Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Van Morrison wants you do die for music

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭_Godot_

Guy's an idiot.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,977 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Curmudgeon remains curmudgeon shocker. And the irish times 'reporting' it.. I miss live music but not enough to ignore social distancing and put myself/family/friends/colleagues/anyone at risk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Why is it the dumbest people think they are smart?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭SlowMotion321

But..But.. social distancing is economically nonviable! How is he going to add to his millions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Grumpy old man gives out and makes the news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 bobchowhut

his audeance over 60s are the most at risk as he is

illusory superiority

A mostly western thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

I fell asleep when I saw him live. Boring old sod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,815 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Real real gone, in the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,902 ✭✭✭RayCon

When the only other musician agreeing with you is Jim Corr you know you're fcuked. Bleedin pleb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Real real gone,

tumblr_ni8wvz71Tf1rtbl5vo1_500.gifv

RayCon wrote: »
    When the only other musician agreeing with you is Jim Corr you know you're fcuked. Bleedin pleb.

Beet you never thought you would be on Jedwards side of an argument! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Morrison was always an arsehole, very difficult man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yes, I get all of my medical advice from a 74 year old misanthropic hermit.

jimgoose wrote: »

True, but now he has gone from difficult to dangerous!

seamus wrote: »
    Yes, I get all of my medical advice from a 74 year old misanthropic hermit.

This thread is about Van Morrison not Trump! Stay on topic :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,774 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Astral wakes

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,880 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

He is a fat grumpy clown.
    I wouldn't pay any attention to what that moany hole has to say.

My folks would have been big fans, but he is absolutely brutal live seemingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,276 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

jimgoose wrote: »

Those early/mid 70s albums are as good as it gets though.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,549 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

The Nal wrote: »
    Those early/mid 70s albums are as good as it gets though.

No idea so I'll defer to you on that.

I love Muse but Matt Bellamy spreads all sorts of toxic sh*te on social media but I can separate him from his music.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

The Slate summed up his live performances perfectly:

"Van Morrison hates you, and he won't play requests"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭Vita nova

That's disappointing, one of my favourite singer-songwriters, but I think most people are clever enough to ignore his views on Covid-19.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,880 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Brian Kennedy also seems to act as his translator on stage to his singing which now takes the form of mumbling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    The Slate summed up his live performances perfectly:

"Van Morrison hates you, and he won't play requests"

The Slate from 20 years or so ago, from DIT?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

Not his problem if a packed crowd gets Covid.
    The money is in the bank. On to the next gig.
    Van the Man is sounding like Ryanair's Michael O'Leary "I'm saving the economy".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Just what I'd expect from that miserable odd prick.

Talented man but that's about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,457 ✭✭✭✭Kylta

I wouldn't be surprised if he was a covid song ready to go. The first lines will be something like this
    'Why was I forgotten mumbles mumbles mumbles.
    Why did nobody listen to me mumbles mumbles mumbles
    Nobody respects the mumble man mumbles mumbles mumbles.
    Covid tried to kill the music mumble
    It can kill all the people but it can't kill me mumbles mumbles x 10.
    And no this is not fu¢king van Morrison either. ( if the above does appear in his next songs let me know I'll sue the geriatric for royalties)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

A fantastic artist imo. I love him. But he seems like a pure and utter prick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

It’s Van night on BBC4. You know how it goes...he always seems to sing the same song

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭stannis

Yeah, he "wants you to die" from a virus that has zero deaths in this country almost every day now. You corona cultists are like hysterical puritan fanatics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭john9876

Greatest Irish musical artist ever. End of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,029 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

john9876 wrote: »

Who Jedward :D

Van isn't the Man anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

eh your thinking of Rory Gallagher ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 OneHedge1

He does not need the money and whether he is "pleasant company" or not is entirely irrelevant.

It goes without saying that he's been around a long time and seen/heard a lot more than most of us ever will. That his voice differs from the Gov/RTE/IT should make it more valuable; that is what makes a healthy functioning society.

Not to worry though, I'm sure there'll soon be another conspiracy theory "explainer article" from an IT assistant editor that will help me think right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

It's a Sellafield thing. He ate some shellfish while out on his rambles round Coney Island and Jim Corr drank a bit too much tapwaaaata. Hi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,219 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

And an eejit. What he is saying proves it.

I worked for a company that he had a dealing with and an account with. I’d have had several phone conversations well maybe three or four a year over four years.... you be trying to resolve something with and for him... difficult let’s just say... in this situation he probably just thinks... “ahhh they get made wear a mask, be grand”..

Him and HIS entourage, musicians, band, security, drivers, managers, road crews, production- sound, lights, roadies, etc...

For a show the scale of Van that’s 40 people plus. He isn’t going to be in a tourbus, he will have a chauffeur driven car, he can have a penthouse in a local hotel until 10 before stage time, driven to stage door and go, after out the same way...

his crew won’t have that benefit...

The venue staff, probably nearing 50 between bars, ticket checkers, security, lighting, riggers, management... a lot of people in close contact, audiences in close contact...

The audience...

You don’t have to be a Mensa member to realize that isn’t a good situation. But old Van...hmmmm

Objectively untrue.

I'll happily admit that he is a great singer/artist (no Rory though;)) That doesn't stop him from being a dangerous selfish prick, who cares more about himself and his need to be adored by his fans on stage than he does about their health and welfare!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

I would do anything for Van but I

won't

do

that.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,559 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Fúck the elderly. Fúck the health compromised. Rock on maaan :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

He's a poor man's Mark McCabe.

Your Face wrote: »

who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,029 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Your Face wrote: »

Maniac 2020 is needed :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

eh your thinking of Rory Gallagher ;)

No, he's thinking of the redneck manifesto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭Feisar

Because the more one knows the more they realise they don’t know.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,861 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

The hysterical getting hysterical....

No deaths for how long now ?
    53 new 'cases' …..
    35 people in hospital
    6 in ICU.

432 people died in the world yesterday WITH covid , not BECAUSE of covid,

The curve is flattened, and people are still getting hysterical....

Open the country, play the music, go to pubs.

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

greenspurs wrote: »
    The hysterical getting hysterical....

No deaths for how long now ?
    53 new 'cases' …..
    35 people in hospital
    6 in ICU.

432 people died in the world yesterday WITH covid , not BECAUSE of covid,

The curve is flattened, and people are still getting hysterical....

Open the country, play the music, go to pubs.

As long as there is any kind of issue someone somewhere will get hysterical about it on both sides of whatever it is and others will then point out hysterically that people are getting hysterical! That's simply human nature, You quote statistics and they are good ones, perhaps that is because are using common sense and consideration for others! I am in a risk category and wear a mask and use hand sanitizer when I go out and I appreciate the consideration others show me by doing same, as for the flattening you are right for now, but I honestly believe we have not seen the last of this and there will be a second wave, look at the statistics for the USA 4% of the world population 25% of the cases and now some moron is talking about doing nothing and letting heard immunity sort it out. I really don't get why people refuse to believe there is a problem until it affects them personally!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Bobblehats wrote: »
    tumblr_ni8wvz71Tf1rtbl5vo1_500.gifv

This is great !!!
    8 bit Brent dance!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

This will explain everything!

The Dunning–Kruger effect:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dunning%E2%80%93Kruger_effect#:~:text=In%20the%20field%20of%20psychology,recognize%20their%20lack%20of%20ability.

It is related to the cognitive bias of illusory superiority and comes from the inability of people to recognize their lack of ability. Without the self-awareness of metacognition, people cannot objectively evaluate their competence or incompetence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,276 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

o1s1n wrote: »
    This will explain everything!

The Dunning–Kruger effect:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dunning%E2%80%93Kruger_effect#:~:text=In%20the%20field%20of%20psychology,recognize%20their%20lack%20of%20ability.

It is related to the cognitive bias of illusory superiority and comes from the inability of people to recognize their lack of ability. Without the self-awareness of metacognition, people cannot objectively evaluate their competence or incompetence

Anyway on topic (ish). Top 5 Van albums

1. Moondance
    2. Astral Weeks
    3. His Band and the Street Choir
    4. Saint Dominic's Preview
    5. Veedon Fleece