Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Campaign to lower motorway speed limts to 80KM/H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,273 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

There's no campaign really, just some guys opinion piece that will gain no traction whatsoever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

What I took from that article was, paper doesn't refuse ink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Vulcan01

I normally chug away at 80 anyway, but the higher limit is handy if I am under pressure. The Brol in law used to laugh at me with my slowness but when he tried it for a week he was amazed at the fuel he saved. That's my driver, Saving a few quid.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I feel speed limits need regular reviews and assessments. But that's regarding justifying them, making sure they are relevant and meet the needs of the area. I'd be hard pressed justify a blanket speed limit of 80km/h on the motorway network. Why did they stop there and what about national roads at 100km/h that do not have junctions designed to allow the main road to progress unhindered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Vulcan01 wrote: »
    I normally chug away at 80 anyway, but the higher limit is handy if I am under pressure. The Brol in law used to laugh at me with my slowness but when he tried it for a week he was amazed at the fuel he saved. That's my driver, Saving a few quid.

How much are you saving and what car are you driving?

I find it hard to believe that any saving would justify the time lost of doing 40 km/h below the posted limit - not to mention the effect on other traffic that has to get around the rolling roadblock you represent - not always easy on busy motorways at commuting times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Birka

hoodie6029 wrote: »

I found this article from the European Energy Agency which takes a much more in depth look at the proposal.

Here's the link:

https://www.eea.europa.eu/themes/transport/speed-limits-fuel-consumption-and

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

A bit of drama looking for attention and outrage. Nothing really to see here so lets move along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

It’s raising the limit we should be looking at.

I seriously doubt 43% of the population support this as claimed.

They have 343 pledges, which is 0.013% of licence holders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

At bottom of page
    © 2023 by Jade&Andy.
    These guys are living in 2023!
    The-Future-Man-cover-image1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭woejus

sure some lives will be saved, but millions will be late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭eggy81

Imagine doing this with a housing crisis in cities and an employment crisis in the sticks. Make it even harder to commute anywhere. Brilliant idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,085 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

In a few years they'll reduce the limit for fossil fuel yokes and leave it for electric ones, giving everyone a choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Was this survey carried out in Eamonn Ryan's Dail dreams?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

In a few years they'll reduce the limit for fossil fuel yokes and leave it for electric ones, giving everyone a choice.

So it’ll be the opposite of now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭Bikerman2019

Hurrache wrote: »
    There's no campaign really, just some guys opinion piece that will gain no traction whatsoever.
    Unless the greens and that looper in DCC gets at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

woejus wrote: »
    sure some lives will be saved, but millions will be late

Motorways are the safest roads wven with the high speed limit. They should start with enforcing the limit on rural roads where people are dieing not showing down Motorways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭kenmm

In fairness I reckon the fuel savings would be pretty decent (I know sticking to the speed limits Vs well ahem not sticking to them saves a few quid) AND the extra time probably wouldn't be that much more (I mean probably not as much as you may think) but.. without even coughing the link.. f that is what I say.

Lower speeds in town, go for it, but leave the motorways alone ffs..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭Sorolla

An interesting statistic:

Say the speed limit is 80km/h
    Say the distance to be travelled is 80km

That means that for a distance of 80km you will need one hour to complete this (in an ideal world)

Drivers who complete this 80km in less than 1 hour are statistically not involved in accidents

All accidents that occur occur on journey times that are greater than one hour

Therefore I suggest to increase the speed limit

Sorolla wrote: »
    An interesting statistic:

Say the speed limit is 80km/h
    Say the distance to be travelled is 80km

That means that for a distance of 80km you will need one hour to complete this (in an ideal world)

Drivers who complete this 80km in less than 1 hour are statistically not involved in accidents

All accidents that occur occur on journey times that are greater than one hour

Therefore I suggest to increase the speed limit

Can't fault that logic, carry on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭testarossa40

Unfortunately:
    https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40018505.html

Just another attack on law-abiding, tax-paying citizens trying to go about their business, by bigoted, hate-mongering ideologues... (Oh, hello Donald! :D)

And for balance:
    https://extra.ie/2020/07/20/news/irish-news/aa-irelandslams-green-partys-speed-limit-proposal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,838 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Ok , "A" greenparty mep called for it ,
    It's not going to happen, the urban motorways maybe but it won't make much difference there because the average speed is probably less than 80 anyway .,
    Didn't we do this before ? Dropped the speed limit to 55mph to save fuel (before we had motorways )

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭Bikerman2019

I wouldn't be so sure.
    Let's see. The greens with their ideology and the cycling lunatic in dcc gets together for a quiet chat....

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/city-councillors-criticise-secret-meeting-between-government-and-council-1015474.html?fbclid=IwAR0Y72-e6uAgpvnjLIwpTi1aG_ykOrVMHkkChCBJIwAx3g5jbv5YT85V2P4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Who did he hire to design the website, state of that alone should render it's content fit only for the bin for starters

TemptingShyFireant-size_restricted.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Cycling Ireland logo displayed on the website, didn't think you could cycle on a motorway so what possible benefits are in it for them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

43% of 1000 people in favour?
    Then you see their question and I'm reminded of Yes Minister

" were asked if they would be willing to “support a law that reduces the top speed limit in the Republic of Ireland from 120 km/h to 80 km/h (including motorways) as a move to cut these harmful emissions and create safer roads.”"

Horribly leading question and I'd hope that the average 18 year old knows better.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G0ZZJXw4MTA

I bet you could get the same result the other way
    "Would you be against a proposal to reduce the speedlimit on motorways to 80 kph for marginal environmental gains and massively increased travel times across the country?"

Cycling Ireland logo displayed on the website, didn't think you could cycle on a motorway so what possible benefits are in it for them?

Who is them?

I don't think this is an official endorsement. But regardless, the site talks about all roads.

Still, load of nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,273 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Lads, you're all getting your knickers in a twist over nothing and starting to see conspiracies against yis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭turbocab

any car with a 6 speed manual gearbox needs to be at 90kms to acheive minium speed for that gear,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭unhappys10

If you are doing 80kph on a motorway you are the dangerous one and should have your licence revoked.

turbocab wrote: »
    any car with a 6 speed manual gearbox needs to be at 90kms to acheive minium speed for that gear,

Exactly, these idiots don't realise they're using more fuel and causing more pollution.

Does anyone know how much of a difference there really is in the below scenarios.

Point A to Point B is 80km

Driver X does 120kph and arrives in 45mins.

Driver Y does 80kph and arrives in 1hour.

Driver X is pumping out more pollution, but for 15mins less than Driver Y.

Wouldn't be surprised to hear they were near enough equal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭turbocab

I thought so to until last week cyclist on m50 hard shoulder between sandyford and firhouse exits.garda van went past didnt bat an eylid,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I would generally do 100+kmph on a motorway - in the left lane as appropriate - but even as a 'granny driver' I would consider 80 ridiculous. I drive a hybrid and keep an eye on the gauge that shows eco driving as against power, and on a motorway once I am up to speed it is easy to stay in eco mode for most of the time. Provided you are not doing aggressive overtaking and dashing from lane to lane there is no need to accelerate more than the slight amount to maintain speed. The frustration and aggravation of trying to do 80 on a motorway would cause way more accidents than at the current limits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

In my car fuel economy falls off sharply above about 110 km/h, which is what I usually drive at. I've noticed similar in other cars I've owned and suspect it's not a coincidence.

80 km/h as the ideal speed seems more appropriate to cars 50 years ago, like when the US imposed a Federal speed limit of 55 MPH in response to the 1973 Oil Shock. I'd say it's about as relevant as re-imposing the three day week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,888 ✭✭✭✭Calahonda52

unhappys10 wrote: »
    Exactly, these idiots don't realise they're using more fuel and causing more pollution.

Does anyone know how much of a difference there really is in the below scenarios.

Point A to Point B is 80km

Driver X does 120kph and arrives in 45mins.

Driver Y does 80kph and arrives in 1hour.

Driver X is pumping out more pollution, but for 15mins less than Driver Y.

Wouldn't be surprised to hear they were near enough equal.

20% more

4,000 rpm by 45 minutes = 180,000
    2,500 rpm by 60 minutes = 150,000

“I can’t pay my staff or mortgage with instagram likes”.

20% more

4,000 rpm by 45 minutes = 180,000
    2,500 rpm by 60 minutes = 150,000

What are you driving that does 4k rpm at 120kph?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,052 ✭✭✭trellheim

If you are doing 80kph on a motorway you are the dangerous one and should have your licence revoked.

Get off it. 50kph is our minimum on motorways . Go learn the ROTR. I've limped home on a bicycle spare at 80 a few times on motorways as thats the recommended max on the tyre and you know what, everyone was courteous and overtook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Fabio

Thing is, driving at 80kmh on the motorway puts you in danger of being rear-ended and endangers those around you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Fabio

turbocab wrote: »
    I thought so to until last week cyclist on m50 hard shoulder between sandyford and firhouse exits.garda van went past didnt bat an eylid,

Because if they did Twitter would have exploded with cyclists' rage haha!

trellheim wrote: »
    Get off it. 50kph is our minimum on motorways . Go learn the ROTR. I've limped home on a bicycle spare at 80 a few times on motorways as thats the recommended max on the tyre and you know what, everyone was courteous and overtook

Yeh because the rules of the road make so much sense all of the time, like 80kph lane ways with grass growing on them.
    There may be rules but a bit of common sense is needed also.
    Doing 80kph on a motorway when the majority are doing 120kph is just dangerous and if you think otherwise you should go and get a bit of cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Fabio wrote: »
    Thing is, driving at 80kmh on the motorway puts you in danger of being rear-ended and endangers those around you.

Not if everyone else is also doing 80.

I'd guess that average commute times would come down as 80kph would avoid crashes and lunatics weaving between lanes to gain that extra 4m.

Fabio wrote: »
    Because if they did Twitter would have exploded with cyclists' rage haha!

here we go again..

GreeBo wrote: »

I'd guess that average commute times would come down as 80kph would avoid crashes and lunatics weaving between lanes to gain that extra 4m.

Or it would mean more crashes because people get impatient..

80kph definitely makes a big difference to fuel consumption.

I got a loan of Nissan leaf for a few days and the difference speed made to it's range was noticeable. Granted it won't win any awards for aerodynamics..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

GreeBo wrote: »

I wish I shared your confidence.
    When the M7 works were ongoing I always stuck to the 60 km/h limit, as much out of bloody minded curiousity as anything else.
    EVERY vehicle on the road would overtake me, at varying speeds. Trucks and busses would tailgate furously before impatiently swerving out into the gaps left by Rep-Mobiles as they sped by. I've never felt as vulnerable and unsafe on a motorway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,052 ✭✭✭trellheim

Are you folks aware of motorway speed limits at all

HGVs 90kph , any towing vehicle 80

If you can't operate a motor car within the limits you've no place on the road, those who can do over 50 are within their rights to be there and have a safe experience like the rest.

Are you folks aware of motorway speed limits at all

HGVs 90kph , any towing vehicle 80

If you can't operate a motor car within the limits you've no place on the road, those who can do over 50 are within their rights to be there and have a safe experience like the rest.

If you can't operate a motor car with some common sense and awareness of your surroundings you've no place on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,508 ✭✭✭KevRossi

I'd support 80 Km/h on the M50 during rush hour (6.00-10.00 and 15.00-19.00), it would lead to far less 'ghost' traffic jams and would actually mean getting from one exit to another a lot quicker.

Only problem is that it would never be policed properly, so a waste of time.

Outside of the M50, and possibly a couple of other very busy stretches, it would make sense to leave it at 120, or raise it to 130 Km/h. I tend to sit at 130-135 Km/h and up to 150 km/h when it's totally empty and I've never been stopped.

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    I wish I shared your confidence.
    When the M7 works were ongoing I always stuck to the 60 km/h limit, as much out of bloody minded curiousity as anything else.
    EVERY vehicle on the road would overtake me, at varying speeds. Trucks and busses would tailgate furously before impatiently swerving out into the gaps left by Rep-Mobiles as they sped by. I've never felt as vulnerable and unsafe on a motorway.

Agree 100% I had a similar experience on that road.

The limit may as well have been written in crayon.. Until they deployed the speed vans. After a few hundred speeding fines and points were handed out there was a noticeable change in behaviour.

KevRossi wrote: »
    I'd support 80 Km/h on the M50 during rush hour (6.00-10.00 and 15.00-19.00), it would lead to far less 'ghost' traffic jams and would actually mean getting from one exit to another a lot quicker.

Variable speed gantries like every other civilised country in the world would help this. Slow the traffic miles ahead of the jam and then speed up after etc, reduce the accordion effect and the chance of adding to more accidents. but will never happen here and would never be respected or policed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭mikeecho

There is no minimum speed for driving on an Irish motorway.
    The rule is that the vehicle must be able to achieve 50kph. It doesn't state that you have to drive above that speed.

Ie a tractor could have a max speed of 60kph, it is therefore entitled to use the motorway, but it can legally potter along at 20, 30 or 40kph