Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So the GAA are building a hotel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

Can't wait for the usual After Hours GAA bashing and talk of a Grab All Association.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Can't wait for the usual After Hours GAA bashing and talk of a Grab All Association.

By men who watch other grown men play computer games online.

• Site Banned Posts: 280 ✭✭CertifiedSimp

Tell me again why Irish taxpayers are forced to give the GAA money?

Perhaps your attention should be focused more on the FAI?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

Culchie Towers.
    I said it first. (c)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

By men who watch other grown men play computer games online.

I don't play computer games but avoid anything GAA like the plague! I do respect it as an organisation though and know it does great things for communities. The actual sports themselves just give me some kind of cultural cringe, the jerseys, the ham sandwiches etc. But I'm a West Brit I suppose, so it's kryptonite to me.

I assume you have the same sort of cultural cringe about other sports such as the boat shoe D4 heads who follow rugby and the hooligans who follow soccer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

Ok, WesternZulu.
    You are the full back tackling every offense.
    You forgot my post. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

I assume you have the same sort of cultural cringe about other sports such as the boat shoe D4 heads who follow rugby and the hooligans who follow soccer?

Wasn't soccer fans fighting with players in Monaghan last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

No I'm one of the hooligans who goes to Dalymount, or at least used to before covid. Not a fan of rugby and boat shoe culture either mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

So that the likes of you can bitch about it on boards.ie ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

No I'm one of the hooligans who goes to Dalymount, or at least used to before covid. Not a fan of rugby and boat shoe culture either mind.

What's wrong with the jerseys though?

Ok, WesternZulu.
    You are the full back tackling every offense.
    You forgot my post. :(

Like any culchie I have fully and proudly adopted the term so I see nothing wrong with the name 'Culchie Towers' :pac:

• Site Banned Posts: 280 ✭✭CertifiedSimp

Perhaps your attention should be focused more on the FAI?

The FAI don't have lads coming around to my door fundraising multiple times a year.

GAA always have the hand out. Really dislikable organisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭piplip87

Because from the age of 6 or so they start training children all over the country. This saves the tax payer billions on health services keeping children fit and active.

They also probably save the tax payer money on crime too. Teenagers with a good sporting background are far less likely to be scumbags. Plus it keeps them occupied in the evening.

Many clubs also provide running tracks again these cost thousands but a social membership with my club to use the track (light up in winter) is tenner per year.

The likes if Thurlas for example without the 10 or so big games every year would be a far worse place. These summer sundays bring massive revenue to plenty of towns across Ireland.

Also it's the biggest sporting organisation in Ireland by a long long way apart from the few in HQ, school coaches, its largely amateur and voluntary.

It's a good way to spend money and invest in local communities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,086 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Because they provide value to those taxpayers?

What do you suggest the government use the money for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

The FAI don't have lads coming around to my door fundraising multiple times a year.

GAA always have the hand out. Really dislikable organisation.

The GAA give back a lot more than they take to society as a whole.

The taxpayer funds that went to the FAI were used to pay John Delaneys rental costs and his missus'es trips to the salon and all the other antics that went on in that cartel. Unfortunate that soccer has suffered in the country because of shocking governance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,817 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Will the restaurant serve tay and hang sandwiches?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭Feisar

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    The GAA give back a lot more than they take to society as a whole.

The taxpayer funds that went to the FAI were used to pay John Delaneys rental costs and his missus'es trips to the salon and all the other antics that went on in that cartel. Unfortunate that soccer has suffered in the country because of shocking governance.

Poor ould Johnny's missus has given him the tar.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Because it gives young people something to do instead of hanging around corners creating fvckery that has a negative impact on society.

I don’t follow GAA myself, but it does have an, overall, positive impact on society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Feisar wrote: »
    Poor ould Johnny's missus has given him the tar.

Gold diggers tend to be like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,225 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I think the argument needs to stop re: fai/soccer vs GAA... especially as regards using Delaney as a stick to beat the sport with... guy was acting the &*€€#& but those sorts of individuals rise to hold the reigns in similar organizations throughout the country and the world. A lot of people from within the organization and outside facilitated him.

This hotel ? If it is a success can we expect in the years followings it becoming a success that GAA funding can and would be decreased and the money be given to other sporting organizations?

I’ve no problem with the GAA building this hotel. But when your hand is out looking for fûcking millions of OUR money, taxpayers money to build it ? Sorry, something has to give there. As I said, I love the sports, the game and competitions but when you see this lark... it really tells you everything you need to know about them as an organization.

There are a multitude of sporting organizations who train, help and support kids. The fact the GAA are one of them ? Yes let’s let them build a hotel while we throw millions at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Wait until you hear about he hooligans playing GAA and watching it.

You can't beat that old GAA tradition of abducting a referee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,909 ✭✭✭ablelocks

Strumms wrote: »

I’ve no problem with the GAA building this hotel. But when your hand is out looking for fûcking millions of OUR money, taxpayers money to build it ? Sorry, something has to give there.

have you any evidence that taxpayers money will be used to design, build or manage the hotel?

There are strict rules around where the taxpayers money goes and while they may avail of tax breaks, etc, like any company, I doubt very much that they can use it for this purpose

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,860 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Mod:

Moving to Current Affairs, reminder to read the charter before posting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

I'd say its not so much the actual jerseys more so the lads that love to wear them at every available opportunity. In the gym, going to the shops, going out for a meal, in the pub, some of them would probably try wear it to the own weddings if they thought they'd get away with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

cruizer101 wrote: »
    I'd say its not so much the actual jerseys more so the lads that love to wear them at every available opportunity. In the gym, going to the shops, going out for a meal, in the pub, some of them would probably try wear it to the own weddings if they thought they'd get away with it.

Well firstly don't see what the issue is wearing one going to the gym or a shop to be honest with you.

I also don't see how it's different to soccer jerseys in reality, granted you would see less people wearing rugby jerseys but plenty wearing jumpers and tracksuit tops. I'm not sure why it really matters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

I think the argument needs to stop re: fai/soccer vs GAA... especially as regards using Delaney as a stick to beat the sport with... guy was acting the &*€€#& but those sorts of individuals rise to hold the reigns in similar organizations throughout the country and the world. A lot of people from within the organization and outside facilitated him.

This hotel ? If it is a success can we expect in the years followings it becoming a success that GAA funding can and would be decreased and the money be given to other sporting organizations?

I’ve no problem with the GAA building this hotel. But when your hand is out looking for fûcking millions of OUR money, taxpayers money to build it ? Sorry, something has to give there. As I said, I love the sports, the game and competitions but when you see this lark... it really tells you everything you need to know about them as an organization.

There are a multitude of sporting organizations who train, help and support kids. The fact the GAA are one of them ? Yes let’s let them build a hotel while we throw millions at them.

Met John Delaney before in Coppers on a Monday with his brother. He kept going on about how the media was out to get him and everything that happened in Poland was all lies.

I'm just an average Joe, don't know why he felt he needed to declare his innocence to me when I hadn't even asked him about it. Knew he was crooked as **** at that point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

cruizer101 wrote: »

As opposed to lads in Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle, Munster and Leinster jerseys?
    I'd say you're just having a whinge because it's the GAA.

ablelocks wrote: »
    have you any evidence that taxpayers money will be used to design, build or manage the hotel?

There are strict rules around where the taxpayers money goes and while they may avail of tax breaks, etc, like any company, I doubt very much that they can use it for this purpose

If the GAA are building it. The government fund the GAA to the tune of xx million per year. The government ie. taxpayer is funding it. There is no decree by the government as to what the money should be spent on that they give to the GAA. A hotel is a business venture not a sporting necessity.

If the GAA can be affording to build hotels... then they can get on the phone to Leinster House and say “ actually you know what, we don’t need financial assistance at this present time, the money that was intended for us would be better spent in other corners of the sporting world... where it can be spent improving facilities for participants and spectators as well as grants for people involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭LiquidZeb

Jaysus the GAA lads aren't half touchy around here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I thought I read somewhere that it will be run by the Maldron chain or something.

Anyway with Covid and no matches with spectators and no late bars and no sing songs and dodgy ham, I dunno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Some of the jerseys are very nice to be fair and they are good quality. My young lad buy's different ones all the time, he doesn't care about the county or the sponsor if he likes one he'll buy it from his savings.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭SlowMotion321

That's hang sanguiges bai!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Thirty five posts, I'd say three, incl the OP have dealt with the hotel.
    Might be more at home in, After Hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭SlowMotion321

Water John wrote: »
    Thirty five posts, I'd say three, incl the OP have dealt with the hotel.
    Might be more at home in, After Hours.

Apologies I genuinely thought I was in AH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Apologies I genuinely thought I was in AH

That is where I put it but it was moved by a mod to Current Affairs.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

As north side Dublin locations go, this one doesnt look too bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

I'll only support it if the tax payer is on the hook.

Will the players at least get 10% off a nights stay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

Well firstly don't see what the issue is wearing one going to the gym or a shop to be honest with you.

I also don't see how it's different to soccer jerseys in reality, granted you would see less people wearing rugby jerseys but plenty wearing jumpers and tracksuit tops. I'm not sure why it really matters.

Its not that they are wearing it to the gym or the shop specificallly, it the lads that wear it everywhere no matter what.
    Fann Linn wrote: »
    As opposed to lads in Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle, Munster and Leinster jerseys?
    I'd say you're just having a whinge because it's the GAA.

I'm not having a whinge, was just posing a possible reason for the other poster mentioning jerseys. It doesn't bother me I just find it funny.
    There are lads who wear other jerseys lots too, but I do think the wearing a county jersey as much as you can is a bit more prevalent in GAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,564 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Great news, hopefully they will serve a full Mixed Grill, including liver and chops, with Fried Bread and a few Arvostatin on the side

ablelocks wrote: »

The GAA are paying for the hotel.

The GAA are hand out looking for a handout from the taxpayers of this country.

If you need an injection of taxpayers money, and your hand is out looking for taxpayers money all under the guise of the betterment of the sport all the while spending xx millions of your own cash on a hotel ?

If you have enough money to be buying land and building hotels you’ve a fûcking immense cheek to be applying for funding from the taxpayers of the country to run your sport. That’s just shît.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

To everyong objecting that the GAA get funding from the government: surely their building of their own hotel is a great development as, if it's successful, they will need less money from the government in future?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,909 ✭✭✭ablelocks

If the GAA are building it. The government fund the GAA to the tune of xx million per year. The government ie. taxpayer is funding it. There is no decree by the government as to what the money should be spent on that they give to the GAA. A hotel is a business venture not a sporting necessity.

If the GAA can be affording to build hotels... then they can get on the phone to Leinster House and say “ actually you know what, we don’t need financial assistance at this present time, the money that was intended for us would be better spent in other corners of the sporting world... where it can be spent improving facilities for participants and spectators as well as grants for people involved.

If you need an injection of taxpayers money, and your hand is out looking for taxpayers money all under the guise of the betterment of the sport all the while spending xx millions of your own cash on a hotel ?

If you have enough money to be buying land and building hotels you’ve a fûcking immense cheek to be applying for funding from the taxpayers of the country to run your sport. That’s just shît.

you had to reply to my post twice, with no evidence to back your claims?

Any taxpayer funding to any organisation has to be accounted for. You're right about this - the hotel won't be funded by the taxpayer because it is a "business venture and not a sporting necessity" - Government have enough be paying for without funding the development of a hotel.

They allocate taxpayer funding based on the contribution the GAA makes to the wider societal good - as they do with all voluntary or professional organisations that are funded by the taxpayer. This funding is ringfenced for direct sporting use - the commercial wing of the GAA is a separate entity as far as i know. (and if it isn't, it bloody well should be)

and somebody said the GAA lads are touchy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,755 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Fairly sure that GAA funding from government isn't just a block grant but for specific programmes, say youth games development. These are audited and come with many conditions - principally that the money is only spent on that specific programme.

The GAA doesn't get a ball of money from government with a note saying, "off you go lads, enjoy yourselves".

Fairly sure that GAA funding from government isn't just a block grant but for specific programmes, say youth games development. These are audited and come with many conditions - principally that the money is only spent on that specific programme.

The GAA doesn't get a ball of money from government with a note saying, "off you go lads, enjoy yourselves".

Ok... why is the taxpayer giving funding for say youth games development if the GAA have tens of millions spare that they can buy a shîtload of land and build a big hotel ? It’s going to work out closer to 90 million...land and build.

Be like if I had 5 million in the bank, off out tomorrow to buy a new Mercedes Maybach and the church is having a whip around for donations for me.. it’s rediculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

"In December, 19 acres was sold onto international property group Hines, who as part of the agreement with the GAA have included 10% affordable housing in their development on top of the required 10% social housing. It is understood the GAA will more than recover the entire €95.17m for the sale to Hines

They bought the lands for 95 million and sold most of the land back at a profit. They have now contracted Dalata group to run the hotel at a tidy profit. This is good business

Great business, but they are still being bankrolled by our government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Government grants accounted for about 7% of the GAAs income last year and is granted by sport Ireland for specific projects - hardly bankrolling the organisation. It's money well spent