Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the best way to turn a laddish guy into a middle class man?

• 24-08-2020 4:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭

Was listening to this song last week. It's about a laddish, working class guy who suddenly develops a love of things that are middle-class and unladdish. He is also a more open minded person, who doesn't mind the fact that people are gay and who doesn't read the Star any more because he "prefer(s) a boring article to a bird in pants and bra".
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gnuepN9EvTw
    What I wanna know is... how would you transform a laddish guy into someone more sophisticated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Man with broke phone

Middle class is sophisticated now is it? Somebody read the latest Dan Brown and is full of culture.

I didn't know we had classes in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

"The Rain in Spain Stays Mainly in the Plain." Repeat ad nauseum.

https://youtu.be/xmADMB2utAo

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

I did loads of them at school

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

1. Read 'As a Man Thinketh' or a précis of it.
    2. Practice delayed gratification. Re-wire your brain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    I did loads of them at school

That was way back then. Before the new normal...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Alejandro68

I never heard of that word Laddish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,958 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Wine, french or italian food (not pizza) and BBC4.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

That's such an upper class thing to say. You've taken it too far.

It's very 1990s... Loaded, Maxim, FHM magazine territory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Errashareesh

Do people still think middle-class men can't be laddish?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

A boring soul destroying desk job, will eventually tame even the wildest of men!

When you put on a suit and tie in the morning, just remember you don't own that suit... that suit now owns you! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭Cushtie

A boring soul destroying desk job, will eventually tame even the wildest of men!

When you put on a suit and tie in the morning, just remember you don't own that suit... that suit now owns you! ;)

Ain't that the f****ING truth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Alejandro68

That's such an upper class thing to say. You've taken it too far.

I am nowhere near upper class(I wish).Just never heard of that word since English isn't my native language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,639 ✭✭✭✭road_high

You can be sure we do and they’re very evident!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Bottles, not cans.
    FG, not SF.
    Polos, not tees.
    Erotica, not porn.

That's about it really...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,830 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Was listening to this song last week. It's about a laddish, working class guy who suddenly develops a love of things that are middle-class and unladdish. He is also a more open minded person, who doesn't mind the fact that people are gay and who doesn't read the Star any more because he "prefer(s) a boring article to a bird in pants and bra".
    What I wanna know is... how would you transform a laddish guy into someone more sophisticated?

Lol a bird in pants and bra just imagine that bird flying over you lol. That would be funny. Besides it's a bit strange being into a bird in a bra and panties but not for me to judge lol.
    As for different classes that's just a load of bull.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

I am profoundly middle class. I am only polite to working class folk as a courtesy. But quite deep down I cannot bring myself to trust them and secretly hold them in contempt.

It is the climbers who phucked everything all up. I find that most working class climbers ( especially successful hard working types ) are literally no craic anyways or either. They smell a bit sometimes too. I hate their smell and their fake smiles. I love it when they put on a posh accent though, I like to see them trying at least, even though I know they are bores and a waste of time. The biggest indicator of a climber is overpriced new cars, always trashy. Don't forget old money = old cars, it is a simple formula.

I also seethe at Culchies. That includes posh types from Cork City or Killkenny, thats right, I just see a culchie.

On a final note I looooooove working class women. Especially foul mouthed inner city Dublin types. They turn me on, I love a bit of rough. Also culchie climbers. I love women from Roscommon who are trying to score a rich guy in the "big schmoke", I love it when they adopt the posh accent, instant turn on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

You need to get a PA called Karl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭Greyfox

how would you transform a laddish guy into someone more sophisticated?

You would start by asking him if he wants to change as changing him might make him boring

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭JasonStatham

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    I am profoundly middle class. I am only polite to working class folk as a courtesy. But quite deep down I cannot bring myself to trust them and secretly hold them in contempt.

It is the climbers who phucked everything all up. I find that most working class climbers ( especially successful hard working types ) are literally no craic anyways or either. They smell a bit sometimes too. I hate their smell and their fake smiles. I love it when they put on a posh accent though, I like to see them trying at least, even though I know they are bores and a waste of time. The biggest indicator of a climber is overpriced new cars, always trashy. Don't forget old money = old cars, it is a simple formula.

I also seethe at Culchies. That includes posh types from Cork City or Killkenny, thats right, I just see a culchie.

On a final note I looooooove working class women. Especially foul mouthed inner city Dublin types. They turn me on, I love a bit of rough. Also culchie climbers. I love women from Roscommon who are trying to score a rich guy in the "big schmoke", I love it when they adopt the posh accent, instant turn on.

Stay classy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

where have you been your whole life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

When a poor working class man from Galway who could only speak Irish, his name was Maolra Seoighe was wrongly (known) convicted of murder & hanged in 1882 & was pardoned by president Higgins in 2018.
    During the trial a London based paper published this very un-biased & not at all bigoted article on class.

"The Tragedy at Maamtrasna, investigated this week in Dublin, almost unique as it is in the annals of the United Kingdom, brings out in strong relief two facts which Englishmen are too apt to forget. One is the existence in particular districts of Ireland of a class of peasants who are scarcely civilised beings, and approach far nearer to savages than any other white men; and the other is their extraordinary and exceptional gloominess of temper. In remote places of Ireland, especially in Connaught, on a few of the islands, and in one or two mountain districts, dwell cultivators who are in knowledge, in habits, and in the discipline of life no higher than Maories or other Polynesians." http://archive.spectator.co.uk/article/18th-november-1882/7/the-tragedy-at-maamtrasna

This was during the time of the rise of the Home Rule movement & the IPP, over 130 years ago. Unfortunately lots of people still hold these views of poor working class people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭F5500

Become hesitant to buy a car unless it's the top spec of that model.

Optional extras like leather upholstery, reversing cameras and other trinkets really help separate the wheat from the chaff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

My fair lad.

I charge 50 euro an hr. Its expensive but worth it. He'll being saying his th's in no time.

Word of warning though. They all change back into their true selves at midnight.

Seriously though ....you just give him more money. When you have money you don't need a personality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Make him get a job, then force him to pay 53% tax on his income.
    Bingo...now he's middle class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Bottles, not cans.
    FG, not SF.
    Polos, not tees.
    Erotica, not porn.

Oh ****, what have I become?

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Give him a social democrats membership card for his birthday

Be a feminist by Christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Rugby

University

A girlfriend who is like whatever you want him to turn towards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

My wife is desperate to make me middle class but she is confused and thinks middle class is "new money".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Use plenty of ''superfluous'' quotation marks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

Billy Connolly doe's a great skit about the middle classes.

I think it's the Toffs for dinner sketch, you can find it on YouTube at around 3 minutes 20 seconds in he starts his slagging off the middle classes.

Slags them off about driving Volvo's, but it's the Audi nowadays I'd say.
    Although you'll find a lot of old money wealthy people who don't drive big fancy car's or expensive motor bikes.
    They usually opt for car's they'll find practical and vintage style motor bikes.

It's a great sketch, and he hits the nail on the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

A few rounds of soggy biscuit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

GANT polo shirts.

GANT jumper tied around neck.

Chinos.

Golfing clothes worn off the course.

Omega Seamaster watch.

Jeep 4WD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭gourcuff

jesus imagine the responses on twitter if this was about a female... :),,,

are lads just less sensitive to stupid questions.... :)

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Bottles, not cans.
    FG, not SF.
    Polos, not tees.
    Erotica, not porn.

I'd probably be considered pretty middle class, but I'm f*cked if I'm ever wearing a polo shirt. Hideous things.

Zaph wrote: »
    I'd probably be considered pretty middle class, but I'm f*cked if I'm ever wearing a polo shirt. Hideous things.

Really? Hideous?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭AdrianBalboa

My DH and I are firmly "middle class," maybe even the Irish equivalent of "upper middle class," and I find it amazing that we can be attacked en-masse like this by people on this forum but if I was to say anything similar about the "working class" I would be derided for snobbery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Bermuda shorts, thick cable knit sweater, boat shoes.

My DH and I are firmly "middle class," maybe even the Irish equivalent of "upper middle class," and I find it amazing that we can be attacked en-masse like this by people on this forum but if I was to say anything similar about the "working class" I would be derided for snobbery.

It's After Hours mon ami.
    You pick a side. Raise your standard. And attack attack attack.

We're just here for the craic :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭mick087

Your post has totally stereotyped all working class people of Ireland.
    Could you imagine if i tried to stereotype any other race or culture or religion.

It still seems acceptable to have prejudices and stereotype working class people.

Its disgusting' prejudice and racist.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Really? Hideous?

Yep, hideous. Or f*ckin' brutal if that was a bit too middle class. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭pgj2015

also if he gets involved in a relationship with a middle class woman who wears the trousers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

You need to be pussy whipped. When I see middle aged, middle class couples the women always seem to have a determined steeliness about them where as the husbands just do what they're told. I was in Baltimore a few weeks ago and watching couples of my own age (mid 50's) the guys hadn't a ball between them, though the probably think they're the ones in control.
    Women are far better social climbers than men, I've seen it in my own family, so guys, just do what you are told.

Seamai wrote: »
    You need to be pussy whipped. When I see middle aged, middle class couples the women always seem to have a determined steeliness about them where as the husbands just do what they're told. I was in Baltimore a few weeks ago and watching couples of my own age (mid 50's) and the guys hadn't a ball between them, though the probably think they're the ones in control.
    Women are far better social climbers than men, I've seen it in my own family, so guys, just do what you are told.

Confirmation bias. You saw the couples out together when it's usually the woman's who's keen to get out and about. In the rest of the couples, the man's at the golf club.

Seamai wrote: »
    You need to be pussy whipped. When I see middle aged, middle class couples the women always seem to have a determined steeliness about them where as the husbands just do what they're told. I was in Baltimore a few weeks ago and watching couples of my own age (mid 50's) and the guys hadn't a ball between them, though the probably think they're the ones in control.

bbbuttt .... I am that age and was in Baltimore a few weeks ago ... with my wife ... oh sh1t ... *checks Omega Seamaster to make sure to have the dishes done before wifey gets home*

"Steely determination" I like it .... "ball buster" also springs to mind. That's probably why they hadn't a ball between them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

Confirmation bias. You saw the couples out together when it's usually the woman's who's keen to get out and about. In the rest of the couples, the man's at the golf club.

I just picked a recent example where it was glaringly obvious, we had plenty of time for people watching but I see it all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,295 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Dump 2 kids with him to look after, it soon puts a lot of things off the table

cj maxx wrote: »
    Dump 2 kids with him to look after, it soon puts a lot of things off the table

Only if he has any sense of responsibility.