission he pulled into the space...an unspecified amount of time later he saw your man ticketing the car in front and then the one behind. Parking warden could have seen him pull in 4 cars before that and when he got down still no ticket.

The parking warden appears to have given him a reasonable amount of time to get a ticket and he didn't bother his arse. I'd say your man sees it 10 times a day. Fair play to him.

We're only getting the OP's side here and it still doesn't look great on him so I imagine the truth would be even less flattering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭Stoolbend

If he took a photo it usually means you are on a footpath, in a disabled space or on double yellows. They don't usually take photos jusr for non payment.

If you rolled down your window and and started spouting off about taking photos of you, you will have just pissed him off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Stoolbend wrote: »
    If he took a photo it usually means you are on a footpath, in a disabled space or on double yellows. They don't usually take photos jusr for non payment.

If you rolled down your window and and started spouting off about taking photos of you, you will have just pissed him off.

He's a traffic warden. He was born pissed off. That's why he applied for the job.

@the wizard. Partly right and I would partly agree however he did not verbalise any warning prior to taking photos, simply started taking photos at the front of the car. Said nothing. If you read citizens infomtsin and Dlr coco page they are supposed to verbalise, he didn't.

My gut says youll receive nothing. They really need a photo of the ticket on your car to prove you were parked and not just manoeuvring or otherwise.

Not anymore. Lots of people have got multiple fines after parking illegally outside Marlay Park over a few days. They just take a photo of the offending vehicle and post it to the owner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Yuser.

Del2005 wrote: »
    Not anymore. Lots of people have got multiple fines after parking illegally outside Marlay Park over a few days. They just take a photo of the offending vehicle and post it to the owner.

How did they run up multiple fines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭Smee_Again

endacl wrote: »
    He's a traffic warden. He was born pissed off. That's why he applied for the job.

I hate this attitude, he’s just doing a job that wouldn’t be needed if people could just park properly.

I’ve been ticketed a few times and each time it was 100% my fault and I’m pretty certain that’s the case here with the OP.

Denigrating a man for a doing an important job says a lot about you.

Stoolbend wrote: »

Yes they do, they take photos of every single ticket they write, and always a photo of ticket on the vehicle.

Yuser. wrote: »
    How did they run up multiple fines

Parking illegally on different days/times. The fine comes in the post so after a weekend they could have a good selection

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Yuser.

Parking illegally on different days/times. The fine comes in the post so after a weekend they could have a good selection

Ok I thought they were maybe tailing the traffic warden and parking beside him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,286 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Great to hear that they've been catching people at Marlay, given the vast amounts of car parking available inside.
    I think you have a fixed grace period of 15 minutes.
    @the wizard. Partly right and I would partly agree however he did not verbalise any warning prior to taking photos, simply started taking photos at the front of the car. Said nothing. If you read citizens infomtsin and Dlr coco page they are supposed to verbalise, he didn't.
    How long were you there for? Could you give links for those web pages you're referencing please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭TheW1zard

If ive to pull over to make a phone call, do i or should i get out and pay for 10mins of parking? I thought parking illegally would only be judged as such if i left the car?
    Even if i sat in it for 30mins for arguments sake?

If ive to pull over to make a phone call, do i or should i get out and pay for 10mins of parking? I thought parking illegally would only be judged as such if i left the car?
    Even if i sat in it for 30mins for arguments sake?

You should really pay for a ticket.

If you choose not to, and see a parking attendant, have the cop on to drive away.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 105 ✭✭Elite Genetics

Smee_Again wrote: »
    I hate this attitude, he’s just doing a job that wouldn’t be needed if people could just park properly.

I’ve been ticketed a few times and each time it was 100% my fault and I’m pretty certain that’s the case here with the OP.

Denigrating a man for a doing an important job says a lot about you.

Yeah, concentration camps also had volunteer guards. If not for the untermensch, there would be no need for them to do this important job. How did society survive before they existed?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 105 ✭✭Elite Genetics

I would have gotten out of the car and ko'd him. Scum never learn otherwise.

Mod note, banned

Another one to unfollow...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭Smee_Again

Yeah, concentration camps also had volunteer guards. If not for the untermensch, there would be no need for them to do this important job. How did society survive before they existed?

Going by your username you probably would have volunteered.

Classy move as well comparing people who park illegally with victims of genocide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,602 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

I would have gotten out of the car and ko'd him. Scum never learn otherwise.

Dam right, you teach that bastard a lesson!