Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time for the Scrambler's to be crushed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It happened at around 7pm in Cherry Orchard Park in Ballyfermot.

It is understood a woman in her 20s was sitting on a stationary quad bike holding the boy when a scrambler struck the quad.
    As you do...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Not sure who was worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Not sure who was worse.

I am sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Reminds of the Dave Chappelle bit, you know youre in a bad neighbourhood when there are babies on the street at night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Not sure why OP wants scrambler bikes to be crushed, it's not the bike's fault its driver is an idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭Infini

biko wrote: »
    Not sure why OP wants scrambler bikes to be crushed, it's not the bike's fault its driver is an idiot.

Probably because these idiots are too stupid to even be allowed on them to begin with, lets be honest it's no secret the ferals and scrotes in certain parts get these to act the bollocks and end up hurting innocent people, remember that couple up in Clongriffin I think it was and one of them was left in a coma because a feral crashed their scrambler through their fence. ****ers even got away because they couldnt be ID'd.

They need to address these issues, being able to prosecute the ****ers or their parents for having these without any sort of liscence would at least discourage the feral's from going out and tearing up the place. They're essentially the same as cars etc so I dont know why insurance, drivers liscence etc is something they should have to even buy and use them.

Can also understand the PoV of the guards they cant simply just chase them as they will run and have the advantage of being able to evade them far easier but it should be possible to ID the ****ers simply by watching where they're going, they cant run forever and have to go home sometime....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭BobMc

1st solution is at point of sale, require it to be registered like a vehicle before being sold, whomevers name is down as reg owner big fines then and prison etc. (joke in that alone)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

well all the child sized ones should definitely just be outright illegal, no 8 year old needs to be on a scrambler or quad.

the adult sized ones need to really be clamped down on, similar to the dangerous dog breeds list there should be a complete ban on even owning one in social housing.

we all know where the problem lies, the hotspots for these things. How many more people have to suffer because of the feckless parents getting their kids these motorbikes.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

If only we had a group of people to enforce the laws of this country.

I probably should have been clearer but it's the one's being driven on our roads and parks by people who have no insurance, etc and are doing it because they claim they are bored and don't have anything to do in their areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Electric scooters will be the next thing. They are a brilliant green option for people commuting shortish distances but around my area at least there are small children (as young as 5) who have to reach up to hold the handle bars zipping around at 30kph plus on these yokes, there is going to be a death. Scrote parents of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭batman_oh

Electric scooters will be the next thing. They are a brilliant green option for people commuting shortish distances but around my area at least there are small children (as young as 5) who have to reach up to hold the handle bars zipping around at 30kph plus on these yokes, there is going to be a death. Scrote parents of course

Yeah but you can't wheelie an electric scooter up a footpath past a Garda Station while screaming insults at the Gards on an electric scooter :pac: (have seen this in Ballymun!)

batman_oh wrote: »
    Yeah but you can't wheelie an electric scooter up a footpath past a Garda Station while screaming insults at the Gards on an electric scooter :pac: (have seen this in Ballymun!)

Not confined to Ballymun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭Spleodar

I remember being in Keflavik in Iceland (the town not the airport) and a bunch of teens basically joyriding around the middle of the town on quad bikes. Police no where to be seen either.

Surprised me as I didn’t expect that kind of thing in Iceland but it just shows it’s a phenomenon of that’s far broader than just associated with Ireland.

They should just impose tighter licensing requirements. If you did that in a small car you’d have it impounded and you’d be up on dangerous driving charges.

I don’t see why it’s any different with these.

They have legitimate uses but joyriding around residential areas and towns and cities isn’t it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭jim salter

BobMc wrote: »
    1st solution is at point of sale, require it to be registered like a vehicle before being sold, whomevers name is down as reg owner big fines then and prison etc. (joke in that alone)

A lot (if not the majority) of these are stolen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,810 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Spleodar wrote: »
    I remember being in Keflavik in Iceland (the town not the airport) and a bunch of teens basically joyriding around the middle of the town on quad bikes. Police no where to be seen either.

Surprised me as I didn’t expect that kind of thing in Iceland but it just shows it’s a phenomenon of that’s far broader than just associated with Ireland.

They should just impose tighter licensing requirements. If you did that in a small car you’d have it impounded and you’d be up on dangerous driving charges.

They have legitimate uses but joyriding around residential areas and towns and cities isn’t it.

Both Iceland and these Irish problem areas have a chronic inbreeding problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭kapisko1PL

It really hurts me to see such a beautiful country which Ireland is being ruined by those thugs; and that's from a foreigner's point of view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭batman_oh

They don't have licenses. A lot of them don't even own the bikes sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭TRANQUILLO

Absolutely disgusted reading this. Have these people actually got a brain? I highly doubt it. Something has to be done about this scourge.

https://www.rte.ie/news/dublin/2020/0918/1165915-scrambler-quad-dublin-incident/

in other threads they'd have you believe that you have "notions" or are "pretentious" to not want to spend your hard earned cash to move into these areas and you are just too picky and coddled and spend too much on avocado toast.

TRANQUILLO wrote: »
    in other threads they'd have you believe that you have "notions" or are "pretentious" to not want to spend your hard earned cash to move into these areas and you are just too picky and coddled and spend too much on avocado toast.

Yeah, that's because most of the people in other threads that are "advocates" for these toerags never had to live in the same area as them

batman_oh wrote: »
    They don't have licenses. A lot of them don't even own the bikes sure!

If the same rules and penalties as driving a car without a licence applied, it would be curtailed fairly dramatically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

If the same rules and penalties as driving a car without a licence applied, it would be curtailed fairly dramatically.

Your having a laugh .

Won't change a thing It would make better sense to evict families who are involved in using scramblers in public places , usually only found in social housing estates in first place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

The Guards are explicitly not allowed to persue these toe rages on 'health and safety' grounds, or bad optics grounds more like.

The second the Guards chase some 13yr old scrote on a scrambler a across a road and he gets smeared along the tarmac as a result, all you will hear is 'Guards murdered some kid' and BLM like reee'ing about targeting and persecuting working class kids, so it's a no win situation for the Guards, becaues we're an emotionally incontinent society without the balls to say 'good enough for him' if he gets creased fleeing from the law.
    And if my some miracle these wastes of skin end up before the courts they get a suspended sentence like the scrote who left that poor Polish man brain damaged when he was hit by a bike sitting in the park.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Limpy

Why is it only a problem here. I visited many nice city's embracing this and totally changed my mind on them. Great idea. Fine for parents is the only option.

My answer,

A scooter should be registered with the local Gardai. Any not registered can be confiscated. Any person's under 18 riding one need parents permission. The parents being the registered owners would be liable for any damage caused by the e-scooter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Limpy wrote: »
    Why is it only a problem here. I visited many nice city's embracing this and totally changed my mind on them. Great idea. Fine for parents is the only option.

My answer,

A scooter should be registered with the local Gardai. Any not registered can be confiscated. Any person's under 18 riding one need parents permission. The parents being the registered owners would be liable for any damage caused by the e-scooter.

Parent is on the dole. You can't take fines from the dole. Doesn't work.

Stop 15yo's girls getting knocked up the ballyer is the solution but it will not happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

spurious wrote: »

woah slow your roll there, socialist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

conorhal wrote: »
    The Guards are explicitly not allowed to persue these toe rages on 'health and safety' grounds, or bad optics grounds more like.

The second the Guards chase some 13yr old scrote on a scrambler a across a road and he gets smeared along the tarmac as a result, all you will hear is 'Guards murdered some kid' and BLM like reee'ing about targeting and persecuting working class kids, so it's a no win situation for the Guards, becaues we're an emotionally incontinent society without the balls to say 'good enough for him' if he gets creased fleeing from the law.
    And if my some miracle these wastes of skin end up before the courts they get a suspended sentence like the scrote who left that poor Polish man brain damaged when he was hit by a bike sitting in the park.

We'll eventually mature as a society.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭D3V!L

BobMc wrote: »

Hahahahahhaha , point of sale being Facebook after they were stolen from some law abiding person.

spurious wrote: »

They're too busy engaged in the unwinnable war on drugs.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Limpy

ED E wrote: »
    Parent is on the dole. You can't take fines from the dole. Doesn't work.

Stop 15yo's girls getting knocked up the ballyer is the solution but it will not happen.

Well its the people who make and enforce the law, Gardai and government who need to get tough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

It’s the very same as having a fcukin horse in a housing estate.it shouldn’t be there.
    Fcukin idiots buying quads and scramblers and riding them illegally in public places.theyre designed for farms and tracks.
    Anyone caught driving one should be charged with public order offences and have the fcukin bike baled into a cube and recycled.
    They’re an eyesore an earsore and a danger to the public aswell as the fcukin Neanderthal driving it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

As you do...

Social serviceS should be paying the silly cow a visit.

It’s the very same as having a fcukin horse in a housing estate.it shouldn’t be there.
    Fcukin idiots buying quads and scramblers and riding them illegally in public places.theyre designed for farms and tracks.
    Anyone caught driving one should be charged with public order offences and have the fcukin bike baled into a cube and recycled.
    They’re an eyesore an earsore and a danger to the public aswell as the fcukin Neanderthal driving it

Are they not street legal? The scramblers online I see look very much street legal whereas most quads typically are not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

Limpy wrote: »
    Well its the people who make and enforce the law, Gardai and government who need to get tough.

Next door keeps letting their dog out into the street to harass the cats, dog warden can’t do anything unless he sees the dog out there himself.

video evidence won't do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

It’s not just the scramblers that need to be crushed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

There will be more nonsense about "we need more restrictions". These people hardly have licences and insurance FFS. It's scrotes being scrotes.

Overheal wrote: »
    Are they not street legal? The scramblers online I see look very much street legal whereas most quads typically are not.

Noting to do with them being street legal or not (most of them aren't)

- No training
    - No PSE (Personal Safety Equipment - helmet, boots, gloves etc)
    - No insurance
    - No tax
    - No registration

and most importantly

- No regard for other people.

I couldn't give a flying fúck if these scumbags get injured riding these bike....as a matter of fact I celebrate when the scumbags get injured/killed but when they injure innocent law-abiding citizens - that's where society needs to wake up and do something

jim salter wrote: »
    Noting to do with them being street legal or not (most of them aren't)

- No training
    - No PSE (Personal Safety Equipment - helmet, boots, gloves etc)
    - No insurance
    - No tax
    - No registration

and most importantly

- No regard for other people.

I couldn't give a flying fúck if these scumbags get injured riding these bike....as a matter of fact I celebrate when the scumbags get injured/killed but when they injure innocent law-abiding citizens - that's where society needs to wake up and do something

That's vile of you to be frank.

Would you prefer your daughter/son/brother/sister/mother/father be maimed or killed by these scrotes?

Concern for my loved ones is not inexorable from celebrating severe injury and death of others. Cop on.

It is the only way these scumbags will learn

A corpse cannot learn.

Those at its funeral can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

A corpse cannot learn.

It can't run over the head of a sun bather in a park either....

Also, you have clearly never dealt with any of these scrotes in person, scramblers are only one aspect of their scumbag lives

And, before you ask - I have, a lot

You register the bike the same as a motorbike. If it’s involved in an accident too pursue the registered owner.
    If it’s being driven by an unlicensed driver, you pursue the registered owner.

It’s not that hard.

If you gave your 13 year old a small car, you’d find yourself without a car and in front of a judge before long. This should be any different.

Those at its funeral can

Lol.
    Whatever you think yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

It can't run over the head of a sun bather in a park either....

Exactly. The fewer scumbags around, the better for us all.

"the only way" they will learn is if you dance on their grave?

Seems awfully sociopathic tbh.