Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Down Royal Saturday

• 30-10-2020 8:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭leko99

After a few shocks yesterday will it be the same today?!?!?

Quilixios 8/13
    Ballyadam 4/11
    Samcro Evens
    Sir Gerhard 1/4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Coneygree

Have Ballyadam and Sir Gerhard backed AP so hoping for good showings.

Samcro opened up second favourite but obviously there's big support.

Loving the support for Vinndication too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭supremenovice

I missed the 5/1 earlier this week on Vinndication. Seems to go well fresh but Cyrname should be different class.
    Tout est Permis is the big bet. As I mentioned in the 'Jumpers' thread, Noel Meade is expecting a big run after seeing him work earlier this week. Delta Work probably won't be wound up for this and Presenting Percy, well Elliott is talking Grand National so no way he will want him winning this. Chris Dream is a good handicapper. The Storyteller is match fit so could be a threat but Noel Meade has won 3 of the last 6 runnings so 16/1 each way is great value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭gazza1

Cyrname 3m on left handed track.......no thanks.
    I've gone for Sam Spinner
    And will try Noel Kelly's Decor Irlandais in the 2.45
    GL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭RivetingRoger

Percy Samcro Double
    3 chevely shorties plus vindication Acca

Anyone backing delta work will be disappointed
    Tomorrow is not his day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Percy Samcro Double
    3 chevely shorties plus vindication Acca

Anyone backing delta work will be disappointed
    Tomorrow is not his day

Big fan of Delta but Chris's Dream tomorrow I'd say. Be interesting to see Percy after the switch.

gazza1 wrote: »
    And will try Noel Kelly's Decor Irlandais in the 2.45
    GL

Great minds, he's one of my tracker horses! 8/1 looks very big.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

How is Vinndication favourite in the Charlie hall tomorrow. I had originally planned to lay Cyrname thinking he'd be between 4/5 and 5/4 but he's 11/4 and looks to be getting bigger. Having wanted to lay him I'm now going to back him.
    The price is an insult.

Big fan of Delta but Chris's Dream tomorrow I'd say. Be interesting to see Percy after the switch.

Going to be a cracking race. More I look at it the more it's a no bet race.

How is Vinndication favourite in the Charlie hall tomorrow. I had originally planned to lay Cyrname thinking he'd be between 4/5 and 5/4 but he's 11/4 and looks to be getting bigger. Having wanted to lay him I'm now going to back him.
    The price is an insult.

Left handed
    3m
    Soft ground

None suit Cyrname (we think)
    That's why

Not saying he won't win, but that's why

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Great minds, he's one of my tracker horses! 8/1 looks very big.

What's he in the tracker for? What did you see!?

As Ger Loughnane famously said in 1995
    Percy is going to do it
    He is going to do it

The road to Vinndication being a player in the Gold Cup starts tomorrow ;) It would be great if he beat that pox of a thing.

Slattsy wrote: »
    What's he in the tracker for? What did you see!?

He's been in it since 17th December 2019 when he cantered home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭Plasandrunt

Singles on Chris's Dream and Vinndication.

Reverse f/c on Samcro and Sizing Pottsie.

Should be a great days racing. Can't wait.

Left handed
    3m
    Soft ground

None suit Cyrname (we think)
    That's why

Not saying he won't win, but that's why

Is there heavy rain due? Ground looked beautiful today. Will suit him perfect. Going left handed is a possible issue as his improvement coincided with his running right handed but I suspect hell handle left handed no problem looking at this last few runs.
    He's a stone clear. There is no way Vindication should be shorter. He was beaten off 159 on his last run. Definitely red for example pissed up off 156 last time and he's double figures and has won the race previously.

Coneygree wrote: »
    The road to Vinndication being a player in the Gold Cup starts tomorrow ;) It would be great if he beat that pox of a thing.

Starts and ends I think. How many horses that can't finish in the first 3 in a handicap off a mark in the 150's the previous year go on to be competitive in a gold cup?

Ah probably so. Saying that, he's gone from 50s to 33s since this morning for the Gold Cup, so I'll take that!

Ah In fairness if he did happen to go and win well tomorrow he'd be 14's so those with 50's and 33 be loving life then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Kauto

He was short going into Cheltenham last March. Would have won if they got a few more bits of work into him.
    The big drawback for the horse is having that useless yoke David Bass on his back. Brutal jockey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

GO ON THE PERCY

Ah In fairness if he did happen to go and win well tomorrow he'd be 14's so those with 50's and 33 be loving life then.

I do like Nicholl's angle of throwing Cyrname into the deep end of 3m and going left. It'll answer a lot of questions that he has about the horse and if he hacks up then he becomes a big player again.

As well as that, as much as I adore the horse, if Samcro doesn't flatter tomorrow they might actually have to try him out over 3miles finally. He had an entry to the 3miler tomorrow so you'd have to think they've at least considered it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭del roy

Vinndication is 3-3 first-time up, is progressive and looks set for a massive season

Jamie Hart, Tote racing director Vinndication would have been clear favourite for a repeat win in today’s Sodexo Gold Cup at Ascot, so the fact Kim Bailey sends him north to Wetherby suggests he carries plenty of stable confidence against a horse with question marks over the trip and suitability of a left-handed track.

KEEPER HILL would need to step up on what he’s shown previously but worth noting that he does have Prime Conditions to shoot for… Nov-Feb | fields of 13 or less | Flat-Slightly undulating tracks | trips of 3m0.5f or less = 2115F1111121 (8/12, 2p – all 8 career wins)…and he has scored in a G2 previously. His 1.3L second to Frodon at Kempton in February also reads pretty good now as well.

Battleoverdoyen @7s.

Chris's Dream/Quilixios @5s

Any fear of DR in this weather?

Might Bite the mad yoke is 20/1 today in the Sodexo. I thought they retired him after the XC in March?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭TRANQUILLO

Is Cyrname a great price or a crazy price. 11/4 could look huge if he runs to his ability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭ON ZEE BRIDLE

Percy to win today

TRANQUILLO wrote: »
    Is Cyrname a great price or a crazy price. 11/4 could look huge if he runs to his ability.

Huge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭supremenovice

Might Bite the mad yoke is 20/1 today in the Sodexo. I thought they retired him after the XC in March?

I think Hendo is continuing to send him over X Countrys for the season, according to his stable tour

Percy
    Samcro
    Cyrname

All backable individually
    Very tasty treble @40/1

Easy Game a terrible fav

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

Cyrname 10/3 now. Has he lost a leg?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭AnniePowwa

The Mig wrote: »
    Cyrname 10/3 now. Has he lost a leg?

must be a certain non stayer

10/3 is mahoooossive
    Its not like he is up against ABP etc

Nibble on Commanche Red @6/1 in the 15.40

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Ascot
    1.55 Flaminger
    3.40 Adrien De Pont
    Wetherby
    2.45 Next Destination
    3.20 Sam Spinner
    Down Royal
    2.25 Delta Work - Balko De Flos ( ew )
    3.00 Easy Game ( because it is :))

I bent my head backwards over the chase at Down Royal. At the end of the day I think Delta Work still beats these even if not fully tuned up, he has a stone on them. I also could not ignore the juicy exchange prices on Balko Des Flos. It is a stretch but it is the only other horse that I have seen in the field that if running to its best potential could be winning this. In saying that so should Presenting Percy and it is telling how much improvement Gordon Elliot has gotten out of the Reynolds horsies since taking them on. If they were genuine about a grand national attempt they could not be running him in this surely? It will destroy his rating if he picks up a place? What a head phuck and at the prices I would rather blow a tenner on Balkos de Flos at around 33's.

I don't think Cyrname is all that good. The Brits overhyped him. He doesn't get the trip either, Ballyoptic or Sam Spinner will outstay him.

Just Saying.

1.50 DR Ex Patriot e/w at 40/1

Ballyoptic @ 7/1 and bigger in the Charlie Hall. Forget about them fancy shmancy Cheltenham GC types :pac:

It's Wetherby in late October, and he won it last year.. Get on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Ballyadam is a good un. Backed for both the Ballymore and the Supreme ante post.

Initially thought there was no way he goes Supreme but after Malone Roads flop I think he will end up there so wanted to cover both races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭TRANQUILLO

awful hard days punting so far

Slattsy wrote: »
    Ballyadam is a good un. Backed for both the Ballymore and the Supreme ante post.

Initially thought there was no way he goes Supreme but after Malone Roads flop I think he will end up there so wanted to cover both races.

Just press mute and pretend it's Malone Rd Sluttsy

Joke of a race.

I thought Chris's Dream was going to saunter home, jumped the last six brilliantly and looked to be cruising.

Well you can write all them off in the gold cup

Percy for the GN, was giving them fences some air.

He will be given top weight. He is rated 165.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭piplip87

Well lads Samcro and Wholestone to save the day. Thi gs are not going too great today but jaysus it's great to have graded jumps Saturdays back.

Doesn't even stay 3m well let alone 4, his win at Cheltenham must be the biggest fluke of all time, just shows how little novice for means

Ye are very harsh lads!!

Great race. A joy to watch.

Percy did well, delta did what delta does, Chris Dream did well. Pipe opener for the big boys, The biggest day for Storyteller

Very enjoyable. Happy with Percy

Love the jumps

AnniePowwa wrote: »
    Doesn't even stay 3m well let alone 4, his win at Cheltenham must be the biggest fluke of all time, just shows how little novice for means

Which one, you cabbage