Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Alternative News Channel "GB News" chaired by Andrew Neil launching - read OP before posting

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Who dat

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,462 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Virtually all mainstream media in the Anglosphere is decidedly left wing progressive.

Proof please.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

Proof please.

I'll prove it when you prove that this new channel is far right.

In both cases it is our perception.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,462 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I'll prove it when you prove that this new channel is far right.

In both cases it is our perception.

You can't then. This channel hasn't launched yet so there's no data about it but you're clearly just talking nonsense here.

By the same token, I could argue that anyone to the left of Hitler is dismissed as far left.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 3,352 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

Another far right outlet parroting white victimhood and ethnic nationalism. Joy.

That didn't take long.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Lol at the idea of the British media being “far left”, people have short memories. During Jeremy Corbyn’s leadership of Labour he was subject to perhaps the most prolonged and savage media barrage I’ve ever seen. This took place across the media spectrum, from the liberal Guardian to the Murdoch outlets to the BBC, the only paper that didn’t boot him on a daily basis was the Mirror. The BBC at one point edited out footage of the audience laughing at Johnson during a debate between the two. Something ridiculous like 75% of coverage of Corbyn on the BBC was wholly negative. Smears on every topic known to man were invented and thrown with all good journalistic practice thrown out the window. He was a spy for the Czech communists, he was in the IRA etc etc. I got into a mad email chain argument with the editor of the Metro when on the front page one day they had “Jeremy Corbyn hosted an IRA delegation in Westminster” - completely preposterous.

When there is a viable left wing in Britain the media turn against it in lockstep, the idea Rupert Murdoch and the private school lot in the BBC are all mad socialists is just ridiculous to be honest.

What we do see in the media these days is an increase in American liberal identity politics that conform to the economic status quo while browbeating us about nonsense inconsequential issues. That’s becoming more evident, but it’s got sh*t all to do with socialism. Jeff Bezos was jumping on the BLM stuff, but I’d hardly call him left wing.

You can't then. This channel hasn't launched yet so there's no data about it but you're clearly just talking nonsense here.

By the same token, I could argue that anyone to the left of Hitler is dismissed as far left.
    So you've made an assumption based on no data and i've made an assessment based on my own perception. Do you read what you type?

Well, it's supposed to be a UK version of Fox News.

Since you have no evidence, I'm going to dismiss your silly claim as nonsense.

H. H. Asquith

FTA69 wrote: »
    Something ridiculous like 75% of coverage of Corbyn on the BBC was wholly negative.
    So very similar to the electorate's assessment of him then?

Good lad

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Regardless, my point still stands. The BBC editing footage of live audience debates to make Johnson look better and national newspapers pushing outright and blatant lies born of partisanship isn’t journalism, it’s propaganda. The idea the media here is left wing just doesn’t stand up to any scrutiny.

I refferred to the Anglosphere but i accept that perceptions of the same thing can be wildly different.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,133 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Interesting development this, there had been rumours for the last few months.

Andrew Neil has left the BBC to launch a 24-hour news channel to rival BBC and Sky.
    GB News will launch early next year – under the chairmanship of Andrew Neil, who will be its flagship presenter.
    GB News is aimed at the vast number of British people who feel underserved and unheard by their media.

Its being backed by Discovery and Rupert Murdoch .

https://deadline.com/2020/09/gb-news...il-1234585344/

This should be a welcome addition to counter the far left /woke media so prevalent now.

Another news channel to add to the fifteen I already have on my sat-box, no thanks .......

• Registered Users Posts: 4,045 ✭✭✭afatbollix

There is a huge market for this in the UK.

Same as Ireland head out of the capitals and they are a bit old fashioned than the younger city folk.

They seem to be going to make mostly interview style shows like radio talk shows but on TV, Cheaper these days due to Zoom interviews being the norm. It will cost feck all to produce. It wont be about telling the news more setting the news agenda.

The normal media will be outraged and write pages and pages on it each day making it bigger and bigger.

One thing I noticed that has come out about Ofcom is that you have to show both sides of view but you don't have to have equal time for each point of view. I can see them doing an interview for 27 minutes from one side and 3 minutes of the other and that keeps Ofcom happy.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,551 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

According to whom, The Guardian is it, because its not mentioned in the vast majority of announcement articles.
    The Guardian seem to be going with that line, a UK version of Fox News but that wouldnt surprise me as the The Guardian is a woke rag and untrustworthy.

Another article claims its "expected to be right-leaning", so its possibly centre right, not far right as you claim.

It only has to be non PC, non woke, and fair in its handling of major stories to be an improvement on BBC and Sky News .

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I refferred to the Anglosphere but i accept that perceptions of the same thing can be wildly different.

Not perceptions factual. Leave perceptions at the door.

Yes, master

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

listermint wrote: »
    He's not remotely even handed. You haven't been following along. He's selective. Very much so

Try to be more patronising there, listermint. I don’t think you’ll succeed, you maxed out.

FTA69 wrote: »
    Regardless, my point still stands. The BBC editing footage of live audience debates to make Johnson look better and national newspapers pushing outright and blatant lies born of partisanship isn’t journalism, it’s propaganda. The idea the media here is left wing just doesn’t stand up to any scrutiny.

Sometimes a picture is worth a thousand words:

_100485209_corbyn3.jpg

H. H. Asquith

If the ushanka fits...

I'm sure if i knew where to look i could find some equally hilarious graphic with Trump referencing Russian collusion. I note your pic includes the notoriously right-wing Emily Maitlis.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 85 ✭✭macpaccrack

Ahhhh a news channel for the Far Right Irish 'Patriots' to jizz over with their Loyalist mates up North.

Breaking News: No girlfriend? No job prospects? You ARE important! You are on the front lines of fighting a racial Genocide!!!1111

Whatever those losers need to distract themselves from their own existence and feel important LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭CtevenSrowder

No it isn't. He has rejected this claim himself.

https://twitter.com/afneil/status/1309553308055539712?s=19

• Registered Users Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

"undeserved and unheard people"

Are members of the public going to contact them and tell them what news is to be news.

The news is the news.

More trump style rubbish.

Will Neil give his hair a wash before the launch.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

OFCOM will see this doesn't become a witless clone of Fox News - they've closed Press TV, curtailed the excesses of RT and also intervened against the Chinese lads.
    Yea, about that...

https://twitter.com/ShippersUnbound/status/1309903624374546433

While the appointments don't appear to be confirmed yet, if the story does prove to be true and Johnson is considering these individuals, this kind of move doesn't exactly inspire confidence if the proposed solution to a bias in one direction is met by a series of appointments which, on the surface, would indicate a hard swing in the other direction.

• Registered Users Posts: 453 ✭✭TRANQUILLO

Another far right outlet parroting white victimhood and ethnic nationalism. Joy.

Baseless rubbish . They haven't even made a broadcast yet but they are guilty until proven innocent in your eyes. Modern life summed up in one prejudiced, dice already loaded, veil slipped, intolerant post.

Even if it does lean to right what's the problem with that? its not illegal ? The market will decide if the channel is a success.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Andrew Neil is a great presenter but the Murdoch thing is a bit concerning.

Anything which doesnt bow down to the far left vocal minority is good to me.

I say that as someone who holds liberal views and considered myself left wing before the lunatics took over the asylum in about 2013.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,589 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

No it isn't. He has rejected this claim himself.

https://twitter.com/afneil/status/1309553308055539712?s=19

OK. Case closed :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭McFly85

Ugh, another 24 hour “news” channel, the last thing we need. They shouldn’t even be allowed to call themselves that. It’s 90% opinion from people with agendas.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

Any chance the electorate's assessment might have been somewhat influenced by the constant negative coverage?