Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shooting season suspended due to lockdown?

• Registered Users Posts: 426 ✭✭hiddenmongoose

garrettod wrote: »

We, on the other hand.....

We on the other hand squabble among ourselves, have more organizations (who throw each other and ourselves under the bus at every chance there is to grab some power or money)and alphabet groups than you can count and never support each other.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭tudderone

We on the other hand squabble among ourselves, have more organizations (who throw each other and ourselves under the bus at every chance there is to grab some power or money)and alphabet groups than you can count and never support each other.

In fairness with all things game shooting, this is a job for the NARGC.

garrettod wrote: »
    Folks,

For those of you referring to the GAA, you need to remember one thing :

The GAA are well organised, stand united, and quickly remind the politicans of their influence, when they need to.

We, on the other hand.....

Maybe we need to make another group then? A bit like the NRA in the US except with a more Irish name... How about the Irish Rifle Association? Then we would call ourselves the IR... Actually never mind lads, carry on :D

tudderone wrote: »
    In fairness with all things game shooting, this is a job for the NARGC.

Agreed. And credit to them they seem to be doing whatever they can for their members. Getting legal opinion on Saturday, radio interviews and preparing for high court next week if things don't change.

I'd love to see that dozy dollop Ryan getting a grilling in court.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,772 ✭✭✭meathstevie

In todays paper, there is an un-named FG td complaining that this game shooting ban was the brain-child of the greens, which seems likely. The rural blueshirts are getting it in the neck.

Have you a link ? I would love to read it.

If that’s the case then it’s blatant abuse of process and abuse of the Gardai who were being trotted out as lightning deflector for their back room political games. It would be beyond scandalous to abuse the most serious social, medical and economical emergency in decades to further their own petty agenda.

Have you a link ? I would love to read it.

If that’s the case then it’s blatant abuse of process and abuse of the Gardai who were being trotted out as lightning deflector for their back room political games. It would be beyond scandalous to abuse the most serious social, medical and economical emergency in decades to further their own petty agenda.

Sorry i don't have a link, but i can quote if it doesn't break the rules.

Fine gaels Tim Lombard warning "There is a need for common sense. Anyone who lives in rural Ireland knows that shooting is one of the least likely places that the virus would exist or spread"

Independent TD Carol Nolan said that the ban was yet another example of how Green ministers are "Out of touch". She also noted she had been contacted by "a significant number of gun club members, who are firmly convinced that the green party are using the virus restrictions to effectively destroy their capacity to exist"

One Fine Gael TD said "Once again we are cleaning up after the greens. They are only happy when they are at war with rural Ireland". He then added "Its typical Eamon Ryan. He wants to fill the country with wolves, But fellows cannot go out to shoot a couple of pheasants"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,527 ✭✭✭Vizzy

NARGC STATEMENT – 2.11.’20
    PROHIBITION ON GAME HUNTING
    November 1st has come and gone, and we hope that tempers have eased somewhat. Despite this, the task of having our game hunting restored remains a challenge to which we are as determined as ever, and we are absolutely focussed on the job in hand.
    During today, we wrote once again to An Taoiseach, the Minister for Justice, the Minister for Health, the Garda Commissioner and a number of his key staff in the Firearms Policy Unit and, in addition, to every TD and Senator who forms part of our Oireachtas – in all some 222 contacts. In all cases we detailed to them our deeply held views and also copied them with the advice of our Senior Counsel who unequivocally states that An Garda Siochana and whatever Government Dept. they take advice from – HAVE GOT IT WRONG !
    In addition, our National Chairman spoke on Morning Ireland radio just before 8.30 a.m. and he again spoke on Shannonside/Northern Sound Radio at approx. 9.30 a.m. and later then Ciaran Mullooley from RTE1 Television filmed our Chairman and Members at Streete Gun Club (Co. Longford). This was aired on Six One News today. All of this PR work further generates an awareness of the fact that the NARGC profoundly disagrees with the Government assessment of law (S.I. 448 of 2020) as promulgated to the public on the Garda website and which was communicated to front-line Gardai. Put simply, once again, the NARGC submits that this assessment of law is wrong and does not reflect what rough shooting is about in rural Ireland.
    We understand that a number of TD’s - who have expressed their incredulity at the current impasse - hope to formally raise this matter in Dáil Eireann tomorrow (Tuesday 3.11.’20) and if Government does not see sense, then the matter of Injunctive relief from the High Court would seem to be the next available approach. We are however giving Government every opportunity to remedy this situation.
    Dan Curley
    National Chairman
    NARGC

Sorry i don't have a link, but i can quote if it doesn't break the rules.

Fine gaels Tim Lombard warning "There is a need for common sense. Anyone who lives in rural Ireland knows that shooting is one of the least likely places that the virus would exist or spread"

Independent TD Carol Nolan said that the ban was yet another example of how Green ministers are "Out of touch". She also noted she had been contacted by "a significant number of gun club members, who are firmly convinced that the green party are using the virus restrictions to effectively destroy their capacity to exist"

One Fine Gael TD said "Once again we are cleaning up after the greens. They are only happy when they are at war with rural Ireland". He then added "Its typical Eamon Ryan. He wants to fill the country with wolves, But fellows cannot go out to shoot a couple of pheasants"

When I heard about this last week I got it on good information that this was "stirred up" by a Green Minister ( no prizes for guessing) a FG TD and a guy in the NPWS.
    Ironically, we have a fairly vehement Green Party member in our gunclub. He's not one bit impressed with the situation.

Vizzy wrote: »
    When I heard about this last week I got it on good information that this was "stirred up" by a Green Minister ( no prizes for guessing) a FG TD and a guy in the NPWS.
    Ironically, we have a fairly vehement Green Party member in our gunclub. He's not one bit impressed with the situation.

The bit you mention about the green in the gun club. I think myself we are heading for climate disaster for sure and I'd love a good green party to support but they are so unreasonable in their approach. I was reading a thread here from 2007/8 and the greens were pretty much trying to ban target pistols because of gangland crime. Ridiculous stuff. Then I was reading on their website that they believe a Christchurch mass shooting can happen in Ireland if we don't stop allowing 14 year olds from shooting while under supervision. They are brainwashed idealogues that do more harm to environmental issues than help because no one takes them seriously anymore. The leftist anti-gun at all costs agenda is unfortunately part of the green ideology.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

Vizzy wrote: »

Maybe we should all join the Green Party. We’re basically the same, we love the outdoors, the environment, conservation and the wildlife... except we eat the wildlife.

The bit you mention about the green in the gun club. I think myself we are heading for climate disaster for sure and I'd love a good green party to support but they are so unreasonable in their approach. I was reading a thread here from 2007/8 and the greens were pretty much trying to ban target pistols because of gangland crime. Ridiculous stuff. Then I was reading on their website that they believe a Christchurch mass shooting can happen in Ireland if we don't stop allowing 14 year olds from shooting while under supervision. They are brainwashed idealogues that do more harm to environmental issues than help because no one takes them seriously anymore. The leftist anti-gun at all costs agenda is unfortunately part of the green ideology.

Did you see the news tonight from Vienna ? The EU has being banning anything not nailed down, hasn't really worked out has it ? Criminals don't care about the law.

I haven't actually. Just reading it now. Terrible stuff. And like you say, coming after us won't stop the criminals/terrorists. We are the easy targets. Gives the ignorant masses the illusion that something is being done. Because it's the guns that are evil or something.

Maybe we should all join the Green Party. We’re basically the same, we love the outdoors, the environment, conservation and the wildlife... except we eat the wildlife.

This guy eats wildlife as well, in fact he probably hunts more than most of the club members.
    I rang him today to bend his ear about his party and I had to cut the conversation short as I thought he was going to get a heart attack cos he was so angry for missing the shooting yesterday.

You have to be a vegan, sandal wearer, and live in a very upmarket suburb of Dublin. Mount merrion, blackrock or clontarf would do.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭Half-cocked

You have to be a vegan, sandal wearer, and live in a very upmarket suburb of Dublin. Mount merrion, blackrock or clontarf would do.

The Green party is apparently very democratic compared to other political parties. So why don't the NARGC and other shooting organizations encourage all their members to join up? Put all the above mentioned types into a minority within their own party? Get hunting off the agenda and concentrate on the real issues like losing our natural environment? Sounds like wishful thinking, but if antis can take over an organization (the RSPB in the UK), why can't pro-hunting groups take over an organization too?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭zerosugarbuzz

The Green party is apparently very democratic compared to other political parties. So why don't the NARGC and other shooting organizations encourage all their members to join up? Put all the above mentioned types into a minority within their own party? Get hunting off the agenda and concentrate on the real issues like losing our natural environment? Sounds like wishful thinking, but if antis can take over an organization (the RSPB in the UK), why can't pro-hunting groups take over an organization too?

Great idea, lease get rid of the cycle lanes while you’re in there.

Actually not a bad idea. Reading here that the Greens have nearly 3,000 members. The NARGC alone have 24,000 plus members. 13% of NARGC members would be enough to take over. Eamon Ryan won the leadership by just 48 votes and the party is having some internal turmoil recently too.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Actually not a bad idea. Reading here that the Greens have nearly 3,000 members. The NARGC alone have 24,000 plus members. 13% of NARGC members would be enough to take over. Eamon Ryan won the leadership by just 48 votes and the party is having some internal turmoil recently too.

You'll find that most political parties will have internal voting rules etc. to stop such a coup taking place.

BattleCorp wrote: »
    You'll find that most political parties will have internal voting rules etc. to stop such a coup taking place.

Its the beer halle putsch option so lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

Its the beer halle putsch option so lads.

I'd probably just end up on the beer!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,772 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Feisar wrote: »
    I'd probably just end up on the beer!

I sincerely hope so because that stunt in Munich wasn’t something I’d like to see emulated.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

I sincerely hope so because that stunt in Munich wasn’t something I’d like to see emulated.

... and when we've taken over the Green Party and the government we can send all the cyclists to concentration camps... :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,855 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

This is one of the best things I've read on here, an absolutely fantastic idea.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

The greens will be like labour were years ago after the crash and bailout and all that, decimated at the polls.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,956 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

I espoused this idea MONTHS ago here before the elections in Feb and it was poo-poohed as being too ....[Add your excuse here].... And not just here, but by other minority parties looking to get a toehold in the political system. That was a golden opportunity for us as the Greens were weak and out of govt and looking for members and candidates. What could have been a massive political gain for us to be able to influence a lot of things with a quick thrust,is gone. :(:mad:

This will now be a long term and hard project to do,as they are now in power and will be for the foreseeable future with a now established cadre and system..And not really to be discussed on a public forum if anyone is interested in going further with this...

Can we start thinking out of the box and beyond our noses and short term gains and tribal politics if we ever want to advance here and keep shooting alive in Ireland?

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

BattleCorp wrote: »

Are you going to tell them you are a member of the NARGC or a gun owner? Does it say you have to disclose any such interests? And so what they can't discriminate on your beliefs or the like.

Yeah, it is a long term project but to use the Beer Hall Putsch analogy, which is an utterly wrong one. As it was Hitler's plan to seize power by force of arms.

In this case, being a disease would be a better description. You infiltrate and clone yourself like a healthy green cell and then set to work changing things, soon to be joined by many more field sport cancer cells until you have infiltrated the host's body,until you outnumber the greens themselves.

The Green cure would be worse than the disease. They would have to purge their new membership.There goes party contributions and finances,and a whole slew of lawsuits for discrimination or unfair dismissals.even if successful for the GP to purge themselves,it would have devastating consequences on moral, finances and creditability as a political party. Their only choice would be to start another green minoriy party...
    Played right,it is a doomsday device for the GP...BUT it is a long term plan and not one that is a quick fix ,and needs dedication and a lot of deprogramming of those who go into it along with a serious amount of hot showers to clean the slime off associationg with the sandal wearing beardie and haltosis brigade.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 7,855 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Are you going to tell them you are a member of the NARGC or a gun owner? Does it say you have to disclose any such interests? And so what they can't discriminate on your beliefs or the like.

Yeah, it is a long term project but to use the Beer Hall Putsch analogy, which is an utterly wrong one. As it was Hitler's plan to seize power by force of arms.

In this case, being a disease would be a better description. You infiltrate and clone yourself like a healthy green cell and then set to work changing things, soon to be joined by many more field sport cancer cells until you have infiltrated the host's body,until you outnumber the greens themselves.

The Green cure would be worse than the disease. They would have to purge their new membership.There goes party contributions and finances,and a whole slew of lawsuits for discrimination or unfair dismissals.even if successful for the GP to purge themselves,it would have devastating consequences on moral, finances and creditability as a political party. Their only choice would be to start another green minoriy party...
    Played right,it is a doomsday device for the GP...BUT it is a long term plan and not one that is a quick fix ,and needs dedication and a lot of deprogramming of those who go into it along with a serious amount of hot showers to clean the slime off associationg with the sandal wearing beardie and haltosis brigade.

Jesus Grizzy, you don't half go on sometimes.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

... and when we've taken over the Green Party and the government we can send all the cyclists to concentration camps... :eek:

Why waste such a valuable resource??
    Put them all on stationary bikes wired up to generators, with a VR screen depicting a road race which they have to win, because if like in the movie "Speed" they drop below a certain RPM they get an electric shock in the ass from their saddle. They can have a good 5-hour cycle, doing something useful away from the roads blocking traffic,by providing Green energy.We have then fit world-class cyclists who'll win bike races giving us international prestige and a cleaner environment...Wins all round.:D:D:D

Jesus Grizzy, you don't half go on sometimes.

In the words of Stirling Archer.."I'm not arguing I'm explaining why I'm right!":D
    Blame the Jesuits in Limerick for educating me like this.:D:D