Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do Irish people take such an interest in US politics?

• 04-11-2020 12:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭

I don't understand why so many people take such interest in this .

I have friends in WhatsApp groups quoting swing states and electoral college this and popular vote that and they know **** all about irish politics or take an interest in anything going on in their own neighbourhood.

They pretend its because it will affect their day to day lives but i feel its just been sexed up for them via the west wing and house of cards. It also makes them feel intellectual to take an interest in it.

I find it all rather perverse. People talking about staying up all night to watch it etc.

They take no interest in the cervical cancer scandal or the children's hospital fiasco for instance. This all feels a little Super Bowl half time show to me... Maybe wed be in better state if we took such an interest in how our own country is run.

Our own Tanaiste was in the "dock" today and there was a young lad attacked with an axe in the head in Dublin in broad daylight. There are more people talking about an election in a different country than those topics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,384 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Ireland is a tiny player on the world stage.

The U.S. sh!ts itself, we all smell it and are left to deal with it.

Simple as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭TRANQUILLO

Birneybau wrote: »
    Ireland is a tiny player on the world stage.

The U.S. sh!ts itself, we all smell it and are left to deal with it.

Simple as that.

Trump being in office didnt affect me in any tangible way for the last 4 years and I worked for an American company.

My mother has been waiting for an operation on the irish public system for over a year however.

Regardless of who wins tomorrow she will still be waiting and there will still be tolls on the m50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Lots of drama. Is there any other nation in the world who's leader makes so many gaffes and still has huge support.

Imagine Meehole talking about grabbing pussy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭-=al=-

It’s like a terrible reality tv show but this time round it’s starring The Comedy King himself. What outrageous things can he possibly come out with next?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

I used to think, oh well they are a foreign country and it does not effect us however we are using American social media, we have been watching their films for years and ideas from there have a big habit of ending up here so I do think it is important to keep an eye on what goes on over there.

oh i don't contest that its not important to an extent but there is a sycophantic element to it with people staying up late to watch it (on a work night) like its the last episode of game of thrones.

if only our citizens took the same interest and turned out to vote for our elections maybe ireland wouldn't be in the shape its in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭John Frank Wilson

Because RTE transmit to the public what's going on in the US every day, especially these days - they want us to talk about Trump, and American politics - which protects and deflects criticism against - our own dear overlords, the people that line their pockets with taxpayer gold. Over to our Washington correspondent?!?

Washington correspondent??

F*** off!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

TRANQUILLO wrote: »
    oh i don't contest that its not important to an extent but there is a sycophantic element to it with people staying up late to watch it (on a work night) like its the last episode of game of thrones.

if only our citizens took the same interest and turned out to vote for our elections maybe ireland wouldn't be in the shape its in.

I get that, there are a few American poster here also but I usually stay up until 2 so will check the results in the morning, they will still have to wait a while for the mail in votes to be fully counted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,454 ✭✭✭NSAman

Shouldn’t Irish people be more interested in what is happening to them, caused by the people they elected?

Instead, most concern themselves with matters 4000 to 7000 miles away.

Irish politicians are allowed to run rampant, little or no accountability, yet they get elected over and over.

I live in the States and don’t have as much interest as many people on these boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,764 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Because RTE transmit to the public what's going on in the US every day, especially these days - they want us to talk about Trump, and American politics - which protects and deflects criticism against - our own dear overlords, the people that line their pockets with taxpayer gold. Over to our Washington correspondent?!?

Washington correspondent??

F*** off!!

If Trump wins you won't see much of it on RTE tomorrow :pac:

NSAman wrote: »
    Shouldn’t Irish people be more interested in what is happening to them, caused by the people they elected?

Instead, most concern themselves with matters 4000 to 7000 miles away.

Irish politicians are allowed to run rampant, little or no accountability, yet they get elected over and over.

I live in the States and don’t have as much interest as many people on these boards.

You have articulated it better than I did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

It's sort of weird but makes sense in a globalised world. Wonder will we be tuning into Chinese elections in 10o years... Oh wait.

Significant foreign direct investment by American multi-nationals for one? They only employ hundreds of thousands of people here. So yes, what happens Stateside has quite an influential bearing on Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭FFVII

Most of what we hear in media here is sh1t we have no interest in.

Forced on us.

If covid wasn't here we'd be wading through the 4th year of bloody brexit.

The murders the other day which i had even less interest in was left fresh air.

Biden/Trump literally makes no difference which of them. Im in my 30s now, i know how it works.

Another thing is Trump wants a weak EU, Biden as president is better for EU and Ireland and worse for the UK

Bidens economics might lead to further contraction in the American economy. Right policies wrong time potentially. We know that what happens in America has a big influence on Ireland

Significant foreign direct investment by American multi-nationals for one? They only employ hundreds of thousands of people here. So yes, what happens Stateside has quite an influential bearing on Ireland.

I don't agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

If Trump wins you won't see much of it on RTE tomorrow :pac:

They have been fairly strong in their support for Trump tonight, I don't see why that would change tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭Ekerot

For one, it helps that most people in Ireland have family connections in the US, between sons, daughters, aunts, etc living there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,984 ✭✭✭Polar101

It's a bit strange - they've got 2 terrible candidates, and one of them will win. In four years, they'll elect a president which won't be either of the current candidates.

The result might affect Ireland, but what I think of the candidates has no bearing on anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,443 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Polar101 wrote:
    The result might affect Ireland, but what I think of the candidates has no bearing on anything.

Billions of dollars have been flooding into here for decades, the dollar being the world reserve currency,,,,, Jesus I could go on......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

Ekerot wrote: »
    For one, it helps that most people in Ireland have family connections in the US, between sons, daughters, aunts, etc living there

But why don't we do the same for the UK elections? Or even NI elections, I don't think we've ever had a live results tracker and the complete top page length of the RTÉ website taken up with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,352 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

I have friends in WhatsApp groups quoting swing states and electoral college this and popular vote that and they know **** all about irish politics or take an interest in anything going on in their own neighbourhood.

They pretend its because it will affect their day to day lives but i feel its just been sexed up for them via the west wing and house of cards. It also makes them feel intellectual to take an interest in it.

I find it all rather perverse. People talking about staying up all night to watch it etc.

They take no interest in the cervical cancer scandal or the children's hospital fiasco for instance. This all feels a little Super Bowl half time show to me... Maybe wed be in better state if we took such an interest in how our own country is run.

Our own Tanaiste was in the "dock" today and there was a young lad attacked with an axe in the head in Dublin in broad daylight. There are more people talking about an election in a different country than those topics.

IMO it's not that they have a huge interest in US politics or disregard politics here at home, it's more likely because of US sensationalism and the live drama that goes with it.

It's like watching a US drama or movie, folks love to be entertained and nothing better than live drama we rarely get bar watching sport.

Trump is libel to say anything, the election is going down to the wire, Americans are going crazy on social media. Form of live entertainment and for the majority, theyll move onto something else next week.

Makes great viewing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭larva

I have the same question about the English Royal family, particularly any major Royal weddings, I know people who would literally take the day off work to watch it, I dont get it? its as about entertaining as watching paint dry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭McHardcore

I agree that the interested is over the top, but I understand why there is an interest in the first place.
    1. America has a large influence in The West and particularly Ireland. Multinnationals and in particular America, are a large proportion of the companies here. Trump has reduced the tax that these companies pay in the US. Biden has vowed to increase it back to the figure that it was. Whether one or the other win would have a large influence on whether these companies continue to stay in Ireland or move back to the US.
    2. Historically, America has a had an influence on Irish politics. Some have argued that the UK Government would not have come to the negation table that led to the Good Friday agreement if it were not for pressure from the US. John Hume traveled to the US to push the American government to get more involved for this very reason. The US is a co-signature on the agreement. This is becoming important now again as Biden has said that he would not commit to trade negotiations with the UK unless they honored the GFA.
    3. Culturally, America has a massive influence on Ireland. How many of us have grown up listening to American bands or watch american films and TV shows?
    4. America is (was?) seen as the leader of the Western world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,041 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

• Mostly because it's such a bizarre circus filled with freaks of all kinds that has a certain fascination, even for people who wouldn't know what GOP meant.
    • It also has to do with people absorbing far too much interwebs, where this freak show is pumped 24/7.
    • There are some who just pick a "team" and will bleat about that "team" "winning", for some kind of self validation of sorts. The "I was right" crowd.
    • There are some who are just interested in US politics (for what's worth, which isn't much)
    • Lastly, there are a few who are genuinely interested in the politics of most nations and will take at least a glance at what's going on, no matter what country is involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭belfe

Trump being in office didnt affect me in any tangible way for the last 4 years and I worked for an American company.

I wouldn't be so sure. Companies won't talk openly about it, but they do their risk analysis. With Trump in office is more likely that they focus their business on the US, or even on the UK (that Trump is using against EU). If a company wants to develop a new product, increase the workforce or whatever, they can choose Ireland if Biden is president and US if not.

Also, with Donald Trump as president, if your company has business with China, you're in high risk that China retaliates against your company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭ArrBee

I think it is mostly to do with the number of irish migrants in america that there is a special interest and bond towards america.
    people here seem particularly interested if an american president has irish roots and what that might mean for the relationship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,697 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Totally agree, I started a thread asking if any Irish person could give me an example of how their life was affected negatively by Trump being the President.

Not one concrete example. Your life will be unchanged if he gets in again, don't stress too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,380 ✭✭✭timmyntc

Irish people will bemoan Trump for all his failings, but won't even do the same for Irish govt's past & present!

A foreign president who has little actual impact here, gets held to account more than our own domestic govt! It's bizarre.
    Just goes to show how much people consume American media and get told what to think basically - they regurgitate American media talking points.

My mother has been waiting for an operation on the irish public system for over a year however.

Regardless of who wins tomorrow she will still be waiting and there will still be tolls on the m50.

Unregulated US subprime practices crashed the world economy not too long ago.
    We had a double whammy of a property bubble, but the entire world felt that shock.

American foreign policy affects markets around the world.
    Their stirring and interference in Middle East causes social ripples for decades.

To think that US politics does not affect Ireland, on a macro scale, is blinkered (at best)

Unregulated US subprime practices crashed the world economy not too long ago.
    We had a double whammy of a property bubble, but the entire world felt that shock.

American foreign policy affects markets around the world.
    Their stirring and interference in Middle East causes social ripples for decades.

To think that US politics does not affect Ireland, on a macro scale, is blinkered (at best)

It's always been like that then, not just when Trump was at the helm.

So the much loved Obama didn't get involved in middle eastern politics ?

Get real, the US has been sticking it's nose in world politics for many decades, long before Trump got in. He didn't do a worse job than many presidents before him.

Maybe you want to give us all an example of how trump bring in charge this last 4 years negatively affected your life.

NIMAN wrote: »

So the much loved Obama didn't get involved in middle eastern politics ?

Get real, the US has been sticking it's nose in world politics for many decades, long before Trump got in. He didn't do a worse job than many presidents before him.

Maybe you want to give us all an example of how trump bring in charge this last 4 years negatively affected your life.

That's not the point, the point is why we're interested in their politics.
    Everything they do (either side) will have global repercussions, and as a small open economy we will feel the effects more than others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭dixiefly

To be honest I dont think it is one or the other. I personally follow Irish Politics - especially at elections and most people I know would hold an interest but, I would agree that the intensity of interest on this particular US election has gone up a notch.

Off the top of my head here are some of the reasons I was very interested in the outcome in no particular order.

1. U.S. multinationals in Ireland - I used to work in one and myu daughter currently works in one - so pulling them as DTb wants will impact jobs include possibly my family.

2. Effect of the above on Irish exchequer at such a delicate time economically.

3. Influence of DT on the UK and Brexit - he has promised a trade deal if they get a hard Brexit - may not happen as it is not all in his remit.

4. The Environment - his attitude toward the environment and climate change is shocking. Now Donald Trump did not start or cause global warming but his attitude and approach to the issue is so appalling it is really scary. Whatever small chance there is of reversing climate change it goes with him being elected.

That is in addition to the general approach, the untruths, the divisions. Of course these all wont be fixed by Joe Biden - a weak candidate at this stage of his life.

I work for a multnational too.

We often hear about how these companies are all going to up and leave.

He said he was going to get American companies back to the US. Afaik he cut the coporate tax rate in the US.
    Name all the US multinationals, or companies for that matter, that have left Ireland in the last 4 years to go back to the US? Name me one even.

The bottom line in all this is that the media tell us Trump is bad and the masses listen to what they are told. It's a bit like all the Brits who when asked on the radio why they voted for Brexit couldn't give a coherent answer. Listen back to them all on YouTube, James O'Brien on LBC is the host. For me Trump is exactly the same. If you hear an Irish person say he's this or that, ask them to tell you how he has affected them. You'll not get one sensible answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

The best pantomime you'll see this year.

🙈🙉🙊

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

I was only thinking about the same. People who couldn't give a flying fvck about the state of the nation. As long as they have their cushty existence. Suddenly get roiled up and start referencing primaries and polling.

Great to have an extra curricular activity. I agree with posters that it does have a significant bearing on us here due to trade and investment etc but I don't devote any time to it. Reason being is there is nothing you can do about it. People follow it and comment on for the same reasons they do with everything else. It makes them feel important.

Everyone is now in their social media bubble and the outside is getting quieter and quieter while the outside fades out.

Trump is able to win because they effectively exploit people's preconceptions etc. Thousands of different ads blaming thousands of different issues as to why they are less fortunate than they should be in their honest opinion.

TBH the democrats are probably at the same now. Our politics is getting far more fractious also. Anytime someone brings up a political subject now I cringe and refrain because I don't know what bat**** crazy stuff that they've read on their feed or if what I've read is real. Best not to get involved. Scary times ahead here and there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

It's not just an Irish thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭dixiefly

He said he was going to get American companies back to the US. Afaik he cut the coporate tax rate in the US.
    Name all the US multinationals, or companies for that matter, that have left Ireland in the last 4 years to go back to the US? Name me one even.

The bottom line in all this is that the media tell us Trump is bad and the masses listen to what they are told. It's a bit like all the Brits who when asked on the radio why they voted for Brexit couldn't give a coherent answer. Listen back to them all on YouTube, James O'Brien on LBC is the host. For me Trump is exactly the same. If you hear an Irish person say he's this or that, ask them to tell you how he has affected them. You'll not get one sensible answer.

Not all will pull out of course but he has named Ireland in his speeches - of course there are so many factors impacting the multinationals so, as you say, it may not be the only issue.

However, if Trump got back in he would have even more free reign than the first four years and I would be pretty scared as to what he would come up with in the next four years.

His attitude / approach to the environment and his behaviour are probably the biggest issues for me.

Absolutely nobody has ever claimed otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,818 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Padre_Pio wrote: »
    Lots of drama. Is there any other nation in the world who's leader makes so many gaffes and still has huge support.

Imagine Meehole talking about grabbing pussy.

The last 4 years have been a live-action South Park episode.

The Multi's aren't going anywhere. That's all just fearmongering baloney. They're here because our tax regime allows them to pay buttons, and that's only when it's enforced. When it's not and the EU starts to complain, our govt. will even go over there and say "sure that's all grand."

The American corps are based outside of America for one reason and one reason only. It's cheaper. I'm old enough to remember the start of this "outsourcing" nonsense and recall numerous American companies taking advantage of cheaper production areas and the impacts it had on people over there (and here too in the naughties).

So, the ONLY way Trump can live up to his bull**** of bring US companies back to US soil is to offer an extremely low tax rate and that's not going to happen. Lower wages, too, will have to be enforced if they want to entice outsourcing back to their shores and that isn't going to happen either.

Tony EH wrote: »
    The Multi's aren't going anywhere. That's all just fearmongering baloney. They're here because our tax regime allows them to pay buttons, and that's only when it's enforced. When it's not and the EU starts to complain, our govt. will even go over there and say "sure that's all grand."

The American corps are based outside of America for one reason and one reason only. It's cheaper. I'm old enough to remember the start of this "outsourcing" nonsense and recall numerous American companies taking advantage of cheaper production areas and the impacts it had on people over there (and here too in the naughties).

So, the ONLY way Trump can live up to his bull**** of bring US companies back to US soil is to offer an extremely low tax rate and that's not going to happen. Lower wages, too, will have to be enforced if they want to entice outsourcing back to their shores and that isn't going to happen either.

They're so intertwined in the global economy by this point that moving back is unfathomable. It be like McDonald's moving back. They're here for more markets. I think we view ourselves as too Irish when assessing why American firms are here. To them, we're Europe and that's not a bad thing. The only distinction is our tax rate. Now that they're here, what incentive would they have to leave?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,947 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

My thick as p1gsh1t gobsh1te neighbour (mid 50s) has been flooding the neighbour hood whatsapp group the last few weeks with links and talk of electoral college voting, polls up polls down , swing state this, national polls that.

Providing his own comments as if he was a cnn anchor or something

Same fella wouldn’t even know who his local TDs are or care !

It really does have some effect on the gobsh1tes of Ireland

I can understand the interest but not the oppressive interest, I have a quick look at BBC news 24 to see what is happening even now and then because I am home.

To me it's a bit like watching an Ireland v England rugby or football match or even a lot of sports, it's the game and competitivity element that attracts a lot of people.

There are some obsessive boarding on creepy Trump supporter on here that I don't understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭Ekerot

GarIT wrote: »
    But why don't we do the same for the UK elections? Or even NI elections, I don't think we've ever had a live results tracker and the complete top page length of the RTwebsite taken up with that.

I think it's because it's been amplified by Trump's unusual (and sometimes hilarious) reign, the obvious division between Americans (even within the usual Democrat voters) over how to deal with COVID and the BLM movement, the split within the Democratic Party over people who want to take it further to the left and others who recoil at the thought etc

I don't think there's been a day where I haven't heard about Trump antics from my father or a friend, or over the radio or on TV when I least expect it, like Mike Myers from Halloween being around the corner with a chiseled knife to stab me with.

As I'm typing this Biden has past the amount of votes Obama got in his 2008 election, the HIGHEST count in the popular vote in modern times, and even then he had a 10 million lead on McCain (Trump isn't much further away from passing it too)
    That's nearly 70+ million votes for Biden, a man who crashed and burned in previous two attempts to get elected, and that the fact Trump isn't much further away shows you how important this election is to most Americans.

Compare/Contrast the UK GE 2019, in which, despite the issue of Brexit lurking in the background, it became obvious the Conservatives would win a landslide victory early on after the first few exit polls came out. It helped them that their competition was VERY lackluster to the average Brexit voter.

Corbyn danced around the issue and couldn't give a clear answer on how he would handle it if he became PM, the Lib Dems who went and offed themselves at the polls by saying (truly bizarre now in hindsight) that they wouldn't follow through on the results of the Brexit referendum if they held a majority government, and the SNP, who want out of the UK and back into Europe as their own country anyway, didn't face off with Torys in much of their constituencies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,421 ✭✭✭✭rob316

In BnQ yesterday the young fella behind the counter says to me "will the nightmare be over tomorrow morning?" I says "Covid?"
    "No the battle of good and evil, the american election"

"I couldn't give a **** lad, I'll wake up tomorrow with the same problems, he was entertaining though at least" I said.

Looked shocked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,454 ✭✭✭NSAman

The problem with many people in Ireland is that they believe CNN too much. America is a complex place. Even living here, you can judge some of what is going on, but not it all. People are of all persuasions and belief systems here.

I have yet to see any news agency that doesn’t have a “slant” on their reporting. Some of what I read from Irish “journalists” is downright BS. It’s like someone who has never set foot in the states. Despite all the polls it was obvious Trump was going to win in 2016. This time around, it was literally 50/50. It was a strange run up to elections here.

The only thing I can say with certainty is that America is far from a safe place currently. There is an air of fear in the air.

Will this affect Irish people? Probably not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Turquoise Hexagon Sun

Well, now you've figured out that huge reason most
    people watch news and current affairs is entertainment, be it home or abroad (imo). They want to feel something. They say its because they want to be informed. But a large percentage or news, current affairs and politics has no direct affect on anyone or a lot of it doesnt apply to them at any given time, but they still watch. Same like all news tragedies dont affect a majority who watch it.

Car crash here. Hatchet to the head there. This politician said this one week. That politican said that. You feel a bit of mild outrage at this. Little outrage there. You have a little whinge on Twitter about the state or X. Then you have a **** and go asleep. Most news doesnt affect most people.

Up early for work and its another day and you've never really done **** all. Its just chewing gum for the mind. People follow news and politics but it doesnt really inform their day to day decision making process.

Most of it all is outside their circle of influence.

Some guy getting a hatchet to the head is reality porn. Its affects absolutely nobody else except the guy who got his head bashed. Many of these crimes will go unreported. And certainly these crimes were happening before its just now everyone has a camera on them. That story wouldn't have made the news had their not been a sexy video to with it.

I cut down and stopped filling my head with inane news content. Its bleak and most of it outside my influence. Better off using my time for more worthy pursuits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,443 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Well, now you've figured out that huge reason most people watch news and current affairs is entertainment, be it home or abroad (imo). They want to feel something. They say its because they want to be informed. But a large percentage or news, current affairs and politics has no direct affect on anyone or a lot of it doesnt apply to them at any given time, but they still watch. Same like all news tragedies dont affect a majority who watch it.

So we inform ourselves, just for the Craic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭derfderf

You're only asking that because the last four years have numbed the shock that Donald Trump is actually the leader of the most powerful nation on earth.
    If it was the plot of a TV show it would be considered too far fetched.