Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Free Bar of Cadbury Chocolate - Cadbury’s Secret Santa

• 09-12-2020 2:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭

This was originally posted by poster ‘WhatwillIwear’ in the Christmas forum and deserves a bigger audience.

https://secretsanta.cadbury.ie/

Cadbury’s are running a Secret Santa service where they will post a bar of your choice (one of 6, they look like the 120g sized bars) in nice packaging to a nominated person of your choice, in the Republic of Ireland only.

Your recipient won’t know who sent it to them, unless you tell them of course.

You sign up on the link above and then join the queue where when you get through, a staff member will be on video link asking you for the address etc of your nominated person and a few questions. You can type your answers in if you don’t have a video/webcam facility.

It took a few refreshes and about 20 minutes in the queue before I got through. It took about 5 minutes (including chat) with the staff member.

Thanks again to the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,455 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

56 min wait to get into the site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭neacy69

The queue is currently full.
    looks like the site is a bit busy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Kuevasss

Thanks, OP!
    After 2 hours in the queue (I was working in my laptop anyway...) and 5 minutes with the staff member, my wife will receive a Cadbury's Chocolate Caramel Bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

Queue is closed apparently, but now they have my email and permission to send me marketing Comms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭aFlabbyPanda

The queue is currently full. :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Just unsubscribe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

vicwatson wrote: »
    Just unsubscribe

I did thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭jdon72

Antares35 wrote: »
    Queue is closed apparently, but now they have my email and permission to send me marketing Comms.

Anyone know when it'll open back up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Kuevasss

jdon72 wrote: »

The Postal Service is open from
    Weds 9th Dec - Tues 15th Dec
    11am-7pm GMT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,189 ✭✭✭dinneenp

I'm in the queue atm, 1 minute estimated waiting time....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭dowtchaboy

The queue is currently full. :-(

You mean.... its choc-a-block? (I'll see myself out....)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭jdon72

The queue is closed again this morning??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭DublinGirl738

The queue is closed again this morning??

Keep refreshing, I was getting the same but then you get lucky and get in. I had a wait time of around 35 minutes when I joined but all done now

Thanks OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Tried there but the queue is full. What the hell are you queuing for, a bloody audition to get a free bar of chocolate or something?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 WoodworkGuy

Is anyone else just constantly stuck being the 100th person in the queue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 563 ✭✭✭thegift06

im stuck on position 8th. Not sure what a refresh will do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭niall5098

all i get is the queue is full and to come back later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,957 ✭✭✭DopeTech

thegift06 wrote: »
    im stuck on position 8th. Not sure what a refresh will do

Can't even get in the queue. Checked twice and both times it's been full. They are probably being hammered out of it with this thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭lasair

same here. apparently it's closed

DopeTech wrote: »
    Can't even get in the queue. Checked twice and both times it's been full. They are probably being hammered out of it with this thread!

looks to be moving again. Now at 7. Glad i didnt refresh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭CFC007

Awful site joined queue few times but haven’t been able to complete the process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Skuxx

Got through no problem, started at around 110 in the Q and got sorted in about 20 minutes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Sam Hain

Tragic.

update: got through, the guy was really nice and we talked for 2-3 minutes about Christmas, good experience and sorta justifies the waiting

Thanks for link OP. Didn’t work for me so I’ll leave it there.

I’m genuinely shocked at what some posters are doing for a free piece of chocolate, are ye that starved / short of money. I’d go as far to say I’m mortified for ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Jaysus. You'd buy the bar for a couple of quid and pop in in the letter box yourself in less time than you'd be in the queue.

I wouldn't be one for stompin' on well-intentioned bargain alerts, but this isn't one. It's nonsense. Some genius in Cadbury's marketing dept convinced themselves they'd just had a good idea, and everybody else ran with it because they looked like they knew what they were doing...

endacl wrote: »
    Jaysus. You'd buy the bar for a couple of quid and pop in in the letter box yourself in less time than you'd be in the queue.

I wouldn't be one for stompin' on well-intentioned bargain alerts, but this isn't one. It's nonsense. Some genius in Cadbury's marketing dept convinced themselves they'd just had a good idea, and everybody else ran with it because they looked like they knew what they were doing...

Free chocolate is free chocolate :D

Also I just left it queuing in another tab while I worked lol it's not like you have to stay there staring at it, they notify you by talking when it's your turn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭iora_rua

endacl wrote: »

Agreed. Wouldn't mind if it was for a bar of really quality chocolate like Lindt or Green & Blacks, but Cadbury's stuff is overly sweet tooth rot. Their Bournville choc is OK, though still too icky sweet - now wonder half the country has diabetes! ::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭GhostyMcGhost

iora_rua wrote: »
    Agreed. Wouldn't mind if it was for a bar of really quality chocolate like Lindt or Green & Blacks, but Cadbury's stuff is overly sweet tooth rot. Their Bournville choc is OK, though still too icky sweet - now wonder half the country has diabetes! ::D

Palm oil infused crap. Lidl/Aldi sell better quality for less

Mayo_fan wrote: »
    Thanks for link OP. Didn’t work for me so I’ll leave it there.

I’m genuinely shocked at what some posters are doing for a free piece of chocolate, are ye that starved / short of money. I’d go as far to say I’m mortified for ye

Im only signing up to send you one, to cheer you up after the game on December 19th.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭Cartman78

Got through there after about a 40 min queue.

Just left the tab open and was working away while waiting.

Nice idea from Cadbury to be fair....it's been such a shyte year so gestures like this (even from global chocolate conglomerates) make things marginally less grim imho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭mikeecho

iora_rua wrote: »

Do you know who makes Green& Black's ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭daheff

i can't understand why this needs to be a queue thing!

surely enter data into a form and thats it??

must be to stop people doing it unless they REALLY want to do it

daheff wrote: »
    i can't understand why this needs to be a queue thing!

surely enter data into a form and thats it??

must be to stop people doing it unless they REALLY want to do it

Me neither and I cant understand why you have to talk to them on a video link, is this an interview to get a free bar of chocolate or something? Can someone who got through clarify, Im half expecting some creepy Santa asking if I was a good boy for the year at this stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭amber2

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Me neither and I cant understand why you have to talk to them on a video link, is this an interview to get a free bar of chocolate or something? Can someone who got through clarify, Im half expecting some creepy Santa asking if I was a good boy for the year at this stage

Got as far as the video link, a girl with Santa hat asked me to click connect then the whole thing started glitching, out in the sticks and the connection is abysmal and the whole lot seized up that’s as far as I got. So I’m not too sure what questions were asked during the interview for the bar lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭JohnGreenFan

I did it yesterday, left the queue running in the background. Refreshed once or twice to get into the queue, started off at about 80th I think and it took approx 20 mins to get to the top of the line.

There's no 'interview' lads, there was a lovely girl on the end of the line, asked who it was for, and the address. You don't even have to turn on your mic or video if you don't want to as there's a chat box you can type it.

Whole thing takes about 2-3 mins and you're done, with a lovely bar of free chocolate posted to whoever you want. I think it's a nice idea and I'd be delighted with a bar of chocolate in the post from a secret Santa :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Irishphotodesk

I would assume the video link is to deter people doing it and to deter people doing it more than once (an element of society wouldn’t think twice about trying to repeat the process - but with their image/video maybe they would think about it and change their mind) I’m sure if it was as simple as give them an email address for marketing and someone gets a free bar of chocolate, people would be creating new email addresses daily/hourly and bars of chocolate would be flying out of the factory.

I’m sure it’s meant to be awkward simply because they would be overloaded with requests, yesterday, I spent 2hrs in the queue to be met with, we’re full, try again another time, today, I spent 40mins trying to get in during one attempt and several minutes at another attempt, both times I was greeted with were full message again, the gesture is nice, but they could face a media backlash if people start complaining online.

amber2 wrote: »
    Got as far as the video link, a girl with Santa hat asked me to click connect then the whole thing started glitching, out in the sticks and the connection is abysmal and the whole lot seized up that’s as far as I got. So I’m not too sure what questions were asked during the interview for the bar lol.

ah right thanks. Will give it another shot tomorrow while Im working away anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Summer2020

I would assume the video link is to deter people doing it and to deter people doing it more than once (an element of society wouldn’t think twice about trying to repeat the process - but with their image/video maybe they would think about it and change their mind) I’m sure if it was as simple as give them an email address for marketing and someone gets a free bar of chocolate, people would be creating new email addresses daily/hourly and bars of chocolate would be flying out of the factory.

I’m sure it’s meant to be awkward simply because they would be overloaded with requests, yesterday, I spent 2hrs in the queue to be met with, we’re full, try again another time, today, I spent 40mins trying to get in during one attempt and several minutes at another attempt, both times I was greeted with were full message again, the gesture is nice, but they could face a media backlash if people start complaining online.

My time is worth a lot more than queuing for 2+ hours for a bar of chocolate. Amazing the lengths people are willing to go for something that can’t cost more than €2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Irishphotodesk

Summer2020 wrote: »
    My time is worth a lot more than queuing for 2+ hours for a bar of chocolate. Amazing the lengths people are willing to go for something that can’t cost more than €2.

As with other posters, you join the queue and it’s no different to having boards open on phone, it’s a webpage, periodically check if it’s moved, in my case, my 2hrs are while the phone was plugged in and charging up, sitting on a countertop.

Your time might be worth a lot more to you, but yet you are happy to spend time on an Internet forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Yet you have time to complain about it on boards

Hopefully the irony isn't lost on you

Back on topic, great bargain thanks OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 MANDY2018

They just ask who you want to gift the bar of chocolate to and why, if a dog could possibly find the package containing chocolate and address. It's just some jolly twenty something year old on the video link. I just did the online chat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Summer2020

El Sueño wrote: »
    Yet you have time to complain about it on boards

Hopefully the irony isn't lost on you

Back on topic, great bargain thanks OP

Grand enjoy your bar of chocolate, you certainly earned it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Grand enjoy your bar of chocolate, you certainly earned it.

Aww thanks <3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭StaticNoise

Queued just there. 3rd in the queue, said 35 minute wait. However, I was connected around two minutes later.
    Quick chat with a happy elf bloke and address given. Only serious question was to confirm if a dog would potentially get access to it.
    Bar popped into the bag then and good to go. Two minutes max.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭py

Thanks very much for posting this. I've got one of the winter wonterland bars sent to my young lad. He'll be receiving a note from our elf on the shelf to say something special is in the post to him before Christmas. All subject to him not being a nightmare. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,177 ✭✭✭✭Caranica

For anyone that's got through, I got into the queue then my camera came on and it said I'm connected to a postal worker but I can only see me (20 minutes later still only me). Should I wait on this tab or do I need to start all over again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭py

Caranica wrote: »
    For anyone that's got through, I got into the queue then my camera came on and it said I'm connected to a postal worker but I can only see me (20 minutes later still only me). Should I wait on this tab or do I need to start all over again?

Wait. Someone will be with you in a few minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭mickey1985

Caranica wrote: »

Wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭Thephantomsmask

Thanks OP. I eventually got through on the queue and had a chat with a nice lady about Christmas and no dogs to eat the package. This will be a little surprise for my partner, I haven't seen him in weeks due to the inter County restrictions.