Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

wow! Elvis really was The King!

• 07-09-2020 10:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 dulceetdecorum

Yeah he even died on the throne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,024 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Elvis isn't dead, I heard him on the radio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭1990sman

yup livin off royalties in a spacestation like the rest of them. but he was The King.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭touts

Not bad. But he really found his talent when he got into the chip van business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

I just googled "songs written by elvis"

Result was "Elvis never wrote a single song".

In a way, you have to respect that! Some neck.

KungPao wrote: »

Kingly neckage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,940 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

ShaneU wrote: »

There's a guy works down the chip shop swears he's Elvis.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

He was a performer and entertainer, don't think he never claimed to be a song writer (could be wrong) but by god he could sing! I would imagine writing a song for him would have been great fun because he could do the ballads and the rock songs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,765 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

Elvis was the king. Then John Lennon showed up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Both ripped off Chuck Berry.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

He's living in Clare and calls himself Eireann Esley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Elvis was the original Vanilla Ice

Make America Get Out of Here

lennon was cia!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,873 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I like how he's put so much into the performance that he barely get the "thank you" at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

American Trilogy live from Hawaii is probably the single greatest thing popular culture has given the world. Say no more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Hungry now. Might go make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich and stick it in the deep fat fryer. Mmmmm.

Still selling Elvis tat on Beale St. in Memphis over four decades after he died. No current entertainment figure will match that kind of adulation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,641 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

He never wrote any songs but his manager always made sure he received half the publishing royalties for any songs he recorded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Why would you expect him to write the songs? An actor doesn't often write the script.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

I would guarantee if you ask most of the rockstars, including Bono (love or loathe him at his best he was a great vocalist) they would all give props to Elvis. I saw the two lads from Aerosmith being interviewed by Chris Evans years back, and he gave them a list of bands and asked who would be the headliner in a dream concert, and they both said, basically in unison "none of the above. Elvis would be the headliner".

Yeah he even died on the throne

Yea, all those number 1s and it was a number 2 that killed him!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

With classic numbers like this one, how could Elvis NOT be the King? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

Nah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,479 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

the amount of auld lads who still dress up and do the elvis tributes is big. In Waterford we have Rocky Mills

I imagine in the states there's 1000s of tribute acts to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,785 ✭✭✭Irish Gunner

Stayed at the Heartbreak Hotel opposite Graceland years ago. Elvis everywhere and heart-shaped swimming pool and elvis songs constantly playing.

Novelty for me but not sure about the staff..

Stayed at the Heartbreak Hotel opposite Graceland years ago. Elvis everywhere and heart-shaped swimming pool and elvis songs constantly playing.

Novelty for me but not sure about the staff..

Like the people who work in McScratchy's Goodtime Foodrinkery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 War ensemble

Above average entertainer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,785 ✭✭✭Irish Gunner

Like the people who work in McScratchy's Goodtime Foodrinkery

Was thinking same thing

"Please kill me"

https://youtu.be/sQogtTl2oNE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭un5byh7sqpd2x0

ShaneU wrote: »

The radio is older than Elvis. I saw him on YouTube which was only invented in 2005

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

The second most overrated musical act in history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,457 ✭✭✭✭Kylta

Will give credit where its due, very talented singer and a wonderful voice. I can understand the younger generations not liking his stuff because he wouldn't be classed as a modern singer. But he could sing anything. Has I write this I just realised I'm a fan of Elvis singing.

The second most overrated musical act in history.

Whose the first?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

a bit like Luke Kelly in that way, two great legends that didn't write songs, elton John is another actually !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

a bit like Luke Kelly in that way, two great legends that didn't write songs, elton John is another actually !
    Elton John generally writes the music to his songs while Bernie Taupin does the lyrics.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

PTH2009 wrote: »
    the amount of auld lads who still dress up and do the elvis tributes is big. In Waterford we have Rocky Mills

1000s ?

http://www.murderousmaths.co.uk/elvis.htm
    When Elvis Presley died in 1977, it's estimated there were about 170 people impersonating him. This number grew and grew and in the year 2,000 it was estimated there were about 85,000 Elvis impersonators.
    At that growth rate the number of Elvis impersonators by 2043 will match the global population.

So that means EVERYBODY on earth including people in the ghetto will be a guitar man just like Elvis...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

Elvis lives.... in Ben Portsmouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,947 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Lord almight

I feel the temperature

Rising

In fairness father ted couldn't have put it any better than the three stages of elvis. Maybe father jack was the closest to him.

the state of him in 1977 though at 42

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

glasso wrote: »

Yeah... he was badly let down by those around him. He was probably the first 'celeb' to disintegrate in full public view, but sadly, he was not the last. Fame is a hard thing to deal with and you need good people on the journey with you to cope. It tends to attract users and abusers and hangers on.

Ger Roe wrote: »
    Yeah... he was badly let down by those around him. He was probably the first 'celeb' to disintegrate in full public view, but sadly, he was not the last. Fame is a hard thing to deal with and you need good people on the journey with you to cope. It tends to attract users and abusers and hangers on.

I'm sure that you are correct but also a bit of responsibility must lie on the man's own shoulders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

PTH2009 wrote: »

Yeah it is quite a phenomenon. There are no Johnny Cash or Sinatra impersonators for instance (or very few if there is) but there have been Elvis-a-likes for years all over the planet ever since he died. Loads in Japan btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Alejandro68

glasso wrote: »

All those drugs and fried peanut butter and banana sandwiches will do that to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,774 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

The last time I saw Elvis
    It was some kind of Vegas dream
    Spotlights flashed on a silver cape
    And a blue-haired lady screamed
    He was the king

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,062 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Anyone who doubts that Elvis is 'the King "needs to watch the 68 show. Over 50 years later, it stands the test of time.

People commenting that Elvis the King died on his Throne wont ever posses one fingertip of the originality, raw energy, talent or charisma of the man. That is the reality. It makes people feel better about themselve that he fell from grace to what he became at the Vegas shows, but that is not the real man.

In pop culture, he was an early 'product" and was marketed and exploited as such and was ahead if time that way too.

Once a person is identifiable by their first name, that's what makes them an icon, identifiable world wide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,940 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Yeah it is quite a phenomenon. There are no Johnny Cash or Sinatra impersonators for instance (or very few if there is) but there have been Elvis-a-likes for years all over the planet ever since he died. Loads in Japan btw.

Yeah, it's kinda funny. Not many young people will listen to Elvis but he's still such an icon. A figure that you could still easily recognise from his silhouette.

anewme wrote: »
    Anyone who doubts that Elvis is 'the King "needs to watch the 68 show. Over 50 years later, it stands the test of time.

People commenting that Elvis the King died on his Throne wont ever posses one fingertip of the originality, raw energy, talent or charisma of the man. That is the reality. It makes people feel better about themselve that he fell from grace to what he became at the Vegas shows, but that is not the real man.

In pop culture, he was an early 'product" and was marketed and exploited as such and was ahead if time that way too.

Once a person is identifiable by their first name, that's what makes them an icon, identifiable world wide.

he's up there with Britney and Kylie alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭bobbyy gee

Elvis has left the building
    https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=_FXa-yFpjS8