Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So are you single? Argos style....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭kenmm

Mic 1972 wrote: »
    The guy sent hey then he was busy probably doing other deliveries, he explained that later on. Normal guy
    She on the other hand

Probably busy stealing and trying out other phone numbers :-D

Nah, he bottled it. All day long. Then finally worked up the courage to go through with his mad plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,240 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Guy over steps both personal and professional boundaries to text a girl without her permission and she's the evil psychopathic bitch for *checks notes* asking who texted her and complaining about improper behaviour........

I love boards but for **** sake lads..... Do better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Mic 1972

He obviously had a head like a boiled onion.

If that guy was 6'4 with a cleft chin he would be in her apartment at the minute having wine and netflix.

Usually only ugly guys are creeps, cute guys are "gas craic"

he probably is decent looking enough to believe that he could pull this off.
    An ugly guy would be too insecure.

Unless she is ugly too, in which case the ugly guy might think to have a chance. Actually this is how it probably went LOL

He didn't pull her number from company documents

have you ever had anything delivered to you?
    You give your number, the carrier calls you up, you speak with the currier and then you meet for delivery
    her number was in his phone by then

I've worked on delivery trucks, he crossed a very big line. People give their number in confidence that it won't be abused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,384 ✭✭✭✭noodler

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Guy over steps both personal and professional boundaries to text a girl without her permission and she's the evil psychopathic bitch for *checks notes* asking who texted her and complaining about improper behaviour........

I love boards but for **** sake lads..... Do better.

The driver is being criticized for sending the text. That is universal. Stop pretending there is a disagreement on the thread about that.

She is rightly being criticized for her hysterical quotes and deciding to make the whole complaint public on social media.

the way you describe it makes it even more obvious to me that she reacted like a psychopath

we are human beings and we interact with each other as part of life, what boundaries are you talking about?? he didn't sexually assaulted her. He sent her a text back after they had already met and spoken.

Someone asks you out? you can decline
    no big deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

he probably is decent looking enough to believe that he could pull this off.
    An ugly guy would be too insecure.

Unless she is ugly too, in which case the ugly guy might think to have a chance. Actually this is how it probably went LOL

or he could have got drunk after sending the first text then when the drink kicked in he was like "nah fcuk it im gonna text her again, she was definitely into me"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭bertiebomber

If there was no effing social media this would be a non event she would decline his offer and get on with it and he would go to the next customer. Boy asks girl out - big swinging mickey the woke society frighten the ****e out of themselves everyday - pathetic - how do they even breathe without some form of support group. I blame their stupid parents!

noodler wrote: »
    The driver is being criticized for sending the text. That is universal. Stop pretending there is a disagreement on the thread about that.

She is rightly being criticized for her hysterical quotes and deciding to make the whole complaint public on social media.
    There's several people defending him or giving it the old "if it was the other way round".

She's been called a vindictive bitch, a psychopath, a gold digger, fame chaser and now ugly.

How anyone is painting her as the bad guy is beyond me......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,710 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

noodler wrote: »

It might get her Inst Followers up and she might be offered some affiliate work or an appearance on Love Island if it returns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,767 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

He didn't pull her number from company documents

have you ever had anything delivered to you?
    You give your number, the carrier calls you up, you speak with the currier and then you meet for delivery
    her number was in his phone by then

I worked in the industry. That’s not how it works.

If a courier company calls you prior to delivery to confirm your address or delivery it’s office staff, not the driver.

The driver will only call if they have an issue locating your address.

You don’t ‘meet’ for delivery, those days are long gone.

I've worked on delivery trucks, he crossed a very big line. People give their number in confidence that it won't be abused.

and he didnt abuse it

It might get her Inst Followers up and she might be offered some affiliate work or an appearance on Love Island if it returns.

It might. It might even push her on to go to university do a study montage and become a top lawyer. Or suddenly decide to start a charity that will go onto cure world poverty. Or any other entirely made up narrative just because she complained on Facebook.

The FB complaint isn't my style, but it's how a lot of people interact with companies these days. It's second nature for a lot of people a d doesn't necessarily mean someone is trying to raise their own social media profile.

Strumms wrote: »

If a courier company calls you prior to delivery to confirm your address or delivery it’s office staff, not the driver.

I live in a town.
    I’ve often been rang by the courier to know will he drop things off at work or home.
    I nearly always meet the driver and get you get to know them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,524 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

https://extra.ie/2020/08/13/news/real-life/argos-delivery-driver-report

Don't wanna read the article? Well then...
    - Argos delivery driver drops off an item a customer ordered. All well and grand so far.
    - later that day he sends her a text asking if she was single.
    - obviously got her number off the docket and blatant breaking the rules of GDPR.
    - she posts the texts to Argos Facebook.
    - she now feels "unsafe" ( €€€ )

Well that's his job lost :pac:
    He was chancing his arm obviously but stupid move, man. Should have been thinking.
    As for her... It was unwanted so yeah it's not right but "unsafe" to me whacks of wanting compensation.

Because it's funny in this world as anyone who seeks compensation always feels either unsafe, mental anguish, emotionally unwell blah blah.

It's funny because if this 20 years ago you'd have some people just ringing the guy up in question, tearing him a new arsehole then ringing the shop to give out loads to the manager or what not. But hey... Sue sue sue :pac:

You’re making an awful lot out of nothing yourself.

There’s no mention of compensation or anyone losing their job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,377 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

and he didnt abuse it
    Of course he did...how do you figure he didn't?..he contacted her in a private capacity totally outside of what the number was provided for..

and he didnt abuse it

Come on, what reasonable definition of abuse doesn't include using something not for its original purpose?

The word use takes up most of the word ffs

Strumms wrote: »

I get stuff delivered all the time, as we all do i guess
    And yes couriers may call if they can't find address or to confirm they are on the way, then i meet them in person because I'm home when the delivery takes place. Those days are not gone at all.

kenmm wrote: »
    It might. It might even push her on to go to university do a study montage and become a top lawyer. Or suddenly decide to start a charity that will go onto cure world poverty. Or any other entirely made up narrative just because she complained on Facebook.

The FB complaint isn't my style, but it's how a lot of people interact with companies these days. It's second nature for a lot of people a d doesn't necessarily mean someone is trying to raise their own social media profile.

To be honest I’ve had friends, families, relatives, etc all have issues with various companies over the years.
    The ones in my experience who turn to Facebook, etc are generally attention seekers and love their five minutes of fame.
    The only reason why people may turn to social media is if their complaint was ignored when they tried to phones/email.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,444 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

and he didnt abuse it

He did. He broke a law and company policy. He had no right to use her number for any reason other than what it was supplied to him for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,444 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

I get stuff delivered all the time, as we all do i guess
    And yes couriers may call if they can't find address or to confirm they are on the way, then i meet them in person because I'm home when the delivery takes place. Those days are not gone at all.

That us the only reason they have for contacting you. Anything beyond that is not allowed.

I live in a town.
    I’ve often been rang by the courier to know will he drop things off at work or home.

we all do, especially during the lock down when we could only get stuff delivered.
    it's normal to meet the deliver guy in person

and he didnt abuse it
    You cannot use a customers private number for personal use, its a gdpr breach and against the companies code of conduct, I'd Guarentee it.
    Have you tried to find a contact number for a lot of companies these days? Facebook is usually the only way
    I live in a town.
    I would bet confidently that it is a work phone, like how nearly every delivery driver has a lycamobile number, for everyone's safety.

Thinking of it I should really tell the delivery company about the delivery driver who likes talking about the foreigners!

Have you tried to find a contact number for a lot of companies these days? Facebook is usually the only way

It's not my go-to style, and even then I'd try messenger or DM first.
    Not saying I haven't resorted to it before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭cannotlogin

While it was unprofessional, she has completely overreacted and blown the incident out of all proportion with her very attention seeking post.

Most rational people who were bothered about this would ring or email the company whereas her over the top social media approach makes me think it's more about attention than anything else.

I also fully believe if she was interested in the guy, the narrative would be very different.

I've been asked out via LinkedIn twice. Not exactly professional but I certainly wouldn't be reporting them to their boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

THIS is ludicrous..why do we know all about this shítty interaction between a woman who made a man deliver a parcel to her. She shouldn't have even heard the doorbell with all the dishes rattling in the sink,. She shuda had a nice meal waiting for him as well..
    Ahhhhhh ya gotta love the AH forum.

Sardonicat wrote: »
    That us the only reason they have for contacting you. Anything beyond that is not allowed.

i think we are all on the same page here, yes it's not allowed by company policy to use the customer number. The guy did it and it's no big deal.

When i had furniture delivered at my house the guy said a few times that i had a lovely living room. Should i have assumed that he was going to break in that night and rob my stuff? he clearly crossed professional boundaries by making a personal comment about my personal space

It's not my go-to style, and even then I'd try messenger or DM first.
    Not saying I haven't resorted to it before.

I know, it normally wouldn't be mine either, but even argos don't have a dedicated complaints line, and she wanted to include the screenshot obviously, and what if he's done it before, no harm in letting other people know about it.

m

I would bet confidently that it is a work phone, like how nearly every delivery driver has a lycamobile number, for everyone's safety.

We have the numbers for the delivery drivers saved in our phones so we know who’s ringing in the morning.
    If I click into my WhatsApp they’ve pictures of kids, etc as their profile photo. So it looks like a strange work phone to me.