Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

York Day 1

• 18-08-2020 4:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭

Looks a decent meeting with the Juddmonte being the feature.

The fav has been superb this season but i will always take him on and although i backed Kameko antepost i’m warming to Lord North at 4/1 seeing the race will suit with the strong pace to aim at, whether he will get past the fav i’m willing to chance it.

Magical has been a grand horse and always runs her race so no doubt will run well again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭hawaii501

Should be a cracking race, can't wait for it!

Think Magical is worth a go at the prices. Two easy victories so far and will take a chance on it tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Thought Kameko would be a bit shorter and 9/2 fair with the allowance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭tryfix

It's a cracking race day. The International is a bit too tricky to figure out and York throws up strange results so I'm just going to watch it rather than have a bet in it.

The Great Voltigeur Stakes half an hour earlier is always a class race. Mogul is a worthy favourite but I can't get too excited about his 3/4L beating of Highland Chief. The fact that multi million purchase Darain is even running in this race is a tip in itself. Most of the others look underrated and deserve respect.

I'm going to go with the very lightly raced Roberto Escobarr from the Haggis stable. He's a full brother to the high class but slightly quirky Pablo Escobarr which is both encouraging and worrying at the same time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

14:15 York 19th Aug
    Titan Rock@14/1 - not like John Quinn to tilt at too many windmills.

14:45 York 19th Aug
    Berkshire Rocco@16/1 - thereabouts at this grade all season, looks overpriced.

15:15 York 19th Aug
    Magical@7/2 - I don't think Kameko will handle the ground, she will. Ghayaith an obvious danger but I think the knavesmire might catch him out especially if the grounds gets any worse.

15:45 York 19th Aug
    Rochester House@16/1 - needs to get it right in a bigger field at last, but overpriced. Having a saver on Solo Saxophone, it is a toss up also with Just in Time who was not highly tried last time but was off for a few years so could bounce.

14:30 Killarney 19th Aug
    De Name Escapes Me@11/2 - Gavin Ryan all the way baby, yah liddle dixie.

I also like Mighty Spirit for Fahey in the 4.20 and while I fancy the holey arse off Meghan Nicholls I am not sold on her as a jockey just yet, especially sprinting.

It is to start pouring rain over the next few days so watch out for ground changes and the boooookies won't be telling you that. The Racing Post is already in the shops for the morning so keep your ears pealed for updates on the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭pottokblue

By the way best of luck to the manigan hanigan Paul on his first day back racing. I hope he gets a winner or placer or two so I'm going to have a small e.w bet on Bluelaureate in the 345 D1 York.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭ON ZEE BRIDLE

3.45- Here and Now 10/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭RivetingRoger

Mogul Magical double
    was hoping PP would have it priced up as a special double but no such luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭BagheeraBlue

12. Arecibo
    15/2
    1:45

5. Just In Time
    12/1
    15:45

13. Pink Sands
    5/1
    16:20

2. Perotto
    8/1
    16:50

Aplomb each way here for me. Took 12s. Massive chance.

Shocking!

jesus christ take tudhope off arecibo, thats everytime riding the horse the same way and getting him beat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,851 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

jesus christ take tudhope off arecibo, thats everytime riding the horse the same way and getting him beat

Why did you back it so?

because at some point you'd think the thick twat would figure it out

What a cracking race for such a small field. Ghaiyyath is a gorgeous horse, but bad ground in the Arc should sink him. Magical was extremely fit looking today and she was still short of toe when things got serious.

10 is his trip won't stay 12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

Won 2 group 1s over 12 so does stay, better over 10 though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭ustari

Impressive CV this year for Ghaiyyath.

Won 2 group 1s over 12 so does stay, better over 10 though

in germany and beating anthony van dyk who you would not trust to win a group 3 this year

He has only been beaten 3 times in his 12 race career, the first time was on his debut and twice in G1 company in France. Each time he was beaten the ground was Good to Soft or much worse. Waldgeist beat him over 10 1/2f on Good to Soft and again over 12f on Very Soft going in the Arc.

If there's any mention of Soft in the going then he's most likely to be substantially inconvenienced by it. Which makes ya wonder what his next targets could be because the Arc and UK Champion Stakes are usually run on Soft Ground. It would be great to see him at Leopardsown.

I think it is a bit much trying to pick holes in a horse that wins an Eclipse, Juddmonte and Coronation stakes in one season. Ghaiyyath is obviously very useful.

The Arc is often won or lost when the draw is made, so I would wait until then before making any mad bets.

But stop wasting your time poking holes, he is a very very good yoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

He's an absolute monster.

Best horse on the planet, very impressed today.
    Can't pick faults in him anymore, thought Magical might have tried to make the running today and put it up to him. Cruising speed is too much and he has the engine to maintain it.

I have took him on 3 times and won't do again unless it's the Arc as Love wins that easy and Ghaiyyath doesn't like soft :)

hawaii501 wrote: »
    Best horse on the planet, very impressed today.
    Can't pick faults in him anymore, thought Magical might have tried to make the running today and put it up to him. Cruising speed is too much and he has the engine to maintain it.

I have took him on 3 times and won't do again unless it's the Arc as Love wins that easy and Ghaiyyath doesn't like soft :)

Ghaiyyath and Love are in the same boat groundwise. The only times she has been beaten ( apart from a tender debut as a 2yo) were on Good to Yielding, Yielding and Good to Soft.

tryfix wrote: »
    Ghaiyyath and Love are in the same boat groundwise. The only times she has been beaten ( apart from a tender debut as a 2yo) were on Good to Yielding, Yielding and Good to Soft.

Very good point, for some reason I always thought her win at the Curragh was on Good to Soft. We will see how she gets on with a little bit of soft in the description today but will probably be good by time racing gets going.

Well that's the Arc blown up now, at least it's a few months away :)

I'll be taking on Love today with Frankly Darling.

Its an easy excuse to make, not handling Epsom, but maybe take it at face value and put a line through it, then she's no 10/1 shot, as good as Love looks. No ground issues either, and Love would prefer better ground.

All my day 1 selections ballooned hopelessly over the bar, the crowd laughed and jeered. But those days are passed now.. and in the past they shall remain.

Miss Amulet at 12/1 4 places in the first looks a good bet. Condon wouldn't send it over without a chance.

In the second Fahey has only one entry, Brazen Prince. He usually targets these clusterphucks so at 70/1 is backed. Easterby has Tom's Reign Beau is backed also at 80/1 and some large prices on the exchanges for ice cream money. These sales races are pin-jobs anyway.

If Bharani Star can put her last run at Epsom behind her 16/1 looks big. I always give horses another chance after Epsom.

In the last Anna Nerium is a group horse at top weight in a handicap, I love backing those.

I am also having an ew bet against Love in the Oaks. Alpinista is intriguing. Prescott doesn't doss around and he could have just as easy put her in the next race? Only 2 places but I took some fancy prices on the exchanges last night. Love is the Arc favourite so she needs to flop, but stranger things etc and as I said it is not like Sir Mark to be feckless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭madmoose

The track should suit Frankly Darling so at 12/1 i have chanced her with money back if second and if Love bolts up again then fair enough as it’s great to see superstars.

Tinochio in the second looks a fair bet and was a big eyecatcher lto in the super sprint, plus always worth a go on Kevin Ryans at this meeting.

Vivionn in the 3:45 looks a good ew bet around 7/1 4 and 3 places with it second in the race last season and then on season reappearance lto at Haydock it was behind Fanny Logan and Manuala De Vega, i fancy it to be spot on for this today and is my bet of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭Plasandrunt

Frankly Darling w/o Love @3/1 my only bet of the day

Umm Kulthum 6/1
    1:45 York

Tinochio 6/1
    14:15 York

Red Bond 40/1
    14:45 York

Lady G 6/1
    15:45 York

Why didn't I back that?!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,039 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

Good start Moron

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭corkgirl17

Thanks iamamoron!! Have placed a few bets based on your tips. First one paid off so even if all the others lose I'm not down any money!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,039 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

She's way too good

2nd best horse on the planet :)

hawaii501 wrote: »
    2nd best horse on the planet :)

she would murder ghaiyyath over 12f

Likewise Ghaiyyath would murder it over 10f.

Was also said tongue in cheek hence the smileyface. Also said on previous page that Love wins the Arc :)

Award Scheme has form behind Alpinista.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

Love at 6/4 Betway for the Arc.
    Barefaced theft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

Love might win the Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe but

1) there are 80 entries in the race
    2) the race is in six weeks
    3) Love has not yet run against one colt
    4) Love has only run against one older horse (Manuela de Vega (today), who was 4th in the English Oaks, 5th in the Irish Oaks)
    5) going unknown
    6) draw unknown
    7) I think Enable is the only English Oaks winner to win the Arc.

I will also be waiting to see what Andre Fabre has up his sleeve.

A lot will happen over the next few weeks.

She will start bigger than 6/4, especially on the PMU. You can get 5/2 with some bookies.

https://www.oddschecker.com/horse-racing/ante-post-racing/international/prix-de-larc-de-triomphe-2020/winner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,099 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Maybe I'm mad but I'm taking Battash on with Art Power today. Battash isn't bulletproof and this yolk has looked like a bit of a rocket so far

A bit of a head scratcher for me, but I found a couple at the wrong prices.

York
    4.15 - First Kingdom, has not done much wrong and will handle ground. got nabbed on the line after leading for 9f's in France in a listed race last month. This is a handicap and 8's generally looks a nice price all things considered.
    3.15 - Battash JUST WINS:):) - but i reckon at 33-1 you could lose worse tenners on Moss Gill. 2 times C&D and looks an improver. It is worth noting that Battash has played up at York more than once, the road through the Pennines might give him the heebie jeebies, who knows.

I was curious to see why Ben Curtis was not riding Nayef Road, still head scratching and I assumed he was riding a good thing elsewhere. However the greatest jockey on the planet has only one ride today on Byron Flyer in the first. Rank outsider, I have had an each way squeak.

The ground in Killarney is heavy, ignore your racecards and if you ask me the bookies should be fined for not updating the going on racecards the phucking scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭laguacamaya

Maybe I'm mad but I'm taking Battash on with Art Power today. Battash isn't bulletproof and this yolk has looked like a bit of a rocket so far

I'm with ya on this Milky. Not betting these days...But ya, I'd happily place a hefty ew sum at 3/1 on Art Power, with 8 runners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭zpehtsfd

Somebody needs to give Crowley a ride in the last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,099 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Art power never travelled a yard which is disappointing because it had potential to be a great race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭gazza1

Alright Sunshine 20/1 ew in the Ebor. 5 places

Was travelling really well at goodwood before being badly hampered not once but twice.
    May not have won the race but would have been alot closer to Fujiara Prince. Has a swing of 10lbs with that horse today which must give him every chance with some luck in running today.

1. Beringer
    11/1
    13:50

3. Arthurian Fable
    14/1
    14:25

4. Safe Voyage
    11/2
    15:00

8. Pondus
    9/1
    15:40

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭Plasandrunt

Verdana Blue in the Ebor and Lauded in the 4.10 my 2 bets of the day

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

A star above and verdana blue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Morleystreet

Going to chance stargazer at 100/1 8 plcs and also taking 50/1 10plcs. Off track 500 days but there are easier races to come back in and I’m hoping that there a little level of confidence in him to be throwing him in the ebor.