Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Horses on Private Land

• 16-12-2020 12:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭

[Apologies to mods in advance if this is in the wrong place].

Someone has placed about 20 horses on my land without my permission. I don't know who owns them.

Has anyone had experience of this and does anyone know of any practical measures to remove the horses and to stop their owners from putting them back in again?

I understand that the guards and local authorities do not deal with horses on private land.

Any advice would be appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,123 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Someone put a piebald horse on our land before. They left him tied to a metal bar driven into the ground. I pulled up the bar and drove it into the ground next door, where he was originally. That land was owned by a developer at the time. The horse was never brought in again.

Might not help you but if you let them bully you, they will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Buteo Buteo

Thanks for the responses.

I don't think the neighbours put the horses on my land but you can never be sure.

I've had two other suggestions made to me so far: plough and spray the land with herbicide, and let the horses out onto the road outside.

I'm wary of the herbicide being washed into the streams. And I might end up being liable if I let the horses out onto the public road. It would actually be out onto a housing estate road, but a public road nonetheless.

I'm worried about these people claiming squatters' rights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

Thanks for the responses.

I don't think the neighbours put the horses on my land but you can never be sure.

I've had two other suggestions made to me so far: plough and spray the land with herbicide, and let the horses out onto the road outside.

I'm wary of the herbicide being washed into the streams. And I might end up being liable if I let the horses out onto the public road. It would actually be out onto a housing estate road, but a public road nonetheless.

I'm worried about these people claiming squatters' rights.

What’s the land used for at present. I’d be leaving the gate open at least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,123 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Squatters Rights or 'Adverse Possession' requires 12 years of continuous possession. You've no worry in that regard. Get them off ASAP. I know I would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭RandRuns

Get a bit of ply, paint "LANDS POISONED, NO GRAZING" on it, put it on the gate of the field and wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭Dunedin

What’s the land used for at present. I’d be leaving the gate open at least

I’d be very wary of doing that. Could lead to serious crash and maybe fatalities on the road and you don’t want that regardless of the circumstances.

I’d go to the guards in the first instance (maybe mention that you will be opening the gate Saturday morning!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

Could you tie the horse to a tree or pole out in the housing estate and then call the council / gardai ?

Or call them and say that the horse was wandering out on the road and for the safety of everyone, you put him into the field when you found him. Would they come and collect him then?

Take your gate away, though that might cause other problems.
    Or call them and say that the horse was wandering out on the road and for the safety of everyone, you put him into the field when you found him. Would they come and collect him then?
    That would probably be bringing additional responsibility on the OP to mind them, if they said they had taken them in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Is there an animal protection group that you can report them to as abandoned without water?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

You definitely need to contact the guards and Dept ag. I’d want the guards to log the incident if nothing else.

Don’t just turn them out onto the road, your responsible for any damage that happens.

Contact some of the horse rescues, my lovely horse had a campaign online recently on abandoned horses. These are abandoned after all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭valtra2

Ring abp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭valtra2

Ring abp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Ring Martin Collins of Pavee Point and explain your situation to him. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,602 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

washman3 wrote: »
    Ring Martin Collins of Pavee Point and explain your situation to him. ;)

I know this was said in jest but you may have to pay the local haulting site a visit.

Dunedin wrote: »
    I’d be very wary of doing that. Could lead to serious crash and maybe fatalities on the road and you don’t want that regardless of the circumstances.

I’d go to the guards in the first instance (maybe mention that you will be opening the gate Saturday morning!!)

You’ll be told it’s not their problem and contact your solicitor. The kind of person who puts 20 horses on someone else’s land isn’t to bothered with the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

JeffKenna wrote: »
    I know this was said in jest but you may have to pay the local haulting site a visit.

Keep away from them and ring the pound they will sort them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭10pennymixup

Keep away from them and ring the pound they will sort them out.

When I saw your username, I thought you were about to offer your services!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,825 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Do you have a local Tesco?

Given the likely upcoming logistical delays due to Brexit, they might be running out of burgers

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

By law, all horses must be chipped and kept at a registered premises. Don't follow the suggestions that could harm the animals, like letting them out on the road etc. Ring your local ISPCA/ Garda station and get the animals impounded. It's untrue that Gardaí cannot deal with them on private land, the horses are not where they should be , legally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭sailing

If you give Leinster Horse and Pony Rescue a call they should be able to advise you. I'm sure they probably deal with this sort of thing all of the time. As said above all horses legally have to be chipped. The Gardai assist them regularly.

www.leinsterhorseandponyrescue.com

046 9450512

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Red Sheds

I agree with the advice above,

Do not put them out on the road
    Inform the Garda, the Local Animal Pound and Horse Rescue

I would be 100% sure they are not chipped, so as a final thing, I would put the lot on Donedeal, buyers collects.

Thanks to all for the suggestions.

I think putting them out on the road is not a good idea if I end up being liable for them causing an accident or a nuisance.

We've had this problem now for two years and I remember ringing the local authority at the time and them telling me that horses on private land are not their responsibility.

I contacted a private company who gave me an extortionate quote to have the horses removed.

I might give one of the horse charities a ring.

Another problem is that as soon as the horses are removed their owners will just change the locks and put the horses back again. We did this a few years back and this is what happened.

In any event, I would be fearful for my own safety in doing anything on the land without having witnesses with me.

So, if I have them removed this time, I need to think of a strategy to stop them re-entering the land.

Someone suggested putting up signs with "Poison Laid" on them. That might just discourage them. For a while, at least.

The land is under grass and is situated in the midlands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 PMAW

Hi

As its your land what you can do is find a large YEW tree transport it onto your land paint it with molasses...works everytime

MOD NOTE: This suggestion is beyond acceptable! The horses themselves are not responsible for where they are. Suggesting poisoning them with Yew is intolerable.

Do not post on this thread again.

Thanks to all for the suggestions.

I think putting them out on the road is not a good idea if I end up being liable for them causing an accident or a nuisance.

We've had this problem now for two years and I remember ringing the local authority at the time and them telling me that horses on private land are not their responsibility.

I contacted a private company who gave me an extortionate quote to have the horses removed.

I might give one of the horse charities a ring.

Another problem is that as soon as the horses are removed their owners will just change the locks and put the horses back again. We did this a few years back and this is what happened.

In any event, I would be fearful for my own safety in doing anything on the land without having witnesses with me.

So, if I have them removed this time, I need to think of a strategy to stop them re-entering the land.

Someone suggested putting up signs with "Poison Laid" on them. That might just discourage them. For a while, at least.

The land is under grass and is situated in the midlands.

I wouldn’t think it’s legal to use poison so I don’t see the point of putting up the signs. I don’t see how you could be liable they aren’t your animals if they escaped.
    Long term you need someone farming the land to keep this from happening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭hirondelle

By law, all horses must be chipped and kept at a registered premises. Don't follow the suggestions that could harm the animals, like letting them out on the road etc. Ring your local ISPCA/ Garda station and get the animals impounded. It's untrue that Gardaí cannot deal with them on private land, the horses are not where they should be , legally.

The Control of Horses Act (operated normally by an agency/contractor on behalf of the local authority) refers specifically to horses on public land- horses put on private property are not covered by this act so the LA is not in a position to do anything about it, the Guards don't tend to involve themselves until the horses are causing a danger on the roads.

My suggestion to the OP is to put a large chain and lock on the gate (in the expectation that you won't be getting it back intact). They will break it to get the horses out or just break it- but get the message. They need to know they won't be getting on top of you, that you are in control of your land and the situation. Putting the horses out on the road is a non-runner for all sorts of safety reasons, you need to deal, even indirectly, with the owners. Also, report it to the LA and ISPCA on the water/welfare issue- neglect of horses is dealt with separately to them being left on someone's property.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

I wouldn’t think it’s legal to use poison so I don’t see the point of putting up the signs. I don’t see how you could be liable they aren’t your animals if they escaped.
    Long term you need someone farming the land to keep this from happening

Indeed its been illegal for quiet a while now - instead of resorting to unneccesary animal cruelty etc., the OP should find out the owner(s) of the horses and return them via DAFM assistance. DAFM will then deal with the owners under various livestock rules which have been clearly flouted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭chiefwiggum

Padlock the gate and put a huge horses for sale on it..they'll move them quick fast

Just to be clear: I'm not intending putting any poison or herbicide on the land. The point of the "Poison Laid" signs would be as a sort of ruse to discourage the owners of the horses from putting the horses back in as soon as they're removed. It might work for a while, at least.

Padlock the gate and put a huge horses for sale on it..they'll move them quick fast

I’d say the owners know nobody’s going to buy their horses or draw trouble on themselves.

Anyway, I wouldn't be willing to do anything that might be illegal or unethical.

Someone above said that it is now illegal in any case to lay poison on lands. I wonder would that apply to spraying herbicides?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,372 ✭✭✭893bet

Anyway, I wouldn't be willing to do anything that might be illegal or unethical.

Someone above said that it is now illegal in any case to lay poison on lands. I wonder would that apply to spraying herbicides?

Have you the machinery to spray it off yourself? A contractor will also be reluctant to do it as they won’t want to get involved.

They have been in their years? Started with one horse and now there is 20? You have a battle ahead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭NcdJd

I hope when you do get these horses out you'll spend a few quid and secure your land and block up the entrance with some octoblocks or something. You've obviously no interest in farming it.

A bit of consideration for the neighbours and people around the locality and all of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Hypothetically, if they’re unchipped, what’s to stop a landowner having them chipped and registered in their name, and then selling them on?

893bet wrote: »
    Have you the machinery to spray it off yourself? A contractor will also be reluctant to do it as they won’t want to get involved.

They have been in their years? Started with one horse and now there is 20? You have a battle ahead.

And his PCS number ;)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Mod Note:

This may be an appropriate time to bring your attention to part of the Charter:
    Illegal stuff is illegal. It's Boards.ie policy not to discuss illegality and it's definitely not welcome here. Members have been banned over this previously, seriously, save yourself the hassle and leave it out. Farming especially has a very public image and discussion of illegal practices, cruelty, or other activities damaging to the activities discussed in this forum does none of its members any good and is prohibited.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

endacl wrote: »
    Hypothetically, if they’re unchipped, what’s to stop a landowner having them chipped and registered in their name, and then selling them on?

Might not be too good for his health if the previous owners find out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Herbicides can only be used and applied as licenced by the PCS(a wing of the DAFM) for weed control. "Poison Laid" signs date back to the time when it was legal to lay out meat etc. based poison baits for certain animal and bird species(all thankfully banned now for the past 10 years or so). In the case of Herbicides, they must be currently legal and applied with a licenced sprayer (as their PCS licence will state on the container)and any livestock removed during the stated withdrawel period ie. when the land is safe to graze again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭PoorFarmer

Had the local ethnic minority move 3 piebalds into my place just after I bought it. I coaxed them into the a half acre of forestry land next door with a few oats. They were only there a few days and forestry company had them removed. They never again came back

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Herbicides can only be used and applied as licenced by the PCS(a wing of the DAFM) for weed control. "Poison Laid" signs date back to the time when it was legal to lay out meat etc. based poison baits for certain animal and bird species(all thankfully banned now for the past 10 years or so). In the case of Herbicides, they must be currently legal and applied with a licenced sprayer (as their PCS licence will state on the container)and any livestock removed during the stated withdrawel period ie. when the land is safe to graze again.

Thanks for that. It was suggested to me to spray the land once the horses were removed but I would be worried about the herbicide being washed into the stream so I don't think that's an option either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

First thing contact your local County Council's Horse Pound.

The Control of Horses act 1996 - Horses which are strays, causing a nuisance, not under adequate control or posing a threat to persons or property (as defined by Section 37 of the act) details that such horses can be seized and detained.

Make sure to detail how the horses are causing a nuisance to you and others and that the field boundaries where the horses have been dumped are not stockproof and are in danger of straying onto the public road etc

Thanks for that. It was suggested to me to spray the land once the horses were removed but I would be worried about the herbicide being washed into the stream so I don't think that's an option either.

Is there a stream bordering the land?

Spraying off is an option. And a legal one. You are allowed spray once you follow regulations with regards to buffer zones from watercourses, allocating rate and having the spraying course done.

How many acres is there? Have you had any use of the land the last few years in the summer even?

Spraying is grand. But then you need to reseed and they will be back in a few months. Keeping it sprayed off for a few year and they might move on fully. There is prob one of them living in the housing estate though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Aravo

Maybe a nearby farmer might be interested in renting the land for a nominal rate and might move them on or have an idea in that regard. Are these horses owned by a certain element of the community. If the land is not being used by OP, maybe OP should consider selling it or long term lease to a nearby farmer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭cjpm

Wouldn't it be terrible if the gate was robbed...... Sure all you could do is report the theft to the guards.

MOD: Leaving animals onto the road has already been discounted. No more similar suggestions please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭Niallers87

Couldn't you be selling a few away!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

PMAW wrote: »
    Hi

As its your land what you can do is find a large YEW tree transport it onto your land paint it with molasses...works everytime

MOD NOTE: This suggestion is beyond acceptable! The horses themselves are not responsible for where they are. Suggesting poisoning them with Yew is intolerable.

Do not post on this thread again.

What an absolutely scummy suggestion. The poor animal is probably suffering enough neglect and abuse as it is from the culture bosses, not to mind being intentionally poisoned by someone else for the wrongdoing of the the culture boss.

Absolutely unacceptable and horrid thinking that someone would propose poisoning an already suffering animal as a sort of retribution against its owner. No better than the culture bosses themselves.

The fact that you said "works every time" makes me worry about what sort of person you are and what you have done in the past. You should be ashamed of yourself with your attitude and I hope others on the thread will follow suit and express their condemnation of your suggested approach.

cjpm wrote: »
    Wouldn't it be terrible if the gate was robbed...... Sure all you could do is report the theft to the guards.

MOD: Leaving animals onto the road has already been discounted. No more similar suggestions please.

As if they can’t go down the road and rob a gate themselves. Or tie 4 pallets together.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

What an absolutely scummy suggestion.

....I hope others on the thread will follow suit and express their condemnation of your suggested approach.

Let's not feed a troll, eh?

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Alfred123

Op, i had a similar situation a few years ago. A certain breed of horse (6 in all) left by a certain breed of man who didn't give a lick about who owned the properties. Said horses were used for sulky racing.

These horses were placed on 4 adjacent housing sites. Fences were broken down to allow them ramble freely across the sites.

Council were sympathetic but best they could do was send me a printed letter stating 'to whom it may concern that these animals were trespassing and, if not removed by a certain date etc, they would be forcibly moved." Thats worth a try. Laminate the paper and stick it up on the entrance
    They cannot enforce this of course but it was a start.

What I did finally do was go to the Gardai. I didnt mention anything about trespassing. I said these horses were on the roads outside and posed a problem for traffic, people etc - an accident waiting to happen ... that I took them onto my land for safety sakes but had no wish to keep them indefinitely. The owners of course were nowhere to be found.

The Gardai were more sympathetic and helped organize the Pound to come and collect the trespassing horses. This is always done in the dead of night to avoid dramas. Worked a treat.

I could see the frantic sulky owners wondering where the hell their horses had gone next morning

Would cost them €1000 per animal to get them back from the pound

They won't be back in a hurry

Hope this may be able to give you some ideas.

Had this not worked, i was ready to horsebox them and take them several miles away

These people have an infernal cheek and deserve everything thats flung at them.
    End of day, only person can move them is you (and of course the onwers - who have no intention of doing so). You risk them claiming 'adverse possession' after a number of years if you do nothing

Good thing hete was that - the Council letter had been posted at the entrance for a few weeks. The horses were not removed by the deadline given - so the owners deserved their fate

I believe an earlier suggestion about eg poisoning / harming the animals on your property will render you, the owner, liable (as far as I know). Your hands are tied every which way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 PMAW

If a moderator has a problem with the facts so be it.
    Private land is not for the free use of horses belonging to free loading spongers.

Two day forum ban for ignoring mod instructions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Alfred123

PMAW wrote: »
    If a moderator has a problem with the facts so be it.
    Private land is not for the free use of horses belonging to free loading spongers.

PMAW, i think what they have a problem with is that the horses will have to die (in excruciating agony) just because the horses' owner has no respect for people's property.

On reflection, i think you will agree the horses themselves are not breaking any laws ; their owner is