Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should I cancel Sky

• 25-08-2020 8:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭

I know - only i can answer this question, but looking for input anyway

The amount I pay Sky TV is now getting ridiculous; for myself the value is the sports packages as my passion is Liverpool FC, but with all the sports channels (no option to subscribe to soccer only, as I would have in UK), HD and multiroom, the price I pay is over €150 per month!

I just called them saying I was thinking of cancelling altogether and was offered a package at €129 (just dropping kids channels) but it required a 12 month contract, and it still is overly expensive in my view. I said I would think about it, but I guess I need to get back to them with a decision one way or the other.

If I push my threat to cancel altogether will I get better pricing or is this really "the best they can do" as I was told? Not sure I can do without Liverpool matches, so if I do make the leap and cancel my subscription I would need some alternative lined up.

Advice always welcome ...

PS - My phone & BB is currently with Eir, I only have TV with Sky at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,710 ✭✭✭blackbox

Have a look into getting the football on Now TV.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Have a look at swticher.ie, or bonkers.ie, and see what offers are available. Just note down what channels you actually watch, and what services you need. Always good idea to review your suppliers annually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Telly

tombrown wrote: »
    I know - only i can answer this question, but looking for input anyway

The amount I pay Sky TV is now getting ridiculous; for myself the value is the sports packages as my passion is Liverpool FC, but with all the sports channels (no option to subscribe to soccer only, as I would have in UK), HD and multiroom, the price I pay is over €150 per month!

I just called them saying I was thinking of cancelling altogether and was offered a package at €129 (just dropping kids channels) but it required a 12 month contract, and it still is overly expensive in my view. I said I would think about it, but I guess I need to get back to them with a decision one way or the other.

If I push my threat to cancel altogether will I get better pricing or is this really "the best they can do" as I was told? Not sure I can do without Liverpool matches, so if I do make the leap and cancel my subscription I would need some alternative lined up.

Advice always welcome ...

PS - My phone & BB is currently with Eir, I only have TV with Sky at the moment
    €150 for just the TV? We pay €119 for BB, phone, TV, Sports and multi room all with Sky/Sky Q. Cancel the whole lot and within 2 weeks you'll get a better deal from them. I do it each yr when the 12 months is up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Baymax2020

Just cancel and go with an IPTV subscription instead crowd I currently use is less than 15p/m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

€1800 per year for tv :)
    Knocked down to €1560 :):)

Absolutely off you're trolley.

There are many alternatives out there for a fraction of those prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭tech

i dumped sky about 6 months ago, never looked back total rip off,

I got a ZGemma h7s combo box, can schedule record, series link and happy out, just use Free to Air uk and saorview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,386 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Couple of options:
    1. Hope for a better discount from Sky. The best I've seen is 35%, but that's usually only on the base price. You might get offers on the Sports or multiroom is you push them though (i.e. cancel). Don't forget - if you cancel you have 28 or 31 days (can't remember which) to cancel your cancellation, so you can see if they do offer anything in that period.
    2. Cancel Sky. Go with a FTA setup for TV (will need box per TV unless it has built in tuner) and probably a new LNB on dish. You can then use the likes of Now TV for sports (pricey still, €39 per month for Sky Sports, €34 for the sports extra (BT & Premier) pack).
    3. Go with a dodgy setup, which might work out grand, but may also disappear on you in a few weeks/month.

The killer for you is the absolute need for sports. Sports is about the only thing left that is must-see live TV and not fine with a netflix type solution, and the broadcasters know this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭tombrown

dulpit wrote: »
    Couple of options:
    1. Hope for a better discount from Sky. The best I've seen is 35%, but that's usually only on the base price. You might get offers on the Sports or multiroom is you push them though (i.e. cancel). Don't forget - if you cancel you have 28 or 31 days (can't remember which) to cancel your cancellation, so you can see if they do offer anything in that period.
    2. Cancel Sky. Go with a FTA setup for TV (will need box per TV unless it has built in tuner) and probably a new LNB on dish. You can then use the likes of Now TV for sports (pricey still, €39 per month for Sky Sports, €34 for the sports extra (BT & Premier) pack).
    3. Go with a dodgy setup, which might work out grand, but may also disappear on you in a few weeks/month.

The killer for you is the absolute need for sports. Sports is about the only thing left that is must-see live TV and not fine with a netflix type solution, and the broadcasters know this.

You're absolutely right on the killer issue for me, and, my concern with "dodgy" setups is exactly as you state - I really need reliability.

I wasnt aware of the month in which I can uncancel, so that helps me play chicken a bit longer :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,877 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

How much of the viewing in your house would be Free to Air channels like BBC?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭tombrown

Not much, TBH, I've been watching RTE & BBC news during COVID but ordinarily wouldn't particularly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭redoctober

You're absolutely right on the killer issue for me, and, my concern with "dodgy" setups is exactly as you state - I really need reliability.

I wasnt aware of the month in which I can uncancel, so that helps me play chicken a bit longer :)

Hi Tom. I recently cancelled my sky. Was just on basic setup but trying to cut bills!. Sky offered me basic package for 22 a month final offer. I went through with cancellation but had a month to change my mind.

There's a helpful site called cordbustersuk which explains the options quite well. As per other posters it depends on what you want. I find I can live without sports other than match of the day. Just go to the pub for the big games or listen on bbc 5 live. Hard to live with that sometimes but can't justify paying a packet for sports.

As per above, Now Tv have a pay monthly option for sports but it's not overly cheap. The advantage is you can drop it anytime which I think is nice. I may well get that at some stage for a month to quell cravings for live footie. I got a Now TV stick in Aldi recently for 20 quid which gave free cinema for two months so basically 10 quid a month for all the movies. Normal price is 15. Not too bad and again you can drop it anytime.

Last year I got an amazon stick with Prime for a month. I think the 4K stick was about 40 quid. Prime isn't great. There are some decent films but the interface is poor - hard to find stuff. The stick itself is good and is quite open so you can install lots of apps yourself which will open up more viewing options. I had netflix for a few months which was good. I'll probably get it again soon. Basic plan is very cheap.

Another piece of the puzzle is to get a Freesat box or something like it. There is lots of info about them on these forums. I got a second hand one some years ago. While you don't have as much as you have on Sky, it's not bad to keep you going. There are all the English standard channels and some others like Dmax, Dave, PBS, Film 4. I'm going to be using a combination of the Freesat and the smart sticks. So will see how that goes. At the moment, monthly cost is: tv licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

I e been using a dodgy box now for about 4 years. Hasn't gone down once. All sports/movies/tv/box sets etc. I buy 3 month subscription at a time just in case,a friend buys 6 months at a time. Haven't been let down yet

Edit ; what part of the country are you in OP

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 12,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg

There is no discussion of illegal providers here. Paying a sub /= legal

baymax2020 and Oddessey 2005 all take warnings and it is an automatic 48 hour ban for even a mention from here on in.

(Blackbox warned in error).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭dam099

You can then use the likes of Now TV for sports (pricey still, €39 per month for Sky Sports, €34 for the sports extra (BT & Premier) pack).

If you time it right you might also be able to get a 50% off offer on the 2 Sports passes for a few months (or even longer as sometimes if you go to cancel they offer to extend it again).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,009 ✭✭✭micks_address

We cancelled sky recently. Was paying 52 euro a month for basically free to air channels and recording. Replaced with a Linux combination box that pulls in saorview and free to air Satelite channels. Some setup required and box needs an internet connection for seven day epg. Series link isn't as good as sky but you can do timers and auto timers. Advantages is you can record off the likes of channel 4hd, channel 5hd, ITV hd. Downsides is you only get virgin media and tg4 channels is SD from Saorview.

Sport is the obvious loss. We just couldn't justify the outlay each month. Up to a few months ago was paying 134 a month to sky for uhd sub with all sports etc. We have Netflix, Amazon prime and Disney plus so not short on content

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭Qprmeath

I’m in a similar position, paying €130 plus a month. Dont live in an area with an option for cable and only have mobile broadband which limits me on alternatives. We do watch some films but sport is the real deal breaker. Have spoken to Sky couple of times but offered no deals. Was going to cancel to see would I get an offer??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,009 ✭✭✭micks_address

Qprmeath wrote: »
    I’m in a similar position, paying €130 plus a month. Dont live in an area with an option for cable and only have mobile broadband which limits me on alternatives. We do watch some films but sport is the real deal breaker. Have spoken to Sky couple of times but offered no deals. Was going to cancel to see would I get an offer??

You can cancel and have 30 days notice. You can change your mind last few days if they don't offer anything. I'm guessing they will offer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭tscul32

Nowtv here too. Usually can get movies and entertainment for about €9 a month each. Don't use the sports but the beauty is that you just get it for the months you want it. And there are often offers on. With the movies or entertainment any time I go to cancel it gives me a deal for the next 3 months or whatever. You just have to be on top of your rollover dates so that if you're getting an offer you don't roll over to full price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,366 ✭✭✭batistuta9

yeah definitely do it, you've nothing to lose. the way it use to work was that you needed to cancel & go through with it to get the best offers, the winback/loyalty team will ring you up about it. might mean a few weeks without it but you've nowtv as a replacement.

them people you're chatting to now can't give anywhere near as good a deal, they actually didn't even offer you one just were going to reduce your content & drop the price. you don't give a junkie free drugs :pac:

there's a thread in one of the bargain alerts suborums on the sky deals. i've no idea what they offer now but they did half price or x free months in the past when you cancelled & weren't subbing anymore.

https://www.sky.com/help/canceltvroi
    Used this link yesterday morning and they rang me yesterday evening. My next bill was actually going to be €150. Explained my situation, got a load of different offers applied and my bill keeping everything will now be just over €100 a month now for the next 12 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,812 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Baymax2020 wrote: »
    Just cancel and go with an IPTV subscription instead crowd I currently use is less than 15p/m

How good does the broadband connection need to be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭John mac

i cancelled after 18 years, back in June , was paying 42 a month ,
    they rang me yesterday and offered a free install of Sky Q ,
    and a monthly fee of 21.60 for 12 months .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

I'm with NowTV for a few years now.

I have never paid ore than 60% of the asking price for any package. Currently have both sports, movies, entertainment and kids all at half price.
    Each time my deal is ending click to cancel. It will always come back to you with 40/50% off for 2,3 or even six months. Sometimes moonpig do offers.

Also you can have two screens going at once, so buy two sticks and now you have multi room for free. You can actually register six devices so you can also put it on tablets, and phones .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭tmabr

tech wrote: »
    i dumped sky about 6 months ago, never looked back total rip off,

I got a ZGemma h7s combo box, can schedule record, series link and happy out, just use Free to Air uk and saorview

Got rid of sky too,save about €100 a month.

Can I ask you how u find this combo box?
    I use the Ferguson ariva and the recording is terrible.
    Ty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭niallb

John mac wrote: »
    ... they rang me yesterday and offered a free install of Sky Q ...

If you take that free install, your dish will no longer be compatible with FreeSat options if you decide to drop Sky in future.
    You'd have to get the LNB replaced again to return to standard services.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Irish_peppa

I had sky for a decade before getting rid. Dont notice it gone in the slightest . Saorview for my news and freesat/fta box for music channels or BBC / sky.
    (in fairness wasnt a big sports fan)
    Most people in my home dont even watch tv now. Its all youtube on their android phones or they stream their phone to the tv with the chromecast. Jasus im surprised sky is still around at those prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭DD1518

Yes I'd definitely recommend cancelling I cancelled mine during the week after paying 177 a month for the past year or so it's crazy money. Have got myself another source at 12 euro a month and has every channel you could ever ask for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,868 ✭✭✭Ten Pin

If you take that free install, your dish will no longer be compatible with FreeSat options if you decide to drop Sky in future.

Couple of options to workaround that...
    1. Keep the LNB currently in use as a spare.
    2. Insist on a hybrid LNB and ensure that it works with Freesat/FTA/Sky legacy boxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Masala

Ten Pin wrote: »
    Couple of options to workaround that...
    1. Keep the LNB currently in use as a spare.
    2. Insist on a hybrid LNB and ensure that it works with Freesat/FTA/Sky legacy boxes.

Ya.... that’s what I got done.

1. I have Sky Q to sitting room
    2. Sky Mini Bix running on WIFI from sitting room to kitchen
    3. A SAB Freeview box in bedroom running back to dish on same cable that was installed 20 years ago

I am paying €88 for SKY + Movies+ sport + Sky Q + mini box. Dropped Kids and why ever the Discovery channel was on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭Davexirl

My 12 month contract ends today, thinking of cancelling it. I have Sky Q, so I'll need to get the LNB changed on the dish for a combo box. Also I don't have an antenna for saorview at the moment.

Don't know which combo box to go for I see Tiviar Alpha+ Plus and Zgemma h7s combo box getting good reviews on boards.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 12,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg

Brock Turnpipe banned for 48 hours for continuing to pursue discussion of a topic and quoting a post for which an on-thread warning had already been issued

Re Post #28, DD1518 narrowly avoids a ban due to vaguenes as to what his other source is but that post is at the very edge of what is acceptable and I am watching any future posts. A reminder that any discussion of piracy is an automatic ban on this thread

Just a general word. It is my policy to leave offending posts in place unless there are potential legal issues. That is because otherwise moderation becomes a matter of vagueness as to what exactly is being moderated and posters need to understand what is acceptable behaviour which cannot happen if posts are removed. That does not mean such posts can be quoted and discussion continued. It will be assumed that any person quoting a warned post knows that the warning is in place and action will be on the basis that they themselves have also received that warning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭Spn744

Now TV allow you to stream on 2 devices at a time. I have a friend who we go halves on the subscription. The new sports offers for Now TV aren’t up yet but when they are before the start of the season if it’s for example €35 per month for sky sports, BT and Premier then it’s only €17.50 each which is more more affordable and legal. Now TV completely allow this and even state it on their website!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭John mac

niallb wrote: »

Yup. not going with it though , save 21.60 a month . :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 marcuslally2

Yes. Yes you should most definitely cancel. How these lads are still going I have no idea. There are a bundle of alternatives out there offering the exact same thing. What gets me is the Sky technology is old hat and charging a fortune.
    Get rid and be done. You won't even notice. A bit of upfront cost on some hardware, Firestick, Zgemma box, etc, an hour on the Google and away you go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭tech

tmabr wrote: »
    Got rid of sky too,save about €100 a month.

Can I ask you how u find this combo box?
    I use the Ferguson ariva and the recording is terrible.
    Ty

Hi

i find the box good, I have a few schedules setup for both Saroview channels and FTA ( Uk Channels) works well

I have it setup so I have set stuff to record from my mobile like the Sky App!! Im happy and saving 40 odd a month

Yes. Yes you should most definitely cancel. How these lads are still going I have no idea. There are a bundle of alternatives out there offering the exact same thing. What gets me is the Sky technology is old hat and charging a fortune.
    Get rid and be done. You won't even notice. A bit of upfront cost on some hardware, Firestick, Zgemma box, etc, an hour on the Google and away you go.

What do you mean by old hat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,554 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

I'm sure that poster can speak from him/herself, but my relatives have the latest q box and it constantly missed recordings, deleted recordings and had to be switched off and on again because it wasn't connecting to the Internet. Customer support was a joke.

I've just got prime, disney and netflix atm and am doing okay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,386 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

everlast75 wrote: »
    I'm sure that poster can speak from him/herself, but my relatives have the latest q box and it constantly missed recordings, deleted recordings and had to be switched off and on again because it wasn't connecting to the Internet. Customer support was a joke.

Say what you will about sky, and you can definitely complain about price and how much you can customise it, but what it does have going for it is that it just works.

My parents have sky plus, the only issues they have ever had is situations where they want to record 3 things at same time or where programmes change last minute and epg isn't updated. Neither really a sky problem.

My in laws have a sky q setup, their major issue was the mini box they have for multiroom not keeping WiFi connected (awkward house layout though).

Sky is simple, but in a good way. But it is expensive and options like a good freesat box are equally as simple.

However the one thing sky has that cannot be (legally anyway) matched is sports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

Do you still need a dish or aerial to get soar view these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,554 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Say what you will about sky, and you can definitely complain about price and how much you can customise it, but what it does have going for it is that it just works.

My parents have sky plus, the only issues they have ever had is situations where they want to record 3 things at same time or where programmes change last minute and epg isn't updated. Neither really a sky problem.

My in laws have a sky q setup, their major issue was the mini box they have for multiroom not keeping WiFi connected (awkward house layout though).

Sky is simple, but in a good way. But it is expensive and options like a good freesat box are equally as simple.

However the one thing sky has that cannot be (legally anyway) matched is sports.

I've just explained my experience and that of my relatives over the course of the last year.

I had the older sky box. They worked perfectly.

Their newer one was plagued with problems over the last year. It was replaced. The problems persisted.

The Internet was plugged straight into the back of the box. It was not wifi related.

Your experience is different. That's fine. But so was theirs.

everlast75 wrote: »

Satellite TV does not need to include connection to the internet (new hat). And can be completely free after installation, for channels like the BBC. The new hat is of variable quality still, depending on location. And will always include an ongoing cost, even if people use it only to watch the BBC.

There are lots of other satellites apart from the one at 28 East which has Sky and the BBC. Satellite TV independent of the internet is far from old hat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 marcuslally2

Throwing cables over the roof/in through the wall, dish stuck to side of house, just in this day and age seems crazy.

While completely understandable for folk not the most technology literate such as my parent's, etc getting Sky might make sense but for anyone with a half decent Internet connection, a bit of nous on the Technology side of things and spending 1hr on Google can open up all sorts of possibilities.

I just can't understand how Sky are still in business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭blackbullet

if you still have your sky box and satalite you can have freeview channels at zero cost id never pay 150 a month for any tv no way
    you might have to do without sports if you go this way 150 i have freeview enble on my firststick iget basic channels you should research this best of luck.

Throwing cables over the roof/in through the wall, dish stuck to side of house, just in this day and age seems crazy.

While completely understandable for folk not the most technology literate such as my parent's, etc getting Sky might make sense but for anyone with a half decent Internet connection, a bit of nous on the Technology side of things and spending 1hr on Google can open up all sorts of possibilities.

I just can't understand how Sky are still in business.

It's a crazy old world alright with all these satellites up there providing lots of free TV to places which can only dream of a fibre connection. And even crazier that some people still get all their TV from an aerial served by a transmitter on some mountain top. All those nasty cables up to the chimney.

https://www.flysat.com/satlist.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭urranger

Qprmeath wrote: »
    Ditch the mobile and get a land connection. Spend an extra €50 on a firestick and you'll have better options long term. You'll get playback by the time QPR are back in the premiership 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

niallb wrote: »

Ask for a hybrid lnb and it will work on both systems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

Out of curiosity.

I'm paying €95 pm with virgin media for TV, broadband and home phone. I have Netflix HD for additional €12pm so €107 pm in total.

I can get the same product with Sky for €68 with netflix and HD for 12 months.
    The cost of broadband alone is around €30pm for 6 months and then about €55-60 pm after 6 months. Even at €30 for 6 months thats only an additional €38 pm for HD TV, netflix and phone.

When you add up Now TV or similar products I'm looking at saving about €15-20 a month. Am I missing something or is that right?

Genuine question.

urranger wrote: »
    Ditch the mobile and get a land connection. Spend an extra €50 on a firestick and you'll have better options long term. You'll get playback by the time QPR are back in the premiership 😉
    Decent broadband like Qpr’s return to the big time is something I can only dream about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭decor58

Do you still need a dish or aerial to get soar view these days?

Yes an aerial for Saorview, you could use the players, RTE and VM but on smart tv's you don't get the Live option, VM player is not available on all tv brands. Dish for UK tv in most of RoI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

does a Sky Q box work with the dual LNB?