Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who is enjoying the grey rainy Covid days in August

• 17-08-2020 7:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭

FGS as if things weren't bad enough, we now look out the window at grey skies, mist and rain.

Why do people think August is a good month for holliers at home, it is usually brutal.

But onwards and upwards, Sorry for you people facing in to two more weeks of this damp dreary weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Had to go out in it. Not a fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,815 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Why do people think August is a good month for holliers at home, it is usually brutal.

Same reason people don't invest in proper rain gear and don't take any heading out, despite living here for decades. They're idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

It's our nuclear winter. Absolute disgusting. I try to be a glass half full person but no, it's miserables gloomy and depressing. The first month's were okay of corona, the next half of the year are going to be brutal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

today and the 1st of July will go down on my worst days in living memory for weather - Irish summer is fookin shocking.

I sometimes wonder how I stay living here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Just feeling a bit MEH today. Sorry if I brought anyone down. And looking at the weather forecast, it is water all the way for a while now. Oh God please help me.

Last summer in Dublin was so nice. Wasn't spectacular but dry and generally bright. Great mood and feeing around the place. This is just awful. It's one of those summers where you wonder how the **** the natives didn't hightail it out of the place after the first summer.

The biggest thing this summer has been the long evenings seem to have gotten so much shorter because it's so dark anyway. There's been very few really bright evenings. It feels so autumnal and has since June, save for a few days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Errashareesh

It's our nuclear winter. Absolute disgusting. I try to be a glass half full person but no, it's miserables gloomy and depressing. The first month's were okay of corona, the next half of the year are going to be brutal
    It's nothing like a nuclear winter thankfully!

It's awful though - crazy dark, and so muggy and tiring with stagnant air.

A huge electrical storm to squeeze out the saturated atmosphere would be the biz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

A bit of Beast From The East MKII during the winter would throw the cats properly amongst the pigeons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

Just feeling a bit MEH today. Sorry if I brought anyone down. And looking at the weather forecast, it is water all the way for a while now. Oh God please help me.

well I've just been subjected to 2 weeks whats app photos of 3 groups of friends photos of their holidays in the south and west basking in sunshine while it was grey and sh1t here in Dublin.

To cap it off, I have blown close to a grand on a week away in the south west myself but it looks like we'll need a fookin canoe to get there and will come home with webbed feet.

RobAMerc wrote: »
    well I've just been subjected to 2 weeks whats app photos of 3 groups of friends photos of their holidays in the south and west basking in sunshine while it was grey and sh1t here in Dublin.

To cap it off, I have blown close to a grand on a week away in the south west myself but it looks like we'll need a fookin canoe to get there and will come home with webbed feet.

Well you gave me a laugh and a bit of a lift there, thanks. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭McHardcore

It has been sh*te when the weather has been so bad. Cant go outisde to work or do anything. The fine weather we had the couple of days ago is a faded memory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

I'm back at work (such as it is, it's WFH) today after taking all of last week off. Glad I didn't do it the other way around.
    It still doesn't help, I like a coffee break in the garden and that was out unless I had wellies on this morning.

Can't go outside at all. In fairness, I was loving the humid dry overcast days(better than fresh sunny and blustery) but just want a nice few weeks of good weather. We get one day and then it goes off the rails for another 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

been on staycation for 9 days . one day of rain so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Spent last week in a tent doing a wild camping jobeen all along the West coast sunshine shindig so I had a great feicing time, this week doing a bit of work during the day and then a few caneens and a few tunes on the go in the evening so I'm living these covid days in August mega large

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭Tommybojangles

Had my weekend "away" at home on the west coast and the weather was unreal from start to finish. Not gloating just giving some balance 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Last summer in Dublin was so nice. Wasn't spectacular but dry and generally bright. Great mood and feeing around the place. This is just awful. It's one of those summers where you wonder how the **** the natives didn't hightail it out of the place after the first summer.

It wasn't nice last summer! We had highs of 11c in Dublin in the middle of June, and was brutal up until the last week of June. And August was a washout. July wasn't that bad, but overall a horrible summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

The midges were out all day where I am living. Ate alive from the little fcukers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

buried wrote: »
    Spent last week in a tent doing a wild camping jobeen all along the West coast sunshine shindig so I had a great feicing time, this week doing a bit of work during the day and then a few caneens and a few tunes on the go in the evening so I'm living these covid days in August mega large

That's the job. The odd washout does no harm to keep the dust down and these days if you're plodding up the mountain through the bog and you get a bootfull of bogwater you can just carry on regardless as the water is lovely and warm.

I wish it was just the odd washout though! And it's heavy sticky warm - not pleasant warm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

That's the job. The odd washout does no harm to keep the dust down and these days if you're plodding up the mountain through the bog and you get a bootfull of bogwater you can just carry on regardless as the water is lovely and warm.

Ahh Hell yes man, whenever you get hit with a situation like that, you know you'll be grand anyways a bit later on once you set up for the night, dry the feet off, stick on some new socks, stick a bit of grub on the stove and sit back and relax all over the place.

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Pythagorean

What's the difference between winter and summer in Ireland?
    Answer; The rain in summer is warmer !!!!

buried wrote: »
    Ahh Hell yes man, whenever you get hit with a situation like that, you know you'll be grand anyways a bit later on once you set up for the night, dry the feet off, stick on some new socks, stick a bit of grub on the stove and sit back and relax all over the place.

Hilarious, and just what we need need now. Thanks.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Had enough rain for now thanks, another week or two of hot sunshine would be nice before summer ends :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

I love the rain in the Summer time I work out doors and it's just exhilarating.

That damp cool moisture on your shoulders doe's wonders for the soul.

I'm not prone to getting sick much and the best landscape photography is always during or after the rain, everything is vibrant.

I prefer it dry in the winter though, but saying that I have simms rain gear both summer and winter thread's and it's just really comfy and for our weather you need the right garments...

It's nothing like a nuclear winter thankfully!

It's awful though - crazy dark, and so muggy and tiring with stagnant air.

A huge electrical storm to squeeze out the saturated atmosphere would be the biz.
    Well it looks like my wish is coming true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Well it looks like my wish is coming true.

Sound, we know who the blame now:P

Sh1t yeah... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Great fishing weather though :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I bloody hate it. Our winters are godawful enough without wet pissy grey "summers" as well. Though we did have a nice early spring which was very welcome in these quarters, but that was the start of the lockdown stuff.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Alejandro68

I love the rain and being out in it!Seems I chose the right country to come to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

Love the overcast skies and drizzly rain... very atmospheric weather.

It's great to be outdoors on days like today, as I am lucky to be most days. Can't beat it really! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

I love the rain and being out in it!Seems I chose the right country to come to.

It doesnt rain enough.

It needs to rain more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭Parabellum9

Yeah 2020 wasn’t good enough without a **** grey miserable summer to top it all off. All we need now is autumn part 2 of rain and wind and then a few feet of snow from November to January and we’ll be laughing.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

Yeah 2020 wasn’t good enough without a **** grey miserable summer to top it all off. All we need now is autumn part 2 of rain and wind and then a few feet of snow from November to January and we’ll be laughing.....

Sounds like fun! :pac:

Cheer up, if you can't handle our climate... make a note never to go to the tropical beauties of Columbia or Costa Rica - both whom get roughly 3 times as much yearly rainfall as Ireland. (Along with many other challenging weather conditions) :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭paddythere

Great crack it is. Shuts the neighbours right up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭Parabellum9

Sounds like fun! :pac:

Cheer up, if you can't handle our climate... make a note never to go to the tropical beauties of Columbia or Costa Rica - both whom get roughly 3 times as much yearly rainfall as Ireland. (Along with many other challenging weather conditions) :p

Bet you still get a few decent weeks in Columbia or Costa Rica to have a few ****ing bbqs though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,947 ✭✭✭acequion

This weather here drives me completely insane! Begrudgers will love the fact that I did head off to sunnier climes for 12 days and missed the one good week here in the south west. Now they'll insist it was 10 days but it was really only a week and many of those days gloomy enough. But I'd have taken it and been thrilled with it over the depressing crap I'm looking out at tonight, with heating on!

But as somebody who adores cultivating patio flowers I can see what a shyt fest it's been. Petunias are long dead, roots rotted from too much water, geranium are skeletal as they hate cold and wet and must get decent weather to thrive and the patio itself is filthy from all the muck.

We really do have one of the most miserable climates and in these awful Covid times it definitely makes it all worse.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Bet you still get a few decent weeks in Columbia or Costa Rica to have a few ****ing bbqs though
    We had 2 or 3 months of that here in Ireland this year, between March and May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

acequion wrote: »
    This weather here drives me completely insane! Begrudgers will love the fact that I did head off to sunnier climes for 12 days and missed the one good week here in the south west. Now they'll insist it was 10 days but it was really only a week and many of those days gloomy enough. But I'd have taken it and been thrilled with it over the depressing crap I'm looking out at tonight, with heating on!
    You've the heating on? It's after 21.30 and even though it's very windy at the moment, it's 17 degrees outside at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Weather was lovely until those Irish Water cúnts brought in a hosepipe ban.

It's been pissing down ever since.

Bastards

So mad to think we were in a mini drought before mid June

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

RobAMerc wrote: »
    today and the 1st of July will go down on my worst days in living memory for weather - Irish summer is fookin shocking.

I sometimes wonder how I stay living here.

The string of terrible summers from 2007 - 2012 inclusive have prepared me for this. After enduring those summers, I no longer blink an eye at sustained heavy rain on a summer’s day in Ireland.

Today wasn’t cold though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

i bet this "storm" Ellen will be a damp squib

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

It t’s going to be a long winter. I strongly recommend horsing vitamin D and C in daily in order to keep the mood up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

That’s some quality air blowing about out there. Lovely.

People say water is key to life, the most fundamental element and there’s a fair amount mixed in with it too but I would say air first and foremost. Anything else, you can rasp on an orange or that but in the meantime suck it up. #bestairintheworld

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Bobblehats wrote: »
    That’s some quality air blowing about out there. Lovely.

People say water is key to life, the most fundamental element and there’s a fair amount mixed in with it too but I would say air first and foremost. Anything else, you can rasp on an orange or that but in the meantime suck it up. #bestairintheworld

I'm an air sign, how you doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

I'm an air sign, how you doing?

Airies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Bobblehats wrote: »
    Airies?

No, just a little bit gassy.