Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Audi brake disc replacement and warranty

• 15-08-2020 12:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,592 ✭✭✭donkey balls

Hi all.
    Just a quick question for those in the know, The brake pad warning light came on yesterday evening on the way home from work.
    I called the Audi dealer for a price for pads and they said said €800 for front and back,The car be due a service around October/November and I was thinking of getting all of it done .
    Untill the price quoted was about 12/1400 euro , I know you can get brake pads way cheaper than that as I use to have them fitted by my own mechanic on another car I owned.
    I was wondering if I got the parts myself which cost approx 120 euro and had them fitted would it void the warranty on the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Stanford

How old is the car? Is it under a manufacturer's or dealers warranty? Is this the first or original set of pads? Mileage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Go indy seriously near 1k for pads????

Warranty can't be affected if fitted correctly and genuine parts....
    Pads though seriously that's madness.

Model?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,592 ✭✭✭donkey balls

Sorry I should have put more in my original post its a 162 A6 I bought it from a dealer second hand, Originally a UK import so not sure what was done before hand regarding service.
    There is just under 65k on the clock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,155 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

To maintain a manufacturer warranty you have to use OEM parts, I doubt €120 discs will be OEM, before you run into the hassle of getting the work done outside the dealer network. 3rd party warranties are a waste of money anyway and can have any amount of exclusions you never know what is covered.

Del2005 wrote: »
    To maintain a manufacturer warranty you have to use OEM parts, I doubt €120 discs will be OEM, before you run into the hassle of getting the work done outside the dealer network. 3rd party warranties are a waste of money anyway and can have any amount of exclusions you never know what is covered.

Pads not discs

So its not under any warranty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

They quoted you for brake discs and pads front and rear.

Sorry should have said pads not discs when I bought the car and the one previous I took out the extended warranty.
    To me at the time it worked out cheap enough and peace of mind that the car be covered, I know under the warranty tyres break pads anything that wears is not covered.
    The way I'm thinking is if the brake pads don't fall under the warranty, That I could get the same brake pads have them fitted and not be paying €400 as I was qouted.

Indy all the way or if any good yourself do it.

wonski wrote: »
    They quoted you for brake discs and pads front and rear.

Brake pads €400 for front and €400 for the rear.

Are they gold?

Try these guys for reliable parts and don't bother with a dealer.

https://www.micksgarage.com/parts/audi

Are they gold?

I would hope so it has to be wrong I thinking on the way home, They got so many details wrong about the cars history warranty etc.
    Someone else posted a break down on parts and its half the price I was quoted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,832 ✭✭✭greasepalm

German cars are hard on discs and pads so possibly it needs them?

greasepalm wrote: »

Whats so different about German cars?

greasepalm wrote: »

? Depends on driver

So it has to be a German driver?

We change more discs and pads on german cars over japanese models maybe 4 - 1,big lips on front discs and seized rear pads not moving in and out and leaving 1 or 2 inches of pad contact and discs rust.

Is it possible to source the parts AUDI use and have my mechanic fit them? I know that cars like mine parts are expensive as I found out Xmas week when I needed a new tyre.

If you want to source audi parts they have a trade counter for selling parts.
    Local factors should also be able to get different brands/grades.

Yes it is, Micks Garage will quote you for recommended replacement AUDI pads (link sent earlier) or try a good local motor factors and replacement would be well within the competence of a local Indy mechanic, as pads are wearable items (like tyres) they would not be covered by any warranty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭koutoubia

I got my rear pads,discs and brake fluid replaced two weeks ago by a recommended indy for E280 inc vat for a 142 A6.
    A grand for all round discs and pads is madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭Treppen

If you are planning on keeping the car for another few years and spending top dollar every single time just to maintain a nice service history piece of paper.. Will you get all that much extra when you trade it in?

Look at the prices of 6 year old cars now with and without Full Service History OEM etc. Is there any price difference?

Shop around first.

When you get the pads changed also get the mechanic to check that the discs are true and not badly scored

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

400 is pads and discs as per price list attached by another poster.

My colleague changed pads in Audi Naas last week and paid around 200.

There was miscommunication I think between you and the dealer.

wonski wrote: »
    400 is pads and discs as per price list attached by another poster.

My colleague changed pads in Audi Naas last week and paid around 200.

There was miscommunication I think between you and the dealer.

Could possibly but not from my end as I told him the light for the brake pads had just come on, As i mentioned earlier there was a bit of confusion on the lads side regarding where I bought that and if it was still under warranty.

Treppen wrote: »
    If you are planning on keeping the car for another few years and spending top dollar every single time just to maintain a nice service history piece of paper.. Will you get all that much extra when you trade it in?

Look at the prices of 6 year old cars now with and without Full Service History OEM etc. Is there any price difference?

Shop around first.

Do you know what I don’t think I would get any more for having the service history done by an AUDI dealer, I'm planning on keeping the car for another few years anyway.
    Maybe give it to the missis and buy a newer model when I traded in my A4 it had 27k on the clock and full service history, I was shocked with the dealers offer.
    But the A6 was a stunner black edition quattro and going for a real good price at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

DIY >> main forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,795 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I paid Audi 220 quid for front pads when my car was new. I ssid feck that and have been doing them myself since.
    I get oe spec which were Ate on my car. Front discs plus pads from misterauto 140 quid. Lots of cheap options too but not worth the hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭mk7r

Audi generally won't change just pads on a car, the A4/A6 etc of that era typically need discs and pads changed together. As another poster said it's common on large German cars of that era (5 series). They use a different compound if pads and softer discs so wear is higher but so is performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Agree with previous posters in that i think there's been a miscommunication between yourself and the dealer in that Audi will do pads and discs on any axle for €390 fitted. Pads alone i's expect to come in around €200. That being said, i'd say they quoted for pads and discs as i'd be very surprised if the discs aren't out of spec at 65k.

Thanks for the replies and links lads will get back on to them Monday, As for the comms end of things maybe the lad in Audi was including the discs for 399 but just mentioned the pads to me.
    Anyway if I can get the same discs & pads that's on the car it be great, I've never skimped on things like tyres or cheaper parts.
    Especially when it comes to what keeps and holds you on yhe Road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

Have you ceramic brakes? Put your VIN into 7Zap and you'll get the part numbers for your brake pads. You'll need to know what brakes you have from the options sticker somewhere under the carpet in your boot.

Just tried that it says it cannot find the vin nbr

Take a photo of your options sticker in your boot and then find your exact model car on the site and match the possible brake PR codes for that model on the site with the 3 character option on your options sticker - e.g on the site you might have 1LG, 1K2 etc for available brakes for that car, one of them will appear on your options sticker.

Thanks will check tomorrow

Why are we doing that again? No way it has ceramic brakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,795 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

There are ceramic pads available for my A5 in the oe brand.
    About twice the price as normal ones. They are not a performance product as such, more a low dust low wear, longer service interval alternative.

Why are we doing that again? No way it has ceramic brakes.

Probably not although €800 for front and rear pads fitted seems excessive.

OP just get a price for your pads from the parts dept of any audi dealer - they'd hopefully be less than €400. Any good independent you trust would fit them for around €100 I would think.

Probably not although €800 for front and rear pads fitted seems excessive.

OP just get a price for your pads from the parts dept of any audi dealer - they'd hopefully be less than €400. Any good independent you trust would fit them for around €100 I would think.

The lad i know is really good the aul fella uses him I know it might come across as a stupid question, But do the parts dept in main dealers sell parts to the public i know you can get floor mates wipers etc
    Go easy on me lads I'm late 40s and only on my 4th car.

Yeah they sell to the public.

The whole process seems illogical to me, though. Checking PR codes etc.

To me, it's either confirm the quote with Audi and get the work done their or price it independent and go with an independent and let them source parts etc. It's only really heartache and added time and expense going sourcing parts yourself, particularly buying parts from a place that can do the work and driving them to another place that can do the work.

If the Audi pads are €95 retail and they want €100 to fit them, is it worth traveling to the Audi dealer and buying the pads over the counter and then traveling to an independent to fit them for €50 or €60? Surely the time and inconvenience isn't covered by a €30 or so saving. That and the parts will be cheaper if supplied by the fitter as you will only pay 13.5% VAT not 23.

Ah i will confirm with Audi on Monday the price, The reason I'm asking about original parts being available is thats what i will be using and have the lad i know fit them.
    Thanks again for all.your help lads.

When you buy parts at retail + 23% vat,Your mechanic buys them at trade + 23% vat and charges you less vat on bill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Blowheads

Front pads for my 161 at were 120, they also have a sensor. I bought the genuine Audi ones over the counter at Audi Galway. Fitted by indy for 80 along with balancing the tryes. I'm pretty sure that quote also is for the discs which unless there is something wrong with the shouldn't need replacing.
    Bring the car to local reputable mechanic, ask him to price them and ask if he will fit the genuine Audi and compare. He'll also tell you if you need the discs done

Yeah they sell to the public.

The whole process seems illogical to me, though. Checking PR codes etc.

Indeed you're right, in hindsight I was advising what I'd do, although I'd be fitting myself.

Just a quick update called Audi parts they said brake pads were €140 including vat brake disc €120 including vat.
    When I called the other dealer who I was talking to on Friday I got a different lad who said the pads including fitting was €200 or pads and discs which they recommend changing the same time €399 for front and the same for the rear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

It's a used car. Get any garage to fit OE quality aftermarket brakes and it will be fine.